More leg room

Submitted: Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:41
ThreadID: 38976 Views:2299 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
Evening All,
Have any GU Patrol owners out there ever had a modifacation done on the drivers seat to make more leg room. Had the seat out today but could see no way to get more adjustment to the rear.Put the seat hard forward and it is nearly touching the dashboard. If anyone has had it done i would be glad to hear from you.
Regards Duke

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:58

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:58
goodday duke
bil had it done "professionally" 2 years down the track bolts finally wore thru 2nd fuel tank had to have it removed in mt ias as it kept dripping
but yes it can be done but be aware

AnswerID: 201861

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:28
I raised mine by 50mm , made a lot of differance seeing over the frount when in rough country . Be in Tassie next March if you want to see it . Errol
AnswerID: 201931

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:12

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:12
Like said raise the seat a few cm's and it will make a huge difference. A common mod done to owners of 75 series' utes (the ones before the longer cab).
AnswerID: 201942

Reply By: PaulnLou - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:27

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:27
G'day Duke & others - brilliant timing ! I've just asked the same question on the Patrol forum. I'm 6'6" and my left knee rubs the dash / centre console. A little more leg room to match the head room and shoulder room would be terrific. Seeya.
AnswerID: 201964

Reply By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 06:35

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 06:35
Good luck, I just ended up buying a 4wd with legroom I found it easier.
AnswerID: 201975

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:46

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 07:46
Gday all, I removed the plastic cone shaped stopper under the acc pedal and gave me a heap more room fro my right leg. removed the acc pedal, bent it backwards and the pedal gives full throttle when the pedal touches the metal plate behind. The pedal sits lower and is much more comfortable now but it is much lower that the brake pedal, it takes a few days to get used to. I hope Nissan fix the problem in the new model as the next generation will never be able to drive them! Michael
AnswerID: 201982

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 20:05

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 20:05
Thanks to all who responded to my query. Sounds like raising the seat a little might be the go. Had the seat out yesterday and it looked like too much drama to put back any further. They have heaps of adjustment but its all the wrong way.
Thanks again from this pool of knowledge,
Duke
AnswerID: 202138