Wheel travel, on my Navara !
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 04:59
Member - Bucky (VIC)
I was thinking of updating my 03 Navara, 3.0 TD,, to a full blown 4.2 TD Patrol ,,, but I simply cannot justify the $$$$$, its substancial.
Is there an aftermarket system that I can get real wheel travel, without paying a fortune for it ???
The " minister for war, & finance ", hates the ride , when empty, but when loaded, its a different story,,
Its great, up in
the desert, and most
places, but in the victorian High Country, its too low and has virtually no wheel travel.
Any suggestions ,, apart from the " trade it in " would be greatly appreciated
Cheers Bucky
Reply By: Robin - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 07:12
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 07:12
Got a few friends with those cars and its a real limitation with most ute types.
So often we look at little video clips as to why one doesn't get up the
hill and sure enough its usually a front inside wheel lifting.
Sounds like yours is to hard standard and there may be a solution. Soften it off and use air bags to increase when loaded.
As a general rule there is not a lot u can do , but its worth remembering that
suspension and wheel travel is the sum of the components and a tyre can be 1/3 of the whole so think about taller skinny tyres tyres that can have more flex.
Many give up and just get lockers.
Reply By: MattyM - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 07:51
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 07:51
Bucky,
I have an 02 Navara & had the same problems. To fix the ride I had an extra leaf added to the rear springs & had them reset so that they don't hit the overload spring so early. The bloke at the spring works told me this was a common problem with these type of utes. I also wound up the torsion bars to get a lift of about 2". The original shocks are pretty poor & a set of Koni's all round fixed the ride & handling problems.
Matty
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:02
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:02
G'DAy buckey
I had a '00 ford courier which had the same torsion bar/leaf combo as the navara and I too wanted better ride, more travel and ended up spending $2k on an OME full kit which did the job
well ($2k worth,jury's still out)
Got more travell at the back but theres f*** all you can do to the front(except stiffness)
Yep, you can wind the hight up but you will NOT get any more travell
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:37
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:37
Trade it in........hahahahahaha
You can have my rocket for a lazy $75K ....walkin/walkout. I'll even load the engel up with your favourite brand of brown lemonade. hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 04:36
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 04:36
Sounds like the bank's holding your wages back, Roahie ?????????
Looking for a quick $ Buck ,,, thats spelt with a B , not an F
hehehehehehe
by the way I am still thinking of a 4.2 wagon like yours, so if you throw in the Ultimate and $40k cash, you got a deal
Cheers Mate
hehehehehehe