4WD Systems - How they work.

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:21
ThreadID: 38903 Views:4885 Replies:4 FollowUps:16
Bit of a dumb question I know.
But how does the 4wd system work exactly.
I'm in new to the market for one and I'm leaning towards the 100 cruiser or gu3 patrol.
Now I understand that they are full time 4x4. But what makes them more capable off road.
I've read about lsd's, locking centre diffs and locking axle difs. Is any of this OEM or is it aftermarket add on's.
Now some 4x4's run traction control is this an alternative to an LSD. An LSD can only limit slip to a point (correct?), so would traction control work better?

Thanks in advance

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:55

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:55
This is not a dumb question but you can expect a long answer.
A 4wd system puts drive to all four wheels while they are in contact with the road.
The driver will have a lot to do with how capable any 4wd is, but the Cruiser and Patrol are very capable because of the wheel travel and motor gear box set up.

Most of the Cruisers are constant 4wd. This helps on the black top but does very little when 4wdriving.
The centre diff lock has to be engaged to have true 4wd.
Auto hubs are good in the fact that you don't have to manually engage the front hubs to have 4wd.

Locking diffs can be a OE or aftermarket, and they give the vehicle the potential to have a lot more traction.

Traction control is becoming more common on vehicles. It has replaced the LSD which will wear out. Traction works on the principal of applying the brake to the wheel that is spinning and therefore putting drive to the wheel that has the most grip.

This is a very short answer on how a 4wd works. Once you have a vehicle it would be easer to explain how that vehicle works. Even in some models there are big differences in how they work. A base model Cruise is a lot different to a GXL Cruiser in how it achieves traction.

AnswerID: 201425

Follow Up By: one4dirt - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:45

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:45
OK.
How about using a GXL as an example.

So the centre diff splits drive 50:50. - Is this usually engaged when 4H or 4L is selected.

Diff lockers split the drive again?
FollowupID: 460729

Follow Up By: djm67 - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:28

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:28
The centre diff splits the drive forward & rear, but not necessarily 50:50, it works on the same principle as any other 'open' diff, it will provide drive to the wheel(s) with the LEAST traction.

Think of the GXL as an 'all' wheel drive, like a subaru or territory. The centre diff lock simply converts the 'All' wheel drive 100 GXL into a true '4' wheel drive GXL.

Diff lockers lock the left and right axles together, that way regardless of which tyre has what traction they both spin (drive) at the same rate. Air lockers are switched on when needed, and HAVE to be switched off when not, auto lockers are 'on' all the time and 'auto unlock' when needed (turning etc).
FollowupID: 460744

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:47

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:47
First, a very simple explanation on how a diff works and what it does.

A diff allows drive to be transmitted to both wheels on the same axle, and at the same time, allowing the wheels to travel at different speed and distance.
A centre diff allows drive to be transmitted to both front and rear diff at different speed and distance.

GXL is a constant 4wd. It has a 3rd diff which allow the vehicle to be driven on the road with out getting transmission wind up.

Power is delivered to all four wheels, but if any of the 4 wheels are off the ground or can spin, then all the drive will go to that wheel. The vehicle will not go anywhere.

With the centre diff lock engaged drive still goes to all four wheels. If a wheel can spin or is off the ground 50% of the drive will be lost through that wheel.
The other two wheels that have traction will drive the vehicle.

Even with the centre diff lock engaged and a wheel on the front and back loose grip at the same time, all the drive will be lost.

The centre diff lock can be locked in high range by the push of a button. This puts the vehicle into 4wd and should not be driven on a hard surface.

When low range is engaged the centre diff lock is lock by the shifting of the transfer leaver. Again the vehicle should not be driven on a hard surface when in low range.

The reason why vehicles should not be driven on a hard surface when 4wd is engaged because of transmission wind up. Transmission wind up accrues when a vehicle is driven on a hard surface and then has to make a turn.
The inside wheel on the front or rear diff will make a smaller radius than the out side wheel on the same diff. The front and rear diffs will also travel different distances If the vehicle continues to drive, the transmission could break.

A diff lock, as the name implies will lock the diff and both wheels on the same axle will turn at the same rate. if all three diffs are locked ( front, rear and centre diff) all 4 wheels will turn at the same rate. It would be almost impossible to turn the vehicle in this mode with out breaking some part of the drive train.

This is a very simple answer and there are a few variables that will only confuse things

What ever vehicle you decide to get, do a 4wd driving course to find out how your vehicle works.

FollowupID: 460749

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:40

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:40
Site Link

Good wrap up....
AnswerID: 201429

Follow Up By: one4dirt - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:18

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:18
Thanks for that.

I found a link directly explaining diff lockers, which was useful.
FollowupID: 460735

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:46

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:46
o4dirt it probably hasn't been explained much above but the comment was made about the contact with the ground with a lot of the 4bys.

Where you don't have equal contact all round (and traction of course), you need lockers more than is the case with thos enjoying contact. Look for trouble where you have wheels in the air crossing holes or rocks ans spinning madly. If you have flexibility and wheel travel with suspensions you can avoid problems better. IFS does not guarantee better wheel travel and wheel contact with articulation, quite the contrary.
FollowupID: 460748

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:30

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:30
One4dirt,

While you have the attention of all the experts, I would like to know from them, what difference does it make to the operation of my GU Patrol fitted with "auto" hubs when I manually lock them? I have not noticed any effects other than the obvious one that you can drive in reverse and they don't unlock. The traction appears to be the same in "auto" or "lock". I have tried this in sand and on slopes and there is no discernable difference. A person once told me that it is essential to lock hubs for downhill traction. Perhaps I have not yet reached the limit on downhill slippery surfaces.

The Nissan manual does not help much either.

Kingo
AnswerID: 201447

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:10

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:10
Gday Kingo

I'm ion the same boat as you, and traction should be the same with in auto or lock, as in auto they should automatically lock. Going downhill with engine breaking shouldn't unlock them, as the practice of driving backwards to unlock has the wheels revolving backwards, shaft trying ro be stationary (but with very little resistance) With this in mind, going down hill will have the front wheels trying to go faster than the tailshaft, which is the opposite of goeng in reverse to disengage them........Therfore they would be at greater risk of disengaging while going forwards..........maybe there is someone out there who can explain this and how they work better...

Hope this did'nt spread too much dark on the subject...

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 460771

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:13

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:13
....should read "risk of disengaging while going forwards (once the fun is over and 2wd is selected)
FollowupID: 460772

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:50
Kingsley,

You have got your self stuck, the vehicle is not moving. Easy to get out the vehicle moving again, engage 4wd. Auto hubs will engage and the vehicle will be on the move again. Wrong!!!

The only thing is that the vehicle has to be moving to engage the auto hubs. So if you are already stuck the auto hubs will not come in until the front wheels move.

If you are going to go 4wdriving it is just as easy to lock the front hubs in, you can still drive in 2H on the black top but when extra traction is required the auto hubs are ready to go.

FollowupID: 460780

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:56

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:56
Gday Wayne

In the GU, under the car, wheels on the ground, turn the front tailshaft about a third of a turn and they lock, so engaging 4wd while stuck in 2wd will lock the front hubs in (I'd be doing it very gently with the clutch though, I think they break easy!

May be different on different makes or models

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 460782

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:15

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:15
Wow, that simplified things! Hence the simplicity of manual hubs.
FollowupID: 460814

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:38

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:38
Thanks fellas!

Wayne, I reckon you are on the money, having re-read the manual. The implication is that "fore-warned is for-armed". I have intuitively used the transfer lever to "snatch" into 4H when suddenly coming into a slippery or sandy patch. It works just fine and you can feel the front wheels pulling the vehicle through. From your explanation I won't change my procedures except that I know that if I am in for a day's driving in a mixture of sand/mud and good surfaces (including blacktop) I can safely lock the hubs before hand. The only problem of course is that I have to get out of the vehicle to do that and also to unlock when completed.

I enjoyed using the dial selector on my previous Pathfinder. I presume the Patrol will go over to that system one day.

Kingo
FollowupID: 460820

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:39

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:39
I have also heard that the auto hubs MAY disengage in reverse or if you need to rock the vehicle to build momentum as in if you are stuck in sand
FollowupID: 460821

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:30

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:30
One4dirt, I just read this post and ended up cofused even though I know the basics!
In your question you don't say that you don't understand a diff or 4x4 so I assume you do understand that.

You understand that 100 series or Patrol are full time 4wd - that depends on whether you get the base model or top of the range. What makes them more capable off road ? Are you asking what makes full time 4wd more capable (they're not), or what makes 'cruisers and patrols more capable (they are; bigger engines, more solid)
AnswerID: 201495

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:42

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:42
Bware,

I thought that the Patrol was classified as "Part-time 4WD" because it normally only drives the rear wheels unless you physically pull the lever.

Kingo
FollowupID: 460824

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:04

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 23:04
Kingsley, I don't know; I was questioning the question.
Don't make it any harder than it is... Or did I do that LOL
FollowupID: 460846

Follow Up By: one4dirt - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 05:18

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 05:18
Bware.

Wayne has answered my confusing question. (Thanks)

I was trying to find out is what makes the cruiser and patrol better than other models in off road performance and how their 4x4 systems work.

When reading magazine reviews and talking to 4x4 owners the Cruiser and Patrol seem to be at the top of the list when it comes to off road ability. For example, in the latest 4x4 monthly they take six rigs up Cape York and the review seemed honest to their word. To throw these things down the gauntlet straight out of the box and onto one of the hardest treks in Aus is a big ask. The Cruiser and Patrol end up on top with the other 4x4's with the fancy traction control systems.
So hence my question about the 4x4 system on these two and what makes them more capable.

In regards to the diff lockers, how necesasary are they to have? I mean if I bought a rig tommorrow, should I drive it straight into a 4x4 shop and get them to fit them? Or can you get away without them by negociating trails to minimise wheels in the air.
If my plan is to build up a confident and capable off road rig what order should accesories be bought in. I'd love to do it all at once but the budget simply aint that big.

I will endevour to join a 4x4 club to gain experience before doing anything on my own.

Thanks for the input so far.
FollowupID: 461115

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:31

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:31
G'day one4dirt,

I have an '02 GU Patrol (TI). It is magnificant off and on road. So far, I haven't been stuck once and it is bog stock. It did the whole of Moreton Island in 4 high as nothing there was strenuous. Also recently been to Cityview 4x4 park in Beaudesert and Crystalvale 4x4 park at Crystal Creek. I have found the standard features of the vehicle to be fantastic. I am probably not as serious as other people in this forum but I put it over the extreme track at cityview (jeepers decent) and it never missed a beat nor did it even bottom out.

Admittedly the GU Ti's come with a vaccume lock diff in the rear which can make it much easier to negotiate the slippery mud hills. I however conquered most of the climbs at crystal creek without using the locker as I was challenging a mate in his rangie!

The standard setup has certainly sufficed for me as we actually purchased the vehicle for a family car. With the standard suspension the car drives like a sedan on the road and it certainly attempts the moderate stuff with no problems at all. I am not into rock climbing or submerging the car in 5 foot of mud bog holes so it does everything i am interested in.

Besides, I dont really attempt the crazy stuff coz I am too lazy to buy the winch let alone walk up the hill first with the cord!

Hope I could be of some help ;-P
Cheers Tom.
FollowupID: 461195