An expensive lesson in tyres

Submitted: Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:11
ThreadID: 38890 Views:5952 Replies:24 FollowUps:75
Yes, I am back earlier than expected after crunching yet another Cooper sidewall and having the other tyres with previous stake holes increase their cracks. Was going on another hard core excursion tomorrow but with dodgy tyres I came home instead.

My final analysis on Cooper STT's is that they certainly don't cut the mustard as far as my 4x4-ing is concerned and having had 10 Coopers over three years it has cost $2375 and I have managed only 50,000km.

My first set of Cooper STT's(old style) sustained 10 punctures in the 30,000km I had them for and then the beads started cracking. Cooper offered me 5 new style STT's at cost and I accepted. These have now done 20,000km and have sustained 12 punctures. The punctures have come from stakes in the deserts and sidewall damage when in rocky terrain. I now have 1 stuffed Cooper, 3 almost totally stuffed ones and one without holes.

Having listened to all the advice on tubeless tyres here on the forum over a number of years I now know that it was mainly advice with good intentions but the wrong advice for me.

I am going back to split rims with a set of Cross plies all round on the GQ and on the trailer.

My 3 spoke alloy rims will go on sale in the Trader section soon.

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:25

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:25
sorry to hear this Willem

But I've been a skinny man since the 720 (I was young and had wide tyres) the troopy is the first to have splits and I know we do not travel the same roads as you,

The old telecom tyres on second set 80,000km one flat (tube rubbed through) and have pulled out small stakes out with pliers

Only my experience's and this post is not meant to influences anyone

AnswerID: 201327

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:45
Hi Richard

Yep

Never too old to learn.....lol

FollowupID: 460613

Reply By: dj Patrol - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:32

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:32
Sounds to me as you did not learn the first time after 10 tyres ,But sorry to hear that,Mabey you will go for BFG now,
AnswerID: 201333

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:44

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:44
dj....All tubeless tyres are crap in my book. Have had BFG in past with similar issues

FollowupID: 460611

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:48

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:48
Well ya mabey rite there Willem but its horses for courses you know they are great on blacktop but mabey ya expect too much, I dont know what ya running with them personally I dont think much of coopers but as I said horses for courses.
FollowupID: 460617

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:55
dj Patrol,
True, I've yet to puncture a BFG, but I travel so few km on virgin 'panji pit' country, and when I do, it's fairly gently: unlike that clown Willem who seems to feel a need to go -- "away".
Half his guts. JH.
FollowupID: 460624

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:11

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:11
Yeah maybe I expect too much. But when you are paying top dollar for a tyre with a great advertised reputation, you do expect a little more than just the ordinary sidewall. Having used over 30 tyreplugs on the Coopers over the past year I can vouch for the thin sidewall they have, It would not be more than 2mm thick.....and that is the Armour stuff they carry on about.

I am very particular about tyre pressures for different types of terrain.

To me 4x4-ing isnt just the Oodnadatta Track or the Tanami Road or the Anne Beadell Hwy but it getting out to places where I can enjoy my leisure time in remote country. Sometimes that necessitates cross country driving or using very old rocky tracks.

I will now have to compromise by making the ride harder but the tyres stronger by using crossplies

As for horses.....they make me sneeze............:-)

FollowupID: 460673

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:41

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:41
Willem,

Good to have you back but not for the reason that you have said.

12 punctures. That is a lot. I would be contacting Coopers again. From my experience they welcome the feed back. If they don't know they can not fix it.

BTW what tyre pressure were you running. I know this is debatable, but I have always run at 38psi all the time, except for sand and then I keep the tyre pressure as high as possible for the sand conditions.

32000km in 5 months and only one puncture, when I put a rock through the side wall, and I knew I hit the rock just before the tyre went flat.

AnswerID: 201336

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:50

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:50
Hi Wayne

The crunch came at 25psi and at around 15kmh

The other isdsue is that the previously staked tyres flex too much in the sidewall and the tear in the tyre from a previoius stake becomes bigger. Some holes end up with 6 plugs in them.The buggered tyre has 10 plugs in at and is still hissing.

I have run the Coopers at 35psi on the black stuff and 28 on dirt roads. But its the 4x4x stuff that kills the Coopers not the gravel roads or black stuff.

Stuff Coopers its a waste of time :-)

FollowupID: 460619

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:41

G'day old fella.
Tell the truth, come on you missed Judith sooo much you just had to come home.
I guess the splits came at the right time.
AnswerID: 201337

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:52

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:52
I saw a previous threads with some inflammatory writings in it by you. You are digging the hole so big you will never get out....LOL

FollowupID: 460621

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:59
Yes I know that hole is getting deeper but I'm sure that you will remember that I always carry a ladder with me so getting out doesn't create too many issues. LOL
FollowupID: 460625

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:41

Gday Willem,
A mate of mine tried Coopers a few years ago and come down to the same conclusion. He was doing Apatula to Alice on the old railway line regalarly and at a fair speed. He kept getting replacements minus the used tred. Apart from the hasle of changing tyres he added up the cost over a couple of years and it wasnt pretty!
AnswerID: 201338

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:54

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 21:54
Gday Hairy

Yeah I'm not going to bother going back to Coopers. Have to move on to better things :-)

FollowupID: 460623

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:06

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:06
Like what, Willem,
.---- staying on formed pathways? no more sneaking off to the side for a quiet camp site or great camel shot? hahahaha, (to borrow from Gramps).Gently eh. JH
FollowupID: 460626

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:00

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:00
Well Willem, I'm with you on the split rims and rag tyres. The only reason I've got standard Nissan rims & fatties on the "Chevyssan" is that they were on there when I bought it and I'm runing 'em out. When they're doen I'll be putting splits and either 7.50R 16s on or rag tyres.

Like you I do a lot of cross country stuff and experience has told me that I get a lot less trouble with splits than I do with fatties of any make. Plus, it's cheaper when you do actually tear one. Mining camps and bush tyre places have always got cheapie 2ndhand "scab" tyres off a geologist's ute somewhere, for $40.00 a piece.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 201345

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:07

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:07
Hi Bilbo

Yes today on the station my mate said I could 'borrrow some Nissan rims with crossplies on and should fit them on the back of the GQ. I said 'NO WAY' can you mix them with fat radials. Anyway after a lot of thought I decided to pug the 2 leaking tyres again! and drove the 350km home OK. On with the skinnies tomorrow :-)

FollowupID: 460627

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:13
Really ..when all is said and done Coopers have a great bull bleep story and a few well paid advocates for their tyres ...sorry tires...but really when the truth is told these units are a load of crap for the tough conditions in the Australian bush ...where most of them never venture...but when they do ...dont expect them to be of any use...they aren't ..and better you get a set of split rims and some decent heavy duty tyres to use in those conditions..and when you get there check out waht the locals use ...and I don't mean Govt vehicles and the like..I mean station property owners and the workers who pay for their tyres
AnswerID: 201346

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:18

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:18
right. and you have all the experience in the world to make those sorts of inflammatory statements do you? Most people don't do off track as much as Willem, and his experience is not basis for your remarks. The Cooper distributors sell a lot of tyres in Australia. They do a lot of testing in Australia. Bottom line is, for what 99.9x% of people do, they will be the ants pants, and then for those like Willem who venture off track, something like the MRFs or whatevers may be the thing. I don't think the Cooper distributors would argue with that. Whether they are better than [insert the name your favourite tyre], I couldn't say.

I too have STTs with 20K's on them. A lot of that Nullabor Tracks, Anne Beadell and Simpson Desert work. Only problem was a staking from some mad hatter tea party chasing down of a cyclist who had made a wrong turn down a station track where I was fairly pelting along with a BIG load on. They are looking pretty good for 20Ks. I do have 6 of them, and have rotated them twice so far.

As someone else here has said, horses for courses. Most people's courses look rather different to Willem's.
FollowupID: 460646

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:50
Hi Andrew

I will say that the tread on the STT's is still looking as good as new and if driven and good roads i.e. bitumen or good gravel roads or tracks without stakes, should give up to 80,000km as sometimes warranted. Its the sidewalls I have an issue with :-)

FollowupID: 460668

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:40

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:40
Andrew, you sound like somebody trying to justify a purchase.

My comments are based on experience, not only didn't the tyres cut it on the vehicle, but I took them off & put them on the camper trailer & they were no good there either.
I can also assure you, also from experience, that their warranty isn't worth the paper it's written on.
FollowupID: 460710

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:07

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:07
Whatever you think Shaker - make of it what you will, but I am on my second set of Cooper tyres. I can show you them if you want. I've driven with a lot of people running them. I have photos I can show you of them.

I deal with people like Brad Newnham who you would think after some number of years running the Birdsville Roadhouse and lots of time travelling for the testing activities of 4x4 Australia would know what tyres he would sell and run ... or Dave Cox ... similar deal - a F250 doing recover in the desert and he chooses Cooper.

These guys don't do so much of what Willem does, that I know, and that is what I put it down to. Some off-track work is best suited to the MRFs of the world - that I know. Station runabouts and roo shooters being case in point.

I have no need to justify my purchasing decisions - for me, they have justified themselves, and everyone is entitled to their opinion, but Steve's diatribe was notable for not mentioning any first hand experience and for being full of invective.

As for the Cooper warranty, I have seen first hand their customer relations and I think they are second to none. Do I think Cooper are better than your favourite brand? I am in no position to know.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 460720

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:37

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:37
Steve,

You recommend cheking out what the locals use.

Well around Broken Hill, where I am a local, many of the station owners, roo shooters etc. who pay for their tyres are running wide tyres, Coopers, BFG Goodyear etc and there are a few who are funning splits too.

Some of them are very norrow minded people and will only buy the tyres they have always bought and some try different rubber every time.

As for the Government vehicles they too carry a variety of tyres. Yeah the Gov pays for the rubber but when Trevor Technician is stuck 200km from home in the middle of nowhere he is the one with the problem and he is the one who will winge to the boss about the tyre problems.

Willem probably asks "more" of his tyres in terms of stake protection than most of us and has made a decision about what will suit him best. I hope it works out for him but for the work I do the 265/75 16's do the job pretty well and I will buy another set whent the time comes, but that looks like being a fair way off at this stage.

FollowupID: 460722

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:44

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:44
>>As for the Cooper warranty, I have seen first hand their customer relations and I think they are second to none.

where Crazie?
FollowupID: 460723

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:41

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:41
The only result I got from the Cooper warranty was lies, broken promises & more lies from a very senior representative, whom I will name by request, but not on a public forum.
FollowupID: 460727

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:52

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:52
I have never had to claim on a Cooper warranty so I can't comment.

I had very poor treatment at the hands of another companies represetative when I mearly wanted to show him the wear on his tyres. TYres that I thought should have lasted a lot longer.

FollowupID: 460858

Reply By: Nick R - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:33

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:33
Hey willie, next time you are down better check the 12 plies we use on the feed out cart, they can take 2.5t per tyre and not pop (often).

Alternatively there is a mob in mildura who could fit you out in second hand aircraft tyres, a friend boasted that his can drive over a rusted off star pickett and not hole, maybe they would be tough enough. 1 problem though is you need an angle grinder to change tyres or maybe bead lockers would be easier.

A last resort cold be to solid fill the tyres but then you lose a lot of give........

NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 201352

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:58

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:58
Yes Nick R....I hear you...lol
FollowupID: 460672

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:44

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 22:44
Welcome back young fella.
As you know I suffered with splits, and haven't had the problem since SOMEONE convinced me to go toobless. But I don't often go offtrack. Thinking back, my first flat in the bush was offtrack with rags on. Strange , that.
The toobless are definately a better proposition on the blacktop or on formed tracks for me at least.
As access to the back country continues to shrink, I think I'll be safe for a while.
But I've never taken to wide tyres and fancy brandnames, especially the ones you mentioned. There are just too many serious off road people who came to your conclusions a long time ago.
On a different note, one guy I met in the Simpson years ago told me he was running the most popular brand of tyre in the world.
What were they ?

"Cheap" :)))))))))
AnswerID: 201353

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 01:55

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 01:55
For the time your are on the Forum you must never leave home...LOL
FollowupID: 460651

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:21

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:21
Richard, you're right. Not all of us live close enough or have the resources to go how and when we like.
One big trip a year, and several smaller ones that usually don't get a mention. Pretty sad when I have to look long and hard at a map to find somewhere new that takes my fancy.
FollowupID: 460665

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:51

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:51
Footloose, same here one big trip a year, coming from Perth it's a long way to SA the true Outback LOL...

Our problem is we have the resources but can't fined the time (to busy make all the resources) oh well can't have your dope and smoke it too....

FollowupID: 460766

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:57

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:57
Richard, you're a lot closer to some of the good country than I am. But I know what you mean. When I had bigger resources I didn't have the time either. One trip I took off at Xmas into the bush with my family pre air con. Never again. Just because you have the time doesn't mean that you can use it :((
FollowupID: 460768

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:03

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:03
Willem,

What about MTRs? They are the way to go the the type of travel that you do.

AnswerID: 201358

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:57

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:57
Hi Stan

On my trip through the Western Deserts this year my mate was following me in his GU shod with MTR's on splits. He had 7 punctures along the way including a totally melted MTR on the AB. Not sure how that happened as we were only chugging along at about 60kmh. He has however stuck with MTR's and bought some new ones recently.

I am planning two more Extreme Treks for 2007/8 and will go the MRF Crossplies

FollowupID: 460671

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:05

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:05
Mtr might be the best of there type but I found them to be just another radial out bush with 1 stuffed tyre and one not much betterin 2 very short trips - I dont care where everyone has or hasnt been or how many 000s of ks they got out of the tread. At the end of the day no radial comes with the bushability of a rag tyre
FollowupID: 460688

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:05

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:05
The bush will wreck ANY tyre if one goes there often enough. Mulga will go through a 12 ply anything, yes - but with a lot more difficulty than a 4 or 6 ply. Thinner walls equals more stakes. More stakes equals more dollars.

Cheap tyres are best in serious bush work. The cheaper the better. Best tyre I ever had was a $20.00 Bridgestone 'something or other', 8 ply 7.50R16. Couldn't stake it, couldn't break it and finally chucked it when the steel started showing through! It's somwhere on the side of the road between Mt Magnet and Wubin.

The worst was a new set of Bridgestone Desert Duellers, way back. I did 3 tyres in 4 hours, all staked. Cost? $750.00 and they had only gone from Perth to 100 kms north of Meeka. I was a ounce 'n half of gold behind before I even got started bippin'!!

Bilbo

AnswerID: 201361

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:53

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:53
"It's somwhere on the side of the road between Mt Magnet and Wubin."

Good of you to leave it there on the side of the road.......... too much trouble to take it home with you waqs it?

FollowupID: 460670

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:19

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:19
",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,much trouble to take it home with you waqs it?"

Yep.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460738

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:28

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:28
Why? You must have carried the one that you replaced it with.

But then I suppose we should all dump our old tyres, batteries, oil containers etc on the side of the tracks, should help our image a bit!
FollowupID: 460761

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:40

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:40
Well said Shaker.
FollowupID: 460763

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:39

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:39
Yep, well said Shaker.

,,,,,,,,,,,and what would I do with it when I arrived home 4 months later?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460777

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:05

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:05
Tyre recyclers ... heard of them?

Ever noticed that tyre retailers charge a recycling fee per tyre they replace.

Most of them are also happy to take old tyres for this nominal charge.

At worst, landfill, but certainly not litter, surely?

What exactly are you saying Bilbo? Are you really proud of the mess you leave about the place?

At least I know I can always come over and dump my rubbish and your place and you'll enjoy living in it.
FollowupID: 460787

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:44

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:44
Why should I drag it round the bush from Mt Magnet to Nullagine and then take it 1400 kms back home and then pay for tyre recycling when the Mt Magnet Shire clean out the bins in laybys "at the side of the road" every week or so?

Where do you dispose of your old engine oil, oil filters, your tins and cans from your house, your old meat scraps, your plastic bags and your plastic wrappings, your old batteries and of course YOUR old tyres?

That's what bins are for. Be they "on the side of the road betwen Mt Magnet and Wubin" or just outside my backdoor. This tyre was just a tad too big to put in the bin. So I left it "on the side of the road betwen Mt Magnet and Wubin". Perhaps, for the benefit of the more pedantic amongst the audience, I should have written, ",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,next to a bin, in a layby, on the side of the road betwen Mt Magnet and Wubin, so that the weekly rubbish truck from Mt Magnet could come and pick it up and thus save me from having to drag it around in the back of the ute for another 700 kms to Nullagine and another 1400kms back to Perth so that I could take it the local tip only to be told "we don't take tryes", and then drive another 90 kms to somewhere in Perth that does tyre recycling and then drive another 90 kms back to home and sit down and reflect how much I'd done for the environment,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,"

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460825

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:00

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:00
Oh sorry for being a twit and misunderstanding what you said - I heard you say it's somwhere on the side of the road between Mt Magnet and Wubin - I really thought you meant it was still there. I do apologise - how pedantic I can be. Duh!
FollowupID: 460845

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:12
Andrew, it was easy to 'misunderstand' as the post read in the present tense ......
"It's somwhere on the side of the road between Mt Magnet and Wubin."
FollowupID: 460849

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:47

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:47
Now we're getting lessons in English Grammar.

This happened in about 1997. At the time, I was prospecting full time, fer a living and broke - as most prospectors are. $40.00 for a tyre was a setback.

If I spent all bloody day telling you the ins and outs of a ducks guts about something as mundane as changing a tyre on the side of the road 9 years ago, you'd accuse me of boring your arriss off or being "off-topic".

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460856

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 15:36

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 15:36
Perhaps, Bilbo, but not explaining things leads to misunderstandings and, thus, follow-ups like this ;-)))))
FollowupID: 460944

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:00

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:00
Bilbo is right, there are too many here that are ready to jump on anyone for anything with the slightest reason without knowing the facts, it's getting way over the top.
FollowupID: 461028

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:29
Mad Dog,

Thanks for that. I didn't want to say too much for fear of starting a war. Whilst this forum is one of the best around, plenty of tech people, experience and good crack, there are a number of "holier than thou" types that raise cause for concern. Every fart and every nosepick is scrutinised by these people. I just need to learn who to talk to and who to stay away from.

I sometimes wonder if I'm in the presence of greatness or just people that don't ever make mistakes.

Thanks Mad Dog.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 461065

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 07:23

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 07:23
Wow, didn't I start something?

Bilbo.... my question originally was based on your line "It's somwhere on the side of the road between Mt Magnet and Wubin."
"too much trouble to take it home with you waqs it? "

which you answered.... yep it was too much trouble to take it home....

which struck me as odd as it wasn't too much trouble to have it there in the first place.... but had you said
"yep, it's next to a rubbish bin" everybody else probably wouldn't have jumped to conclusions..... an easy conclusion to jump to when you're post "APPEARED" to condone mindless littering. No English Grammar lessons from me here... just mildly stating that had you clarified it, things would be different.

Ray..... not knowing the facts???? I asked him for the facts and he didn't give them at first. Had I saw the response before Andrew and Shaker, I probably would have posted similar comments.... littering the countryside is bad enough but appearing unconcerned about it is undoubtedly worse.

Just my opinion

FollowupID: 461116

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:42

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:42
I think the Puncture proof advertisong , is a bunch of horse bleep enhousing. The only thing I like about my cooper stt's is that there very quiet on the road even with 315/75/16's , they do ok in the mud but nothing like my BFG mud terrains/.
AnswerID: 201368

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:50
Now, Now its not like you to get BLEEPED....lol

What tyres were on the Tuf80 when we slid backwards down the hill?....LOL
FollowupID: 460731

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:15

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:15
BFG all terrains , then swapped to mud terrains
FollowupID: 460756

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:43

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:43
Sad to hear that Willem.
Yes I had wondered why all the mining company vehicles I have driven and the roo shooters I have seen out bush have skinnys and split rims. I used to think they were just being cheap.
Saw some great Russian made Trojan tyres on a roo shooters vehicle once. They were massively solid.

I have Cooper ST on my Terrano and they have handled my travel so far, but I obviously do not go to such demanding places (in my own vehicle) as you do.
AnswerID: 201369

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:55

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:55
Willem, I feel for you, having 'been there & done that' with those useless Cooper tyres!
There's an old saying, "when the going gets tough ... the tough get going", where Cooper tyres are concerned, when the going gets tough, they just don't cut it!
I fail to understand how, judging by previous replies here, people are prepared accept tyres that cut, chip, split & stake just because advertisers tell them they are good tyres through heavily biased, & paid for testimonials!
Right now I am on my second set of Firestone RMTs & they absolutely kill Coopers, at a cost of $155.00 each, almost half the cost of a Cooper.
They have done exactly the same work as I tried to do with the Coopers, with no cuts, chips, splits or stakings.
AnswerID: 201371

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:17

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:17
Shaker,
thanks its good to hear some honest advise I might have to look at the Firestones. My Coopers have done 60k and are getting low. Although I have not sustained any major stakes or cuts, I don't like the hundreds of little cuts and chips in the tyres after my last few Pilbarra and goldfields trips.

I have seen a mates Patrol with almost all the main side tread blocks ripped off his Cooper ST. I thought it was that his vehicle is much heavier than mine and his right foot but maybee the tyres just don't handle the load and demands.
FollowupID: 460645

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:31

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 00:31
Great move. Firestone had a little recall a little while ago, remember? 6.5 million wasn't it? How do you say "Ford Explorer"?

Come on now - there is potential for every tyre to have problems, and the more you sell, the more potential for a problem, but to argue at 60K from a tyre of that class and to still be driving on them - come on now. I am only expecting 50-60K - although in context with a very loaded vehicle and reasonably hard work including a little offtrack.

Cuts and chips - even tread blocks ripped off, when doing hard work with heavy loads is to be expected (Yes, I hear Shaker's rhetoric). Generally, they should be looked at, but are unlikely to be a worry.

As for Shaker's "useless" categorisation - well it doesn't marry with my experience.

FollowupID: 460647

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 02:04

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 02:04
Andrew a Firestone is an American Birdgestone
FollowupID: 460652

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:02

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:02
Hi Andrew,

The Ford Explorer problems had several other factors but the lawyers were going to get very rich if something was not done quickly so they decided to recall.

I think that you will find that high road temperatures, low tyre pressures, speed, weight, high centre of garvity and dumb driving combinations caused the Explorer problems - not the tyres. Almost no problems from countries other then the USA.
FollowupID: 460654

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:25

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:25
No Kiwi the Firestone tyres fitted to the Exploders were just plain CRAP. Even the ones after the recall were very thin & I saw 10 flat tyres & one totally destroyed just driving up the Birdsville track to Mungarannie. Not that you can compare those Firestone tyres with the current RMT's either Andrew.......they may be out of the same factory but they're are nothing alike ;-)
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 460760

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:41

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:41
Not comparing - just reminding.
FollowupID: 460764

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:53
Notrhing like a discussion on tyres to bring out the polerised opinions.

Anyway, point taken Andrew: any tyre brand can have problems, it is just a bad way to find out when you have as many flats as Willem.

My previous tyres BC (before coopers) were BFG AT KO and they all went badly wobbly with 40,000 k and several of them had bitts of steele belt sticking out between the treads. They were great on the road and good offroad. The tyres before that were also BFG AT and my two 15 year old spares with about 100,000km are still on my camper trailer.

Also tried Bridgstone Desert Duelers they were OK untill half worn down and I wanted to stop in the wet, I didn't.

My current Coopers ST have had their share of abuse and tough rocky tracks in WA, SA, VIC and TAS. They have held up well with no punctures at all. I do not like seeing bits of tread chip off, but other than that I am happy.

So what tyre can you trust to do the job?
FollowupID: 461080

Reply By: Chucky - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:32

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:32
I ran BFG's once and hated them, heaps of punctures and stakes, have been on coopers st's now for three years and haven't gone flat yet.
The coopers have crossed the simpson, gibson and great sandy as well as many trips to various 4wd parks and camping spots and still look almost brand new. the way I'm going I'll get around 90,000k's out of them.
In my experiance you just cant beat the coopers, On the simpson trip, 10 4wds 3 ran coopers,1 ran simex, 1 had yoko's and the rest had BFG's. Every car running BFG had at least 2 flats or stakes, one of the cooper running cars rooled a bead off the tyre and so did the guy running the yoko's. These were just re-inflated and put back onto the 4wd.
All up I was very impressed with the coopers.
AnswerID: 201402

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:50
Perhaps a bit early to say with the ones I have on but they have done about 16,000 km and the wear isn't bad. In the first 3,000 there was a stake through the sidewall just above the tread on the Strz track on a well made section. Very dissapointing to start with. Bulges in the sidewall of one too at the 15,000 km stage. Not a good sign.

The Terra Traks that are Chinese made Canadian branded Hercules tyres look pretty good without puncture til the tread got down and then it was road metal that did that through the tread.........
AnswerID: 201411

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:28

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:28
I reckon with a bulge in the sidewall, that Cooper who whatever you're running would replace that in a heartbeat.
FollowupID: 460743

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:25

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:25
Mine had bulges & I was told it is the way they are constructed!
FollowupID: 460759

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:45

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:45
Of course they are constructed that way.

In this case, it sounds like poor construction or quality and something that I've seen Cooper distributors replace in a heartbeat.

I would suggest not letting the lazy dealer or his tyre monkey provide poor service or get away with telling you such baloney.
FollowupID: 460765

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:07

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:07
Was the senior Cooper Rep that told me!
FollowupID: 460770

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:17

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:17
That doesn't tell me much - drop me an email if you want to tell me who - location/company - andrewatvividadventuresdotcomdotau
FollowupID: 460774

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:09

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:09
Victoria, senior rep for Exclusive Tyres.
FollowupID: 460790

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:43

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:43
G'Day John,

Did you have the 10ply Terra's?

Lots of loggers using them now. For the price you can change them more often and still come out ahead.

Price at the show yesterday $191 for Terra's, $305 for Cooper ST

O.K. for 90% of the places most travel

Rolande
FollowupID: 460938

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:50
Rolande, they are the 'normal' ones not the 10 plies. I will have a set of tyres for normal running and have a set for special use. Well that was the theory. The Coopers have hardly been special but had a look at the Terra Trak MTs. Liked the look of the Dick Sepeks but probably too expensive Site Link
FollowupID: 461079

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:44

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:44
hey mr. I'll be over there on the Tuesday 7th... Where ya taking me..
AnswerID: 201540

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:18

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:18
Where will you be?
FollowupID: 461007

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:30

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:30
Beachport from Friday till Monday/Tuesday morning
FollowupID: 461066

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:44

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:44
You will be about 700km from my place. Not far. Duck over for a cuppa between brekkie and lunch one day :-D
FollowupID: 461078

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:23

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:23
AJ was going to show me round, btu aint heard s hit from him... :(
FollowupID: 461235

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:57

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:57
There are some new spiffy maps of the tracks at Beachport that the 4WD club seems to have spent a motza on making ... you should be able to pick it up at the visitor ctr.
FollowupID: 461278

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:20

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:20
As I've said before, people get confused with 'off road' terminology. All radials aren't worth a pinch of bleep for bush bashing - brilliant for tracks and gravel roads but that's it.

The skinniest, tightest highway pattern, highest ply rating on split rims with four spares is the go for true off road work. Next on the list is radiator protection.
AnswerID: 201608

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:38

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:38
Yep, you are right

Unfortunately on my last trip out to the west in June I couldnt fdind any suitable splits for the GQ in time and HAD to take the Coopers along with the inevitable results. Now I have 10 splits and tyres are on order for desert travel. Getting 12 ply MRF Super Milers to try out first.

FollowupID: 461016

Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:12

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:12
Willem,

Before you buy new tyres check these out BRIDGESTONE V STEEL ..........never heard of it? Try finding them on the internet........ all you will get is heavy commercial pages for trucks etc.......... Doesn't make sense. These are probably the best tyre that you can buy. Don't take my word for it.... These are the tyre of choice for commercial use in the Pilbara. They are used by PILBARA IRON, CALM, TELSTRA, WESTRAC, CMM, DAMPIER SALT, kARRATHA STATION and plenty of other "commercial" users. These are companies that clock up millions of kilometres per year on their vehicles. Majority of it on seriously bad roads that tear tyres to shreads. Since changing to BRIDGESTONE V STEEL their tyre replacement has halved. There is one hitch - They only come in a narrow size to fit split rims and up to 6" standard rim.......... this is probably why they are not promoted vary well because they don't fit wide rims. If you are going back to split rims give these a try- if you can buy them down there!
AnswerID: 201767

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:28

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:28
they are OK but nothing special 8 ply tyre with 4 tread plys and 1 sidewall ply they work fairly well but we have wrecked quite a few as they still suffer the same old radial weakness of thin sidewalls
FollowupID: 461162

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:36
G'day Brian

On one of my treks this year out into the Gibson Desert a convoy member arrived with those Bridgestone V Streels on his 100 series. He was travelling tail end charlie but sustained a number of punctures as the sidewalls are 'typical radial' (as Davoe says). Then he cut one Big Time and had to throw it away. He was not amused.

In a previous life I ran Bridgstones on a smaller 4x4 and sustained 12 punctures in 14 days in the Kimberley. I swore Never Again but have had Desert Duellers since.

Bridgestones are pretty much an average tyre.

I have 12ply MRF Super Milers on order for my next desert foray. They will be fitted to splits.

FollowupID: 461238

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:04

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:04
G'day Willem
An expensive lesson indeed.
Just turn the music up (I know you do like NOISE anyway from an earlier post) and that will drown out the racket from those rag tyres whilst on the blacktop.
Interesting how so many tried to convince you that you are going down the wrong path. I guess those who never venture off the beaten track don't appreciate the conditions you encounter. Those in agreement were in the minority.
Tyres and batteries - PsITA :-)
Anyway - all the best with your tyres and travels.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 201811

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:58

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:58
rags dont have to be offensive sure some are. But I have used Dunlop dr2 a fair bit ,had them on the beachin soft sand betweenEsperance and cape le grand. They are quite and handle quite accetably on the blacktop and dirt. Besides the usual flatspots in the morning they work as well as other 7.5x16 tyres fitted to skinnys
FollowupID: 461222

Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:18

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:18
G'day Davoe
I'm sure I've read on this site in the past that MRFs are bloody noisy.
But I accept that not all rags are noisy (and that my post could be interpreted to infer that they are all noisy).
It will be interesting to see Willem's next report on tyres.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 461232

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:33

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:33
ive used the super grippers and yep they are bloody noisy I think the ones Willem is trying are not aggressive but I am not familure with them so I will be interesting to see how he finds them
FollowupID: 461236

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:46

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:46
G'day Moose

I should have the MRF's by the end of the year and will be going back to the Flinders for January. I should be able to report back then how they behave. In the mean time I will drive what is left of the Coopers into the ground...lol

FollowupID: 461240

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:09

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:09
For those who don't want to give up the luxuries of wide tyres on their normal travels, but want bias-plies ... I believe that Mick Hutton of Beadell Tours has a stack of split-rims with MRFs on them for hire. He also has meticulous records of

Guess you could contact him through: www.beadell.com.au/lb_beadell_tours.htm

Would be relevant if you was doing a one-off trip off-track and has become wary of your rubber.

and if you've just gotta buy a set, I'm sure the MRF distributors will give the same good service that the Cooper distributors do, except there'll be more availability issues 'coz they come from India.

Tell 'im I sent ya ... pls.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 201864

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:46

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:46
Hows it going Willem ,

When I went around OZ in 04 , I was lent a tyre repair kit .

The guy that sorted me out gave me a bit of instruction how to use it . I was told that I could patch repair a sidewall and then put a tube in a tubeless tyre .

Couldnt you do the same sort of thing if stake repairs were ripping, at least it would get you out of trouble ( for the time being ) .

Glenn.
AnswerID: 201937

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:30

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:30
dont think he has trouble getting home - he is just annoyed at wasting money, I have been in the same boat and and saw an instant lack of problems when I chucked the spits on and and instant resumption of problems when I put the 1 pieces back on despit running the supposed all singing all dancing mtr bottom line is radials do not belong in the bush it is as simple as that
FollowupID: 461407

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:05

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:05
Hi Glenn

One of the problems with tubeless tyres is that after you have stuck a patch or gater on the inside it does not stay there forever and peels off as the tyre flexes too much. I have carries spare tubes in the past but did not relish the idea of pulling the tyre off the rim.

I will go back to splits for my orugh bush work and keep the radials for black top driving till they wear out

FollowupID: 461678

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 08:47

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 08:47
Well Willem i did say they were crap when we last met, and as some may know i have been through 2 sets myself and now on my third (2 sets replaced under warrenty) and the ONLY reason i still have Coopers.

The first set lasted 6000ks and the second 20,000ks and beleive me they were stuffed.

I will never buy Coopers again as they are crap and don't handle rocks or sharp gibber country or anywhere there are malley bush, they are a mild offroad tyre, for use on country gravel road and forest tracks and mud and the black top.

AnswerID: 201994

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:20

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:20
Hear hear!

The only thing I would like to know is how you got them to honour their warranty?
FollowupID: 461465

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:14

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:14
G'day Baz

Hows life treating ya? ( Aprt from Cooper woes, that is....LOL)
FollowupID: 461679

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:59

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:59
Shaker our tyre suppler is a great bloke and he arranged the Cooper rep to meet us at his shop to show him in person, he couldn't argue when he saw them.

Hi Willem, goin good mate, give my best to jude.

FollowupID: 461728

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:41

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:41
My tyre supplier is OK too, he arranged for the Cooper rep. (read State Manager) to meet me at the suppliers premises, I was promised the world face to face, but when I went to get my new tyres, the goal posts had moved ...... HEAPS!
FollowupID: 461798

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:18

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:18
Hi Willem

Hope you get a good run out of the splits. But you'll never convert me back :-)) I take it you are getting some decent tubes from somewhere - its a PITA when the tyres are strong and the tubes split seams.

I only have one friend running Cooper tires now - the others had similar desert experience to you.
AnswerID: 202980