New Camping mods

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:07
ThreadID: 39027 Views:5626 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
After the last big trip in August I pulled the home made storage compartments out of the back of the GQ and rearranged things.

Food is now carried in the trailer in new pastic containers and they are easier to reach. I had acquired two caravan type pumps to pump water out of my 20lt plastic jerries from a Forum Member. They worked well but last time I was in the Big Smoke(Melbourne) I popped intop a Jaycar Shop and bought another 12 volt shower, off them. This I am now using as an electric water pump(minus the shower rose of course) for the water and it works a treat.

I converted the back of the GQ into a single fold up bed and fit my stretched out frame of 200cm very well into the sleepinmg quarters. The multi fold up hinged bed reclines on the rear seat which is folded forward and my 100mm self inflating camp mat fits on top. Underneath the bed I have created a storage space for the Aircompressor, various tools, and three tool boxes. I am trying out various packing regimes to keep the roof rack clear of stuff so that one or two tyre casings could go up there if needed.

The trailer carries 7 plastic food boxes, 2x 2kg gas bottles, Oztent, Oztent Screen tent, Porta Potti, Coleman Toilet tent, box of tent pegs, iron mallet, gas stove, roll up table, fold up BBQ, 8x rubber camping mats, billy, tripod, tent poles, 4 plastic tarps, Rubbish Bag( when not in use)12 jerry cans, 2x 5lt oil containers, trolley jack, Hi lift jack , spare wheel on drawbar.

This system seems to work well and the trailer weighs in at 800kg when fully loaded .

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:48

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 09:48
Willem,
sond like you have been a busy boy, and also sounds like an excellent setup. Interesting to hear about the camping mats, never really given mats a thought. I'm thinking it would be a good idea as I have three kids under 6.

Toytruck
AnswerID: 202243

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:43
Yeah I never gave the mats a thought but SWMBO bought some at a 4x4 show in Adelaide once. They work well in sandy areas or if there has been some precipitation around. Stops one fron carting all that dirt into the tent. And the dog doesn't mind lying on one next to the fire(spoilt dog) either.
FollowupID: 461850

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:54

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:54
Toytruck
We purchased thermorest mats for all members of the family back in 1989 after a trip to Fraser where my child got sick from sleeping on the normal airbeds and ended up with pneumonia from the cold air underneath the bed. in 1990 we went from sleeping in minus degrees in the centre to hot nights in the Kimberleys. The mats were great warm to sleep on in the cold and cool to sleep on in the hot. You just unroll the mats when you set up camp with the valve open and close when you want to got to bed works really well. The next morning you just roll the air out to put in the trailer or car. Kids are now well grown and if staying over at someones will always grab a mat to take with them. So I definately recommend them but have to admit as an adult if the kids dont come which havent for a little while , I would take theirs as well and sleep on two.
We have since upgraded to a tent camper trailer for us adults but would not even think of selling any of the mats as if we go to a place that we take the tent only they are there to use.
Jenkie
FollowupID: 461855

Reply By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:09

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:09
I've gone through a few of those cheap Jaycar and Supercheap shower pumps. I started using them for my football field line marker, went through 4 in a year before I went to Camec (caravan) store and bought a proper one.

The unit is a "WHALE SUPERSUB 921 12V PUMP".

Strongly suggest you upgrade if you intend to rely heavily on it. My whale cost $69 but has been line marking my fields with mixtures of paint/water and calcium/water for three years now.

You can go really hardcore and go for the ones used in the mining industry for bringing up water from holes that are like stainless steel and rebuildable but unless you are using it for that purpose really overkill.
AnswerID: 202247

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:45

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:45
I got about 4 years out of my first Jaycar pump. Current one is 3 years old.
Gerry
FollowupID: 461744

Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:59

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 12:59
okay, i concede, maybe jaycar make better ones. Maybe sucking calcium and paint is a little more hard core than is needed. It's the orange ones that kept failing me anyhow.
FollowupID: 461747

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:03

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:03
Its only for camping not industrial applications like what you have been doing. My other Orange pump has been working faultlessly for 3 years. I always have a hand pump as back-up. If that fails too I can eith syphon the water or just pout it out :-)
FollowupID: 461764

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:21

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 10:21
That's what i like about your setups Willem, always improving on what you have and adding to make camping more relaxing.

AnswerID: 202252

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:44

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:44
Does it ever end...lol
FollowupID: 461852

Reply By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 11:42

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 11:42
We've been using those pumps for quite a while now with no probs, (great idea)easy way to move water from one tank to another, mate uses his for getting water out of his eski, which is mounted in an ally box on front of his camper. Saves drain holes or heavy lifting. We were up in the Flinders about 6 weeks ago bet its even dryer.
AnswerID: 202257

Reply By: Sign-man - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:16

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:16
Just hope the draw bar doesn't let go and flips the trailer...
I can almost visualise the scene!!
AnswerID: 202265

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:57

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:57
Now why would that happen? Pls explain.
FollowupID: 461763

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:31

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:31
Sign-man replied to the question

Just hope the draw bar doesn't let go and flips the trailer...
I can almost visualise the scene!!

BWAHahahahahahahahahaha, mr negitive
FollowupID: 461768

Follow Up By: Sign-man - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:33

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:33
Hi Willem...
It happens !!
FollowupID: 461769

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:53

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:53
Yeah Sign-man

Do you have anything constructive to say or has your brain slipped out of gear today?
FollowupID: 461774

Follow Up By: Sign-man - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:07
Ahh..this is a Forum after all- open to all and any comments..
And tell me you haven't seen trailers with the draw bar snapped, failed hitch, broken axle etc etc..
Even the 'heavy duty' 'off road' 'strengthened' types are prone to disaster. And the great saying- "it won't happen to me!!"
If all you crave is positive & constructive feedback...well...???
FollowupID: 461779

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:22

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:22
I can almost visualise the scene

Sign-man's jalopy's rear wheel has come off and the heap has rolled over into a ditch.

It happens!!
FollowupID: 461781

Follow Up By: Sign-man - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:37

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:37
You're not a Happy Chappy this arvo are ya mate..
I note your smart response to Steves (I consider) innocent post to you..
Chill out there- and take a deeep breath..
We're not all here to massage your ego.
FollowupID: 461784

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:56

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:56
Sign-man,

We're not all here to massage your ego.

pls explain?
FollowupID: 461787

Follow Up By: Sign-man - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07
G'day Easy

Nah..not worth the effort, besides that- I've just put the billy on for a cuppa.
FollowupID: 461789

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:25

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:25
Oh, Sign-man is a sparring partner in some previous posts going a way back. He likes to come up with some absolutely stupid comments and then gets annoyed when there is a response. I like to string him along for a while but as usual his inane comments get a tad boring. He seems to be a person of reaction not action.
FollowupID: 461843

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:55

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:55
!MPG:3!

Not all trailers are good for the hard stuff - as I found out the hard way!!

FollowupID: 461931

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:31

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:31
Yeah John

I learnt from your experience and bought a decent trailer :-)

FollowupID: 461961

Reply By: Member - Craig M (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:25

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 13:25
Willem - Thanks for that. You've given me the idea to use my Jaycar shower as a portable bilge pump for the boat! We've used our shower now for 5 years and its had salt water through it. Still going strong. Sounds like a really practical packing setup.
Rgds.,
Craig
AnswerID: 202269

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:32

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:32
Willem - next time you go in for a knee op, ask em to make your legs telescopic.

Excellent space saver. ;)
AnswerID: 202275

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:51

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:51
Now thats a good idea!!! While I'm there I will ask for a new brain for you......:-D
FollowupID: 461773

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:02

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:02
sorry.

Just a light hearted attempt at humour.

Didn't realise you'd had the bypass op as well.
AnswerID: 202322

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:30

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:30
Yeah Steve...when you get to the stage of knee replacements maybe you will realise what stupid comments you make. Maybe you think it is lighthearted.... then so be it.

I proffer again, if you can't make some constructive(or in the case of others...destructive) comment then why comment at all. Attacking me for what I am serves no purpose. Your attempt at humour is purile. Enough said.
FollowupID: 461845

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:23

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:23
Can't believe this response - just in case you misunderstood that one as well, I meant a humour bypass op.

If you think I was "attacking" you, mate, you have a problem.

As we'd been talking about gadgets and knee ops on another thread, I just thought telescopic legs amusing. It certainly was not meant to offend you personally. Never mind. But you might be better off staying at home if you're that touchy.
FollowupID: 462159

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:25

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:25
and just for the record, I'll be having a knee replacement soon - hence the interest in the other thread and the attempt to make light of it.
FollowupID: 462161

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:51

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:51
There are certain protocols one follows in life. Making comments about other peoples physical well being, race, creed or culture is not on. It is not warranted in a thread to do with trailers and storage.

You may think I am touchy. I am, and quite rightly so. Your comments re my telescopic legs may have been a source of amusement for you but did you ever think that it may offend me.

Now, I know more than 50 EO forum users personally, and I will banter with them to the limit that is known. But I don't know you from a bar of soap. If you come at me I instinctively retaliate whether you may like it or not.

Don't make assumptions based on your perceptions about me.

Lets leave it at that.

FollowupID: 462168

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:34

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:34
100 mm self inflating mat sounds great.

Have you got a brand name please Willem.
AnswerID: 202335

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:35

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:35
Hi Kiwi KIa

The inscription looks like DMH(could be DWH) Australia. Off Road Mat. Single
Bought at Adelaide Discount Camping shop for around $80 ea

Simple technology. Take mat out of bag, unscrew air vents and leave for 10 minutes or so. Close vents and you have a very comfy bed. Vinyl on the base and velour on the top. 100mm thickness is good for hefty fellas like me :-)

One neeeds a bit of technique to deflate the mat but one soon finds the measure...lol

FollowupID: 461846

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:44

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:44
Thanks Willem,
I have one about 20 mm thick but 100 mm sounds better for these old bones.
FollowupID: 461851

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:34

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:34
We need to get our double mat as small as possible to fit on top of the storage system and have found that if you roll it up to deflate (valves open), close the valves then unroll (valves still closed) then roll it up again and when about a foot from fully rolled open the valves you can get it quite compact. Works for Thermorests too.

Adrian
FollowupID: 461890