Jack Russell Info Please

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 12:53
ThreadID: 38744 Views:3635 Replies:13 FollowUps:29
Hi all, it's not camping related (well it can be) but I figure there's probably a few doggy owners here that can help. On the weekend we adopted a lovely adorable 3yo Jack Russell from the animal shelter. She was a stray however from what we have been told she has had a litter recently and has just been desexed by the shelter. She is a wonderful little dog with the best temperament. Does not flinch or notice other dogs barking at her, walks perfectly on a lead, loves cuddles and all the usual with one exception. SHE DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO PLAY. I am wondering if she has been mistreated as she flinches when you raise your arm and also from sticks (I was seeing if she wanted to chew on it and play tug of war).
Any advice and also recommendations for proper diet rather than the stuff you get at the supermarket would be much appreciated.
Also any recommendations for where we can camp in Vic with a dog (she'll be on a lead until we are certain she's fully responsive to our commands as I don't want her taking off after a snake as her breed loves to do).
Many thanks
Jodi

Reply By: Steve - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:07

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:07
JRs are notoriously difficult to train but would definately benefit from classes, which are as much about training the owner as the dog - really interesting and rewarding. Must admit, we only did just over half the course but definately got a lot out of it.

Unless she is very well trained there'll be little you can do if she sees a snake as she'll be off like a shot and after it. It's in their nature. Just make sure you keep her under leash or at least under close watch iof snakes maybe about.

As for food, they're pretty good nowadays and our Vet recommended VIP which comes in different flavours and resembles a large salami which you slice and chop up for them.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 200470

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:13

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:13
Thanks Steve. Hopefully we find training a bit easier than you did. When we got her on Saturday morning she did not recognise the sit command at all. In two days she now sits before i even tell her to (obviously I have a bowl of food in my hand) and she knows not to cross the line into the kitchen. All this done with no nasty training techniques - it makes me sad to see dogs flinch at the tiniest things, so unnecessary.
FollowupID: 459561

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:11

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:11
Jack Russells are a delightful little dog - enjoy :)

My Cavalier King Charles Spaniel ate nothing but Eukanuba (and the odd roast beef dinner :) her whole life and did very well on it. I believe Hills Science Diet is excellent too. They will cost about twice as much as Chum etc but contain _all_ the nutrients a dog needs.

With the play thing; just go very slowly. Roll a tennis ball a few feet and see if she'll chase it or tie a furry toy to a piece of string and pull it around. Jack Russells love to burrow so consider buying a cheap sleeping bag ($10 from the $2 Shop) and letting her "burrow" into that. "Slow" is the watchword, it may take you 6 or 12 months of patient training to get her to play more.

You can camp with a dog in any State Forest in Vic. Dogs are not allowed into National Parks and most State Parks.

I doubt you will _ever_ train a Jack Russell to be "fully responsive to our commands" :)

AnswerID: 200472

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:14

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:14
Ensure you give her a bone (UNCOOKED!) once a week or so, most butchers do doggy bones for $1 - and don't worry about getting a small bone they can handle big ones :)
FollowupID: 459562

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:19

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:19
Hi Mike,
Thanks for that. We figure it's going to be a long slow process to get her out of her shell (we know there is a real jack russell personality in there somewhere that just has not had the chance yet) but are prepared to put in the time and effort. Our yard is mostly lawn with a border garden so were thinking of getting those blue shell things and making a sand pit for her to dig in. We also had the bivvy bag out yesterday in the sun showing some friends and discovered that she was very interested to see what was on the inside of it.
We've tried the ball rolling past her feet and she barely glances at it. We noticed that it needs to be fun that involves us (ie. following into the bivvy bag etc).
I also discovered she has a huge appetite for raw chicken wings from the local butcher - I think we are fortunate that she is so responsive to food - will hopefully make it a bit easier to train.
Jodi
FollowupID: 459564

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:18

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:18
We also got a dog from the shelter that WONT play, and WONT leave you alone for a second, like its terrified to loose sight of you.. Which was great - at first, but now I want to kill it hourly.

JR's.. We have a neighbour with 4 of the bleep of a things. They bark NON STOP from the time he leaves 6am till he gets home 6pm.. And GOD HELP YOU if you bump the fence with the garbage bin.. Owner a drunk, doesnt give a bleep , neither do the council.
Almost time for Steak with ratsack in it.
AnswerID: 200474

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:24

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:24
I feel for you Truckster. There's nothing I hate more than a dog that does not know how to stop barking at the birds overhead or a leaf on the breeze (or the owners that have no interest in doing anything about it). We had a Jack Russell neighbour until recently - he used to sleep at our place and go home to get fed - I think he knew where the interaction and fun came from and where the food came from. Smart dog.
Our new little girl has sniffed right along our fence line with the neighbours dogs barking all the way along on the other side. She did not flinch or bark back - in fact I wondered if she was deaf. My only concern is the seperation anxiety - we have no idea how she will cope with being on her own during the day as she is so clingy when we are home. Have advised the neighbours (both retired) and asked for feedback about her noise while we're not there. The lady with the dogs next door is even happy to have Patsy (our girl) over the fence into her place during the day if she needs company.
FollowupID: 459565

Follow Up By: Thylacine - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:40

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:40
Only a complete bleep would bait a dog.

ed
FollowupID: 459568

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:44

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:44
Hi Thylacine - i do agree with you. Taken in context I think Trucksters comment was more an expression of frustration than a statement of what he actually intends to do!
FollowupID: 459569

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:54

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:54
Yeh Bruce,
I have a similar problem here.
In a dual occupancy house nearby there are 3 shyte zus upstairs and we have only just managed to train the owners into controlling them after numerous complaints and finally a letter to the council.
Now downstairs has a JR and it is worse than the 3 upstairs ever were, so here we go again.....

These dogs are company-loving dogs. They are not meant to be left on their own all day in the backyard, then left out there while you are home too. My dog will bark as all dogs do but we are onto her as soon as she does, to see what its all about. When she barks, i have been told, by neighbours that they know something is happening, be it a dog or stranger around.

Dogs that bark and are ignored will bark non-stop at anything just to get the attention, and if you have that sort of dog for protection of property you are out of luck because the shell-shocked neighbours won't take any notice by now anyway.
FollowupID: 459571

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:54

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:54
ya dont mince ya words eh truckie
FollowupID: 459572

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:02

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:02
I think Truckie was talking about the owners....
FollowupID: 459574

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:07

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:07
hahaha. Fair call. Some owners deserve all they get!
FollowupID: 459575

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:11

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:11
too true.....lol
FollowupID: 459576

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:46

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:46
You know me #1, say it how it is... bleep em.

Thylacine - would u like a tissue bumpkins?
FollowupID: 459579

Follow Up By: Spango - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:16

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:16
Truckster invest in a Wedge Tail Eagle they dont mind small dogs as an appertiser.

Spango
FollowupID: 459607

Reply By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:26

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 13:26
Speaking of shelters. I want to give Peninsula RSPCA a big thumbs up. We got our girl from the shelter at Coldstream - who are also wonderful, but don't fancy the drive all the way back out there to get her stitches out next weekend. Rang the RSPCA in Pearcedale (it's close to us) and asked how much for the consult check up on the operation and to get the stiches out. They are not part of the same organisation but are doing it for free. Will make sure we purchase lots of toys and doggie products while we are there so they get something in the bank.
AnswerID: 200475

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:46

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:46
thats where we got ours from - pearcedale.
FollowupID: 459580

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:54

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:54
Truckster how is it now? Still clingy? Did it bark much when you left it home alone for the first time? how did you get past the clingy thing?
FollowupID: 459583

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:16

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:16
yes how do you get past it... Ive been home 20 mins and the bleep in thing hasnt left me alone.. throw it out the back it just howls and bleep in barks... Scream at it to shut the bleep up and it eventually gets the message... Im tihnking of taping its mouth shut.
FollowupID: 459593

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:21

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:21
and the heaps of bleep over the fence havent shut up yet either... Just threw 2 buckets of water with ice in them over the hounds, they went yelping away, but straight back 2 mins later barking...
FollowupID: 459596

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:48

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:48
Teehee. I feel bad for those dogs. Maybe you should tip the iced water over your neighbour. I reckon the poor dogs are bored out of their brains, needing attention and have probably never been trained.
Maybe the neighbour drinks so much so he can't hear the dogs???
FollowupID: 459603

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 15:46

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 15:46
I had a JR for many years. He was my mate, the best mate any person could ever have!

JR's love fur. Old possum skin (sorry Aussies ), fur slippers, dead rat/mouse what ever, my dog would chew it to bits.

Bones. My JR loved dirty bones. Give him a fresh bone and he wouldn't bother, toss in the chook house and he would grab it and take off. Cooked or uncooked never bothered him. He lived to 16 years. RIP mate.
AnswerID: 200496

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:20

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:20
We had a "fostered" JR which belonged to our neighbours, he would come over for the day and head home after the neighbours arrived home, he loved chasing the ball but that was because that is our dogs favourite game and JR used to join in. He was lovely, he had his bed on the side verandah and when we were not looking would sneak in and pinch our dogs food. Both dogs got on well (ours is a Kelpie/Collie cross sheep dog) and then one day we noticed that JR was not coming over so asked the neighbour where he was and was advised that he had been run over by a car. A very sad day.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 200505

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:46

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:46
Oh. I feel for you. Even though our 'fostered' JR was not ours we miss him terribly. Thankfully he is still alive, happy and healthy. We moved house (only 6km away) and had to say goodbye. He has a good life. Five acres of semi cleared land, horses to chase (and believe me he does) and a dam with ducks to harrass all day.
We missed him so much that we were prompted to get a dog ourselves in the new place. A lot of thought went into it as we knew the nature of our fostered friend and had to think long and hard. We did not want to do the wrong thing by the dog and end up with a bored dog lacking in attention, training and love that would p*ss off the neighbours every time they, or anybody in thge street, made a noise.
FollowupID: 459602

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:24

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:24
Yes - it is camping related ! - Some people travelling down the Tanami Track a couple of years back - let their Jacky off the lead for a few minutes while camping one night - poor little blighter wandered off - they couldn't find him anywhere - has never been seen since. We put a bulletin out for him on the VKS737 network but .... he's gone.
AnswerID: 200518

Follow Up By: Jodi - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:29

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:29
Point taken. That is my concern. I think when camping in a new environment with lots of exciting new things to check out (particularly from dog perspective) that the lead will have to stay put!
FollowupID: 459609

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:25

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:25
Hi Jodi

I can't comment on JR's as I've never owned one, have known a few though and has been mentioned before they're great little dogs. I think time and patience will get your dog playing, who knows what trauma it's been through, re food though, we have a Brittany Spaniel and we have previously owned Irish Wolfhouds I can recommend Bonnie Complete Dry food, it's a lot cheaper and it's just as good and our dogs loved it. It was initially recommended to us by a breeder and we have since sung it's praises....rice is also good to give dogs with some cooked veg and a bone every week or so is great for it's teeth....

hope the little fella learns how to play and gives you years of enjoyment...

Lyn
AnswerID: 200529

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:01

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:01
Hello Mrs Al

Have you repaired all the holes in the fence yet..........LOL

xxxxxxx
FollowupID: 459643

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:44

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:44
yep it would seem so...lol
FollowupID: 459653

Reply By: John and Lynne - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:34

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:34
JRs are wonderful little dogs! Our 6 year old goes with us everywhere in our van and loves travelling. She makes friends everywhere she goes. In country towns it seems anyone we meet has a JR story to share. We have met a lot of people through her and found some marvellous walks we would otherwise have missed.
Caravan parks and camping grounds that take dogs seem to have the nicest people!
She has been easy to train. She responds well to food rewards (the vet says she is food obsessed) but hates being shouted at. She did well at trainining classes for a while but got bored at the repetition after a while.
Hunting is in the breeding (Terrier means earth dog - they ran the fox or rabbit to earth ) so be careful in snake country or whrer she can disappear after a rabbit)
As other have said, these dogs need company and hate being left alone. Breeders suggest that it is better to have two if you are out a lot. They are intelligent and if not kept occupied will look for mischief or undertake major landscaping or escape projects!
Enjoy your JR. John and Lynne
AnswerID: 200532

Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:57

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 18:57
Hi Jodi,
Great little dogs. All dogs are pack animals and you need to remember that. With dogs like JR and Staffies you need to be the dominant pack member or they will make you life hell. Play is a learnt activity in a way. You will will find she will play if she is interested and trusts you. Grooming, offering a tummy for a rub are all submissive acts for a dog. She is acknowledging you as the boss. If she has been mistreated you will need to be careful how you approach her. Buy a few different toys like a rope and perhaps a ball. Give them to her in a way she will understand they are hers. By this I mean don't pick them up and put them on a bench. If you want them out of the way put them in her basket or whatever she is sleeping in. When she has got used to them she may well bring them to you. This may be a long process and you will not be able to force her. If she likes her food get a treat ball as the greed factor will get her going with the ball.

We use science diet and it is pretty good though expensive. Mix up there food a bit flavour wise to keep them interested.

AnswerID: 200536

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:43

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:43
Hi steve, we have done some of the above without realising it was the right thing. We have a small rubber ball that is placed in her bed with her when ever she sleeps (along with some old tshirts that have been slept in when we leave in the morning). This morning was far better than yesterday. She is obviosuly trusting us more and getting used to our routine. Looking for tummy rubs and a stern word is all it takes to get her out of the kitchen - we no longer raise our arms when telling her off. She needs to be part of the 'pack' and know who is boss but we don't want her feeling threatened. That can only bring out the worst in a dog.
We have been giving her raw chicken wings in the morning and normal food at night after walkies. Last nights walk was like a different dog. Something changed yesterday - she's finally settling I think and is starting to smile more and investigate the things around her when we walk.
FollowupID: 459732

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:41

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:41
Hi Jodi,
She sounds like she is settling in. I forgot to mention a few things yesterday. Hopefully you will not need any of this stuff.

If you give her bones watch for constipation and any bloating. It is a very individual thing, some dogs are fine with them with others it is nothing but trouble (bowel obstructiions, bone stuck in gums). She may like chicken necks as well.

Dog packs are linear. Every dog has its spot, there is no such thing as two dogs on the same level. They just don't do equal. They are either accepted as above or below or they fight to find out where their spot is. I mention this if you have kids. In most homes the pack order is:

Wife
Husband
older children
dog
young children

Why is the wife on top?? Easy she controls the food.
There are issues this can causes as your dog finds her spot. Most of the time they will just slot in at the bottom and then work their way up (or stay at the bottom). This is built in behaviour, it is just part of being a dog. This is why young kids should be kept away while the dog is eating. You have given them the food and they will defend it from pack members lower than itself possibly in a very agressive way, particularly if they have been neglected in the past. This does not mean they are a bad or viscious dog, they are just being a dog as designed. But you as the pack leader will be able to do anything so don't assume if you can do something the dog will take it from anybody else.

I really suggest that you take your dog to training. They can help you deal with any issues that appear quickly before they get out of hand. You are giving your dog signals all the time by the way you behave and how you treat her. It is a good idea to know what you are saying.

You need to be the alpha with the dog at the bottom of the heap. If the dog gets to alpha, you can be in big trouble even if it is a JR. If there are any issues see your vet or training group asap. A good idea is to reinforce the hirarchy all the time. This can be easily done. Just get her to sit. Put her food down and tell her to wait, but don't let her eat then give her a command to eat. Make her wait at least 30 seconds. This reinforces your spot on top and many dogs will not eat until told. This can stop your dog being baited as they will not eat stuff chucked over the fence. Just remember to tell anyone who is looking after your dog what the word is. This is so common now that a lot of kennels ask if the dog has been trained this way.

I have learnt all this the hard way but am in no way an expert. So I suggest you get help asap from a proffessional if it looks like stuff is going wrong.

FollowupID: 459745

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:58

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:58
Thanks again. That would explain why I can approach her when she's chewing on her chicken wings but Jason can't - she doesn't get aggresive, she picks it up and keeps walking away from him.
We don't have kids. We are now a fur kid family.
I am taking her to the RSPCA on Saturday to get her stitches out - planned on asking them there about training etc (I prefer to do as much as I can through organisations like that as they put so much back in to the community with the moola we give them).
FollowupID: 459765

Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:49

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:49
jodi
dont let dog play with sticks-reason being can puncture inside throat or whever it may get lodged-only say this cos ours (not JR) used to love sticks until it punctured through throat when caught on something-needless to say big$ later but worst was stitches inside as best as could be got to-recovered 90%.
we use iams which apparently is same co as eukanuba. also add rice and vegie mix with bit of can muck.
could use chicken carcasses as is what they eat in wild.
not all dogs want to play-be thankful it doesnt bark and is well socialised and doesnt have little dog syndrome-thats 90% of your battle snd it seems its already a decent dog.
try book camps 3-lists heaps of places can take dog and also gives idea how close to rd spot is.
also rooftop maps show camp spots in all areas so can choose a state forest to go to.
if you have 4wd there is plenty of good spots to go
fozzy
AnswerID: 200546

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:48

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:48
Thanks fozzy. I agree, we are very lucky and half the battle is already won with her personality - it's just time and guidance to bring her back out of her shell.
We have hilux and before getting her we did consider how our destinations would be limited (we normally get away every 2 - 3 weeks for a night or two). After we got feedback we decided to bite the bullet. Now just trying to suss out those locations we can go to in the beginning - ie. quiet and no dirt bikes. I have discovered that skate boards, babies and motor bikes spook her. She does not get nasty, just cowers behind my legs. Will have to introduce her to friends kids very very carefully.
FollowupID: 459733

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:45

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:45
>babies and motor bikes spook her. She does not get nasty, just
>cowers behind my legs. Will have to introduce her to friends kids
>very very carefully.

Do take great care with children. If she is frightened of them (and who knows how she was treated in the past?) although she may cower normally if in particular circumstances she feels threatened enough she may attack and this is perfectly normal behaviour for a dog. And even a JR could do some damage to a small child. Children will not, of course, realise that even something like, inadvertently, boxing the dog into a corner may stress it to the point of attack. Keep in mind also that a dog tied up by a lead can feel quite vulnerable because their movement is restricted and if threatened they cannot run away so have no choice but to attack.

FollowupID: 459747

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:05

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:05
Thanks Mike. I do agree with you. Freinds have young children and I have no desire to find out if she will defend herself when threatened by a child.

I also discovered the hard way when younger about an abused dog on a lead. We got a Dalmation x from the pound years ago that had been terribly abused. She barked and got scary at everybody except my parents and sister (I was out of home by then). I was even a bit unsure about whether or not to go out the backyard when they weren't home (she wouldn't get to the adoption stage these days). Eventually we had a garage sale and Stephi was on her lead in the backyard. By now she was a happy dog and a friend's teenager approached her and ended up with teeth in face and stitches. Not pleasant for all concerned. Thankfully family friends were very understanding (dog lovers) and we never ever put her in a situation like that again. She died last year at the ripe old age of 16. Deaf and suffering from arthritis. When the vet advised that the drugs weren't helping her be comfortable anymore then she had to go to doggy heaven. She left behind an 8 year old dog who had become her pal, companion and daughter (alos from pound although never badly treated - taught her to play). A sad day for all but at least she jumped on the right karma train when Mum found her at the pound. She deserved all the love she got after what she had been through.
FollowupID: 459766

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:08

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:08
We adopted a 4yr old JR 12 months ago after the death of our 10yr dog Jess! Jess was an RSPCA dog a small pup not expected to live the guy said "If she dies come back and we'll give you another one", so we had a lucky 10 yrs. She was meant to be a small to medium size dog, but they got that wrong as well, Steve needed a small excavator to bury her!

Back to the new family member "Dexter", he's a fantastic little dog! He seemed to have no training when we got him, but using food as a reward he's great now. He adores the kids and loves to just sit with them and have a cuddle. But get out a tennis or football and it's game on and he's like the energiser bunny and just doesn't stop!

Dexter was also a little timid, not sure what he went through before we got him, but with time and lots of love he's definitely come out of his shell now!!

Sandy
AnswerID: 200620

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:50

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:50
Thanks Sandy. We're waiting for the same thing to happen with Patsy (the name the shelter gave her). It kind of suits now. She gets called Pats more than Patsy though.
FollowupID: 459734

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:29

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:29
I also had a dog that hadn't been taught how to play, I found that squeaky toys were a great inspiration.
AnswerID: 200640