Melb 4x4 show

Submitted: Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:00
ThreadID: 38960 Views:2876 Replies:9 FollowUps:35
Well I didn't get excited about the WAECO girls and if that's what you've got to wear to sell something I'm a bit concerned about what I might have to wear for the Wandin show next year when Al has a stand again with his Dual Cab conversions. I thought the Ironman guys looked pretty good in their buff shirts [that's buff coloured, not in the buff!] The prawn peeler dude proposed to Kir [Crazie's partner] and the bloke selling the Reel McCoy lure caddy thing was very excited when Kir bought four of his caddies.

The show was quite good, but I thought there wasn't as much stuff as previous years, but that could be because I've got most of the stuff we need.

Al had one of his converted vehicles on display in the foyer and has received quite a few enquiries about it which is great.

It was lovely to meet/catch up with forumites:

Bonz,
JohnR & Heather
GOB [Steve] & Denny
Vivienne & Ray
Adrian R
Ken & Deidre [aka Lucy]
Crazie & Kir

If I've forgotten someone, I'm sorry...thanks to Bonz who organised the meet.

Eric sorry I missed you :) obviously I should have hung around the Waeco girls.. :)

Lyn

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:19

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:19
We enjoyed the 4x4 Show but despite searching missed out (much to Ray's disappointment) on seeing those Waeco Girls.

It was really good to meet up with forumites for the first time. So Bonz, JohnR & Heather, Adrian R, GOB, Muzbry, Lucy Deidre, Crazie & Kir and Al & Mrs Al...nice to meet you and hope to catch up again.

We didn't think the Show was as good as previous years either but then we didn't really have anything we were specifically looking for so maybe that makes a difference.

Thanks to Bonz for getting us all together at the same time.

Best wishes to you all

Viv
AnswerID: 201743

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:54

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 08:54
Good on you Lyn for putting the post up. Was good to meet with all yesterday of course but newer ones I hadn't met like Viv and Ray, Muzbry, Adrian R. Met GOB and Denny before we got in, ran into The Als and Bonz in the first 10 minutes inside, then Deidre and then Ken who was holding up a flag pole. Met up with Crazie just before the 2.00 meeting.

I did see the Waeco girls, just with my peripheral vision! :)) Also the OBC twins :))

Aside from those it was good to meet the EO friends, new and again. EO make us friends and others wonder why!
AnswerID: 201749

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:36

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:36
Oi! I have first dibs on those OBC twins.

I spotted them for the first time when I walked back into the OBC stand before leaving to see Paul.

Ooo-ee! Magee, to say I was lost for words for a moment or two would have to be and understatement.

Score card:

OBC Twins - Sensational, tastefully dressed and presented package. - 10

WAECO's - weeell! Skanky eye candy smothered in makeup ( worth a second look for outrageousness) most probably fits the 'moment'. - 4

FollowupID: 461134

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:25

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:25
The Waeco ones were just like the fridges - made out of cheap plastic :)

Adrian
FollowupID: 461161

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:24

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:24
So...do I have to be a twin to be a promo girl?
FollowupID: 461171

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:49

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:49
Mrs Al

Yep! however Mr Al might have something to say about that, especially the possibility of TWO of you.

Aw! this is just too much. For those of you who haven't got a clue what we are talking about - you just had to be there ( The Melb 4Wd show on the weekend that is)

FollowupID: 461187

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:10

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:10
I feel somewhat deflated!
FollowupID: 461191

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:32

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:32
Ms Lucy, a couple of our employees are wearing Toy... something branded hats today. The promotion was that you had to hug a penguine and get a hat. I wanted to hug the promotional gal, who was considerably more attractive than a person in a penguine suit. I was told I would get a slap instead if I tried that rather than a bonus of two hats. No purchases were to be made after that. I went to the Nissan stand instead.
FollowupID: 461197

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:42

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:42
Mrs Al, I don't think any of us think you are plastic like the Waeco at all ;-)
FollowupID: 461200

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:38
I don't dare reply to that Mr Moses

AND

You look after the penguins and I'll look after promotional wenchs (Ooops meant girls).

Also I have no doubt that you are not in need of another 'penguin suit'.
FollowupID: 461320

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:21

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:21
penguine suit indeed? I did have one until the mid 70s, but that was a while ago. I have hired one in the last 10 years I think.
FollowupID: 461362

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:38

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:38
Member - 'Lucy' posted this followup

OBC Twins - Sensational, tastefully dressed and presented package. - 10

WAECO's - weeell! Skanky eye candy smothered in makeup ( worth a second look for outrageousness) most probably fits the 'moment'. - 4

Tastefully dressed equals , no fun

Bring on the plastic fantastic lol
FollowupID: 462133

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:33

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:33
Rock Crawler.

You Sir! are a disgrace.
FollowupID: 462261

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:40

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:40
But a happy one lol
FollowupID: 462306

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:47

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:47
Yes it was good to meet everyone, especially the ones I didn't have a face for the name. Hello again.

We went with a specific shopping list which was almost filled. (and some)

(1) Honda 2.01 Gennie

(2) Coleman hot water service (ended up getting it at K-Mart on a super special week price the way on way home )

(3) Two new fire extinguishers

(4) ARB copy of supa-seal plug kit.

(5) Hema Road Atlas ( Latest ver for JEEP)

(6) Fancy (I don't think) manpowered (me) laundry bucket - 'washing machine'
that I can see 'myself' operating. ( Not my idea or shopping list item)

(7) Selection of local CT builder to supply and fit a stainless slide out kitchen for our new CT.

There were a couple of other extraneous things picked up SWMBO as you do at these shows.

NO! I refuse to add it all up as I can just see the 'retirement' date extended a leetle.

(ROFLMAO)

Whats it for if you can't or won't spend it.

AnswerID: 201758

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:50

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:50
You might have been able to buy JohnR's coleman, it rarely gets used.
as for number 6? you fell for that??? fifty bucks for a bucket and plunger?
I'm sure darkside conversions could supply a stainless plunger and have you buy a bucket at bunnings for about 1/2 that............
least you didn't get the prawn peeler!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 461175

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:39

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:39
hey! don't knock the prawn peeler!..lol..

I'm not sure DarkSide has considered stainless steel plungers, but there could be a market there...
FollowupID: 461182

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:45

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:45
Ah! young Moses.

If I had my way that plastic piece of chit would never have left Jeff's Shed.

I am now reliably informed that it 'had destructions and other writing on it'

I have been saddled with this mentality for the past 35 years ( seems like 350 years).

ROFLMAO as usual however it keeps her happy and hopefully not nagging me about something.

Now the Coleman.

Oh yeah! Moses senior tried to flog me that which you mentioned and in the same breath tells me has the greatest secret ever to replace it .

Won't even give a hint.

Then I thought he wants sell me his obsolete idea and won't tell me his new, fantastic new idea, so I politely declined and went away highly satified that a prospective member of the pink nissan mafia never got the better of me. (LOL)

On the way home my sleeping partner of the past 35 yrs kept bugging me about the Coleman and that K-Mart was still open.

You know the rest.

And she has finally shut up.

FollowupID: 461185

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:39

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:39
I think I know what to do for your Christmas pressie Ms Lucy.

.buy Diedre a membership to EO to refute you. hahahhaa

psssst, the replacement is a replacement not to the Coleman but in addition to it.
FollowupID: 461199

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:18

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:18
hey luce
did you get dragged off to see the latest addition to your gene pool on the way home or did you manage to escape

FollowupID: 461285

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:34

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:34
Nup!

She paraded me around to both the 'boys' on Saturday in the freezing cold, hail, blustery miserable weather and ensured I got my rations of both for the week.
FollowupID: 461319

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:24

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:24
That woman selling the plastic things had a yellow skin tight dress on on Friday and stripes Sunday No wonder she sold lots.

FollowupID: 461364

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:48

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:48
I could have shown her rub-er-dub-dub I think Bonz to keep her warm
FollowupID: 461392

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:59
She was not outwardly displaying anything that may lead one to believe that she was cold.

FollowupID: 461582

Reply By: slave - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:38

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:38
What Waeco girls ??? looks like we were in the wrong place at the wrong time.

One of the first thing that we saw was AL & Mrs Al's Dual cab conversion out the front.

Guess we are like a few others and must have most things that we want as we didn't really find anything that we 'needed'. We spent more money in Geelong on the way home than we did at the 4x4 show.

We called in to 'Rays' on the way home and purchased a swag for DS that had been reduced and reduced and had 25% off so it ended upless than half original price. Best part was it was the exact one that we had decided on 'when we had the money'.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 201772

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:24

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:24
Did you see the 'DarkSide' promotional chick.... ahh chook?
FollowupID: 461363

Follow Up By: slave - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:13

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:13
No, didn't see that either. We did see the efs girls. we were ther from about 11-3, so if anything scantily clad was near us Slave would have spotted it believe me.....

Mrs S
FollowupID: 461460

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:58

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:58
who are you calling a chook John?...

FollowupID: 461478

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 10:32

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 10:32
Who me? I didn't see anyone there. No Maa, if it were you, it would be definitely chick!
FollowupID: 461490

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:08

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:08
From a mate of mine:
------------------------------------------------
The 4x4 show was crap. I found the most interesting bit was looking at Kim Boultons modified GU on TJM stand and the trucks in the foyer outside..
Didn't look like too many people were buying...
------------------------------------------------

If they make it free entry next yr, I'll go. Why pay to see the same old s h i t ???
(see erics thread lmao)

Glad I didnt waste my $ this yr.

AnswerID: 201790

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:40

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:40
Possitive as always I see brucy
FollowupID: 462134

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:51

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 15:51
we wont laugh...promise
AnswerID: 201825

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:00

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 16:00
thanks..
FollowupID: 461225

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:28
I may snigger and utter a guffaw or possibly a chortle, never a chuckle or a titter tho

FollowupID: 461365

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:22

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:22
How does that saying go, oh yes "This thread is useless without pics of the Waeco girls"

Actually I heard on another forum that the girls were fairly ordinary but I have an open mind.

A day at the show is another day out of the bush.
AnswerID: 201836

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:31
Pssst Ray. If there's no piccies, it did'nt happen :)))))
FollowupID: 461256

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:29

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:29
Oh It happened for sure, the OBC twins were so much better, refined and dignified not wandering about in painted on skirts, and I know their Dad!

FollowupID: 461366

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:53

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:53
Aaah Bonz. Sorry, purely anecdotal. We need incontrovertible proof :))))
FollowupID: 461374

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:00

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:00
Sadly left the camera at home

FollowupID: 461583

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:58

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:58
Probably for the best. Mrs B may not have been amused :)))
FollowupID: 461594

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:00

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:00
Ahh she knows the twins theyre a lovely pair

FollowupID: 461597

Reply By: Mal58 - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:27

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:27
I went with my wife and youngest son (11). My older two are no longer interested. (oh well).

I went with a shopping list and had checked the prices out before hand. I was able to get what I wanted for about the best price I had seen on-line or in the shops.

I was not disappointed with the show though. There were certainly lots of things to look at.

I think we have to be careful, as once you have been to one or two shows, they tend to blur into familiarity because you have seen the same or a variation before. I think I have been to 5 or 6 shows so I think I can say that.

I would agree with the observation that there was not much buying, particularly in the 4wd booths as they had a lot of stock left Sunday afternoon.

There did seem to be a lot of buying in the fishy bits for rods and the like though.

I suggest that the price of fuel etc over the last 12 months has taken a toll on those that can afford or prioritise their spending on 4wd things.

Mal
AnswerID: 201837

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:32

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:32
Well I had a ball at the show on both Friday and Sunday, a whole day there 10 till 7 Sunday was a big day, Crazie would be exhausted. Theres always something new and sheesh $16 is a drop in the ocean, saved that and more on the Max-Air I bought.

Was great to catch up and put some faces to names. Have to arrange a bush weekend now late November

AnswerID: 201933

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:10

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:10
Was there on Friday as well - from about 7 to 10pm - sorry I missed you Bonz - would have been good to have a beer and a chat. Didn't make it on Sunday to see all you good folk - one visit a year is enough for me!.

Also bought a Max Air from Duncans - and also noted the quality of the OBC stand - although I missed the Waeco skirts....
FollowupID: 461379