Competition vehicles "October 25"

Submitted: Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:46
ThreadID: 38961 Views:2326 Replies:7 FollowUps:27
There was a post last wednesday PostID: 38811 About competition vehicles and I put response in today to that post as I didn't get to see it till the weekend, I thought for all those who will not bother to look at the older I post I should put my response here also, only because I believe all these Tojo, Neessan owners need somewhere to compete, and why not here LOL.

I was interested that what I would class a real (what most of us drive) 4X4 test, not just a (high powered winch, modified vehicle) would be the Finke Desert Race. Just wondering how long it is since in Class 7 a factory model, Nissan, Toyota, Jeep have won? Its been at least 6 years that a Paj has taken out this event.

But of course if you want to take a look then at modified off road vehicles! Who has won the most Paris to Dakar races over the last ten years? Mitsi again, yet all I have seen here about "COMPETITION" vehicles is Tojo and Neesanss fighting out the simi finals never really making the grand final. LOL

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:51

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:51
Get a grip of yourself Blaze, those competition Paj vehicles do not resemble anything like the vehicle that comes of a factory floor and to prove their reliability, why do they have semi trailers full of spare parts following the coarse. The blokes I know who have them are continually having them back at the dealers having one thing or another fixed up and don't talk about them being dust proof, another bloke I know who has one has to keep shovelling the dust out.
AnswerID: 201760

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:16

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:16
Now Now Des,

So I guess your saying that the competition Neesans and Tojos don't have spare parts when they compete. As for the vehicle of the bloke you know going back to the dealer, I think if you check your facts that was his Mazda that was going back all the time :-)
As for the dust problem in the otherone, he bought the vehicle in Adelaide and had the B/Bar fitted at the Nissan Dealer where he got the S/H Paj from and they left out a rubber gromet. To add insult I hear you travelled in a Mitsubishi on the weekend, and it was carrying a box with a BBQ in that you had in your vehicle before. I quote, "I my vehicle I couldn't hear the BBQ rattle, in the Mitsi I can." I think that says that the Mitsi was so quiet you could actually hear an noise, in your vehicle you could't hear it over the rattles LOL...
FollowupID: 461159

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:36

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:36
The point being made is that the Subby ride is so smooth that not even the infamous BBQ rattled in there. On the return journey in the Paj, the rattle was sooo loud that I was temporarily deafened by the incessant noise even on the bitumem. I do recall even the driver saying that the noise was driving him nuts.
As to your previous point regarding spare parts, the Toyotas only need a ute to carry their spares in.
FollowupID: 461173

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:49

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:49
Well Des, you probably took the Subby because the Tojo would have been to rough a ride.

Even if the Tojo spares were carried in a ute, I bet it would be a Triton :-)

The return journey was in a Challenger not a Paj, so I believe your credibility just took a nose dive... LOL
FollowupID: 461328

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:53

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:53
I took the Subby cos I didn't want to embarass you at all.
The spares would have been carried in a Subby Brumby cos you ewouldn't need much of a payload area.
Sorry about the misrepresentation of the type of vehicle. The rode was so rough my eyes couldn't focus properly.
FollowupID: 461333

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:17

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:17
Was this rough ride you mention, whilst you were following the Challenger in your vehicle, as this is were most people would see the difference between a Challenger and a Paj, asside from the banges on the thing.... heheheh

I think the strain of the walk in the scrub must have got to you.
FollowupID: 461419

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 04:20

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 04:20
I'm surprised Des is allowed anywhere near the Suby, after his effort of trying to flatten a huge sand dune near Berri a little while ago. Has SWMBO had a change of heart Des and is allowing you to play in the sand again?

Hey Blaze, why do still give that dunce any of your valuable time???? hahahahaha
FollowupID: 461428

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:25

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:25
Hi Roachie,

Guess thats why Elaine took of in the Suby at lunch time, she didn't want him to play with it any longer.

As for giving him my time, I was actually using him up helping to find Mallee Fowl nests in the scrub. (but don't tell him) hehehe,,
Mind you as we have seen with his identification of the vehicles, that wasn't a real success, we found 13 nests of which Des found one. Then he complained because in the morning, my SWMBO and his were heading off towards Broken Hill through the Scrub and instead of letting them keep going, my brother went and got them, he didn't stop complaining the rest of the day. LOL
FollowupID: 461467

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:11

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:11
Have you ever seen or been in the Finke Desert Race? Not a true reflection on the capability of a 4WD.
AnswerID: 201766

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:21

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:21
Yep I have travelled the Finke, I totally agree it isn't a complete reflection of 4WD'ing but I also don't see those winch comps etc as being even as close as reflection. I believe it does represent what 90% of the members on here would do with their vehicles. I think I would be right in saying more have travelled the Finke than have entered the Warne Winch Challenge. :-)
FollowupID: 461160

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:31

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:31
was that the Warn Winch Challenge?

or the Warne Wench Challenge?

hehehe...
FollowupID: 461164

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:11

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:11
Not sure I would like a Warne Wench LOL
FollowupID: 461416

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:05

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:05
I'll feed the blind troll....

Having competed in the old "Wynns Safari" in the bike class, I can tell u that the cars that had been used in the PDakar of the era were all carbon fibre bodied (and that was mid 80's..) and nothing in a Paris Dakar car has anything in them that your pretty little road going 4b has apart from the 3 diamond on the bonnet.

The motors are custom built, the suspension is like treetrunks compared to the road going, interiors same, etc etc...

"yet all I have seen here about "COMPETITION" vehicles is Tojo and Neesanss fighting out"

Yes, we are talking about 4wding competitions in aussie, not Raid events.

Please dont fool yourself beyond what you already have..

NCYMWV.
AnswerID: 201788

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:45
Totally agree truckster with the Paris Dakar races, all the vehicles are specaily designed for the event, but my main statement was about the Finke Class 7.

Having a family member that works at Mitsi I can tell you that the Pickering Mitsi Paj had a 3.5 mitsi motor with pipe works, valve work, cam, shocks and carbon clutch. Thats it. Not bad for a class seven vehicle, and I guess if it comes down to even these small mods, all the other vehicles have the same mods as a minimum.

Pickerings latest vehicle is either 3.8 or 3.2 rice burner, not sure he was testing both.
FollowupID: 461325

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:53

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:53
lol.. once again, dont fool yourself as to what is and isnt done to cars in the any class...
FollowupID: 461930

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:45

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:45
No probs Truckster, As stated else where this post was originally a question as to why Neesans are used for comp vehicles. I have never said the Paj's are stock standard, neither are their compitition.

I think you should maybe look at : you will see (as I think you know) it is the most restricted class is in any form of racing.
Site Link
FollowupID: 462004

Reply By: 666toy - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:35

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:35
just a short responce ,
Q.how many pag,s do you see at a 4x4 wreckers clapped out before they done 150 000k . A. bloody heaps..havent seen too many L/c or patrols in there claped out before 250 000k (excluding accedent damage) who sells more 4x4s ...toyota ..why.. because they last ask any man on the land ill bet he says toyota or nissan . .. met a cotton grower once who tried (bitchy) tritons biggest mistake he ever made 60 000k before serious problems time to trade in back to the faithful L/C...my brother inlaw had a (bitchy) pag for a while traded it on a patrol after the head gasket let go (40 000k) . Still trying to figure out how a pag won dackar so many times (just plain luck me thinks )Remember racing is 40% skill 60% luck..how do i know.. i have raced
AnswerID: 201908

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:09

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:09
Sorry to hear about the brother inlaws head gasket going on his Pag (Paj), lucky he didn't own a 3ltr Patrol, it would have been the whole motor, or a 4.2ltr, he could have then had the fun that many others have had with 5th gear, maybe a 100 series Tojo would have been better, blown diffs before you get to cooktown, or front wheels falling off. Guess I'm trying to point out they all problems, that wasn't what the original post was about. Maybe we should all buy the new Highlux utes, best ute in most of the mags, no approach angle, no departure angle, and if they bend in the middle all you have to do is get a few mates to jump on the tow bar.
FollowupID: 461415

Follow Up By: 666toy - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:07

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:07
notice how other vehicles have single faults pag & tritons have multiple faults . build quality my backside...we had a term for vehicles like pags in the service rolling clusterfu*!s ....
FollowupID: 461600

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:39

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:39
Nope I haven't noticed other vehicles as you put it having single faults.

In a small search online these facts came up, Toyota (100 series problems included blown front diffs, broken front suspension, faulty wiring loom etc.) Prado, had fuel tanks fall out on rough roads, brake recall in the last month, ( I think you should have a look at Toyota recall list). I better not even start on the ROLL LUXES.

Neeesan doesn't fair any better either with along with the engine blow ups, turbo hassles and air sensor problems, there is another 8 problems common problems since 1998 - 2004, check out:
Site Link

I can't say whether these common faults have been solved yet (don't want to rush Neeesan, its only been 6 years) as the article was dated 2004.

I agree the Mitsi's have their share also, (as all vehicles seem to have and shouldn't), but I checked the same search online and there wasn't as many with Mitsi . And they have fixed the ones they had.

Anyway I don't think this post even started with any reference to problems, LOL
FollowupID: 461723

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:17

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:17
Forgetting for a moment the highly modified Kevlar super cars the Pajero's have always done better than most over the years in the stock class's probably due to their excellent power to weight & handling in the sand.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 201927

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:14

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:14
yah, someone who noticed I was talking about Stock Classes,

I Only mentioned the Paris Dakar as a point that I wasn't eluding to highly modified vehicles
FollowupID: 461418

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:20

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 01:20
I've finally got it. If the Finke isn't a fair representation then maybe I should have used the around Australia rally as an example, that used desert, coastel rads hills etc. Only problem is it was won by a Dunny Door. We should all get rid of our 4 b'ys and by ex Taxis.....hehehehe
FollowupID: 461420

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:54

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:54
Look personally i could care less about which 4x4 is best in what ever comp, but i know one thing for sure the STOCK CLASS as you say is not stock and any of the guys here that have raced will tell you, in any competition that involves a factory entry car it will not be stock, even the priviteers mod most of the car with aftermarket stronger gear so it won't break as fast as a standard vehicle.

A stock standard vehicle with no mods wouldn't last 100k in the Safari or fink or what ever, this is a fact.

So crap on all you like cause your only foolin yourself.

AnswerID: 201983

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:36

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:36
I think if you take the time to read the full history of this post and PostID: 38811, you will see it started about why Nissans are modified and used in more competitions. I am with you I only really care about were my vehicle will get me.

I think you will see above I have said the Stock class has mods, as do probably 99% of vehicles owned by members on EO.

I was just pointing out with results from events around Australia over the last few years, it is strange that the Post 38811 was only on the usual Tojo versus Neesssan agenda, and they aren't the only vehicles out there and in the opinions of many other they aren't the best for competition..

As post script, A few members will think it ironic that I am bagged by a someone with the tag Redback, as this is the name of my business. LOL.
FollowupID: 461470

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 11:18

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 11:18
It wasn't directed pacificly at you but to all who think that one vehicle is better than another, swings and roundabouts really, and parts availability is why they use certain vehicles.

I don't remember seeing the other post, of coarse that doesn't mean i didn't see it, lol.

My camper is a Redback, hence my handle.

FollowupID: 461497

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:21

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:21
Blaze, maybe a better name for your business would be Yellow Belly. Why? Because they live near you and you have a big belly LOL And regarding seeing the back of your car from the Subby. Had to hang back a fair bit cos of all the dust that you were kicking up.
FollowupID: 461531

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:33

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:33
I have seen the campers, there pretty good kits, with a name like Redback, they would be good. I have some brillaint Redback Stickers that I believe may find there way onto Des Lexics Tojo pretty soon.

FollowupID: 461535

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:36

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:36
Thats not nice saying I have a big belly, you know "I have feelings" LOL As for hanging back out of the dust in the Boss's Suby, I'm sorry that on the Black Top the pure speed of the Mitsi dragged all that dust of the edges of the road like it does.

Maybe I better be carefull what I'm saying with a trip to the High Country only a3 days away, will look a bit silly if I have any problems LOL. Might be still up there when you get there a week later hehehe
FollowupID: 461537

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:48
OK I'll go pack the drag chain now. Knowing that your up there, I'll need it for sure.
FollowupID: 461574

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:58

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 17:58
You couldn't drag the skin off an over ripe Banana.
FollowupID: 461581

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 02:33

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 02:33
Des I think the better saying is "Your Tojo couldn't pull the skin of a Rice Pudding" Sort of suits better with that rice burner of yours, plus no one can afford a banana to pull the skin off :-)
FollowupID: 461696

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:03

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:03
this is funny
AnswerID: 202155

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:51
Totally agree RC,

At least I got the Tojo/Neessan guys to stock beating up on each other LOL

PS Want those airbags fitted to my rig hehehe
FollowupID: 462005