Member - Tonester (VIC)
Hey all.
Got rid of
tank water taste in the camper that is. I put in a stong dose of
Tank Clean a week ago and left it till yesterday afternoon. I got 5m of Pirtek
drinking water hose and removed/replaced all but the smallest sections of hosing from the
tank to the
water outlet pump.
Took about 4 hrs & only one knuckle left unskinned, but passed the first test - could not not tell the difference at all b/w it and mains
water.
Now will leave it for a few days and see how it tastes then. The real test.
That Pirtek hose is good stuff, but damn, its hard to work with. Very stiff & thick. Soak for 30sec in boiling
water and it will manage to push onto a barb ok, but when it cools.., god forbid you want to get it off cause you just remembered you forgot to pop on one of those screwup clamps things on first. The cursing that came out of those episodes would have made one of those bush bogans blush.
Now, the camper had food grade hose for the
water, but I have literally tried everything else. Could have been just dumb luck also in a bad batch of it too. So, we'll see.
Different topic, had totally forgot about the gathering at 4x4 show yesterday! (see post this morning) Got home earlier than expected cause kids were crook and could have made it. :-( Did get to the show of Fri though - same opinion as others, didn't seem to be as much there this year.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:18
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:18
Hey Tone
The section of hose on the Troopy that caused all the angst and drama was the section from the pump to the tap.
Don't forget that bit.
I know, I know the thought of more skinned knuckles is devastating but its worth it.
K
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:26
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:26
Yo Ken. I have a
hand pump, not electric, but still there is a very short section (4") below it that is full of back to back valves and elbow barbs which might still taint it, but if I have to pump out 1/2 glass full every so often to purge that section then so be it.
Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:37
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:37
Tone,
Can you let me know where you got the '
tank clean' from? I've been using lemon essence in my camper
tank and the boss is starting to get tired of 'perrier with a twist'.
Is it a commercial cleaner?
Thanks in advance,
Tim - Stratford.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:47
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 12:47
Hi Tim. A bottle came with the camper originally, and just bought one from the 4x4 show on Friday gone. Can't remember the stall, it was one of the big
places that all sorts of
camping accessories, and just saw it and remembered I needed some.
Tank Clean is the products name - as to actually who manufacturers it, don't know. I'd imagine your local
camp shop should be able to help.
Follow Up By: Richard D - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:02
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 14:02
Hi Tim,
I've just had a look at my bottle of
Tank Clean, which I got from Whitworths for $14.95 for a 200gm bottle. The bottle states that it will 'clean and deodorise freshwater systems up to 182ltrs'. I don't know if it comes in bigger containers. The label states that it will work in plastic, aluminium and stainless steel tanks.
It's manufactured by
CAMEC Pty Ltd
47-63 Remington Drive
Dandenong South
tel (03) 97996455
I hope that this helps you get over your 'perrier with a twist'.
As Tone says - it works and it certainly worked on my
water tank.
Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:40
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:40
Tone & Richard,
I tracked some down this afternoon - darn spell checker - Looked everywhere for
tank clean - tried
Tank Cleen - worked.
I'll give it a go when it turns up next week.
Thanks again,
Tim - Stratford.
Reply By: Moggs - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:16
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:16
Hi Tonester - was also at the show Friday - didn't see ya though!
Recently replaced all the hoses on my
water tank whilst fitting a 12 volt pump in-line - bugga that
hand pump thingo - too slow. I found the best way to work with the food grade hose was to use a heat gun to soften it prior to putting it on the barb. Works much better than the hot
water - and can also be used to heat the hose up again if you need to get it off to put the clamp on LOL! (did that too!). Probably too late for you - but might be useful for next time!
Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:18
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:18
oh yeah, we also use the
tank clean stuff - works really
well. We get ours from Award caravan accessories at Ferntree Gully - $10.50 for a tub.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:41
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:41
G'day Moggs, hope you guys are
well there. Think of you all with the evening port whenever we have one. Hoped to see you Sunday, but caught up with the others of course. Nick was wanting to know where you got the
wheels.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:53
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:53
Hey Moggs. Yeah, it will take some time before they come off the barbs now, went on pretty solid. I was nursing the knuckles still on the train this morning.
I was at the show around mid-afternoon, suspecting you were later in the evening tho..? I coped a scolding off the Crazie man off for skipping work too! lol
How was your week down the GOR way?
Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:54
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:54
Hi John, hope you are enjoying the port. Sorry I didn't catch up on Sunday - just couldn't manage two trips.
I think Nick sent me an SMS, however my phone is on the blink - buying a new one tomorrow. Can you please pass the following onto him?
I bought the
wheels from Dynamic 4x4 Accessories at 2/1644 Ferntree Gully Rd, Scoresby, VIC, 3179 Australia Ph; (61) 3 9753 4005 Website: www.simex4x4.com. They retail at $110 each and are a black powder coated 18x8 rim with a -13 offset.
Hope to catch up soon - and hope you are currently whippy-ing around the countryside :-) Had a good look on Friday. Maaaate!!!!! Say Hi to Heather from the Moggs clan.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:57
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:57
Hey Tonester,
I know the skinned knuckle feeling - always a good look for meetings - looks like you have been brawling down the pub lol! Yep, went to the show in the evening, caught up with Crazie who was working his clacker out.
Week down the GOR was magnificent - can't wait to explore the area a bit more.
Hope to catch up with the Tonester family soon for a drive /
camp or bbq. Speak soon.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:46
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:46
lol...! yeah. It was down the pub, all this is just a big smokescreen. Smacked out two blokes - one was a Nissan driving waeco owner (he was also very gay), the other with a Toyota and engel. They were arguing about tyres.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:45
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:45
LOL!...oh, hang on...I drive a Nissan and own a Waeco....but it mustn't be me - Natalie can confirm I'm not gay :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:24
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:24
hehehe