Murray River camping

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 14:01
ThreadID: 38812 Views:9389 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Hi all. Has anyone got thoughts on camping on the Murray between Yarrawonga & Echuca areas? Thinking of going there with the family for Cup weekend, but don't know of perhaps which area to avoid, or which to try and get.

Would like a nice river beach front place, but don't want a very crowded or extremely popular area (but certainly some people are fine, and to be expected). Got 3 young kids, so a relatively safe beach too.

I see on maps and Internet there are heaps of tracks leading to the river, and heaps of listed beach camping.

Would appreciate any suggestions?

Reply By: kesh - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:44
We just spent a few days on the river at Cobram. Horseshoe lagoon area. Lovely grassed camping spots and the river full of clean/clear water with grassy/beach access. (being released for irrigation I suspect)
Miles of room, I reckon you could not go wrong there, but no fish caught!
kesh
AnswerID: 200872

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:58

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:58
Sounds very nice!
FollowupID: 460028

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:21

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:21
We are also off down there next week and a friend who lives at Corowa told me that you can get mud maps from the info centres or council otherwise camps aust 3 has also great spots listed hope ya find a good spot as we too.
FollowupID: 460287

Follow Up By: ERIC DRUMMOND - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 06:37

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 06:37
For a great time have a look further up river Walwa / Jinjellic area you will be impressed.
FollowupID: 462533

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:52

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 15:52
Camping on cup weekend...... I know a lovely spot up on the hills near Mansfield. Great spot to put up a tent and camp out, running water.....what could go wrong up there????..... Memories
AnswerID: 200875

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:05

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:05
lol..! memories indeed.

Btw, you forgot the leeches
FollowupID: 460029

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:48
Tone,

Give me a call tomorrow. I'll fax you some stuff.

ATB,

AnswerID: 200920

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:27
Cool Jim, will do.
FollowupID: 460164

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:21

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:21
Tone, there is a great series of hand drawn maps of the river from Echuca to Yarrawonga showing all the camp areas, beaches, toilets, picknick tables etc available from the Tourist information offices in both towns. Plenty of great options right along the Murray (Vic side) although the closer you are to a town the busier it will probably be on a long weekend.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 200955

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:28

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 08:28
Thanks Craig.
FollowupID: 460165

Reply By: ferris - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:13

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:13
Hi Tonester,

There's heaps of places to camp along the Murray, although it can get busy in the more popular places. There are some quieter spots that very few go to.......but I'm not say where, sorry. Whereever you do go to, watch out for the old red gums. They are prone to dropping (big) limbs without warning, particularly in these drought conditions. Every few years somebody gets killed when a branch fall, and there's plenty of stories around about near misses. The younger trees aren't so bad. Find yourself a good sand bar and have a great weekend.

Keep the shiny side up.
Ferris
AnswerID: 200996

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:01

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:01
I have a spot much further (100km+) up the river which I've been to probably 7 or 8 times over the past 5 years. One time I arrived there to find a red gum branch about 1m diameter and, at a guess, 5t in weight had fallen into exactly the spot where I always put the kitchen area of my camp - glad I wasn't cooking bacon and eggs when it fell.

Never, ever, ever put your tent under a red gum limb no matter how solid or alive it looks,

FollowupID: 460205

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:00
thanks for the advice guys
FollowupID: 460409

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:38

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:38
Tonester - there is a great camping site about 8km west of Yarrawonga on the Murray - called Forges Bend (GPS: Forges Bend 35d 59m 46.1s S 145d 57m 47.1s E). Has large open camping area free of river red gums (no dropping branches), 2 x long drop dunnies, and a great sandy beach. The river is deep and relative clear of snags here so boating is OK also - don't know about the fishing as we didn't try too much of that. Just head west of Yarrawonga towards Cobram for 8km - TR into Forges Pump Land and stick to the right hand track all the way to the river.
One drawback however is that there is very little firewood in this part of the Yarrawonga Regional Reserve so you should either bring some with you or pick it up on the side of the road.

Pete
AnswerID: 201026

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:40
....that should read Forges Pump Lane
FollowupID: 460201

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:01

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:01
thanks. That stretch along there was one place I had my eye on.
FollowupID: 460410

Reply By: Jodi - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:25
Never been but it is on the list. I can't believe that we have done Victoria to death and have not yet done the Murray. I grew up in SA (no comment) and would love to spend quite a bit of time checking out the Murray (anybody watch that show on ABC that just finished - Two Men & a Tinny?). I am keen to check it all out before the drought and fights over water finally changes it forever. Goodluck for Cup Weekend.
AnswerID: 201112

Follow Up By: Auntie - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:33

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:33
Some great spots in the Cobrawonga forest between Cobram & Yarrawonga.
FollowupID: 460318