Black Rat Recovery Gear
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:44
Heefers
Can anyone out there vouch for the quality of Black Rat recovery gear?
Missus is looking at getting me a 9t snatch strap, 2x 3.2t shackles, gloves and a set of tyre deflators for $99 (Chrissy present God bless 'er).
Cheers, Heefers
Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:03
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:03
Vouch? No.
But the odd bits I've used have been OK.
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:32
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:32
You did mean 8 ton and 2 x 4.5 ton bow shackles didn't you?
Let me see , what's the first thing that's going to break,
If you had a 9 ton snatch strap with a 3.5 ton rated bow shackle on both ends what is the weakest link ?
The recovery points on the car? Maybe !! .
What would happen if the 3.5 t bow shackle broke during a recovery, how many metres per second would a 150 gram projectile travel through a window.
What would happen if a snatch strap broke ? It can do some damage.
Always make sure what you buy will fit your vehicle,
Smaller cars may only need 6000k snatch strap
Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:40
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:40
The last thing that I am worried about breaking SA, is the shackles.
3.2t is the Working Load Limit which is nowhere near what weight the shackle will actually take before suffering a catastophic failure. From memory the actual breaking strain of a 3.2t shackle is around 27t, more worried about the quality of the strap itself. Thanks for your reply.
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:57
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 20:57
If my missus was going to buy me safety / recovery stuff for Xmas, I'd rush down and change my Will ! :)))))
Sadly, I'll never have the points on the board for it to happen. My missus works on the theory that if I get a point on the board she has to rub it off.
But she has other more important attributes, just hang around a while while I think.......
Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:12
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:12
This one's a keeper mate, got a
snorkel for my last birthday. Guess it's a bit of a trade off cause she can't
cook worth a damn ;)
Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:15
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:15
Shoulda looked over my shoulder before submitting last reply. She might not be able to
cook, but that right hook sure ain't lackin'
Reply By: Groove - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:02
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:02
Hi have a Black Rat Jack (hi lift type) 6 years now no trouble used a fair bit.
Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:47
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:47
Hi Heefers,
I have a Black Rat recovery kit as you describe although I don't have their brand tyre deflators.
From my experience the gear seems pretty good and it can certainly cope with snatching a vehicle the size of an 80 series out of boggy sand if that helps at all.
Have a good one.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:16
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 00:16
Save $100 on the tyre deflators as there are much cheaper and better options.
Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 07:13
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 07:13
G'day Lucy,
It's the whole kit for $99 not just the tyre deflators, did you misunderstand my post or have I misunderstood yours? I didn't think that was a bad deal or am I sadly mistaken?
Cheers Heefers
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:37
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:37
Ooops! mis-read your post. Thought the tyre deflators were a seperate item for $99.00
I have some Black Rat stuff which I purposely aquired as it was what I wanted. looks very good.
As to whether you are getting a good deal or not I would have to see exactly what it is you are gettting for your money.
Have a good week end
Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 12:58
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 12:58
Thanks Lucy, you too mate.
Cheers, Heefers
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 05:43
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 05:43
Heefers,
You will find with all recovery gear that it is made by only a few
places and then sold on to retailers like Black Rat, TJM, ARB. They then paint or put a sticker on it and sell it as there own.
So a bow shackle from Black Rat is the same as a shackle from ARB.
Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 07:15
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 07:15
Cheers Wayne, thought as much, just wasn't sure who Black Rat was connected to.
Thanks for your reply mate, Heefers
Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:19
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:19
BLACKRAT RECOVERY GEAR is manufactured and distributed by BEAVER. One of Australia's largest industrial lifting and rigging companies. Blackrat is a very small part of their product range. This should give people confidence in their testing and quality because their "bread and butter" business is selling 1000 tonne slings and huge chain for ships etc. They are not a backyard importer that only sells to the 4WD market. (yes i do sell their product - lifting and rigging not 4WD)
Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:03
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:03
Many thanks Brian, that gives me confidence in their product and seeing as how there have been no negative replies so far it seems that this product does perform
well.
Cheers, Heefers
Reply By: greydemon - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:32
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:32
I am sure that Black Rat makes excellent products, but if anyone had any negative comments they wouldn't make them here ....... their bleached bones and bogged vehicle are somewhere 'out there' waiting to be found!
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:59
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:59
Ah yes - dead men tell no tales.
Pete
Reply By: Gmouse - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:21
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:21
they make s@it hot high lifts