Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 12:33
porl
I have spent a long time search the
forum but haven't come across a discussion on this issue, but that may be because I don't own one and am looking into getting one so perhaps it's on the front page in bold on instructions manuals.
Thing is, can you use salt
water in a portable loo of the fold up porta pottie type. The internet sites selling them state "fresh water" but would that b necessary cause salt
water may bugger up the seals or something or is there one out there that is okay for salt
water and if so i'd love to hear about it.
Or of course, if someone has been using salt
water with no issues.
thanks
Reply By: RussellV - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 13:03
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 13:03
Not sure of Salt
water - I remember out in the country we used to use a tin can with a bit of diesel in the bottom which seemed to do the job!
Reply By: TassieDave - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 13:24
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 13:24
G'day
While i havn't used full on salt
water from the ocean, I have use brackish type salt
water from logoons and creeks flowing into the sea, and some other fairly shocking looking
water that I wouldn't swim or shower in. After all you aren't drinking it. I find my porta potti very robust. I reckon with no other choice I would use salt
water.
Follow Up By: porl - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:35
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:35
ta, that's a good idea too, wherever I go on
the beach there's always brackish
water somewhere. I guess there is so much sodium in all the cleaning products, including the eco friendly ones, it wouldn't affect the reaction down under the
seat.
I just went into Big W just then to look at their models, 1 for $160 (at 21L) and one at $68 (15L). They both looked very much the same in quality so i spose it's just capacity.
Unless anyone's got better advice ... I mean, i can't think of anything worse than the bottom section come apart when travelling, wherever it is stored - has that happened to anyone ?
Reply By: JohnN - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:33
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:33
I used a ?Fiamma brand one (from whitworths) for a few years on a small boat with only salt
water and a bit of that blue additive ... no probs. But if you dont empty the salt
water when not in use for a while it will stink next time you pump it through.
Follow Up By: porl - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:37
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 14:37
Thanks JohnN
That's pretty much what i wanted to here. I pretty mainly
camp on beaches and just know that the long term friendly solution to the area is take out what you take in, everything (cept maybe no. 1's).
Follow Up By: porl - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 15:49
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 15:49
Hi again John
Now the difficult question, i see the Fiamma
toilets at Whitworths come in two sizes, the 13L and the 20L - but i dunno if this is the flushing hold capacity or the bottom section holding capacity. In any event how long do they last - say an average person on one dump a day ? Is it full after a week with one person or a week with 3 people.
At a guess i'd think there'd be half a L perhaps used in a flush and maybe a third of a L in waste material and paper say averge 1L per flush so would i be right in guessing say on the 13L model it would take 13 motions before it is full or perhaps 10 is a safer average or am i way out with the
water estimation.
Follow Up By: JohnN - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 08:28
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 08:28
I've never specifically worked it out but we get 4 or 5 days with 2 adults and 2 kids before it needs emptying... which is not a big deal.
Hope that helps.
Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:15
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:15
Funny you should mention this.
I had a similar discussion with the bloke who sold Bio Magic at last weeks
camping show in brissy.
Short answer is yes a porta potti can use salt
water, they are after all Plastic in construction so theres nothing to rust out, they survive urine so that bit seems true.
Bio Magic can be used with salt
water, not sure on the thethford pink and green chemicals.
The only thing he was worried about is where you dumped the contents and whether the high salt content would effect the enviroment or kill a septic system.
Buy the 21 ltr (thats the capacity of the lower
tank) I get between 3 and 4 days with 2 adults and 2 kids.
Follow Up By: porl - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:44
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 18:44
thanks Guzzi
that's about settles my queries.
Reply By: Middle Jeff - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:50
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:50
Go to Big W and try sitting on them, unless you are four foot tall you will buy the bigger one because you can't go with your knees around your ears.
Have fun
Reply By: cowpat - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:15
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:15
Another idea, bit off-topic (what I do when the ground is too hard to dig a hole, or in established areas where it is better to pack it out): Jimmy's Thunderbox with Wag Bags (you can get Wag Bags from www.ferno.com.au, about $3 or so each). Casper
Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 11:30
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 11:30
I had a look cowpat, the dunny there looks sensational and folds up to about a quarter of the size of the 21l units at Big W, I reckon you could keep one under the passenger
seat. But $3.30 a dump ? geez, that's an expensive dump. But i am presuming it's one wagg bag per dump. Amazing though that it's okay to put it in regular trash, must be some interesting chemicals in that Wagg bag. Hope no-one misreads the name and feeds it to their dog ...
Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:59
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:59
Porl
Not real shore if it is relevent but something to consider after years in the navy was that salt
water and people poo makes H2S gas (hydrogen sulphide gas).
It may not be an issue as to the size of the
toilet and the fact that porta potties use chemicals and are emtied regularly.I did notice when we hired a house boat recently that they had stickers warning of the presents of gas all over the sewage system. Just thought it may be some thing to consider.
ross
Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:03
Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:03
Interesting point
Ross. I spose what would be worse than the porta pottie coming apart during travelling would be opening it when full and fainting face first into the pottie because of the gas ...