How to fit Dual Battery system in a Prado?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 11:54
ThreadID: 38838 Views:7717 Replies:5 FollowUps:19
I have a Prado afficionado associate who is trying to fit a dual battery system under the bonnet of his Playdoe (99 model).

How have others done it and do you have any photo's that can elucidate this wayward fellow?

Thanx

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 11:57

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 11:57
Its a 3.4 petrol by the way

AnswerID: 201019

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:16

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 12:16
G'day Bonz,

mine is a 7/96 model petrol. Easiest way I found was to mount a battery box where the charcoal cannister sits, moving the cannister into the engine bay. This box is to hold the n50 crank battery. The original location of the crank can take an N70ZZL as an auxilliary. I bolted a Redarc vertically to the introduced battery box.

Sits nice and stable, no cutting required, except depeding on your N50 configuration, you may need to extend the alternator lead as it might not reach the crank. I used Matson pre-made cables throughout.

sorry mate, no photos on hand but can gather more info if needed.
AnswerID: 201022

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 14:55

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 14:55
Thanx Bushy, would love a pic if you have some, emails behind my rig pic

FollowupID: 460231

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:55

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:55
done just now mate, with "instructions"
FollowupID: 460293

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:24

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:24
Greetings Sir Bushfix, I am at your service, thankyou

FollowupID: 460675

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:02

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:02
Big congratulations Bonz, you have officially "come out" and declared your true love. We new you were a closet Toyota fan but you don't have to pretend it's for a mate.

Just sit back and enjoy the finer points of your new purchase.

Best wishes from Des.
AnswerID: 201030

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:31

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:31
i see he didnt take your advice des but opted for toyota's 2nd top model 4wd....if he had got the 100 series he'd have plenty of room for a 2nd battery...
FollowupID: 460211

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:43

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:43
If he had of bought the 100 he wouldn't have needed the second battery but some people will just never learn. At least he has learned his lesson with the trolls
FollowupID: 460214

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:49

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 13:49
I heard he went to buy a spare 3L to put in the shed ready for the big bang, while they were on special, but they were all sold out.
Spat the dummy and went a bought the first toyota he could find.
At least he is heading in the right direction LOL

To answer your Question Mr "B" CAREFULLY!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 460215

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 14:54

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 14:54
Get back to work u lazy asses, I still have the MIGHTY PATROL

FollowupID: 460229

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 15:10

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 15:10
why?
FollowupID: 460233

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:17

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:17
Nudie, he still has the Pootrol cos he can't get rid of it no matter what. That's why he is a tad testy at the moment.
FollowupID: 460285

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:05

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:05
but but i thought no matter what he'd be rapped in the PRADO and forget all about tha tother heap ...oh well when it owes you money I can see why he is testy..i was too when she went OS
FollowupID: 460298

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:38

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:38
Yes but you have got rid of yours for a while when poor Bonz can't get rid of his at all. Now you can see why he's depressed.
FollowupID: 460303

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:53

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 23:53
BONZ hanging onto the Z30 is like one of those dudes who run around holding a hand grenade with the pin out, and frantically looking for it (the pin that is) to put it back in.

No one will go anywhere near him in case it goes 'boom' or they just sit back at a safe distance waiting/watching for that tell-tale puff of smoke on the horizon.

ROFLMAO

PS

My mum said I should be kind to unforunates. (Oooooh! 2 x ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 460343

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:28

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:28
Nudie, I found a quote for you

" Bigamy is having one wife too many. Monogamy is the same."

je ne sais qa

FollowupID: 460708

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:13

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:13
what?...i dont get it...whats bigamy...is it something swmbo will let me do?..is it good for me?...do i need it?...if you suggested it, it means trouble i reckon
FollowupID: 460773

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:03

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:03
Site Link
AnswerID: 201094

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:01

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:01
Thanx Stan, much appreciated

FollowupID: 460701

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:18

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:18
You could try this link too...

Prado V6 3.4 DIY kit

Will send you some photo's if you would like to try make your own.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 201099

Follow Up By: Boony - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:05
Hi Derek.

Any issues in relocating the Charcoal canister that far from it's original position?

Is it just a matter of extending all the pipework to reach?

AJ
FollowupID: 460605

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:23

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:23
Hi Boony,

Not at all, we supply fuel line to do the job and wire to extend the egr valve to the other side.

It is the only way to get a big 12" battery on the passenger side, we don't do the exchange cranking for auxillary story..

Regards Derek.

FollowupID: 460608

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:06

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:06
Thanx Derek would like to try and me-fabricate, my email is bonzincatiprimusdot com dot au. thanx again

FollowupID: 460702

Follow Up By: Boony - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:28

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:28
Hey Derek..

Can you send me a copy of the pics as well please?

I'me pretty keen to have a "play" as well.. No doubt will be up to visit you for all the components though given I'm just down the road at Manly West.

basisdude at hotmail dot com.

Ta
Boony
FollowupID: 461316