Suspension upgrade

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:41
ThreadID: 38770 Views:2635 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi guys,

I am currently looking into replacing my standard Nissan suspension with some after market model whilst getting a 2 inch lift at the same time. I have used TJM 2000's on my old Disco, but am unsure of what is best for the Patrol as there are heaps of marketers out there claiming to the best. I am after something of which give reasonable handling around town , but is good on outback (read corrugated) roads. I know this is a vague question but any advise would be nice.

Cheers Dave!

MPG:3!

Reply By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 03:15

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 03:15
I am currently running ARB OME Nitrocharger shockies and coils with a 2" lift in a 98 2.8l GU Patrol. I have nothing but praise for the suspension which has coped well so far in the 40 thousand kilometers I have put it through. The ride is noticabely less boatlike (Ie rolly) through town whilst on the highway the absorption of bumps and potholes is much unchanged to the standard kit which is pretty awesome (love coil/stabiliser set ups!). On the corrugations they do fade ever so slightly but after the run into Lawn Hill gorge last year they were far superior to my mates XGS gas shockies (3.0l GU) which all lost effectiveness very quickly. He now has the ones with the remote cylinder for superior heat dispersion over the gas charged ones. Old Man Emu (OME) have these and sell under the name of LTR - Long Travel Remote.
My kit fitted cost $1200 but this was with a rear stabilers bar extension bracket and front castor kit and I believe I have got value for money.

Ben
AnswerID: 200614

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:21

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:21
I have a similar set up on the GQ without the castor or extension bracket as they were not needed. Have done 45,000km of punishing tracks including the Anne Beadell Hwy and had it checked out by ARB a month ago and only needed to replace one shockabsorber bush. My system cost ( springs and shocks )was $1220. Mechanic at ARB Port Augusta reckons shocks should do 80,000km. Might go the LTR when theses shocks give out.
FollowupID: 459718

Follow Up By: honestjohn - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:08

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:08
we're using king springs with a 2'' lift and koni long travel shocks finished a trip around our big , towing a caravan 80% of the time.
we have a 96 gq ute not a worry at all. hope its of some help
FollowupID: 459856

Follow Up By: honestjohn - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:10

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:10
oops should read our big country
FollowupID: 459859

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:33
With the rear extension bracket I had heard reports that they were needed on a 3 inch or bigger lift whilst others said on a 2 inch or biggerlift. Well I thought, I cant get a straight answer out of anyone, so bugger it. I got it done for only a few extra bob for the peace of mind as I know that I am not risking a greater chance of breakage/bendage/SWMBO whinging if something does happen. I still dont have a straight answer on the actual lift height for when one is required.
FollowupID: 459871

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 05:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 05:22
Hi Dave,we've just done the same and fitted a full OME kit Nitro charger shocks ,OME springs with 2" lift all round. The original shocks were that stuffed that the whole vehicle lifted up 100mm all round.Handles like a new vehicle again.
We had OME on our previous Pajero wagon and was very happy with that, so just went with the same again. Cheers unc.
AnswerID: 200615

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 05:24

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 05:24
Forgot to mention, we put the polyairs in again too, great for towing!
FollowupID: 459709

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:41

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:41
usually shocks don't make that much difference to the unladen height - the coils however do.

I'd guess you had your coils replaced too.
FollowupID: 459731

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:34

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:34
Yes coils were replaced and went the whole hog and got a new steering dampner as well.
FollowupID: 459744

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:24

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:24
Looking at getting the OME steering dampner at chrissy. Just wondering if you think it was worth doing?
FollowupID: 459866

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:28
Most definitely, we had very bad "Patrol" wobble and now with the new dampner hardly a flutter at all.
FollowupID: 459868

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:22
Thanks mate, SWMBO's sewing machine just dropped outa first place on the shopping list!!!!

From memory it was about $170 fitted?
FollowupID: 459906

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:53

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:53
Thanks for all the feed back guys. When I get the money together I will be upgrading everything, Coils, Shocks and Steering damper. Hopefully everything will be great from the time I drive off then without having to wait until I can get the next part of the upgrade. It looks like OME are pretty popular. Has anyone got anything to say about Tough Dog, TJM XGS or Rancho shocks???

Please keep responding as all this is helpful information.

FollowupID: 459925

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:32

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:32
Dave,

My only addition to the above is that if you are not laden all the time go for progressive rate springs. I started out with normal heavy duty and swapped them out for the progressive ones and it is much better. FWIW I have Kings Springs (got them from Repco) and Koni's wound up 1 turn on the front ant 1 1/2 turns on the rear and have never experienced any fade in spite of some very rough treatment.

OT
AnswerID: 200633

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:22
Dave,

I have the ARB fitted OME springs and nitro shocks plus castor kit as recommended by ARB for my use. I tow a 1200+ kg camper and have rear drawers and water storage. ARB do an assesment of your requirements before selecting the springs. The vehicle was 12 months old when modified and the improvements were immediately noticed as above. The vehicle is a pleasure to drive laden or not.

I have been back to ARB (2 year warranty) twice with a problem of a slight noise from the front coils. It is a "sproing" or "low tone gong" noise when going over bumps. With each visit they have tried to remove a burr in the bottom coil spring housing. Apparently it is a common problem. After our last trip to the desert it was quite loud. ARB appear to have fixed it but I did notice a slight noise the other day when the suspension was cold. After a few km it disappeared.
Take a look at my Gallery pics for the fully loaded towing level (includes camping gear full fuel and water).

Kingo
AnswerID: 200637

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:45

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:45
Kingsley

Link to your rig etc wasn't there on the post - is now.

Btw have you seen the recent cases of wheel problems?

A chap we met (and told about wheel problems) in August in Lakefield NP had a wheel come off last week. He's also near Adelaide. The saga continues! Nissan are still blaming overtightening and deny any wheel/stud incompatibility.

FollowupID: 459746

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:22
Gidday Peter,

On our Simpson trip a few months ago we met a couple of old ladies (true!) in a relatively new Nissan Navara. It wasn't the current model but it did have mag wheels and was still under warranty. They had lost a rear wheel due to studs breaking AND the wheel had been changed out bush in a settlement near Alice. I don't know if a rattle gun was used, but the wheel fell off and the vehicle incurred some panel damage when it fell down at the rear. The ladies were travelling from Broome via Alice and the Simpson to Brisbane. They seemed quite capable farm types.

It is starting to add up to a lot of wheel problems for alloys on Nissans. And we don't we hear of other types having problems.

Kingo
FollowupID: 459788

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:20

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:20
Without being nasty, there would be 3000 threads on this in the past... Im sure you could find some good info on a quick search, not that you will get a clear answer, as everyone has a good/bad story about every brand...

FWIW Koni are outstanding on GU's, probably followed by OME with Dobinson or King Springs
AnswerID: 200655

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:50
Yep, you can add a vote for Dobinson coils and OME shocks for me. Big K's under big loads in my circumstance.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 459901

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:02

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:02
OME for the last 17 years wouldnt use any thing else, but thats me. Front springs and shockies lasted me 250 thou. Still running the OME rear springsnow done 290k no breakages. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 200662