Headless chooks...........................

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:35
ThreadID: 39032 Views:3727 Replies:31 FollowUps:66
Suddenly the whole of the country is in a spin about Global Warming, Nuclear Energy, Solar Panels, The Hole in the Ozone Layer, Greenhouse gases, Carbon Monoxide emissions etc etc. Every time one turns the TV on there is a reporter crapping on about this..............And NOW even here on the forum the hysteria is raising its profile.

Yer all like a bunch of Headless Chooks runing around the yard.

Everything in life runs in cycles. And we are experiencing a dry one. The world isnt coming to an end....YET...lol

And the answer is 42

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:39

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:39
I have done my part , i bought a fitch .
AnswerID: 202279

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:42

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:42
Well done you bit for the marketers anyway. Some are just stopping driving his 4by now becaue it will have so much impact. LOL
FollowupID: 461770

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:58

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:58
Only joking about the fitch . Havnt really bought one .
FollowupID: 461777

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:18

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:18
nah, you bought 10 so you use no fuel!!!
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 461879

Reply By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:53

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 14:53
I actually have stopped Farting, I hope this helps in the long run, but I do have rather sore eyes.
AnswerID: 202283

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:27

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:27
Your a sick man, easy, helpfull but still sick.
FollowupID: 461782

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:26

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:26
My thoughts exactly Willem.Man, I get sick of all that rubbish.
AnswerID: 202288

Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:45

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 15:45
Agree about headless chooks but dont go the other way and bury your head in the sand.

There are some massive environmental problems that need fixing in this world.
AnswerID: 202296

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:07
I agree with you. There are problems that need to be addressed.

The media (Vultures is a more appropriate term) unfortunately care more about sensationalism than accurate reporting.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 461790

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 06:02

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 06:02
and the pollies can sense a vote at 100 yards.
FollowupID: 461952

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:48
Its a bit like back in the late seventies when the world supposedly only had a couple of years supply of oil left and we would all be riding bikes.!! Also the Millenium Bug the doomsdayers were crying about that never eventuated. The Green people have to have something to keep them in the media, they won't be happy till we are all back liveing in caves and riding horses and even then they would want a trade off for all the horses farting.(plant a tree every time they flatuate!!) We used to have the cleanest power in the world down hear in Tassie but now they have stopped us building Hydro Dams we import Coal fired power from Vic. Dosen't make sense to me.Will now step down off my Chair.
Duke
AnswerID: 202308

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:49

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:49
Willie, are you getting wet at the moment? Hope so.
AnswerID: 202309

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:07
3mm so far mate. All the tanks are full however with soft steady rain. We survive for another few months :-)
FollowupID: 461833

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:52

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:52
Am glad you explained that one Willem, I was getting a little worried there mate, thinking Des was refering to you thinking about something you used to do in the back seats of cars when you were a young virile fella in your 20's :-)))))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 461914

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:09

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:09
LOL Just a fading memory
FollowupID: 461957

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:52

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:52
60 experts in climate and related disciplines this year told Canada's prime minister to ignore claims "a climate catastrophy is looming and humanity is the cause " because " neither of these fears is justified .

For further rebuttle go to HeraldSun - collumnists - Andrew Bolt 'I'm Being Grilled ' .
AnswerID: 202311

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:58

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:58
I get ALL my useful information from people paid to create controversy and who don't have to answer to anyone asking for references to their diatribe.

To confirm the righteousness of Bolts opinions I turn to Alan Jones.

FollowupID: 461857

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:53

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 16:53
Isn't it about time Australia gets the message a good 20 years after the rest ..
We still burn wood fires in houses for heating, very few households use recycle bins for rubbish separation, we do not process wastewater, people don't even know that elsewhere in the world they drinki it since 50 years, we still dig our rubbish under the ground, we have missed the point to save our river systems ... and and and
why do you think is so ? because it needs the sesnsationalism of the press to bring things up and in the mind of people .. Australians are complacent, uneducated, disinterested in world matters and almost as bad as the Americans when it comes to looking in the mirror and onto the rest of the world ...

Willem my usual rant ? You bet ... I am not saying we should join the carbon trading world or ratify Kyoto .. it starts earlier ... it starts in Kindergarten when kids see their parents throw the cigarette butts out of the window and think this is acceptable behaviour .. and then it becomes a can and then a car wreck .. and ..
Surveys show that 80% of mothers think it's ok to smack their kids .. what an example .. this nation is sooo stupid and only survives on all the resources ....
If we would have to use only brainpower for our survival it would be bleak future.

It is a good thing that the media picks up on it and hopefully will keep doing it, because our gouvernment is not interested in doing anything which would "hurt" the economy and the votes. Environmental protection costs money and it is not just a few more meters of pipline into the ocean the get the chit further out ..

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 202312

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:20

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:20
If this nation is sooo stupid, bleep off to another!
FollowupID: 461801

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:00
You are probably one of those poms living here on a resident visa for 30 years without giving a damn about this nation .. or you are just one of those I was talking about .. probably the latter ..
I am Australian by choice, I returned my other citizenship, and I have the freedom to talk the way I do because I care .. If I would not be Australian I would hold back and not say anything, why should I ... but I am and I say what I think .. If you don't like .. not my problem ..

Discussion is good .. even if heated .. and we do not have to agree .. but I mix and I do not wear a burka or a turban and do speak english so don't even more confirm the stupity thing by your remark .. just typical ..

have fun
gmd

FollowupID: 461805

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:17

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:17
Well, I was going down that way gm....or whatever your name is...the way of who you purport to be. Seems to me you left wherever you came from for a better life in the Antipodes and now you attack that same establishement with all your might stating how good the world is outside the place that has made you what you are.

Why don't you join this Forum as a Member, put up your Rig Pic and lets see who you are.....instead of hiding behind some obscure name espousing virtue in a previous life...

Have fun
FollowupID: 461836

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:39

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:39
Willem,
some misconseptions .. I did not come for a better life .. I had all I needed and wanted ... I am a businees migrant and the gouvernment wants us here ... I came for the weather and the space ... and for my kids to have a few more choices than they had before ... I did not run away .. I came here to life and I knew what it is like because I was here before many times .. not really a surprise ... I am not attacking anything .. I can criticise myself just as well ... Australians seem to be very sensitive when one voices an opinion which is not really favourable .. why do you think is that so ? Because they are so confident ? have so much history ? or such a great own identity ? ... yes I can see the Australian values .. very much so .. but not in the cities anymore and less and less in the country ...
When one comes from the outside one usually has a more distant view of things, which is not a bad thing actually ... if you cook in your own juice for too long everything tastes the same ... Mistakes have been made in the world, everywhere, and it would be a good thing to learn from them ... does that happen here ? Most people have the idea that migrants are refugees or economical refugees and all want to take something away from this great country ... have you ever thought about that people might bring something ? even if they are critical about "our" nation ? bring not just a stack of money but experience, ideas, knowledge ..

What has my rig pic to do with who I am ? I do not need to show off or such ... sorry .. my username are the initials I am known under everywhere (even on one of my new license plates) ... I do not hide behind a synonym, it is my name
and it is used the same way on all my business correspondence, email and froum posts ..

Keep the answers coming .. I don't mind discussion

have fun
gmd

FollowupID: 461847

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:41
_gmd_pps,

Like I said, piss off back to where you came from, otherwise dont rubbish this nation, and enjoy it for why you came here.

There is no stupidity in my remark, its just my response to you rubbishing this nation as being soooo stupid, and NO im not a pom, born here.
May I ask where you returned your citizenship?

FollowupID: 461849

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:06

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:06
?????? You have no name

Yes you came for the weather and the space....a better life. eh?

We can go around in circles arguing about nothing.

One thing that is clear to me about you though, is

A. You have lots of money...and you don't mind telling us that
B. You are conceited about your status
C. You are still hiding behind an obscure screen name.... which is your prerogative

Anyway have fun with whatever you are doing. And in the end, if we Aussies are so far behind the rest of the world, why don't you return to the lands of enlightenment and live your life to the full over there.

FollowupID: 461859

Follow Up By: 666toy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:13

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:13
IF YOU DONT LOVE MY COUNTRY & THINK WE ARE ALL STUPID THEN PACK YOUR BLOODY SWAG AND LEAVE . I AM SURE IRAQ NEEDS YOUR BANTER I WILL EVAN PAY FOR YOUR ONE WAY TICKET !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
POQ POQ POQ POQ POQ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 461875

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:23
FIGHT, FIGHT, FIGHT.....
FollowupID: 461881

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:56

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:56
I dont think "piss off to where u came from" is much of a response and is certainly way outside what I would call the boundaries of decency. So respond but we dont need that sort of mindless response.

FollowupID: 462576

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:16

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:16
Quod erat demonstrandum !
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 462589

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:05

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:05
Hark, I hear the possums stirring.
AnswerID: 202313

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:18

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:18
The weather has warmed and the Possums are on patrol.......lol
FollowupID: 461838

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:22

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:22
Careful, mate, some of em bite Well, maybe not, but they sure can get upset LOL
FollowupID: 461841

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:39
Seems to me some of those possums should be licking their wounds.
FollowupID: 461866

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:24

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:24
Ahhh, there's one now.
FollowupID: 461959

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:34

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:34
That ones a bit Moth-eaten, eh?....................LOL
FollowupID: 461962

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:25

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:25
for god's er my sake...build a neclear reactor so i can keep my airconditioner running at night....we can even get it to desalinate salt water at the same time

wind can do it...if its blowing... and not too hot ( but then I would'nt need the aircon), solar might do it if the sun is shining on the collectors, so what do i do at night,.....geothermal should...but not yet available, coal can but too polluting...etc etc etc

Barnsey will no doubt shoot you down in flames Willem
AnswerID: 202317

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:01

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:01
Now what possibilities would be there if a "portable reactor" were developed?

Gone would be the debates on solar vs generators, who would care which portable fridge is better as everyone will take their westinghouse or kelvinator.

Wow microwave ovens and 1000 inch plasma tv's......

Seriously though (to stay on topic) There is a significant amount of sensationalism via the media and not so well know "scientists" wishing to make the headlines. I believe we do need to change what we are doing, but I also believe that the greater majority has now been enlightened to the plight that change has been initiated. We have a way to go, but I believe we are underway.

FollowupID: 461956

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:51

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 17:51
Is there some problem here, life is sweet eh Willem!
AnswerID: 202320

Reply By: lindsay - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:24

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:24
Australia produces .02% of green house gases. If we stopped tomorrow China would make up for us in 9 months. Heard a bloke from some greenhouse alliance mob being interviewed the other day on radio, when presented the figures of our contribution of .02% , he got real defensive. Then he did not dispute the fact and just stated that they preferred to talk in terms of per-capita then went on to say that we had a moral obligation to lead.
Remember greens are like tomatoes, start green ,then go red and then turn rotten.
Put them last at the Vic State Election.
AnswerID: 202330

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:36

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:36
Was an interesting piece on ABC Radio today about how all these holloywood celebs like Julia Roberts and Brad Pitt/Angelina Jolie are showing off their environmentally friendly credentials by driving electric or hybrid cars such as the Toyota Prius. Great that they are eschewing the stretch limo for more fuel efficient vehicles.

Unfortunately they then drive the Prius out to the aifield where they embark on their very own Private Jet to go to the next film shoot location and consume thousands of gallons of Avgas instead of using commercial jetliners (even in First Class) where there would only be a marginal increase in fuel use (because the plane was already going to be flying anyway!).

Figures cited were in the order of 12,000 litres of Avgas from LA to Tokyo and 16,000 litres going to a film shoot in Africa.

Sort of blows away the 10 litres a week they saved by driving a Prius around Hollywood!!

(Meanwhile I will continue doing my govt sponsored 25,000km a year to get an FBT tax break in my 4WD when I probably only need to do 15,000)

Muddy
AnswerID: 202336

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:26

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:26
Good and relevant Muddy
FollowupID: 461884

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:00

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:00
eschew, bloody intullictuals! hehehehehe

As JR said mate spot on

FollowupID: 462578

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 18:48
OK My turn,
these jokers ( the so called experts) are getting all arked up about a degree C or two rise against records that have been taken for a couple of minutes in a climate that has been around for a couple of Billion years.

What the hell would the experts know about what should and shouldn't be NORMAL.

Its called evolution and it will continue well after we are all long gone.

My 2c
AnswerID: 202338

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:26

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:26
Site Link
FollowupID: 461844

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:56

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:56
Good point Toytruck, why listen to experts when I get all the facts right here. :-)

And with such balanced commentary too!

FollowupID: 461856

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:29

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:29
I've heard it said that a degree or two might offer some positive benefits but those owners of million dollar waterfront properties are getting nervous.

Life sure is grand
FollowupID: 461885

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:20

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:20
You are right Toytruck in that we have not been around long in a a climate that has been around for a couple of Billion years. However we have made some pretty massive changes to the environment in a very short time, You can't possibly believe that we have not done a lot of damage to our environment.

A couple of degrees might not be much to us but when you see the massive areas of dead bleached coral reef in our north, just over the last few years you realy have to wonder what is happening.

Geordie
FollowupID: 461932

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:37

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:37
I would just like to point out that the temp rise is a average for the world, I.e. the equator may rise 1 degree were the Antarctic will rise 10 degrees this is then averaged out over the hole word and a figure of 3degrees or whatever is calculated.

Anyway everybody has a opinion on what we need to do and when we need to do it Blar blar blar, fact is the world runs on money, if something is going to cost a lot of money to do, with very little return for the investment then it will be overlooked till it become more viable.

We can have as many celebrities and ex politicians talking up the problems, as we want, notice the Pollies only start talking tuff once out of office!!!

So Brad pit drives a prius, So F**king what he still has his privet jet (As already mentioned) his mansion in Beverly hills that probably burns as much power in a year as my entire street.

Switch to solar> despite that not being a option despite what the CSIRO says what about the Cole miners and Power station workers (Yes that’s rite what about them) They need a job and money to live what are they going to do for a crust now, see it’s not all as easy as it sounds there are a lot of issues that need to be addressed first.

Big one US, PEOPLE, HUMANS you want to reduce Green houses gases and the impact on the environment we need to reduce in population something chronic cause the world can’t sustain us if we keep growing no matter how green we go. FACT!!!
AnswerID: 202343

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:41
You use the word 'suddenly' Willem. The only thing that has happened suddenly is the media has finally jumped on the bandwagon and in true style are saturating us with it. This can't be a bad thing though.

It was 30 years ago when Dr David Suzuki began talking about the ozone layer in mainstream media. Has reducing the use of CFC's damged our economies? No. Will changing to renewable sources damage economies, no. A bigger scale true, but still achievable.

There is always resistance to change and associated teething problems. But in the long term and for the benefit of the next generations change is needed. Nobody in the know seems to disagree with this.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 202344

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:20

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:20
Barnesy

As much as I dismiss claims of Conspiracy Theories, this global warming thing and what Dr David Suzuki says, all seems to be heading that way.

I will reiterate. The world was spawned from extreme volcanic activity and yet it sustains life as we know it.

The ancients have been lighting fires for millenia which must surely outweigh the activity of modern man and its burning of fossil fuels

They talk of the seas rising. Where is all the water coming from? Archaelogists tell us it took 3500 years for Tasmania to be cut off from the mainland due to the glaciers melting over as period of 10,000 years.

Hey who is right? I think we are all becoming too clever.

Yes I agree we should look at better living practices but the media HYPE about global warming at the moment, is a load of crap.

FollowupID: 461863

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:45

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:45
The media push it for one reason, it’s controversial, they couldn’t give a toss who is right or wrong it all comes down to selling the story and making money.

As for CFC’s well there was a viable alternative, that wasn’t going to cost a lot of job’s, money Etc.

Also unlike cars aircraft air-conditioning systems still use O-zone depleting gas in their systems and Piston engine aircraft still run leaded fuel.
FollowupID: 461868

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:49

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:49
You can't ignore that as a race we've released back into circulation a significant percentage of the planet's carbon that's been trapped over the course of the earth's history, all within the last 150 years or so, by mining and burning coal and oil. This is like returning all of the carbon into the environment that was kicking around during or before the dinosaurs - when the earth was a "warmer, wetter place".

Without human intervention there wouldn't have been this massive re-introduction of carbon into the system.
FollowupID: 461893

Follow Up By: rustytruck - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:10
I've been involved in aircraft air conditioning systems for 40 years and in that time have only encountered those which use bleed air from the engines, or a compressor driven from the engines, for air conditioning It is expanded and/or compressed depending on the system and where the component is located within the system and is totally non polluting. As with any energy system though it does take a bit of fuel to provide the bleed air but have not yet encountered any system using a gas to provide cooling.

Rusty
FollowupID: 461899

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:42

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:42
What about a Vapour-Cycle system using Freon gas as the refrigerant used for ground operations in hot ambient condition?

If my information is incorrect, I stand corrected.

FollowupID: 461913

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:25

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:25
Nope, still utilise bleed air from the engines as rusty stated. (21years working on aircraft including their aircon systems)

Willem, what makes you think you have all the facts? Pollution from fires outweighing that of fossil fuel useage in the last 100 years?? Tell us you're not serious? Yes the media have chucked in their usual hype but that does not mean that the basis of the reports are without foundation.
FollowupID: 461933

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 04:25

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 04:25
I'll answer a couple of your questions Willem. We have been lighting fires for millenium but really bears no comparison to the levels of pollution we are currently releasing every year. Have heard the power station in Pt Augusta uses 12000 tonnes of coal per day. That's a hell of a lot of smoke from just one.

Where does the water come from? The melting of the poles. Antarctica, the north pole, Greenland are all melting at alarming rates. The changes are visible on a yearly basis. Have you seen satellite photos of antarctica in 1999 compared to 2005? It's frightening how much ice is gone.

Please see through the hype that media pushes down your throat and look at the facts from both arguments and make up your own mind.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 461948

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:26
Hello Barnesy

I am but a layperson with very little formal education. What I do have is life experience which due to my age

I seem to recall that ice is only expanded water. If the polar caps melt it may not raise the sea levels at all. If as you say(not something I have checked lately) that an alarming rate of melt has occurred between 1999 and 2005, by how much has the sea water level been raised? A millimmetre or two?

Yes the Power Station at Port Augusta has a frightening statistic though when I go topthat town there doesn't seem that much pollution around. Coal burning practises are improving by the day(so I am led to believe).

Hello Off-track

No, I do not have all the facts. Basically I am sceptical of any facts. The world is moving in a a direction of social engineering and we are bombarded with crap all day long. The World Government is still a dream of many. The more the populace can be controlled the better, that seems to be the theory behind a World Government. The differences in ideologies can be seen in our country. Labour supports a degree of Socialism and freedom and Liberal supports a measure of population control and the winding back of what previious labour governments have done. I vote for neither of them, dont support the political system and am a sceptic when it comes to Global Warming et al.

FollowupID: 461960

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:16

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:16
>Basically I am sceptical of any facts.

Run that one by me again :)
FollowupID: 461974

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:47

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:47
Hahahahahaha

Just as well we have you as Editor

Typo...facts should read Claims
FollowupID: 461980

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:49

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:49
Willem,
Ice sheets that are floating won't raise sea levels if they melt. But they do a couple of things. 1; they are an indication of warming sea temperatures. 2; they hold back ice sheets on bedrock. The antarctica has massive icesheets about 4km thick on bedrock, if this melts it will raise sea levels. I can't tell you how much sea levels have raised now but more and more of the bedrock ice is melting every year. Same thing with glaciers.

Judging by past warming cycles, researchers predict sea levels could raise by about 11 feet. But these are only predictions and could be well out. The truth is nobody knows exactly what will happen.

What nobody in the know disagrees with is that the earth is warming at a faster rate and at higher temperatures than for many thousands of years. Some say 10 000, others say this is the hottest the earth has been for 130 000 years and getting hotter all the time. Depends on the aims of the study.

But one thing that has changed in the last few thousand years is man's contribution to carbon dioxide and other environmental changes, and those are the practises we need to change.

As for coal, i myself have not heard of any evidence that coal burning practices are improving. A lot of research is being done to find ways of making coal cleaner which makes the news because the PM is keen on it. If the PM was keen on renewables then they would be in the news more.

I am also sceptical of crap being force fed us. This issue though is not crap and is a lot more serious than any IR laws, tax systems, war or terrorism threat.

Have a goodun

Barnesy
FollowupID: 461981

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 10:21

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 10:21
Was listening to Dr David Suzuki in triple J. There is no reason why real scientists want to distort the truth, get in the limelight or creare panic. Some green groups do use these techniques but we should distinguish between them. The earth's climate is changing and it is a result of our activities. We just cant predict what will change because the earth is infinitely complicated. It was only recently we found out brittan will probably cool down to become more like canada. Dr Suzuki also said that in the end, the earth will be fine, dont worry about that. Its us who will suffer, we are the top of the food chain and the most vonrable. It could mean that nearly all of us and our desendants die out. Over population is a big problem as if we had a small population we could all go nuts on pollution because it is true that the earth can stand a fair bit of pollution but we have gone overboard, we are going hell for leather, using as much of the earths resources as possible as fast as possible and this cannot last. One day it will catch up with us, we can either choose to pay now, and over time, or we will pay the full cost at the end. One day our account will be closed and the balance due. The green movement in general is trying to save humanity over time, by consuming less and polluting less. The capital movement wants to use the lot now and forget about later. There is no denying cimate change or the way we have treated our little planet in a far flung solar system, its all we have and I for one think we should do a better job. BTW I drive a car which uses a hell of a lot of fuel too. As for Australia only putting out 0.2% pollution, agreed but does this fact mean we should do nothing? i think not. We should probably develop very green technology and become experts and then try to flogg it to big polluters. Anyway, its up to each person to make up their minds if they give a damn or not, but in the end we will all have to take action together to minimise climate change because we cant at this stage avoid it, becuase its happening now.
FollowupID: 462014

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:32

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:32
exactly who really cares there more important things to worry about.
like whos going to get me another bourby
AnswerID: 202356

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:26
what?...drinkin again!...you alco
FollowupID: 462019

Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:27

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:27
I will say it again.
in the current warming cycle nearly all the warming happened before emissions really ramped up.
there has been sweet FA since

beware the scientist on the gravy train. climatology projects galore will get funded while hysteria exists.

this will also play into the hands of the so called greenies (watermelons, they're only green on the outside) with political ambitions.

I dred the possibility on a green party with the balance of power in a new Victorian parliament, might be time to move to ??????? I dunno

NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 202378

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:30
Nick, would you care to share with us where that little gem of info came from?
FollowupID: 461886

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:32

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:32
I'm dreading the greens with the balance of power, they'll try and turn all our kids into homos.
FollowupID: 461888

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:43

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 21:43
in a couple of the many articles emailed to me from the Hudson Institute for global Food Issues. Their source comes from climatology data from around the world.

They have also availed them selves of much data gained from ice cores and other core sampling studies which also show a roughly 1500 year cooling and warming cycle.

Don't get me wrong, we are in the warming part of the cycle, no argument there, we also should be less wasteful with energy but we shouldn't be fooled into thinking we can stop this.

accounts from old texts dating from times when the earth was cooler that life was very hard and many people died. Centuries ago when the earth was warmer than now wine grapes were grown in England.

locally, the river just down the road flowed for another 27 Km before meeting the sea during the last ice age. for anyone who knows peterborough in Vic may not realize that the dune system there didn't exist 5000 years ago and the sea lapped against the northern shore of what is now the estuary of the Curdies Inlet.

Hope that helps mfewster,
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 461892

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:30

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:30
Hudson Institute..reliable data...?

:-) :-) :-)!

Jeez, you've got a good sense of humour, Nick!

FollowupID: 461908

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:07
hey mad dog,
we'll all have to be vegans too, no more fourbys, we will have to walk to the mountains as our sub 2 litre car will have to stop where the bitumen stops. when we go there we'll have big bags of lentils and rice for dinner. after that we pay our massive permit fees all we'll see are feral deer, pigs, rabbits, dogs, cats, foxes, etc, etc as we won't be allowed to shoot, trap or bait them on the surrounding farmland.
now that's the inconvenient truth!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 461916

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:33

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:33
oh bugga me days Nick what a sad picture for the weekends and life during the week in the burbs wont be much better either once they start their social engineering. Heaven forbid
FollowupID: 461924

Follow Up By: mfewster - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:47

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 07:47
Nick R. The Hudson Institute is the source of your information!!!! T
That's like going to Goebbels for data on racial purity. I invite other thread readers to do their own research on the Hudson Institute - and dig a little deeper than their own statements about themselves.
FollowupID: 461963

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:36

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:36
AND of course a high lentils and rice diet will exacerbate the Greenhouse gas emission problem too. Really is a LOSE/LOSE situation isn't it?
FollowupID: 462022

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:00

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:00
The greenies are a sad bunch alright using fear to further their political ambitions, it'll go down in history as one of the greatest cons ever.
FollowupID: 462038

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:17

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:17
the ratio is 4 or 5 to 1 of climatology funding 80% of funding is going towwards proving global warming isnt happening

Climate change will always happen, I reckon in my lifetime summer has gotten later like mioved from jan to march or is going that way.

Life is the thing worth living

FollowupID: 462580

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:34

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:34
NickR,

I dred the possibility on a green party with the balance of power in a new Victorian parliament,

Well, take the opportunity to put the Democrats in then. They've got a far longer history of effective management of the balance of power than any other party, working with whoever is in power, not just opposing or pushing Labor policy as the Greens do.

Tim

FollowupID: 462592

Reply By: Luke SA - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:07
I agree with some of the other replies, its just media hype. They dont care they just want to sell a story, just wait until another world or national event happens

Remember when.........

the twin towers were struck
Bush said Iraq had WMDs
the Thredbo land slide
Beaconsfield mine collapsed
Steve Irwin died
Peter Brock died
the Sydney olympics

I could go on and on. The media wanted all the ratings and thats what its all about

Dont get me wrong...... I know theres a problem and so does everybody else but i think the media just try to hard in letting everybody know. They bash it all over the news until we all get sick of hearing about it and/or theres nothing new to say and they move on to the next problem

my 2c worth

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 202386

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:01

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:01
YEH BUT,
why has it become a problem this week? I don't believe it is a purely media-driven thing.

Heard some rumbles about it years back then it went away because life moves on... I guess, was it a slow news week this week so they roll out the old environmental fear factor again.
The highlight of the week for the press in Sydney this week was to hound a silly old man into hospital....because he said stupid things.

20 Years ago we were all scared to bits by a documentary telling us how we are killing the earth and how we should stop doing whatever to prevent or slow down it's demise. So we got green bins and recycle bins and everything was alright. it went away....The power of The Greenies started to rise about then....

Now we have a Federal Election looming.....Labor needs the green vote to get in....all of a sudden the world is dying again from this week onwards....SO there will be massive funding promised by Kim if he gets in, to save the world single-handedly and of course little Johnny will have to hop on board too so that he doesn't appear to be out of touch with the latest concerns of the electorate....

now for the 4WD content of the post......they will create more wilderness areas for our benefit which we will be locked out of for our benefit and our 4wd's will be unregisterable as they will be illegal....for our benefit.
FollowupID: 462025

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:10
I didn't think I would get to the bottom of this thread. We have been recording temperatures here for only 150 years. the planet has been here for a little longer than that. I reckon that we are in a cycle and in a few years time it will start to rain a little more and cool a little. No doubt we are in a dry patch as all the farmers near me a saying it's so dry but one in particular said that if we are dry then god help the rest of the country. It's usually very green this time of year.
New water restrictions started today. I'm going now.....need to move my lawn sprinkler!

Leroy
AnswerID: 202388

Reply By: guy007 - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:45

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:45
Read all about it go to:
www.predictweather.com
AnswerID: 202402

Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:09

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:09
willie, didn't you open a can a worms.
the meaning of life is also 42 or is that what you meant?
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 202403

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:03

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:03
Nick

Yes...and the answer is still 42. Maybe I put it incorrectly in the beginning....LOL
FollowupID: 461968

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:19

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:19
You never listened to the second series of HH. The answer to "life, the universe and everything" is 54 - and the ultimate question was "what is 6 x 9" - it's just that Deep Thought calculated the wrong answer of 42 - which explains quite a lot, really....
FollowupID: 461976

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:15

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:15
Yeah you may be right and this just goes to show that if Deep Thought could make such a mistake after calculating for 1 million years what chance have modern day scientists? Maybe the Mice still have the answer.....though....I caught one in my mouse trap this morning...so they cannot be all that smart after all..........
FollowupID: 461990

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:35

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:35
I agree. If humans caused 'global warming' what happened to the last ice age? That ended before humans were invented. Seems to me that global warming and cooling are natural cycles, and when the current cycle finishes, we'll we back in another ice age, and probably extinct!

I remember my parents stockpiling fuel during the late 70's because the world was going to run out of fossil fuels before 1980. And the "scientists" then got very irate when people said they were scaremongering - which they were.

Just my 1.8 cents worth (the rest went to Johnny)

AnswerID: 202410

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 01:24

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 01:24
Sh only .2c you get a good tax rate, Johnny takes almost half of mine.
FollowupID: 461943

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:07

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:07
gst or excise?
FollowupID: 461970

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:52

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:52
GST = Government Screws Taxpayers
FollowupID: 461983

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:54

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:54
Gday All

I saw the answer the other night on Discovery channell, the material in the outer core is going to stop spinning, destroying the earths magnetic field meaning we will be scorched off the face of the planet with solar flares, so live fast and use what you can, the end is nigh, its all over people.

There is a theory and evidence to suit whatever bandwagon will get you on TV, or some funding, or into parliment, or this many responses to a thread etc etc. (definetly in support of your comments Willem, the last one wasn't really even directed at this thread...)

The only thing is one day some crackpot could end up being right......Hope its not that mob that come knocking at the door at inapropriate times on the weekend to tell me how evil I am...

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 202419

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 01:22

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 01:22
Wow, that was a good read, I enjoyed it!!!!!!

Many years ago when I was young (back in the sixties) I use to love listening to the then "Oldies" telling their stories of days gone by and I recall them talking of the bad droughts around the early 1900s. I'm also aware that there is a problem in this are but I also think that it is not all to do with our current way of life. My Dad always talked of 100 weather year cycles, I don't think he was too far out.

BTW here in WA we have had the driest year on record just a little drier than 1914.

Then we have our Poets and Authors of by gone years who wrote of a "Sunburnt Country" and our explorers who wrote of our country as a desert land.

My 2c worth.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 202429

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:41

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:41
I had sausage..
AnswerID: 202459

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:48

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:48
Hi Willem

Are you serious or just stirring?

I reckon that if there is anyone out there who still cannot accept that global warming is happening they are in complete denial and cannot cope with reality

Surely we all must now admit that the scientists are right when they tell us that it is caused by noxious gases from fossil fuels that deplete the ozone layer .

If you are not stirring then I am sorry to say that you and your mates are like those who are the last remaining members of the Flat Earth Society and those who still believe that smoking does not cause cancer and heart disease and the tooth fairy is real.

Those who listen occasionally to the ABC news, instead of the talk back shock jocks like Alan Jones and John Laws, will have heard that something like 70% of the population of Oz now believe that Australia should sigh the Kyoto treaty and approximately 80% of Australians believe that global worming is real and caused by burning fossil fuels.

It really is time for us to stop destroying our environment. As individuals we all can help by;
- not driving gas guzzling monsters;
- don't remove pollution controls like EGR systems;
- don't destroy trees, scrub, and don't leave litter everywhere;
- get our heads out of the sand and start taking notice of what is happening around us;
- tread lightly as they say;
- do the right thing.

I know that they are all slogans if only we all remembered to do it.

So enjoy the good life and keep on 4wding in your modern and economical and vehicle.

AnswerID: 202461

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:56

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:56
Mate you must drive a 3 litre Nissan!

Need I say any more?

We all have perceptions of what is, could be or should be. You are drawing your conclusions on perceptions.

I will stick with the 4.2 litre and my own Flat Earth thoughts.

FollowupID: 461986

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:14

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:14
"80% of Australians believe that global worming is real"

Whoops, better take my tablets now!

Pete
FollowupID: 461989

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:18

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:18
LOL Just saw that Pete. Bteer take somew of the dogs tablets :-D
FollowupID: 462155

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:52

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:52
A famous once said;

Life is a terminal desease, with no cure

Alwaaaaaays look on, the bright siiide of life (insert whistle)

/ \
|
AnswerID: 202463

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:53

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 09:53
Looking back on the records left by monks in Europe over the past 700 -800 years, there were times the Rhine river was dry as a bone, times it was frozen shore to shore, and times of raging floods. From a climate point of view, 800 years is barely a spec of time, yet great variability was the norm.

Over time, volcanoes have liberated large quantities of CO2, however man has given the volcanoes a nudge in last 100 years. (Human activities release more than 150 times the amount of CO2 emitted by volcanoes. ref : Site Link )
But then again, the volcanoes have been at it for geological ages. I believe their contribution will always be several orders of magnitude greater than mans.

Perhaps we should all drink more beer and coke. Why? The drink manufacturers time up heroic volumes of CO2 in liquid and solid form (3000:1).

Me-thinks we take ourselves a tad too seriously on occasions.
Perhaps the dolphins are the superior race, just giving us time to move on.

ps : A recalculation on 'the answer' shows it was out by a factor of 10. The real answer is 4.2 GU (Gods Universal).

AnswerID: 202482

Reply By: Rokkitt - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:03

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:03
Hi Guys....

Global warming...really???? it is documented grapes could be grown outside in the UK during the 19th century, this CANNOT be done today, it's too bloody cold! I kinda believe it is how the facts are presented to us...I agree the earth has warmed over the last 30 or 40 years....but it has cooled over the last 100 to 200 or so years. The ice caps have not always been there either so it stands to reason they may not always be - they will melt one day andf maybe they will refreeze....who knows.

Also at the risk of getting shot down by all the other forumites.....First I love Australia and there is no way im leaving even if you do offer me free tickets! I can see where these opinions are coming from, I left the UK for pastures greener some ten years ago - I did notice a "lesser" concern for the enviroment...large capacity cars....aerosol sprays are still popular today... I used roll on in the UK....but as others have said there just isn't enough of us here to make a huge difference, we must waity for the more heavily populated countries to come to the party before we can get anywhere.

OK - now moving away.........

Some people really need to chill out a bit and relax...some of the responses are almost scary!

Take care everyone
P.S. No offence meant in any way - this is my own personal opinion which is directed at NO-ONE in particular......:)

Rod
AnswerID: 202510

Reply By: Dazz78 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:13

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:13
G'day all,

Getting back to Willem's original post I have also noticed the recent media interest in this subject and consider this type of discussion to be way overdue. Whether the current drought is caused by global warning or not it has everybody thinking about an important issue.

Now I am no scientist but I was born on a farm and I am still farming today so I probably take more interest in weather conditions than most and it worries me that in my short time on this earth that I can notice changes in weather systems,not only locally but globally.

One can argue that these cycles are natural and indeed they are but normally this has occurred over hundreds or thousands of years, not in one man's lifetime. The underlying facts are that gases like CO2 and methane WILL cause a warming effect, this is a measurable and known. The temperature increases they are talking about may seem small but consider the energy required to heat the atmosphere by half a degree. This requirement is enormous and that energy has to go somewhere and it is going into our weather systems.

If predictions are correct there are a lot of populated areas that are going to get very uncomfortable to live in not to mention the fact that severe changes in weather may even make it difficult to feed the population.

The way I see it we have a double effect were on one hand we are producing enormous amount of these gases and on the other we are destroying the very things that re absorb them. I also understand why people want to disregard it as greeny or political mumbo jumbo. We all like our cars, air conditioners and modern appliances and anything that says we may have to change is frowned upon but I believe we all need to give this serious thought and what we can all do as individuals to help.

Darren.
AnswerID: 202512