Submitted: Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:27
Johnny boy
I'm going to keep this as simple as possible I have a caravan and want a generator to run A/C , Radio, CD, TV ,Kettle , lights etc..etc.. etc I was going to buy a Honda EU 10i or the likes of that size then a mate says just buy a $ 150 super cheap job it runs all my gear ?????
I'm just not sure which way to go I know cheap means just that but I just want to know if you guys have any ideas or experience with gens as I don't !!
hope I didn't rave on too much .
Regards J.B.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:31
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:31
Unfortunately this is a subject rarely covered on this
forum :(
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:38
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:38
AH MIKE I can always rely on a reply from you ( a non sarcastic one I mean!LOL)
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:43
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:43
As in the old song ,four million three thousand two hundred and twenty one years from now ,will we still ask the same question 4,300,221 times and not once look in the "search" function. A generator ?? whats that ?? A search function ?? whats that ??
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:52
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 08:52
True Very true but you saw the word generator so if it didnt interest you why did you open the thread ????
Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:00
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:00
Good on you Johnny boy. You are entitled to ask and if we only relied on history from searches then new generators etc wouldn't ever get included.
If others dont like the question then ignore it. Its that easy!!
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:03
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:03
Quite right HJ60! And I'm glad you raised that point because I am thinking of buying a new fridge and the two main brands (Engel and Waeco) both have some positives but I wonder what people think.... :)
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:11
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:11
Yes , the word generator is allways of interest ,but it is allways the same ,never a NEW question ,allways cheap $ versus Honda et all ,Never a new question or product that has not been covered 4,300,221 times ,what the search function covers.
Follow Up By: dingbat - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:11
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:11
What about a Kelvinator, a Silent Knight or a Hallstrom?
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:16
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:16
Yes Mike ,its about time we had a whole new thread on Waeco vs Engle ,, , lets all waste 16 godzillion billion megabytes off space to come to the forgone conclusion that a fridge is a fridge is a fridge. LOL.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:32
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:32
your a sacrastic lot...hehehe
Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:38
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:38
The other thing that bugs me is when threads on generators get turned into threads on fridges. Seems no one is able to use the search function for fridge threads. The fridge stuff has all been said before. Engle.....
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:19
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:19
Since we all have stolen the topic quite successfully.
The big question is what size generator do I need to power my fridge?
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:23
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:23
not enough info
what is make, model and serial number
how many stubbies can it hold...only stubbies
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:47
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 17:47
>The big question is what size generator do I need to power
>my fridge?
Speaking as someone with over three decades of extensive experience in many areas of electrical and electronic engineering I can confidently say: you'll need one about two feet square by 18" high.
Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 19:35
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 19:35
Thanks Mike your experence on this is much appreciated as I only had metric measurements.
Wazza
Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:08
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:08
"your a sacrastic lot...hehehe" (No 1)
And you had a go at David earlier tody about his spell-checking! :-)
"mmm apart from typing errors, maybe the boss should use his spell checker
change weather to whether " (No1)
Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:11
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:11
It's OK. You can say it either or either way.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:24
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:24
silkwood ...sssh!
imperial will make a difference
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:16
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:16
Unfortunately you thrown in the one nasty appliance into your equation.....the Kettle.
The kettle will more than likely be the limiting factor as to what genset you need. Most kettles are around the 1800-2200-2400w power comsumption levels. If you want a genset to run this, then the little portable ones may not cut it (unless you make sure it is a 1800w kettle and 2000w genset.
The A/C would probably require a better genset than the $150 cheapies...though you "may" get away with it. Better off purchasing a "good" sinewave genset if you can afford it in the first place.
My advice would be not to believe anyone unless they have a system setup similar to what you require that is working. Then buy the same setup as it is almost guaranteed to work :-) Salepeople, whilst the majority are ok, may not sell you exactly what you require eg. go to supercheap and they will probably sell you the cheapie.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:27
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:27
Yep thats what i was thinking. Do away with the electric kettle and use a gas or petrol stove.
Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:53
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 09:53
Hi John,
I currently run a "cheapy" and it is doing a fine job but with the range of equipment you want to run i would sugest getting one of the better quality units. They are quieter and have much "cleaner" power which is important if you decide to run a computer or TV off it.... as you probably will in time. For quite a while HONDA has been the market leader in the INVERTER style light weight generator market but recently YAMAHA has started importing a range that are Quieter, more powerful and CHEAPER. yOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PICK UP A 1 kVA unit for around $1400 and a 2.4Kva unit for around $2000.Check them out on the NET. The defining word for this recommendation is "CARAVAN" to me this means you probably won't be using your genset in the middle of nowhere all on your lonesome. Quite often you will be in designated
camping areas where a QUIET & CLEAN generator will not only be appreciated by yourself but the others within 200m of your van.......... happy
camping
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:31
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:31
Thanx guys thats the type of advice I was looking for and for the kettle I will buy one that dont exceed the gens specks , I must admit I did not want to spend much more than about $1000 on a gen so I will look at the other above mentioned I want to know if the Genquip has any cons I wasnt really sold on the $150 ones I was just useing them as an example from my mate I would hate for my gen to fail when we are in the middle of nowhere ...but then again Ive survived around the
camp fire before !!! LOL
thanx again guys . J.B.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:50
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:50
There's a Honda 1kva in the Trader at the moment. I have the Yamaha 1kva. A mate of
mine has a Honda 1kva (same as the one that's for sale in the Trader).
On a recent trip to KI we were camped next to each other (along with 10 other families/individuals etc). Pud and I had our gennies beside each other and we'd take turns to have them running each night in turn. There was bugga-all difference in the amount of noise they made.
We actually discussed gennies a few times during that trip and the general concensus was that the 1kva is fine for running quite a few fridges (we had 5 fridges plus 4 battery chargers running at any given time)...........but once you through a typical caravan air conditioner into the equation (we didn't even think about kettles), it was considered that a 2kva would be the minimum requirement.
Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:49
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 10:49
Johnny
Be careful what you buy and how much you pay if you buy a lesser brand. When you go shopping you will notice that they all look the same but are different colours. That's because most of the cheaper units all come out of the same Chinese factory. This is where the fun starts. Some rate them by the maximum possible Kva..... some rate them more correctly at its realistic constant capacity so you will have one that is called a 1 Kva and another that is a 850 Watt........ make sure you
check how they are rated because it can be very deceiving and they may in fact be exactly the same.. Next thing to do is calculate your maximum possible usage....add a bit and get a generator 30% bigger again. Generally speaking most of them will do the job for you as long as you don't constantly run them at their maximum limit..........same as your car. if you redline on every gearshift you will shorten it's life dramatically.
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 11:26
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 11:26
Thanx Brian very
well put .
J,B
Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 12:37
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 12:37
I concur with the advise on doing away with the Kettle if you want a 1000 watt Kettle. When your shopping for kettles and you have 240vac the higher the wattage the better, works quicker in theory. When it comes to making your own power or with a generator the opposite applies.
The cheaper generators have various negatives in my opinion (IMHO).
- They are noiser (Until you have owned a Kipor,Honda Inverter you wouldnt know)
- They arent as reliable and don't provide clean electricity for other devices, laptops
- Honda, Kipor etc have "eco modes" for even quiter operation
- Overall build quality isn't comparible, Honda-Yamaha by far the best, Kipor next
When it comes to camping and a caravan you want to relax and enjoy the experience, get the gennie that bests does the job and offers options for you in the future. Kipor 2000watt can be had for almost the same price as a Honda 1000watt, so you have some choices.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:49
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 13:49
And just to stir the pot 1 more little bit ,,at todays c/van & camping show in
Brisbane ,, Honda 1kva for $1450 and get factory rebate of $150 making total of $1300 ,, Yellow Kipor 1kva $899 ,,good thing that this is the "free entry" show held at this time every year ,because if you had to pay to get in you would be very dissapointed.
Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:01
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 15:01
Diesel generator
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:12
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:12
Bloo-y -ell way to go ,would save carrying extra petrol ,but methinks that that "saving" would be totally lost on the extra weight /size of even the smallest unit on offer.
Follow Up By: banjodog - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:44
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:44
Have been told that the HL5500CLE series diesel generator weighs about 105kg - the smaller one, HL2500CLE is about 58kg.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:55
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:55
Is that all they weigh ? [insert sarcasm ] perfect for camping [think not] whats another 58 or 105kg to cart around , be needing a ford f350 just for the genny lol.
Reply By: obee - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:24
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 16:24
After you work out just how many watts you are going to use, consider how loud the generator is going to be. A lot of caravans parks wont allow them and some remote
places only up to certain hour.
I run a one kilowatt honda which is tidy and does it for me but I had a bloke next door crank up a four Kw open plan gennie that drove me nuts.
Main reason I have the gennie is cos it will run a small fridge but I have found that a 12v fridge is the better option. A kettle is out of the question with only 1kw and gas is cheaper than petrol.
Gennies is good for lights and a few power points around the camp for charging all the batteries but would not make everyone happy. I would think about it a long while and look at what others are doing with their 12v systems.
Owen
Reply By: fredd - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:33
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 20:33
hi jb
been through the same dilema over the last 2 weeks.
have a scorion 850 gen
would have trouble starting up a small drill and is har to start
needed some thint to charge batteries and run fridges and lights
running an a?c was also desirable
eventually bought a honda 10e for 1459 locallyy =1300
if you have access to an abn deduct 10%
a 20i was about 500 dearer and wil do ac
my 10 wil run fridges, drills and power saw
forget the cheapies, try a honda, search net for prices
Follow Up By: L33nsta - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 01:30
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 01:30
My parents run the Honda 20i Generator for there 30 ft Jayco caravan. It will run the Ac and the microwave. But not at the same time. The problem with any motor they take heaps of current to get them going.
I would not recommend the Cheap $150 generators for anything other than lighting and robust electrical stuff. I spoke to the rep for them once. He said to be careful of the voltage and the frequency output of them. They have had faulty Generators producing 400v. They are great for camp lighting and other simple things. I had to replace the spark plug in mine as i couldn't get it started.
GMC sell the generators under 2 different ratings. 750W and 850W. They are the exactly the same generator except for the fact they have a different sticker on them.
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:22
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:22
Like Mike, I'm a cheapskate;-) and have a GMC $89 special from Bunnings. I have a dual battery/
Redarc in the Cruiser and a 12v system in the van + another battery in the boot for good luck. The GMC keeps those happy when my solar can't keep up (have one 80w panel) and everything runs off those batteries. I reckon it's all you need.
Having said that, I was recently camping near a bloke who bought his Honda 10i (or earlier version) in '85 - SECOND HAND - don't know how old - it looked like it'd seen better days but fired up first pull, every bloody time. Pricey, but you've got to admit, they're unbeatable.