Competition vehicles - why so many Nissans?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:47
ThreadID: 38811 Views:3233 Replies:14 FollowUps:37
I enjoy the "4WD TV" program. I notice that whenever they show a segment on off road comps, invariably the majority of the vehicles competing are Nissan Patrols of one vintage or another. If I recall correctly the other night 8 out of the top 10 placings were Patrols. So why is it so? Are they cheaper to buy, convert and maintain? Are they tougher than the others?
I am not trying to stir the possum and I will declare that I'm a LandCruiser owner. I am genuinely interested in why Patrols are so popular for competition work.
Cheers from the Moose.

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:52

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:52
Because they're expendable....
AnswerID: 200854

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:31

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:31
Just refresh my memory here. Which supposed top of the line 4wd blew its front diff when it was trying for this year's or was it last year's 4WD Monthly's 4WDOTY ? Embarrassingly that was just getting ready for the offroad section, it never got a chance to be tested......Ah yes it was Mum's Taxi the 100 series, which has taken over from the Vitara as the Hairdresser's vehicle of choice.

Nissan are tough and cheaper simple economics i think. You get more for your money with Nissan. You just have to stick your head under a Toy or a Nissan and you can see the difference straight away. The size difference in the axles and the diffs stands out.
FollowupID: 460013

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:36

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:36
Geez what a bite Troopy! haha!
FollowupID: 460023

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:37

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:37
Then why do most (all??) 4x4 hire companies use 100 series cruisers, Prados, or Troopys?? I am yet to see a hire Patrol in the bush... You whould think that if they are so much stronger and you get more for your money, that the hire companies would use them.
I dont care one way or the other, but have quite often thought about this...
FollowupID: 460024

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44
Probably the CRAP after sales service from Nissan.......Possums done
FollowupID: 460025

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:48
I'm not sure that hire companies would buy a weaker or less reliable vehicle because the manufacturer has better after sales service. Top priority would be to buy a vehicle that will be as hassle free as possible!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 460027

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:50

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:50
They possibly could get the base model 100 series cheaper than the Nissan but at when coming to sell it they possibly get more money back. I believe the Toyos drive nicer ( what am I saying ) yes true, but the Nissan's are built strong. don't include the 3 litres.
FollowupID: 460048

Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:51

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:51
Check around the Alice you will find hertz with Nissan's
FollowupID: 460049

Follow Up By: madCrow - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:51

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:51
Hi Guys & girls,
The answer to why Hire firms use the toyo range of Landcrusiers & Prados is the quality & quantity of brains required to drive the vehicles, with constant 4WD you just choose between high or low & maybe centre diff lock, doesn't require much brain work!
But with a Pootrol you have to use your brain, H2, H4, L4!
This is too complicated for your average driver, so they settle for toyo's & their low brain impact.
I'm amazed that troopies are hired out they take brains to drive. I suppose there must be some brainy toyo drivers..... Damn it!!!!

Hope you like the bait! Yum Yum, Now who'll bite?????????

the kooky madCrow
With the silly bunny rabbit who's just had a hair cut.
FollowupID: 460050

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 17:48

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 17:48
Drew

Plenty of Nissan 4x4's with the hire companies around the Hill
FollowupID: 460261

Reply By: Teabag - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:54

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:54
Mate,

I have only been told this from a few guy's with comp trucks but they believe the Nissan running gear (Diffs. etc) is far stronger than the Cruiser and cheaper if it fails. Plus I think second hand Patrols are generally cheaper than it Cruiser version. Just proves Patrols are a better serious 4wd....VTIC

AnswerID: 200855

Follow Up By: hilux steve - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:22

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:22
just proves that toyota's have a better re-sal e value ;P
FollowupID: 460033

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:38

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:38
Yeah not sure I agree with your logic that proves Patrols are a better serious 4wd. When you look at the amount of aftermarket products/parts and custom engineering work that go into these comp rigs, the end product is hardly an accurate reflection on the original machine.

Most of these arguements aren't based on logic or hard facts, but more often a blind loyalty to a particular brand - and I'd be one of the worst offenders. I like Fords over Holdens, why? Coz I spent my days growing up sitting next to my dad as he cheered on D!ck Johnson! Not coz they're tougher, faster, more relaiable, or have better resale! :-))

Anyway, in the end - it's always a bit of fun bagging out Tojo's or Trols huh! ;-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 460034

Follow Up By: hilux steve - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:54

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:54
yeah it is a bit of a laugh, i drive a hilux though, i wonder if anyone would get upset if i posted the video of my hilux pulling a cruiser out of a bog hole and then a patrol, a hole that the hilux easily got through lmao :P
FollowupID: 460036

Follow Up By: Teabag - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:45

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:45
Firstly my statement was VTIC - Which means Very Tongue in Cheek.....

To be honest in most cases it isn't the vehicle that is the problem, it is the person behind the wheel that makes whatever trucks go further. People tend to take the Tojo/Nissan banter to heart and don't really see the light on humour it can provide. I have many pictures/video of me pulling out Cruisers, Hi-Lux (Roll-Lux), Pajero's and Nissan's over the years and proves nothing to me but driver error......

PS: I drive a GUIV Patrol 4.2 TDi
FollowupID: 460041

Follow Up By: Teabag - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:48
Sorry if you guy's took my Tongue in Cheek comment to heart.....Over the years I have seen fanatical Cruiser and Patrol boy's, so they sit on both fences.......
FollowupID: 460044

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:11

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:11
Scoey, you shoould take a look under the bonnet. If its not a V8 then its the venerable 4.2 TD patrol motor with a 3" exhaust and a tickle to the turbo. Nissan running gear is rife around the competitors. Most money is spent on suspension.

Kermit is a Rangie atop all Nissan running gear, testament to the marque

Nissans are cheaper to buy and repair and also stronger, I drive one but that doesnt change what I see under the bonnet of the comp cars.

FollowupID: 460059

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:55

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:55
G'Day Bonz,
Yep some run original donks some run V8's but my point was simply that generally comp trucks are far from a factory model, Nissan, Toyota, Jeep or whatever, and subsequently it's a fairly flacid arguement that says that Patrols are better serious 4WD's based purely on the premise that they are more commonly used as comp trucks.

I would reckon tho' that this aguement may very well be one of those "petty things" eh? :-))

Scoey!
FollowupID: 460105

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:59
yer well as long as its not a sweaty thing, its not an argument for sure mate, I am amazed all the time by what ISNT in a comp truck. Some are over the top, lots are just pretty standard in many respects

cheers old bud

FollowupID: 460107

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:12

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:12
Ewww, yeah not real keen on the sweaty ones! ;-)

Take it easy!
Scoey!
FollowupID: 460162

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:36

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:36
I think it interesting that what I would class a real 4X4 test, not just a (high powered winch, modified vehicle) would be the Finke Desert Race. Just wondering how long it is since in Class 7 a factory model, Nissan, Toyota, Jeep have won? Its been at least 6 years that a Paj has taken out this event. If you want to take a look then at modified off road vehicles! Who has won the most Paris to Dakar races over the last ten years Mitsi again, yet all I have seen here about "COMPETITION" vehicles is Tojo and Neesanss fighting out the simi finals never really making the grand final. LOL
FollowupID: 461135

Reply By: gbc - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:25

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:25
patrols much stronger in the running gear, and cheaper.

But did you see that a hilux won the extreme winch challenge round 2 !!!!!

Go The yotas
AnswerID: 200857

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:47

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:47
You really need to ask?
AnswerID: 200860

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:05

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:05
I really need to ask why you are on the puter when your supposed to be devoting 'fun filled' hours of your life to your employer.

Also being a Nissan addict is like being a '$1.00 wino' - always gravitate back to that same old, cheap CHIT that gives you the same old headache/s and leaves the same old sour taste in the mouth when something goes 'kaboom'.
FollowupID: 460016

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:48
Welcome back Luuucy Haven't seen you here since that KI excursion. I must go back and check your response from that ratbag Frilly Broach's totally innacuurate comments when he got back a couple of weeks ago.
FollowupID: 460026

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:58

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:58
Who you callin' a "ratbag" Des!!!!!!

That'd be the pot calling the kettle "black" me thinks!!!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 460037

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:13

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:13
Yep! beenback for a week or so and doing 'things' which I will elucidate further on later.

Mr 'Broachy' will be Mr 'Poachy' when the TRUE KI Trip report is released with pics of course.

At the moment I a m still doing 'things' (secret Lucy business) whilst being pestered by the Terang 'blowfly' (greatest pest known to mankind), who by the way engineered an explosion in the Terang Sub Station 2 days ago, causing a 'Blackout' of monumental proportions to the Western District, just so he could get his jollies investigating the cause of same.

His 'jollies' will all in come in one hit - at the end of a rope - when I 'out' him and his deeds to the local populace.

So back to doing things.

PS

Just had a visit from Truckster who is looking a million dollars in his new GU - well as good as one can I suppose in a Nissan.

FollowupID: 460038

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:50

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:50
Quote: "Truckster who is looking a million dollars in his new GU"...........

Ah, dear Lucy, the truth had to come out eventually. I knew that if I'd simply have told the truth on here about how you lusted over my Patrol for 7 days on KI, that you would've denied it (because you're ashamed to admit you've made a mistake). Now we're starting to see, from your own keyboard, that you really DO love Nissan's GU and you won't be happy until you've got one living at your place.

Maybe then (and only then), will you be game enough to go out onto the sort of tracks that the Member for Terang goes on weekends (when you're safely tucked away at home fixing all the things that have fallen off the droopy). It will be great to have you in a capable vehicle (at long last) and to see whether you CAN actually drive or not.............cos up until now you've always had the excuse (when you got bogged or otherwise way-laid) that the vehicle had let you down. THAT won't be an excuse/reason anymore, not once you buy the 4.2TD Nissan you desire!!!

hahahahaha ............. SPRUNG!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 460047

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:13

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:13
hahahahahaha and I was in Melbourne that whole day, and I wont mention what happened the following two days

FollowupID: 460060

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:13

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:13
Trendsetters

Mr Poachie -Roachie knows what is imminent on the forum and is doing his best attempt at trying to 'hose down-deflect' the impending heat, interest, gobsmacking, p i s s & amazement, jaw dropping incidents that took place on Kangaroo Island involving his good self.

There are some pics as well as eye witness accounts as well.

And as for you , Member for Terang, did you get any mail today, or were you busy explaining how you blew up that sub station a couple of days ago, to give yourself something to investigate.

FollowupID: 460083

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:42
Mail received,Ozi remapped, family impressed with addressing skills hahahahahah

FollowupID: 460101

Reply By: nissnut - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:41

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:41
TONKA TUFF even if it does drive like a concrete slab........nissnut
AnswerID: 200871

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44
I'm not that knowledgable on matters Nissan but here's a thought that I'll provide bias free!

Before the 80 Series, cruisers were leaf sprung I think, but if I'm right I think the Trols were coming out with coils all around long before this. Am I right? Not many people will use a brand new truck for a comp rig - they'll go 2nd hand. So when the 2nd hand trols are cheaper and prob come with coils on - why not?

For the record I'm a Tojo man! ;-)

Scoey!
AnswerID: 200873

Follow Up By: nissnut - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:09

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:09
Hi Scoey, Patrols all came out on leafs untill the introduction of the GQ in 1988.
FollowupID: 460030

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:21

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:21
Yeah that's what I thought. If you want a coil Tojo you have to get an 80 Series and lets face it, it's far easier to chop and lift the the bum of a GQ ute as opposed to an 80 Series coz that's the 80's big downfall, the departure angle! :-S I reckon if 75 Series utes were coils all around I think you'd find a lot more 75 Series comp trucks! Just my 2c tho!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 460032

Reply By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:10

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:10
You can also get parts anywhere and everwhere for the Toyota.
Just about every one-horse town in Australia has a Toyota Dealer of sorts.

Also, I have yet to see Nissans in a mining co's fleet.

And yes I am a 'Yota Owner

Stu
AnswerID: 200890

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:03
Let me put my 2 cents worth here ( I've just had a couple of Cougars )
!: Every Town needs a Toyota dealership, Toyota's don't want you to be stuck in the middle of nowhere without spare parts nearby. :-) .

2: Those mining companies only know how to mine, what do they know about cars. :-) .

And yes I drive a Jackaroo.

And yes I am a lair

I should start driving so early.

:-) :-) :-)
FollowupID: 460058

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:25

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:25
Last line should be
I shouldn't start drinking so early. :-)
FollowupID: 460064

Follow Up By: Redeye - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:07

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:07
Must be daylight saving causing the drinking problem.

We do not have that problem in Queensland.

Redeye
FollowupID: 460077

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:39
I can see better now :-)
FollowupID: 460099

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:47

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:47
Stupid blo@dy question in the first place. It's blo@dy obvious to any fool. They (Nissans) are better!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 200903

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:57
It's not Friday yet - you can't put funny stuff up yet!!
FollowupID: 460106

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:16

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:16
OH what a better feeling!!!! Nissan!!
FollowupID: 460113

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 06:46

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 06:46
I like that one Scoey, clever reply, well done.
FollowupID: 460152

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:24

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:24
Cheers mate - it gets pretty tuff to have a light hearted poke at someone elses preferred brand eh! Still, ya gotta try! hehe!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 460163

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:38

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:38
These comp vehicles have most of the mods done to suspension and body work, relatively little to engines and running gear. So you look at the one that's strongest in this area and without a doubt it's the Patrol. Just look at the size difference between the gearboxes in the GQ compared to the 80 series and argument's over.

The 80 series would be a better outback tourer than the GQ because of better comfort, interior space and ride.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 200945

Reply By: Chucky - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:14

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:14
I think it's simply that the datsun's are cheaper.

And the toyo's don't have rear coil springs on the landcruiser utes.

I have a 80 series, but if I wanted a comp truck I would use a datsun GQ ute as a starter, it's cheaper and gives me more money to spend on the truck after purchase.

I have to admit, A fair few comp 80's have datsun diff's under them. Other than that they stay yota.
AnswerID: 200985

Reply By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:07

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:07
let's look at the majority of Comp trucks and see just what are some of the common denominators for the front running vehicles.
Probably the biggest reason is the comparitively cheap way to build a comp Nissan compared to a Yota, it's cheaper to get one 2nd hand and cut it to bits to get exactly what you want.
Next is wheelbase and weight, most comp Patrols are shorties or cut back LWB's with cab chassis configuration and their wheelbase is just about perfect for stability both fore and aft and side to side. The ramp angle and approach and departure are better as well.
Nearly all the front running comp trucks use GU diffs front and rear and that includes many of the Yota runners. Breaking GU CV's is much harder to do than a Yota one. Very rarely do you hear of Patrol diff stripping teeth off the crown wheel but the Yota's do regularly.
Gearboxes are another case in point the Patrol manual one is huge and can handle big horsepower the Yota one is marginal. With auto's though, the Yota auto is a little better than the Patrol but not by the same margin as the manuals. If a V8 is used and an auto then a turbo 400 is usually the weapon of choice.
Transfer cases again the Nissan comes out in front the Yota one isn't up to the task.
Steering boxes, again the GU one is the weapon of choice.
Diesel engines, the Yota's are better no doubt about it but the Nissan ones are cheaper and with the right pump internals (Yota actually) will produce good reliable horsepower. If cost were no option then you would see all the diesel competitors using the Yota 1HdFt engine but they are very pricey so scratch them.
Same with petrol engines, a TB42 is very cheap compared to the Yota 4.5 and the TB42/45 responds really well to turbocharging, so well in fact it has started to eat into the number of competitors who used diesel engines in the past.
When you consider a GQ is so cheap to buy and the stronger GU bits just bolt up with few if any problems that's the reason most comp trucks are Nissans
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 201098

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:13

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:13
!MPG:8!

AnswerID: 201145

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:32

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:32
If the 60 had been coil sprung I reckon that would have evend up numbers. Toyotas are better engineered vehicles - there arnt to many parts that interchange coz they are all built for there porpose. Rather than grab existing stuff and build a vehicle around it. The downside for comps is the yota is built for the porpose it was desighned - which isnt comps. It is this same reason yota N/A diesals have neer liked turbos - coz they are a porpose built motor not desighned to run a turbo
AnswerID: 201232

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:16

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:16
Bit like the Holden vs Ford at Bathurst,, no way are the trolls & yotas in the comps anything like the same on the roads , serious modifications and $ do not make it a true Nissan or a true Toyota , just like the yanks and the "all American " Harley Davidson ,,wheels made in Australia, brakes from Germany ,wiring loom from Italy ,"but she,s a genuine all American Harley " and big pink pigs fly thru the air at midnight on brooms. lol.
AnswerID: 201253