NSW Troopy Owners,
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:34
Geoff (Newcastle, NSW)
Greetings to the discerning 4wd'er, (As are all Troopy owners from any state and territory are)
I was in the local RTA on Friday giving over hard earned's so Maurie the UnProunanceable can retire safe, when I asked some questions about the Troopy's rego papers.
There's this obscure little line on the bottom that say's, "RTA/HVIS INSPECTION REQURIED BY 22-03-07"
Turns out the Troopy is considered in NSW to be "Heavy Vehicle" For want of a better term, same category as a B-Double for registration inspection. It apparently has a GVM of greater than 4.5 tonnes. This I will investigate further.
Sooo, I've been charged $75.45 in my rego plus $7.55 GST for the pivilege of fronting the RTA "pits" to have the Mermaids inspect my Troopy. I must do it not greater than 3 months prior to the expiry date of my rego or I get to pay another $75.45 plus GST for the honour of keeping our highways safe.
Question for the other NSW Troopy owners is, What are the Mermaids looking for?
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:36
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:36
Revenue!!
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:41
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:41
I've got to admire an accurate one word answer!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:57
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:57
Discerning?
Delusional!
Lay-dee- Loosie,
Your flock is in need.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:08
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:08
Bloody heathen!
Get a Troopy.
;-)
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:44
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:44
Geoff.
I have a1997 75/1HZ Troopy which had OEM GVM of 3.1t and I had it engineered up to 3.494t.
In theory it was possible to Engineer it up to 3.8t, however once over 3.5t a whole swag of emision requirements had to be met, which in essence made it cheaper to buy a new vehicle - hence the 3.495t only upgrade.
The 78 seriers apparently met those Req's and therefore had a GVM of 3.8t (so I am told).
I have rather p i s s e d & amazed to hear that the 2006 Troopy allegedly has a GVM of 4.5t+. Do you have an OEM supercharged V8 petrol - auto under the bonnet or some such thing.??????
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:04
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:04
Hi Ken,
The only things I had fitted to my Troopy prior to delivery where window tinting and air conditioning. (bloody heavy that tint)
Sounds like the salesman filled in GCM in place of GVM on the rego papers and some goose about my size has just signed the form.
It'd be interesting for Wayne to chime in about now.
Looks like it's time for a bit of RTA wrestling.
I'll let you know how I get on.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:14
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:14
There you go Geoff, Lay-dee- Loosie answered the call,(all be it quietly).
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:27
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:27
Geoff (NSW)
Have a look at the compliance plate and that will 'tell all'.
Then pop down to the RTA after booking an appointment, or just rock up and 'cold call' to point out the discrepancy.
Ensuring that you highlight 'their error' (never yours) and that it needs correcting immediately because you are 'travelling' and don't want to get busted by interstate authorities.
Geoff (Qld)
Its only those 'pink nissan mafia' cootas that fire me up.
Ms L
Follow Up By: alexk - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:59
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:59
Lucy, What did you need to do in order to engineer your Troopy's GVM up 400Kg?
Alex
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:03
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:03
Well Lucy,
The plot thickens, going on Wayne's post below regarding his NSW registered Troopy I see the following discrepancy,
My Troopy,
Tare: 2071
GVM: 3300 (As per Compliance Plate)
Shape: Bus (This would appear to be the kicker)
Make: Toy
Model: Landcru
Wayne's Troopy,
Tare weight 2600kg
GVM 3150kg
Class Light Vehicle
Make Toyota
Model Landcruiser 4WD
My problem would appear to be the fact it has been registered as a Private Bus, go figure how a 5 Seater can be a bus.
Ahh the RTA, joy oh joy.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:15
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:15
Ah! there you go. Simple to determine however I reckon its going to be a bitch to fix, amend etc.
Best of British luck to you mate.
It would be nice to meet the dude who determined it was a bus and find out what he based it on.
I know when
mine was first registered they inspected it inside and out and any fool could see it was a 2/3 seater only.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:31
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:31
Alexk
Mate, have a look at archive post 27198 & 27191 where I outlined the whole box & dice.
If I tried to do it again from memory I will forget a few things no doubt.
Then I'll answer any questions - if you have any that is.
Ken Robinson
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:20
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:20
Sorry Geoff,
Didn't see your post in time:possibly more agnostic: Buddism appeals, but I really dislike mossies, and so the quest continues.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 07:53
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 07:53
Just found the rego papers. On the slip that I got a copy of after the vehicle was looked at said
Vehicle Details
Registration Plate Number WD 299
Class Light Vehicle
Make Toyota
Model Landcruiser 4WD
On the Renewal Notice
Tare weight 2600kg GVM 3150kg
I would say there was a typo some where and because of this are you now limited to 100kph, must have log books and can only drive for so many hours and then have a break.
I would be getting on to head office of the RTA and getting it sorted.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:53
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:53
Aren't most Troopies self-limiting to 100kph anyway ;-) (
well the 4 i have driven seem to be)....
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:55
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:55
Thanks Wayne,
My rego papers tell the following tale,
Bus seems somewhat odd for a 5 Seater RV. I could understand if it was an 11 seater!
So it looks like some RTA bashing to get the class changed from Bus to Light Vehicle. You've got to hate beauracracy when they register two similar vehicles totally differently.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:25
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:25
Aren't most Troopies self-limiting to 100kph anyway ;-) (
well the 4 i have driven seem to be)....
The normally aspirated's may be. But my RV certainly isn't.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:33
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:33
sorry, forgot that the RVs are TD.....driven the 11 seaters all the time and i keep commenting to the "Powers That Be" to spend an extra $3150 and get the Turbo when upgrading. Throw a boat or trailer on the back of the 11 seaters (even with no passengers) and they just die in the wind. Chews fuel like it's going out of fashion due to the foot-flat syndrome.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:11
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:11
Hi Andrew,
I agree 100% on your summary of the normally exasperating diesel cruisers. I must be a glutton for punishment, I've owned a HJ45 and HJ47. Both of these contained the venerable old 4litre 2H and one HJ105 or is that HZJ105. The normally aspirated base 100 Series wagon.
The TD Troopy is an entirely different beast! It does 40kph per 1,000rpm in 5th and I cant see it not pulling the 4,000rpm redline in 5th!! It does 3,000 or 120kph at a jog.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:10
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:10
Thanks Geoff, I will keep this info in mind for when the subject comes up next time......probably next drive up one of the local ranges :-)
Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:19
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:19
What you may find is that it is registered with more than 8 seats or has had commercial 'bus' registration at some point before you purchased it.
If it was originally an 11 seater then it is a bus and must be inspected twice a year.
Another catch is that because of all these extra vehicles requiring RTA pit inspections that it is nigh on impossible to book an inspection at some RTA registries in the month between when your rego papers arrive and the due date so you have to remember to organise the inspection
well in advance, I have five buses to look after and twice ahve been unable to get inspections between the papers arriving and the due date, result one unreg bus!
The RTA insists there is no problem and they have plenty of inspection staff and facilities which is plainly not the case.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:50
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:50
Hi traveller2,
Thanks for the response. Some of what you say isn't quite relevant to my troopy but some is. I guess my original post doesn't contain quite enough information.
My Troopy is a 2006 model RV 5 Seater, I purchased it brand new in February so besides Toyota Japan and Lander at Blacktown I'm actually the only ever RTA registered owner for it.
But, looking further at the papers I see the following,
So an RTA bashing we will go,
Thanks for the response,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:05
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:05
traveller hit the nail on the head. I have a 1982 HJ47, and when I went to register, it was class 'B' or something, as these were originally imported as a commercial people mover. The 75 series (LWB) was likewise. I wasn't that fussed at the time regarding the rego (as it didn't make any difference), however it did push up the Insurance premiums. The RTA indicated that if I wanted to get the classification changed, I could apply and they would most likely agree to change. I found an insurer who didn't give a rats, so I didn't bother, however if they are going to do additional inspections, I'll push it with them.
Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:17
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:17
You should move to queensland . The rego renewal form turns up in the mail . I pay it then they send me a new rego sticker in the mail and i put said sticker on the window .
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:07
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:07
How about we move Harold Scruby to Queensland?
You buggers have had the rego caper too good for too long!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:18
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:18
G/day Geoff,sounds like the sales person filled out your papers wrong,they can be rsoles sometimes.The real reason i am writing this is WE DON'T NEED THAT BLUDDY H.SCREWBALL no brain Mexican up here to add more to the Yes vote on Daylight Robbery every year.:)))
Hope you get it sorted soon.
Cheer's Bob.