I'm cynical about the 'low' fuel prices....

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 03:32
ThreadID: 38708 Views:3042 Replies:14 FollowUps:66
Just for something different, I'm posting because the've gone down. Why? I know the price of oil has dropped recently but how come the oil companies have immediately passed that saving on? Did the backlash from the consumers and media have an effect? If so, power to the people.

Even though most of us thought there is nothing we can do about it, the common voice was pretty strong on the issue. They can see that people are unhappy with price rises just before weekends, that there is much debate about how our prices are determined etc.

I would like to understand just one small aspect of fuel pricing; in most businesses if your supplier brings in new stock at a higher price you can choose to pass that on to the consumer. If fuel goes up, how is that passed on to the consumer before the next fuel delivery?

I'm sure there is someone with an answer out there, but whatever your answer is; it's not right. It's the same product in the tanks - it can't vary between morning and afternoon, Tuesday and Thursday (unless one of them is delivery day)

Reply By: roofscooter2 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 05:50

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 05:50
Dunno Beware.Just go to work pay what u gotta pay go home afta work relax go to bed sleep get up in mornin' got to work.Same routine day in day out ,so i shut up pay up along with every thing else.Then try & enjoy life some how on w/ends.
R/scooter.
AnswerID: 200297

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:39

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:39
Yeah, maybe I think too much, LOL
FollowupID: 459369

Reply By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 06:22

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 06:22
Bware (Tweed Valley)

I think you are right when people Unite you can change almost any thing there is the saying “United We Stand Divvied We Fall” but lets look at the real motivation for the drop in fuel prices.

I believe it is because the government is preparing for an election and it wants the people to think that fuel has gone down. But remember only about 12 to 18 months ago we where paying under 80cents per litre for both ULP and Diesel

People Don’t Be Coned fuel prices are being used as a political tool just like:

Interest rates

Children over Board

Weapons of mass destruction

War on terra

The wheat board

Attack on workers rights

Think About It People Don’t Be Coned Vote This Howard Government Out

BBB
AnswerID: 200298

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:54

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:54
And the alternative? I'm not fond of little Johnny and his policies but I shudder to think what that idiot Beazley and his mob would be like. Just look at the wonderful job all the State govts are doing LOL
FollowupID: 459351

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:17

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:17
I dont agree on the basis that Australia in the world fuel market is so tiny and insignificant that the idea our government would have power to change fuel prices is crazy. Also the fuel taxing side is an open book, if you want to know, its very easy to find out how the government taxes its taxes and they would be unable to raise taxes and take a little more, or lower taxes for an election without us knowing all about it in minutes.
FollowupID: 459358

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:50

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:50
Phantom, if we got prices largely protected from the world market, like the US has been we would waste it like thay have. We are actually already heaps cheaper than Europe. It isn't any good to just fluctuate the taxes just to insulate against shocks.

Silly to blame governments as we know the taxes were actually set in the time of Keating, but the indexation uplift was removed under Howard. Beasley would be no different. The taxes will remain the same no matter. The states get the GST so that can't change without all the states and the feds agreeing. Knowing how the food GST 'thing' was it won't be easy to work through either.
FollowupID: 459362

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:03

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:03
I am with you on this one Al.
BeaselyKeating,Hawke.I shudder just using their names.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 459365

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:03

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:03
You a bit young to remember the name Gough are you Bob? Now there was a real mess. His treasurer and deputy, Jim Cairns. Sheesh
FollowupID: 459387

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:10

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:10
Ah Gough, an eagle surrounded by turkeys :))))
FollowupID: 459389

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:28

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:28
John,not too young for Gooffy Whitlam,choose to try & forget.
Al you are sooo right ,but you forgot about Hawke & the other 49 Gallahs. Lol
Then there was that other mungrel that took power up here in Qld after Joh. His name escapes me at the moment but he fits the bill too.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 459405

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:40

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:40
Bob,

I'm quite fond of galahs (the feathered kind) so I would'nt insult them that way. The guys you're referring to would be better described as residents of that famous Keating business venture/tax haven/rip off.
FollowupID: 459410

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:27

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:27
Ah Gramps,you see i kinda like Turkey at Xmas not 364 times per year.Gallah's though i kinda see em as a pest though Keating there are no words in the English vocabulary that can effectively describe the Mooron.That other one from Qld that escaped my mind was John Goss he was another of "them".Lol.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 459422

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:46

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:46
Al, I think they are pretty tough to chew on, not that I have tried mind you. Prefer turkeys if we have to eat them. Not so many to have to bone out. That was a porker of a venture for our Paul wasn't it.

I think they all seem to have good ventures seconded to other governments round the nation in consulting roles. I know of some of those. I just guess with their records business would not normally hire them for anything productive. One has a 'green power enterprise' advising how to extract money from governments down this way. I don't think it is productive, but good at extracting up the tube I guess. Sucking from the public trough.
FollowupID: 459430

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 19:01

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 19:01
It really doesn't matter who is in. The thing that determines their performance is how long they have been there, and their percieved or actual complacency. Most Government achieve their best "performance" in their second term, while they still have an element of cohesiveness. After their third term, the individuals in the parties start "pushing their own barrows", and this is generally where most of seeds of discontent are sown in the publics eye.

This is what we are now seeing in both at both the state and federal levels.
FollowupID: 459439

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:23
LOL JohnR. I can remember substituting a "pink and grey" pidgeon amongst a batch of topnotches. Once plucked they don't look that different :))))))) made for some interesting after dinner conversation around the campfire hahahahaha

Yes, Porky Keating was a real class act. Bob Carr is of the same persuasion with his role at Macquarie etc.
FollowupID: 459470

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:21

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:21
I will be wary if you are cooking my dinner Al. I think I may find a red tailed black among the turkey I think.

GIO, I am facinated about the thought that Gough's second term was his best. The name Khemlani seems to spring to mind. Jim Cairns wanted to print enough money to float the nation in. I guess you are covered by the words "most governments". He is looking frail these days, but Margaret looked nearly as powerful as the old days. I have heard from one EO member in the power industry, that in her earlier days she could nearly jump start a jumbo. Probably heaps better than the government members.
FollowupID: 459480

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:55

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:55
In 1991 lost a house due to 17% interest rates, thanks to the battlers mate Paul, In 2006 paid out our mortage in ten years due to the low interest rates of John. John howard despite some mistakes will go down in history as one of our best PMs
FollowupID: 459642

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:05

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:05
Madfisher,

John Howard has simply been lucky in the resources boom from China and India (same as the rest of the world). He has been lucky/cunning in distracting the electorate every time there is an election. We are now on of the most heavily taxed countries in the world. We are now less secure as a nation due to his foreign policy actions with the US about Iraq/Afghanistan (AGAINST UN resolutions ie, the rest of the world). Whilst we have low interest rates, we now hve less tolerance ("elbow room") to move with them before causing CONSIDERABLE foreclosures. We are ending up with fewer "communal" facilities (selling Telstra, selling Medibank Pvt, and at the state levels selling off the utilities)

Does this sound like "successful" government to you?

FollowupID: 459811

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:35

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:35
Get a hold of yourself Gary in oz.Suppose you would prefer" LABOUR" hahahaha.Find a decent leader who is not a "stooge "for "UNIONS" maybe then i would start think about it.
FollowupID: 459835

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:35

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:35
GIO, I have not heard or seen anyone speak out aginast going into Timor but that was what brought terrorism to Bali against Australians. Not Afghanistan, not Iraq.

Costello set up the conditions to make the economy run properly. The resources boom helped.

The tax rate was the highest, and now reduced, we assist more low income people than Hawke ever could do with his "no child need ever live in poverty" assertion. They have no need now with the welfare backing they have, it just means the family spend the way they shouldn't though.

Our employees have been on contracts and they all go through the fairness test with flying colours. I would dread a Beasly return to the 60s-70s industrial blackberry patch
FollowupID: 459883

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:04

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:04
To: no-one in particular.

Bias and prejudice is rampant here.

Some continue to push their political barrow. Why?

Why?

Why?

This is a camping/travelling forum.

Take your, sadly lacking economic understanding, views elsewhere.

The wild ravings will do no good, you won't change the minds, nor change votes of too many here.
FollowupID: 460337

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:51

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:51
So you are devoid of humour Jim? I have noticed a few posts from you that are a bit that way, though they amused you.

I have noticed that there are quite a few that lack economic understanding too but I don't get stuck into them. Even know of accountants that lack understanding of basic economics, even a banker who failed a course I did because he thought he knew it all.
FollowupID: 460342

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 06:47

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 06:47
OPEC have just cut production by 1 million barrels a day. It seems that anything less than $60-$70 a barrel isn't enough.
Now watch fuel prices hit the roof again !
AnswerID: 200299

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:21

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:21
Sssshhh Footy. You know how sensitive oil prices are. Just you talking like that will send them skyrocketing LOL
FollowupID: 459359

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:37

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:37
Yep, was just down the local garage and the boss said "G'day, Footy, how high would you like us to put em up to today?" LOL
FollowupID: 459416

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:48

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:48
F'loosie, just buy into the fuel supply line some where before you start the next war please, so we can get some 'mates rates' up the Gold Coast.
FollowupID: 459433

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:07

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:07
Bware and obviously BBB above, you obviously don't remember what happened to the prices when the Israelis attacked into Lebanon. The price actually went up as it did following the start of the US invasion. It brought about market uncertainty and a demand for fuel and suppliers holding back to assure some supplies too. They were using the opportunity to screw us.

Nothing to do with Howard or Beasley or anyone else here.

The weekend situation here is between the wholesale delivery and the retailer at the servo. It is the local situation where the prices fluctuate. No where else. It is the demand and opportunity cost.

BBB we can see where your prejudices are mate.
AnswerID: 200305

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:54

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:54
I agree, mate, but there's trouble brewing somewhere nearly every day. Nth Korea. The battles are STILL raging in the Middle East, Iran has been in the news lately, but the price has come down. I'm sure there's some creative 'market management' being done by some very well paid people somewhere.
FollowupID: 459371

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:07

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:07
BBB was trying to link our PM with it all of that but it is hardly fair. It is my belief that the creative stuff happens week to week at the local level but the base prices are created OS by the crude marketers.
FollowupID: 459388

Reply By: Maddmav - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:27

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:27
Ok - the oil companies are raking in huge profits - but - I reckon so are the garage owners, they are the ones shifting those price tags up and down depending on what day of the week it is.

Fuel prices fluctuate from ULP 1.15/L to 1.29/L - Monday to Sunday & Diesel moves around 1.29/L to 1.34/L

I do feel the owners of these garages are playing the profiteering game as much as the suppliers.

Vinnie

AnswerID: 200306

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:42

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 09:42
Vinnie, I heard the other day that one of the major companies mad 'only 2cents a litre' but that sounds pretty good to me.

Reckon you are pretty right with the retailers, they are the ones close to the supply to consumers and may only get filled one or two times week if that. The world market with the threats to supply are the places where the huge fluctuations are effected. Bit of a war and everone knows the price will skyrocket.. Nothing to do with Howard or Beasley. We are too small beer here.
FollowupID: 459360

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:55

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:55
You can track Shell's margins on their website - I would assume that they are publishing factual figures.

At the moment the 28 day average margin (wholesale/retail combined) for each state is:

ACT - 13.3c/L
NSW - 8.7c/L
NT - 20.2c/L
QLD - 6.5c/L
SA - 6.4c/L
TAS - 9.7c/L
VIC - 9.3c/L
WA - 7.1c/L

So if you live in Canberra or the Territory, Shell is screwing you more than the rest of the country. These figures are updated daily.

Most states have a discounting cycle - one day of the week is always going to be the cheapest. In Victoria it's generally Tuesday. Fill up on Tuesdays, and take a couple of jerrycans like I do - then if you need to fill the tank up for the weekend, use your jerrycans, and you're only paying Tuesday prices, not Friday prices. Sometimes it's a 10c/L saving - might only be $2 or $4 a weekend, but it's money in your pockets, not theirs.
FollowupID: 459381

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:11

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:11
Firstly why are independents going broke and closing up if it is so profitable.We have lost 3 servos in the last 12 months. Second it is impossible to make a living let alone a profit working on 10% profit margins. Not worth getting out of bed for.Most servos only make money out of the extras they sell
Pete
FollowupID: 459644

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:44

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:44
Two more things that effect priceing.

1. Cold climate countries stock up (fill their bulk tanks) just BEFORE the northern winter so there is less demand during the northern winter.

2. The oil companies pay for their bulk supplies in $US before the super carriers leave the Arabian Gulf. So even though the new oil stock has still got several weeks travel before it actually arrives at the refinery it has already been paid for.
AnswerID: 200307

Reply By: CLC50 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:03

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:03
The government is laughing all the way to the Bank as they get there GST 10% of all of us ,so why don't we attack our local Member with lots of Email to get a fair Price, I bet if our local corner grocer or other business Put there Prices up each weekend, to cash in the weekend trade ,we would soon stop trading with them.
I also believe all the Oil Companies fix the prices ( it is strange how they all change @ the same time).Concrete Companies fixed Prices years ago and the Government Watch dog took them to court & fined them Big time. SO IT is AGAINST the LAW.
Also where are the Truckers,Fisherman,Farmers & many others , they all are a body of hard workers who are also having a hard time to make a living due to diesel been dearer than petrol (or is dear to make diesel now, I don,t Think so)
People power can bring a fair price.
As I am retired if any one what's to complain about this ,I will forward any complaint on to the Local Member & Opposition Member in my area Sun shine Coast Queensland if you don,t wish to do this yourself.
As most 4WD members , We have seen so many oil wells caped for the future in Australia , it might be time to use our oil.

AnswerID: 200319

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:19

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:19
You are talking State Governments mate. In Victoria every household is paying $200.00 a week, yes per week more in taxes than under Jeff Kennett and GST is only part. Fines, land taxes and stamp duty being the other major impacts. That is $10,000 year extra state taxes. I am sure there is little difference in Queensland.

In Victoria we spent close to $700 million ($691m in The Age today as per the Auditor General) ensuring the success of the Commonwealth Games more than we benefitted. Weren't we generous and I rememer they were saying Kennett was keen on smoke, and mirrors and of course circuses. That is close to $170 per man, woman and child. Weren't we discussing poverty last week?
FollowupID: 459391

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:11

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:11
The oil companies are quite happy to drop the prices after they have been to record highs.

When at record highs, they were profiteering, no doubt. John Howard was never unhappy about that, because every dollar profit made by the oil companies means $0.30 extra taxes.

Now that the price per barrel is reducing, they are profiteering even more - from a high rip-off base, they are not passing on the full amount, hence increasing their gross margin even more. This is from a base of lower outlay per litre, driving up the profits on that basis as well.

Gentlemen, every time we start our engines, that unwelcome feeling we get is real - we are being comprehensively reamed.
AnswerID: 200321

Reply By: Off-track - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:23

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:23
Dont worry, Xmas is around the corner, and you should already know what's inside the gift wrapping from the oil companies.
AnswerID: 200323

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:15

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:15
A New Bike.
FollowupID: 459382

Reply By: Emo - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:24

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:24
I work for one of the major oil companies and threads like this just make me laugh. The ignorance and simplistic views of some people makes me wonder how they actually function in the real world. I love the political conspiracy theories as well. Some of you really watch to much TV.
AnswerID: 200328

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:01

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 13:01
Hi Emo
Well please advise where I am Wrong , Thats why I call myself Australian, I am open to Complaints.
FollowupID: 459386

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 14:13

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 14:13
Hello Emo

CLC just got in ahead of me . I agree with you , but this is meant to be a debate . After you have poured a bucket of scorn over them , you really should take the trouble to provide some much needed information .
FollowupID: 459392

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:07

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:07
O great and wise Emo, please scatter your pearls of wisdom amongst we poor ignorant swine :))))))
FollowupID: 459399

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:15

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:15
Haha, Gramps, beat me to it.
FollowupID: 459400

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:25

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:25
Ah Bware, one must be humble and obeisant in the presence of greatness as is shown by those who are privileged to be the keepers and guardians of all knowledge LOL
FollowupID: 459404

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:42

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:42
All whom are debating here & are not in with favour Elmo the great, shall be gathered & taken to an unknown spot,blindfolded & 30 lashes with a feather whip by the most gorgeous Sheila's in the Great land of Oz. Lol
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 459412

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:58

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:58
but emo works for them....we should listen to him.....we believe him, dont we guys....hahahaha
FollowupID: 459418

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:30

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:30
Yeah right, Member No1. You are the wise one.Lol
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 459423

Follow Up By: Maddmav - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:35

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:35
Actually Emo - I was watching the fuel stations and if you can - Tell us why prices fluctaure over the 7 days each week by 10c/L at the outlets? Why is it on a weekly cycle? Garage gets a new delivery of fuel and nothing of the above changes??

Vinnie
FollowupID: 459427

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:29
Vinnie, just one word. Opportunity. If people don't demand everything at once as they head off for the weekend, thay can smooth the cycle and buy during the week when maximum demand is days away. Just like at Rabbit Flat, you have the opportunity to buy services - or NOT. The opportunity or opportunity forgone.

Tuesday is an opportunity or you forgo it til Friday and pay the additional cost where the servo proprietor has his opportunity. He made the offer to you on Tuesday didn't he? May even have had another person on at the weekend for you and others who failed to take the Tuesday offer.

I was going to put up the link to Wikipedia and opportunity cost but that may cloud the issues with so many other thoughts.
FollowupID: 459484

Reply By: CLC50 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:46

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:46
Old information I found on the net when Fuel in some States got $1.40
Even in QLD, Australia’s cheapest state when it comes to fuel, prices are nearing the $1.40/L mark. When I first came to Australia in 1993, Fuel was around $0.60/L. In about 13 years, fuel has more than doubled in price. Mainly thanks to the fact that our Fuel Prices are linked to the Singapore Fuel market. This seems to be because the Asian fuel market is far more volatile and hence it gives the fuel companies more reason to increase prices. So at $1.40/L where is all that money going to? Sure the sheiks in Saudi Arabia are driving Ferraris, BMWs and Audis made out of silver but they can’t be taking in all that $1.40! So who is taking your money? After some research this is what I found :

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Given Fuel is $1.40 the following entities take their share of the price :

Singapore International Price : ~$0.73

Federal Fuel Excise : ~$0.38

Industry local component : ~$0.11

GST : ~$0.13

Petrol Stations : ~$0.05

Total : $1.40

So what does that all mean? Lets go through them one by one:

Singapore International Price : This is the price that Fuel enters Australia. Although the majority of our fuel doesn’t actually come from the Middle East, since 1977 The Australian Government has decided to match the price of fuel in Australia with international markets. The Singapore international fuel market was picked due to its proximity to Australia and also because its the largest of its kind in the region. The reason the government has decided to match the fuel prices with International Markets is to stop oil companies in Australia finding better deals overseas and leaving us without fuel.

Federal Excise : Peter Costello, thats all I am going to say!

Industry Local Component : This seems to be where the wholesaling and handling costs are factored in.

GST : as if the 38 cents of Fuel Excise a liter that the government is taking from us wasn’t enough, there is another 10% tax on top! How completely ridiculous as the government is taxing a tax!

Petrol Stations : You can now officially feel sorry for the petrol stations. As the first point of contact for motorists, these guys seem to get all the blame and not much of the money.

The Australian government receives around 14 billion dollars a year from Fuel Excise. Thats $14,000,000,000 extra that we pay, each year to fund John Howard’s over seas trips and Peter Costello’s ego. Admittedly it is much lower than the average 84 cents a litre of Fuel Excise that the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries (30 of them) pay, nonetheless it makes you think! Of course the other things that affect the Fuel prices in Australia include the Price of the Australian Dollar, as well as what the Fuel industry likes to call the Fuel Cycles.

Ever noticed how fuel is cheaper some days of the week and more expensive other days? Most people use to put this down to the fact that most Public workers get paid on Thursdays so it would make sense to have the fuel cheaper on thursday. Well, that might be a small factor here in Australia but given that Fuel is no longer cheap on Thursday’s it is obvious that other factors come into play. This patterned hike in Fuel prices is linked to the Fuel Cycle of the Singapore International Fuel Market and it seems to change bi-annually or so. Prices can differ as much as 20 cents from the low end of the cycle to the high end.

Well there you have it! Next time you are filling up the tank, spare a thought for the petrol station getting that lousy $3 out of your $60 fuel bill. No wonder they are stacked with snacks and magazines! And make sure you curse John Howard and Peter Costello for stealing your money.

AnswerID: 200389

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:48

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:48
So it all goes into Costello's pocket does it? Perhaps it actually goes to fund some of the roads you drive on.

A few facts and a bit of drivel. Some days a week the servo makes money, other days he loses some. Pretty simple. He tries to drive demand part of the week, then drive his margin other days as people ready them selves to go off for the weekend. You should buy when he tries to drive demand on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
FollowupID: 459488

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:42

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:42
Good morning John
As I copied this above word for word of the Net to get other views,And I have no axe to grin, & I don,t agree on some of the statements,
I think we all agree on some of the money is going to the Main Roads, & we sure need it,but if you read any government balance sheet not all of it & that is what it is for I believe.
But then again TAR Roads are the biggest waste of money for the 4WD owners.

Your Pic 1 & 2 do suit this thread
FollowupID: 459511

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:43

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:43
Hahhaha, CLC, actually I have to drive on made roads to get to pics 1 & 2 and in order to make income to enjoy that time away, I require better ones that have not been provided to date. Mind you neither of the pics are within kilometres of made up roads.

As I said elsewhere the margins for the fuel stations change every day of the week. For me every week of the year too on farm.
FollowupID: 459518

Reply By: Emo - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:09

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:09
A pretty good explanation CLC50. Unfortunately as a worker of an oil company, if I start discussing pricing I can actually get into shed loads of trouble for breaching the Trades Practises Act. A remote chance I know but when you see the size of the fines and now even custodial sentences, not one I'm going to take.
What I recommend you do, is actually do a bit of homework on the price of petrol as CLC50 has done. If you get a better understanding of who gets what then you will also have a better understanding of where your money is actually going.

In the scheme of things, the amount of oil imported by Australia really is a drop in the ocean and a sensible person would be able to deduce that would have no affect on the supply / demand cycle.

AnswerID: 200410

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:40

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:40
Understand your reticence Emo. No problem with that.
FollowupID: 459498

Follow Up By: Maddmav - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:45

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:45
CLC50 & Emo - Thanks for clearing that up.

Vinnie

FollowupID: 459519

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 08:10

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 08:10
Emo, you are ok here, go right ahead, it's only Al and I reading your post. No one else. You may put someone else in the poo of course. The Trade Practices Act gets to people that actually fix the prices.

In regard to your last comment, the percentage of Australian fuel useage is declining and we need to create a demand to have exploration or drive gas as a transport fuel. I guess you mean a drop in the ocean as far as the world useage is concerned because it is likely to be about 75% of our total transport fuel useage in a few short years. That figure is hardly a drop in the ocean and that is where the significance of import parity pricing is.

I made the comment a few weeks back if Australia closed up shop 100% tomorrow in the greenhouse gas creation, the growth of China would overtake that place in 10 months, such is their growth.
FollowupID: 459525

Reply By: Member - BBB - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:59

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:59
I’ve enjoyed reading this post and particularly the reply’s to my original post it is good that we debate these sorts of issues and have a better understanding of issues that effect our everyday lives.

It is my belief that world oil prices are controlled by a political agenda by our politicians and for people to believe that this is not the case is ludicrous.

There are several significant events happening in the world today. We are at war with Iraq and we have two countries having elections within the next twelve months we have the US elections next month where half the congress will be re-elected and all the polling is showing that Bush with loose control of the congress. We also will have elections within twelve months here in Australia.

If you look at the three countries that are the major supports of the Iraq invasion and war it is US, Brittan and Australia. As we know Brittan and Australia will do whatever the US tell them to do, and that is how I draw the link to Howard.

Beazley may not be your first choice as a political leader however he is not a George Bush puppet nor do I believe he is an ideological evil liar, like John Howard. I will refer to my previous statement

“People Don’t Be Coned fuel prices are being used as a political tool just like:

Interest rates

Children Overboard

Weapons of mass destruction

War on terror

The wheat board

Attack on workers rights”

Lets look at these one by one,

Interest Rates, I was a person that had two mortgages when interest rates where 17% this was certainly hard at the time but I would be much better paying 17% on a mortgage of $50k then what the Howard government has created being a con that interest rates are low at 8% I would rather pay 17% on $50k then 8% on $300k this is what our kids will have to pay. So the interest rate debate that was run by Howard was a con and preyed on the venerable.

Children Overboard, this was one of the greatest cons and lies that this country has ever seen where a political party blatantly lied and used this issue to be re-elected as the investigation showed. Howard had been advised that there had been no such incident, but did not reveal this until after the election because it did not suit the political climate at the time.

Weapons of mass destruction, this is the reason we so called needed to invade Iraq to liberate them with our so called democracy despite all the hype and panic created around the world these weapons did not exist. We have since found out that our political leaders including John Howard where advised as this prior so the invasion this is once again a con, the war in Iraq has nothing to do with terror has nothing to do with weapons of mass destruction, it is all about the US Oil supply of which John Howard has been a political puppet of George Bush.

War on Terror, although I do not support terrism or wars in any way shape or form when you have the US manipulating and supply weapons to middle eastern countries in the world is anyone surprised that some of these countries or organizations may want to fight back? What happened with 9/11 and was linked to Alkida has nothing to do with Iraq they are two separate identities but despite this John Howard has once again prostituted our countries values to satisfy George Bush’s agenda.

The wheat board, it is clear that this government was involved in the wheat board scandal and must take responsibility for this.

Attack on workers rights, the worst choices legislations are the most openly unbalanced legislation this country has ever seen and takes away from current workers and our kids the very foundations that we have built our wealth and lifestyle on in this country which has always been about a far go for all. This legislation gives the capital in our country all of the power.

So we can go back on history as much as we like and we can call politicians all the names under the sun but from my assessment Australia has changed dramatically and the person that is responsible for that is John Howard.

His government has been proven time and time again to be ruthless and will do whatever they have to do to stay in power including hipping up the terror argument, manipulate oil prices change media laws so he can control what is in the media, so I will repeat my initial advice,

Think About It People Don’t Be Coned Vote This Howard Government Out

BBB

P/S Emo your responce is a cop-out.
AnswerID: 200434

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:30

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:30
It is ludicous to blame house prices on John Howard and simplistic. Supply and demand and real estate agents drive house prices. You need to get some fresh air and get those brain cells working
Pete
FollowupID: 459647

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:18
Your conspiracy theories don't wash BBB, you sit too long with a drama writer. Think you are getting to be the tool mate.
FollowupID: 459685

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:39
No worries BBB I'm with you

"Think About It People Don’t Be Coned Vote This Howard Government Out"

People must live in the dark ages to think the government has got nothing to do with. ha

This is all the plan dumb down enough people and they win every time.

You can see the non thinkers by there responses LOL...

Richard Kovac AMWU. ALP. AFS.
FollowupID: 459909

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:57

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:57
......... and yours Richard? Prejudices? AMWU. ALP. AFS.
FollowupID: 459911

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:05

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:05
No No N o not me

(had to look that up in the dictionary)

I'm open to all views not just mine..

FollowupID: 459914

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:42

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:42
LOL JohnR, looks like we have a few lifetime subscribers to 'Direct Action' amongst us :))))) Fair enough. It's good to have diverse views on any subject.
FollowupID: 459921

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:36

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:36
I have to agree with BBB on his "vote the Howard Govt out".

I would however reiterate my point (albeit not clearly made earlier) that the emphasis is Howard out, and not necessarily Beasley in. The fact that we have Beasley as the "other option" IS the lesser of two evils.

As long as we all put the greens last so we can retain access to "OUR" land, Beasley is probably the better option (less of a puppet to the US, more independant in regional affairs, putting the 90% in front of the 10%, etc.
FollowupID: 459928

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:51

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:51
Conspiracy theory? It's no theory; the world leaders are aliens. You're all aliens. The kids are pretending to be asleep but I know they are reading my mind. Red wine shields my thoughts so I'm safe at the moment but I can't fall asleep in case they insert the transmitter in my head. I think the dog is on to me.....
FollowupID: 459932

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:19

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:19
Bware

You just lost me

BBB
FollowupID: 459942

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:42

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:42
If I'm reading some of these responses correctly then there are some amongst us that suggest the Howard government is deliberately trying to keep oil/petrol prices high as some sort of conspiracy.

If that is the view, could someone explain to me the thinking behind that view as it does not appear to have a lot of logic. If I was a politician trying to be re-elected I would be trying to garner the support of the masses......the masses buy fuel and aré not happy with the high price. If the price is something he could exercise any real control over then surely he would, any politician would.

So what is the great conspiracy?
FollowupID: 459947

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:43

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:43
Landy,

hahahaha you know it's the role of the bourgeois to keep the masses down. Who said logic had anything to do with this discussion?

Enough comrade, I'm off to the barricades LOLOL
FollowupID: 459953

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:48
Ah, yes Al, I am sure they are and probably subscribers to the Red October, nearly regretting it's October passing and want to now continue into November. Who is playing Sean Connery?

I reckon you are right Landy, and it is unfortunate for my friends in the grape industry they are offering red wine as a substitute. It mightn't get the 4by as far but it does wonders for inventive thoughts. Mind you 9 Coronas might do the job equally well.

Beasley as the lesser of two evils? He is twice the size, and his focus on just being contrary to good management is confounding me. Now he may just trigger Red October.
FollowupID: 459957

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:35

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:35
Hi John

Not sure I'm following your comment on Red Wine correctly, but in any case I have grave concerns that via bio-diesel production we will end up linking the price of basic crops to the price of a commodity (oil) which is definitely in a long-term uptrend that will see oil prices substantially higher than they are now.

Whilst the production of bio-diesel is currently priced on a cost-of-production basis, at some point of time the price will start to mirror rising oil prices and the price of refined fuels, whilst possibly still being offered as a cheaper alternative.

This will see the cost of basic food items increase as we divert basic crops into the production of bio-diesel............

Bio-diesel is seen as a saviour by many, and there is some merit in it, but beware the hidden cost.

Offered as food for thought!
FollowupID: 459965

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:01

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:01
Good call, Landy. The dollar price of bio-fuels is like everything else (oil, aluminium, coal etc.) in that it doesn't (can't) take into account the cost of it's impact (environmental, social). So yes, if largely used as fuel there will be a time when its price fluctuates in relation to companion fuels (oil, gas etc). The only time bio-fuels become attractive is when lobbies convince governments to support them. In reality if we utilise this fuel extensively it will consume vast areas of agricultural land and significantly impact upon food prices. It is a poor idea in the short term and idiocy in the long term, even though it sounds quite environmentally friendly on the surface.

Good post, lots of heat and humour (Gramps pretending old Jo B-P had anything good about him, others pretending Howard has principles, yet more making outlandish statements about Beasley being a potential leader!).

Only sensible comments have been about red wine keeping the thought beams at bay, at least we know that one is true.

FollowupID: 460183

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:43

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:43
Landy, on reading my post again on the wine industry, where there is a major glut the industry is trying to offer wine for anything including spirit that could fire an engine. I was also hanging a bit on the pinko responses above. Having a laugh you may say.

On the bio diesel front, the Australian oil seed industry is in melt down with canola crops and everything else that may have gone to feed us in ruins from the dry conditions and resultant frosts.

There are numerous people selling their canola plants baled as hay for stock feed industry the season is a shocker. One guy I was talking to was talking of getting 5% of his actual business revenue this year from crop sales and I know others could be worse with no income. In the acricultural businesses there are huge costs that have to be met out of the income, so count some pretty massive financial losses to Australian farmers. Mark, the environment cost will be massive too, but hopefuly that can be recovered after some time.
FollowupID: 460331

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:12

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:12

Emo touched on a very important issue when it comes to the fuel debate, lots of myth and hearsay, not enough facts and research.

The day to day price fluctuations have more to do with marketing discounts being applied and taken off and less to do with the actual price of oil. Trend price changes have more to do with what the underlying price of oil is doing.

Fuel is one of the most scrutinised and regulated industries within Australia; if the fuel companies are doing the wrong thing there is little doubt they would feel the force of the law as it is available to the regulators already.

Something that is constantly overlooked is that fuel companies make their money out of refining oil into fuel, not from selling it. There is a critical shortage of refining capacity in the world and this has increased the margin that fuel companies can make from refining it, the old supply / demand equation.

A lot is made about being linked to the ‘Singapore price’. The reality is that fuel is such a global and commoditised product that you can’t have pricing disparity between one location and another, apart from the cost of transporting it, otherwise it would be directed to the place that achieves the highest price.

As for the government taxes on fuel; sure it seems excessive, but if they reduced the amount they obtained from fuel where and who else would they get this shortfall in revenue from. Or are we proposing a reduction in government spending and outlays?

Liberal, Labour, Democrats, or Greens, none of them will be able to influence the price of fuel at the pump unless they reduce the government excise….if you think they can do that without impact, please re-read my previous paragraph….
AnswerID: 200447

Follow Up By: Emo - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:53

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:53
Another enlightend post. All of the info regarding this subject is available on the internet. All you have to do is a little homework and stay away from the conspiracy theories.
FollowupID: 459581

Follow Up By: silkwood - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:24

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:24
Landy, I see your point about the pollies (Liberal, Labour, Greens) but I'm confused. Who the hell are the Democrats?

FollowupID: 459597

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:57

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:57
Yeah.....they've run there race, some would say not very well, but I'd say it's curtains for now....

Despite many blaming Howard for the high price of petrol, even Beazley acknowledges that the price of oil is well outside his control...
FollowupID: 459821

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:40

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:40
....except stop taxing the price of petrol twice, perhaps?

GST or excise, not GST ON excise.
FollowupID: 459929

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:44

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:44
GIO,

And if elected, Beazley will get rid of neither. Time to take a reality pill.
FollowupID: 459954