ok, ford explorers, for and against

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:25
ThreadID: 38760 Views:4362 Replies:17 FollowUps:28
hi all, i want to move up in years from my 92 maverick on gas and like the explorers as does the wife. which beleive me is a great feat on it's own. and money is not as ready as i would like but .it will be towing a 17.6 windsor poptop.
may one day up grade that to a 19' fors and against. i don't do much off road and i wouldn't call it off road as such, just dirt roads rearly.
Pete

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:25

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:25
Hi there Pete, I dont own one and dont know any body with one, but can only relay the response from my mate who does NRMA inspections (for the last 14 years)who reckons they are the biggest fuel guzzling bucket of bleep ford have ever put on the road. He said heaps of electrical problems and rust in such a young vehicle is also an issue. Now I know there will be people out their that own one of these and possibly have had no problems but just repeating what he has told me and he is a ford man through and through so not a bias opinion. He also refers to them as ford exploders. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 200552

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:36

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:36
hi steve, yer i have heard that myself but not to long ago was talking to a bloke that has one and said has had it 3 years and loves it and it's better on fuel than his old one but didn't say what that was. so yer like you say everyone has there own opinion. but thanks for yours, in my opinion they all rust if they aren't washed regular.
Pete
FollowupID: 459650

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:31

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:31
If you intend on travelling, consider carefully the availability of spares.

Ford Explorers IIRC had issues with timing chains that would break and require replacement. Not a biggie you say....well, they are mounted in the REAR of the engine and require the engine to be removed to replace them (II recall someone mentioning $2-3000). Given that the vehicles you are now looking at are a couple of years old you are looking at a ticking bomb.............

Stick with the Toyota/Nissan crew.
AnswerID: 200555

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:42
thanks for that but rearly you are only buying a ticking bomb in anything you buy with a few ks and years on. and i have owned a toyota and wouldn't give you sixpence for one. worst 4by i ever owned. and it was a 93 ute with medium ks, but thanks for that timing chain info.
Pete
FollowupID: 459652

Reply By: Merce - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:44

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 20:44
there is a reason why they are called exploders
they have very little going for them and they are just not worth the hassel
AnswerID: 200560

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:04

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:04
So you know the history of how the term exploder stuck?
FollowupID: 459661

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:02

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:02
Obviously not, or he wouldn't of typed that comment.
FollowupID: 459805

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:57

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:57
Yes you are correct Baz. I think it was you who told me about the tyres.
FollowupID: 459810

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:12

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:12
......but Baz is the person who taught the legendary exploder to swim, that they could nearly learn but fail it the real story of EO. Of course that is aside to the 2by Exploder real story. You better tell people in your own words Baz, and elaborate why a Landy is better.
FollowupID: 459963

Reply By: RustyHelen - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:00

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:00
Hi Pete
I don't have one and have heard all the stories about them. "Everyone" calls them "Exploders" even a mate who is on his second. The first he had for about 9 years without a bit of trouble, got it in about 96/97 I think. Changed over early this year and had no hesitation in going for the newer model even with the risk of Ford not selling them etc etc. Should be said that his off roading is limited to the Flinders every year or so but he does tow a reasonable sized van twice a year every year and reckons it is fantastic.
Also, we live in the Yarra Valley in Vic, lots of horsey folk and lots of Explorers pulling horse floats. They must make a reasonable touring and pulling vehicle.
The comments about fuel useage should be taken in context. Get yourself a 100 series petrol and put something behind it like a relly did and experienced 30 lp100lms.
For what it is worth.
Rusty
AnswerID: 200563

Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:02

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:02
I wouldn't even think about buying an 'exploder'. As previously posted they are very prone to breaking timing chain tensioners, the 2 that i have repaired at work both smashed the broken tensioner through the rocker cover, in one case broke the pick-up for the camshaft position sensor of the cam, that car had done 120,000km. Once repaired the owner was offered $2000 as a trade in, on a new Falcon.
I don't want to bag your plans, but would seriously reconsider the explorer option, as the only exploring you will get to do is finding new ways to get to your mechanic.
AnswerID: 200566

Follow Up By: gav99x - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:33

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:33
"Once repaired the owner was offered $2000 as a trade in, on a new Falcon."

Now THERE'S an accurate way to get a feel for what your cars worth lol
FollowupID: 459730

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:10

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:10
I have a mate who has one. (I know its another mate story lol. Hopefully you will get a few owners answer) He upgraded? from a GQ petrol and reckons the econmy is heaps better than the GQ on petrol.(heck what isn't lol) He loves the comfort and power of the thing but it comes with a compromise in offroad abililty and build strength. First drive on sand had him flat on his belly whilst all others drove straight through so maybe a lift kit would help? He just doesn't have the confidence to do what he did in the GQ. All depends what you want it for I guess.
AnswerID: 200568

Reply By: keepkampen - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:06

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:06
thanks everyone, it gives me plenty to think over now and i dear say tomorrow when i check on here again there will be more. have a good night all.
Pete
AnswerID: 200594

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:52

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:52
Also remember that there is a hellofalot available in the used car market in 4x4s, especially in the large petrol guzzlers. Just do a search on ebay for 4x4 and see all the cars in your price bracket.
FollowupID: 459727

Reply By: camship - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:07

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:07
Appart from the fact that they tend to be very cheap to buy second hand, why would you consider buying one?
Do you just want to be different?
AnswerID: 200646

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:57
The Explorer IS a great tow vehicle and is very comfortable with all the creature comforts.
BUT the realiability and off road ability (even gravel) leave a lot to be desired.
You would be better off with a falcon car or wagon and still return reasonable economy plus they can be gassed up.
My advice go Nissan or Toyota.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 200672

Reply By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:54

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:54
ok thanks everyone, there seems to only be two types 4x4 on here . one as i said earlier i will not buy another toyota and nissans are out of my price range. and i would say there is more toyotas/nissans for sale than others. you hear a lot of trouble with the gu,s but everyone to there own, .
Pete.

ps, don't take this the wrong way as it's not ment to up set anyone and i thank everyone for there comments.
AnswerID: 200714

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:03

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:03
I am not surprised you had problems with your ute. These things are about the toughest on the market and as such they get used for the toughest jobs (mining, carrying 2tonnes of hay while towing the boom spray and the list gos on) tough or not it pays a toll and any tojo utes past history should be well examined as more often than not past history is an indication of future performance!
FollowupID: 459828

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:12

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:12
Hi Keepkampen et al,

Have you ever considered a Landrover DiscoTD5.

Now watch the comments fly LOL

I must admit to being a bit of a Landrover nut and enjoy stirring the pot a bit.

Disco
FollowupID: 459831

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:13

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:13
Keepkampen ,have a look in the search function under ford and or explorer ,sorry that I dont have the available time right now to tell u of our ford explorer , cam chain problems ?? not until way over 2hundred thou kays ,exploders ?? was a USA tire company [firestone] caused problem ,, towing ?? min156kw ,gravel roads ?? did the simpson ,birdsville ect ect ,, bet a $ or 3 that if Baz /redback didnt drown his he would probably still have his , only ever got rid of ours because time was "right" to change to a diesel ,
FollowupID: 459832

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:22
Had a look at the members rigs - only 1 Exploder there. The bio says he gets 4.5 - 5 klm per litre. Hmmmm.

Even my old 2H get 6.5 - 7 klms per litre.
AnswerID: 200721

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:35

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:35
Hmmm 4.5 -5 klm per lt , you forgot to mention ,TOWING A FULL SIZE and HIGHT 18.6ft CARAVAN .
FollowupID: 459836

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:45

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:45
also petrol vs diesal
FollowupID: 459843

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:55

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:55
ok ok, i wasn't the top of da class for spelling. or any fing else for dat matter. i must remember to use da spell check.
FollowupID: 459848

Reply By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:41

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:41
hi Disco, yes i have thought about the td5 and still are, it's not gone by a long shot. the wife dosn't like them but hey she didn't like the maverick either. and she won't be driving it..
Alloy c/t , thanks for that and how do you find deisil as the petrol.
Pete
AnswerID: 200729

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:43

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:43
ops, that's ment to be diesil .
FollowupID: 459841

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:45

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:45
try this time , diesel. doing tomany things on here at once.. i'm a man and can't do more than two at a time.
FollowupID: 459842

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:59
Keepkampen , can say that personally I would never "go back" to having a petrol powered 4x4 , yes the petrol has "more" kw / horsepower and the quick getaway from the lights ,, but my turbo diesel will pass that same vehicle fueling up at the service station and just cruise on by ,, the old story of the tortise and the hare ,
FollowupID: 459851

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:06

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:06
Hi Keepkampen,

My missus wasn't that keen when I bought mine either.She loved "her" near new Subaru Forester that I traded in.
Guess who drives the Disco now?? (and it ain't me, except for the long trips & even then she keeps on at me for a drive)
I'm relegated to the diesel Courier dual cab for everything else.

Keep trying, eventually you may have a win

Disco

FollowupID: 459854

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:09
yep it will all come good some day.. thanks Disco.
Pete
FollowupID: 459857

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:59
For F**k sake hear is somebody who owns one

Cam Chain Tensioners a problem for pre mid 2000 Models, I changed mine at 115,000 and it’s now at 155,000 with no problems, and the tacho has seen the other side of 6000RPM more than a few times without a hint of resistance from the engine

Towing, yes bleep easy

Gravel> Brilliant, it’s a bit strange at first having the Auto 4WD cut in and out but once you get used to it you can rely boot along

Brakes are very good

Bad in sand are you serous> I have driven up dunes in high range that took my mate in his patrol 3 goes in low range to get up

Bad off road in stock for yes> Fit some decent springs and they go well.

Driveline is solid Ford 8.8 on the back and Custom Dana 35 on the front, so you won’t be snapping diffs unlike another type of 4WD.

Fuel economy I constantly pull 12-14 Ltrs per 100 and that’s not babying it, yes it will use a bit more towing but at least you will be able to maintain speed up hills and have power to overtake.

Biggest problem is not a lot of people know much about em in Australia and Ford overcharges on parts and work on them as i have found out first hand,

as for Rust problems< They are built to be driven on salted American roads, I have had mine on the beach many times, it has been driven on mining accesses roads that have been wetted down with salty mineral soaked ground water, I have come home from trips and you could see the salt crystals shining throe the red Mud in the Sun and There IS NO RUST IN MY EXPLOERE.

If I had my time over agene would I buy it agene YES, Thou I would of set a few thing’s up differently, as when I did my suspension set up I was playing it safe, knowing what I know now I would of gone a different route to give a better end result.

Now after that, mate if you are still around I am more than happy to have a little chat about them so you Know what to expect and what they are like to own and how too get cheep parts, All First hand Info from somebody who owns one and does 98% of the work on it.

AnswerID: 200736

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:06

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:06
and thats all i need to hear. thank you. i will take you up on that offer as well.
Pete
FollowupID: 459855

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:12

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:12
Ok’ mate I will just go throe a pile of stuff and if you have any other questions just ask.

Engine> SOHC V6
Know problem as already stated Cam Chain tensioners, There is one on the front Right head and one on the back left in the Valley under the Intake manifold> Ford charge around $700 to replace them with the updated ones witch are Bigger

Timing chains and guides> this engine has 4 Chains (2 cam) one of which is on the back. It is not unheard of for the Timing Chain tentioner and the chain guides to wear out (Poor design) this was supposedly fixed around mid 2000-2001, the problem is if you get a issue with the rear Cam Chain Cassette as the engine needs to be pulled to fix it, I could harp on all day about this so I will rap it up buy saying this. >

It is a know problem It’s around a $4000 Job to replace all the Timing gear on the engine (Ford Price). At 153,000 Mine is still running sweet I did my Cam tentioners at 115,000 after driving with bugged ones for 10,000k, I know of 3 Explorers that have had the rear cam chain let go both had over 215,000k on them and all were pre September 2000, I hear of more Nissan ZD30 going bang with a chit load less K’s on em and people still buy those. You can pick up a NEW crate Motor for $4500 from an engine importer in NSW I think it is (Just so you know)

That is basically the only problem with the engine apart from that it a good motor, It’s built on race technology so it can Rev when you want it to and has good power Peak toque at 3000Rpm , as I said mine has gone parts 6000Rpm (The numbers stop a 6000 too) a few times and the engine didn’t struggle to get there, I have hit 180Km/h once and the bloody thing was still pulling!!! , It uses no Oil between changers and at 155,000K there is no sludge build up in the engine, it is still shiny inside.

Gearbox and T/case, Manuals are not common and I wouldn’t buy one ether as the auto is king and it gets the better engine behind it too.

It’s the 5R55E (5Speed auto) a good unit really as long as you look after it, This means Oil and Filter changers at 100,000K and re toqueing the valve body bolt’s wile you have the pan off. If doing a lot of towing in hot conditions drop that down to 80,000K IMO. Use only Mercron V Fluid in it (Penrite Synthetic ATF Also meats the standards and is cheaper and better) the gearbox will not of been serviced unless the owner had asked for it as it’s not on the service schedule (it’s a ford thing) dropping the pan is 4ltres and full oil change is around 10 litres.

Transfer case is a Borg Waner 44-05 Electronic shift, 2 know problems 1, The Chain in it can stretch 200,000K+ before such an issue might happen and No. 2 the shift fork that locks in low range can break 240,000k+ so both High mileage issues and for your sort of use unlikely. Oil change interval for the T/Case is 40,000K and it takes the same oil as the transmission

Also the shift motor that controls Low range engagement can suffer Internal electrical contact failure but will not affect 4WD HI. It's A Known problem more common in 1997and early 1998, Mine went a few months ago, a new one $800 from ford Aust $600 from the states or aftermarket from the states $200, I got a second hand one for $250.

Rear Axle> Ford 8.8 and is solid as, It will probably come with the Trac-Loc LSD 3.73gear ratio which is a good unit but will be very average for off-road use buy 120-130,000k (Still better than a Toyota LSD when new but LMAO) but still woks fine on gravel and the black top, the new clutch packs are $100US and just involves the normal LSD repack procedure, Not hard just time consuming and a job you rely need to be motivated for (I haven’t found the motivation yet LOL)> Oil change interval is at 150,000 thou I did mine at 120,000 and used slightly heaver LSD gear oil for better protection you need to pop the diff cover plate to drain the oil as there is no drain plug.

Look mate we might make this a 2-part instalment, as it is getting a bit long.

I will put the rest up tomorrow arvo WA time, or latter tonight

Any questions on the above feel free to ask.

FollowupID: 459890

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:11

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:11
cheers exploder, thanks very much for all that , you know it's only on here people are bagging them as everyone else i talked to love them. but it is good to here what others have to say about different things. well i am going to save all your info now . thanks again.
Pete
FollowupID: 460081

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:12

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:12
Part 2

Front Axle> is a DANA 35 made for the front of the Explorers no other Standard DANA 35 stuff will fit the unit. I have had no problems with mine aside from needing to replace the Pinion seal at 105,000K, not uncommon for a DANA diff; Seal was about $35 from memory. It’s all IFS up front and once agene the CV’s haven’t given me any problems even with running a 2-inch lift on the front.

Electrical problems> The GEM Module (Controls the 4WD system) can sometimes pack it in NOT VERRY COMMON thou, a new one is around $1000> The Only electrical problem I have had on mine is the battery leaked and spilt acid over a wiring harness a stuffed the wiring, that resulted in damaged airbag Crash sensor wiring, Horn not working, Cruse control only worked occasionally and 4WD Low not being able to engage. Hardly the car’s fault!!!

Part’s> Buying Parts in Australia can be expensive; buying parts from the U.S is a lot Cheaper, the way I work is anything I can’t buy hear or I can’t get for a reasonable price I order it from the U.S.A

www.summitracing.com > If it’s American and it aftermarket these guy’s probably have it, and they are easy to deal with and happily ship to Australia.

http://www.fastpartsnetwork.com/> These guys can order any Ford part direct and sell it cheaper than U.S Ford dealers do and a lot cheaper then Aus Ford dealers> I.E the front wheel bearings are a sealed unit and are a N/S item and should last a long time, If you need to replace them ford AUS charges $700 each, these guys will get them for $290 Australian Each + shipping.

Generally they are fairly reliable, Mine has never let me down, the biggest issue I have had is the Cam chain tensioners and that took a Saturday to swap them over, The longest on going issue was my 4WD Low engagement due to the damaged wiring from the leaking battery, that took 8 hours of me digging around and 2 visits to ford, It should of taken one visit and a day if the Workshop technicians put 2 and 2 together pulled out there wiring diagram and realised Horn, airbag 4WD and cruse control wiring all run to the same harness that was next to the leaking battery that they spotted up on the first visit.

If you don’t mind getting the hand dirty once in a wile you can do most services yourself, if you are mechanically minded and have some decent tools and don’t mind getting in and having a go you can do most thing’s on the truck, the Haynes Manuel number is 36024

One last thing, for anything you need a hand figuring out or advice on www.explorerforum.com >American site full of mechanics, enthusiasts, Ford employees and everyday Explorer owners, there are a few Australian owners who frequent it as well., very helpful site.

A bit about My Explorer> 1997 Fully optioned XLT 5 Speed Auto 4.0L SOHC 4WD, lifted 2.5-Inch rear/ 2-inch at the front (Custom HD Lovell’s sprigs) Moog Control arms and bull Joints, RANCHO Shocks, TJM Bull bar, CIBIE spot light’s, Uniden UHF, Custom exhaust, 31-Inch Cooper ST’s and a few other bit’s and pieces. It’s been all over the place with a solid amount of work off-road, I have even had a few Nissan and Toyota owners ask me about it along the way.

I. Hope I have been able to give you a fair run down on what to expect, Check out that other forum for some more Info on them and ask some questions of other owners before making up your mind, As I said before if I had my time agene I would still of brought my explorer.

FollowupID: 460082

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:08

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:08
thanks again exploder, i will go into that other site and you have been more than helpful.
Pete
FollowupID: 460094

Reply By: oldsquizzy - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:02

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:02
Price an after market exhaust for it . And if it has electric shocks price them as well and if that doesnt scare you nothing will....grin
AnswerID: 200747

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:10

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:10
they call them exploders for a reason
AnswerID: 200751

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:44
OK Donks,

I'll bite

Why?????

Disco
FollowupID: 459885

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:56

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:56
Another person who has no idea, disco.

Another thing about the exploding TYRE incident that was NOT widely publicised was that other vehicles as well as the Explorer were having the Firestone tyres explode on the highways at speed, but because Explorers are so popular in the USA, they got the most attention.

They also have 2 engines the popular SOHC 4.0l with 152Kw fitted to an auto box.

And the OHV 4.0l with 119Kw fitted with a manual gearbox, with the crap Borg Warner 1401 transfer case.

FollowupID: 459961

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:05

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 08:05
One more thing the Explorer was first introduced in Aust in 1996, the models before this 91 to 95 had the strong gear in them and live axle front diff not IFS, and are the most popular Explorer in the USA for offroading because of this.

FollowupID: 459962

Reply By: wafarmer - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:19

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:19
Keepkampen

My mate on the farm next door had one it was very well liked and treated and had done almost no towing but just out of warranty by a few thousand k's the auto tranny started to play up (dropping out of overdrive and other stuff).
The long and short of it was ford didn't want to know about it ( this car has been a huge embaresment for them) so he took it to a auto tranny expert and 1 month and about $5000 later they said dont trust it dont tow with it and the best thing to do is sell it which is what he did.
They said the tranny is a pommy Jag unit and not much chop and expensive to fix this seems to be confirmed by looking up the explorer on the net.
Sorry to be negative but he really loved that 4x4 and it broke his heart and his bank balance when he got badly screwed on trading it.

Cheer's
wafarmer
AnswerID: 200800

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:02

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:02
The 5R55E, though mechanically identical to the 4-speed 4R55E, is a five-speed transmission, the first produced by an American Auto maker. The ability to produce five forward gears is by improved software control. The 5R55E introduced adaptive shift control and sophisticated friction to friction shift ability. The 5R55E introduced Directional high energy frictions and eliminated all but one thrust washer with high-capacity thrust bearings. It was designed for the high-torque 4.0Ltre SOHC.
FollowupID: 460057

Reply By: Auntie - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:17

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:17
Bought a new Explorer in 2000. Going strong and had no problems except for the price of parts & service from Ford. Since found a local private mechanic. Towed a 1978 Jayco Dove camper van for 6 months round the west coast including the Gibb River Road and Kalumburu Road with no problems. Average around 16 Lt./100Km. while towing which I reckon is OK.Flies along beaches and up sand dunes. Tried them all at Stockton.With just the cook and I and a suitcase in the back on the Hume Fwy. at 100Kmh. we use around 11 Lts./100Km.Done about 120,000Km. with no problems. Pretty happy with the machine. Gets VERY regular servicing, which all vehs. need . Also got 90,000Km. from the Goodyear Wranglers that Ford replaced the Firestones with. So I bought them again.If I'd bought a Toyota or Nissan I would have done no more.
AnswerID: 201125