2.8 GU on dieselgas.

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:08
ThreadID: 38741 Views:3062 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Firstly, the bad news. The conversion took 8 days longer than stated and my car has been back in since to get the radio fixed (which I have done myself now) and for a re-tune of the system. It seems some workshops in Perth are struggling with the demand of LPG conversions and finding and retaining quality tradesmen. I must say Mark Collins from dieselgas Australia was extremely helpful.

When I originally got my car back, the system was tuned for economy more than power. You could hardly tell the difference. Now it has been re-tuned, it goes like a shower of sheet. Had a quick trip out to Bakers Hill the other day to visit friends and had to hold the old girl back going up Greenmount in fifth. I haven't done much in the way of 4wdriving yet, but will be going to Esperance in a week or so. Pretty sure it will get tested out down there.

All I can say is to get it done! For less than a grand after rebates, I'm loving it.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:23

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:23
>>It seems some workshops in Perth are struggling with the demand of LPG conversions and finding and retaining quality tradesmen.

Not just perth, but everywhere... Also noting the prices have doubled in some places for conversions! GEE *SHOCK*
AnswerID: 200456

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:50

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:50
So, how much did it cost if I may ask?

Does it still blow a smoke?

What is the economy?

Rolande
AnswerID: 200477

Follow Up By: Imscullinbeer - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:58

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:58
G'day Rolande,

The cost was just under 4 grand and I get 3 grand back from the government.

Still blows a little smoke but nowhere near what it used to.

I wasn't really worried about the economy side of things and haven't really driven enough to work that out but will let you know when I get back from Esperance in a fortnight.

Sculls
FollowupID: 459573

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:41

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:41
I was having a beer with a mech mate on Friday night. He has sold up his workshop and is now working flatout for an LPG mob. They had a 3.0 diesel Jackaroo with the gas conversion come in, absolutely no power, lots of smoke.

They pulled it down ---------- bent conrods. The owner said that the company who did the gas install would only refund the cost of the LPG system, not the rebuild of the engine.

NOT HAPPY JAN !!!!!

These gas installs into diesel are supposedly for increased economy only.
If you tune 'em up for power, watch out!
AnswerID: 200534

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:30

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:30
Gday Sculler

Got mine booked in for December. Good to hear the positive feedback, on both the results and the service from Mark, he has been great with the correspondance I've had with him so far.....

Did you go with the 28l underfloor tank with exhaust modifications? Also, what ratio are you using diesel to Lpg, both now and before the tune up for power?

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 200641

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:27

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:27

I don't understand how they can tune diesel/lpg for economy OR power. Don't forget that diesel/LPG is a true dual fuel system, not an alternate fuel system like petrol LPG as used in your local taxi.

With the Dieselgas system recently installed in my Patrol 3 litre TD, the ratio of diesel to LPG is set by the installer and regulated by the LPG engine management computer installed with the LPG injection system. Therefore, it is my understanding that any increase of the ratio of diesel to LPG injected into the air intake will result in more engine power.

Note that the original engine management computer was not altered during the LPG installation.

Hypothetically, if all other variables remained identical, if I was to use 100 litres of diesel to travel 1,000 kms, then I may use say 70 litres of diesel and 30 litres of LPG to travel the same 1,000 kms at the same speed.

The economy comes from using LPG with diesel because LPG is about $0.80 to $1.00 cheaper than diesel. However, there may be better overall fuel economy because of more efficient combustion but more efficient combustion is more likely in a older style engine with indirect injection. In the case of the more modern direct injection ZD30 engine in theory and if everything else is the same, then the total litres of fuel used to travel a certain distance is dependant on the main variables;
- the position of the throttle;
- the load carried; and
- the prevailing wind direction.

In other words if I go faster and / or carry a heavier load into a head wind then more litres of fuel is consumed regardless of if I use straight diesel or diesel/LPG.

I now don't know if this is of any assistance or if I have simply confused myself!

Anyway keep on 4wding and enjoy the good life
AnswerID: 200882

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:37

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:37
Gday Phil

My understanding is there is an optimum mix ratio of the 2 fuels where you will get the most efficient burn, if you wind the LPG up a bit, you will get more HP, but at a cost. A bit like putting a big carbie on a V8, goes like hell but uses a lot of fuel.

At the right mix, you may get a slight gain in economy - say used to be 15l/100km diesel, could end up 14l/100km ('bout 3.5l lpg, 10.5 diesel). Wind up the LPG, and you may end up with 10l diesel, 6l LPG for the same 100k, but you will have heaps more power available, but you engine may (or may not...) have a shorter life span.

Note the above figs are examples of what I am led to believe will happen, give it a year or 2 and we will have a good data base of peoples experiences on here.

Hope this helps.......now I'm getting confused

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 460384