Sand Jack (from earlier post "Jackup")

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:20
ThreadID: 39018 Views:2677 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Was thinking about the comments regarding jacking when stuck in sand.
I have a fold-out plastic "cross" that holds up the sag in my camper-trailer awning. It is spring loaded and held in position by a 9' tent pole. Only use it when there is a threat of rain. I wonder how a jack base using this idea would work in sand.
Sketching it out, two pieces of timber 600mm long, 200mm wide and about 40mm thick in the shape of a cross, rebating by width so the two pieces fit flush across each other. On top of that would go another piece of timber 200x200 in the centre of the cross for the jack base to sit on and provide support. The theory is that the load would be spread out further than one solid block. Dunno whether it would work but I'm interested enough to make one up and try it out sometime (preferably on someone elses rig !)

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:09

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:09
I like to try and carry things that have 2 or more uses. I carry a rectangular piece of 6mm thick aluminium checkerplate with 2 corners chamfered off. The size is just a bit smaller than the driver's floor space. It sits under my feet when I'm driving and in the 2 years I've had it there, I haven't worn through anymore rubber floor mats (it sits on top of a rubber floor mat so as not to mark/wear the carpet).

Being about 330mm x 400mm (approx), it is an ideal jacking plate and if I needed a base for a tent pole, it would do that job really well too (and unlike a couple of bits of crossed-over timber, it would be difficult to trip over but not difficult to store, cos it's under my feet!! hahaha).
AnswerID: 202182

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:22
Good use of space Roachie. How does the plate go in sand?
The cross I had in mind comes apart when stored, Could also
be used as rough and ready cricket bats. Multi-function - I like
that.
FollowupID: 461660

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:27

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:27
No worries in sand mate........not even the softest bulldust. It has quite a large surface area and being 6mm, it won't bend under the weight of the jack/vehicle etc.
FollowupID: 461664

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:37

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:37
I also have a piece of aluminium plate about 300mm square and 4mm thick. Works great and never buckles. Although if I was jacking up Roachies truck you would need at least 6mm thick cos of the weight and frequency of use. LOL
G'day Bill.
FollowupID: 461722

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:35

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:35
Des are you saying your not as thick as Roachie LOL
FollowupID: 461755

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:06

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:06
Yes
FollowupID: 461807

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 22:45
Take a trolley jack with you
AnswerID: 202191

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 06:16

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 06:16
Another possibility, I have made a plywood tools/recovery gear box that fits behind the back seat in my Pajero. The box has two lids side by side that are easily removed, they fit onto the box by sliding into a metal slot at the rear of the box and are held down by a hasp and staple like (but stronger) arangement at the front of the box. I have reinforced one of the lids by making it double thickness so that I can use it as a jack base plate for use in extra soft material in emergency.
AnswerID: 202215

Reply By: Robin - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:32

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:32
Like the idea of muliple uses to , for us we take a piece of marine ply 19mm thick
about 500 * 300mm as a jacking plate.

It also gets used as a flat surface for cutting up food or putting a single burner stove onto, as most of the time we don't need or use a table, just the back of the patrols cargo bay. The ply makes for a flat stable heat resistance surface that can be put anywhere quickly.

Early on I used a similar thing and made screw in legs for in , but this enhancement never really got used.

AnswerID: 202237

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:07
My plate is ext ply 450 x 300 x 25mm and it makes an excellent chopping board as well. With the cross idea, think I'll just use two thick short planks to stick under the plate if the ground is that soft. Would need to secure the planks firmly to the vehicle though, to stop them getting onto the highway and terrorizing motorists.
Trib-ulation
FollowupID: 461766

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07
does no one carry a cast iron bbq plate?
AnswerID: 202300

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:13

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:13
I think my last one is still under the sand somewhere on Rainbow Beach...........
Trib
FollowupID: 461791