nissan gq diesel rough when starts

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:58
ThreadID: 39044 Views:2039 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
Anyone got any ideas why my trusty nissan '92 GQ diesel, sometimes starts really roughly.I rev her up and clear the smoke and it seems to run fine then. She runs beautifully except for the start ups, and that doesnt happen all the time either. But it is becoming more regular. Its a bit like it is starving for or blocked for fuel. Don't think it is the injectors, she runs too well when driving. Cheers

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:07
glow plugs
AnswerID: 202351

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:39
If the glowplugs check out ok you may have a very minute airleak in the fuel system which is allowing a tiny bit of air in when left standing. Does it depend on how long the motor has been off?
AnswerID: 202357

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:40

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:40
thanks Peter, it seems to do it when left overnight. I have replaced the fuel filter, just waiting till the morning now to see what happens. I think may have over tightened the last one and the rubber seel wrinkled and let in air. Hope it was as simple as that. Will get back and let you all know the out come. thanks to all for the input.
FollowupID: 461927

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:53

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:53
Well, I have put a new fuel filter in, tightened it ever so gently so as not too squash or wrinkle the rubber seal, waited overnight, started her up... NO PROBS SO FAR.
she started no worries.I've got my fingers crossed that she will continue that way.I think that may have been it.(TOUCH WOOD). I will get back to you if there is any change. Thanks All
FollowupID: 462379

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:11

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:11
STARTED NO WORRIES AGAIN, I think that was the problem. **phew** thanks again for all the suggestions.
FollowupID: 462571

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:06

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:06
THAT WAS THE PROBLEM, been 12 days now, starts and runs like she used too. That damn over tightened fuel filter ! won't do that again.
FollowupID: 465365

Reply By: 666toy - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:46

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:46
g day
you might be having probs with the glow plug timer . this seems reasonably common with the beautiful td4.2 (i love dinosaure donks give me push rods any day) try glowing the donk 3 times before starting when cold . if the timer is at fault you can get buy doing this for quite some time with no after effects . (i think the timers a very expencive however not really sure ) A WORD OF WARNING do not replace with a second hand unit. change glow plugs first then if no improvement try the timer . I think its hidden behind the glove box. hope this helps................................................................................. 666toy
AnswerID: 202358

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:58

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 20:58
I'm not sure if the GQ is the same, but my MQ used to be the same. Turned out that the servo motor on the injector pump that selects off-start-run fuel settings was sluggish. I replaced it and it went back to being easy and smooth to start.

AnswerID: 202364

Reply By: barney rubble - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:20

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 22:20
Gday miss n nissan good chance it could be your injectors leaking into the engine when the engines off as they still have to hold pressure the excess smoke on start up also points to this Good luck & keep cruisin
AnswerID: 202393

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:38

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:38
I'd say air leak.. when I changed my fuel filters and didnt prime it properly, this exact same thing happened..
AnswerID: 202412

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:42

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:42
That could be it too, thanks will let you know.
FollowupID: 461928

Reply By: Darrin - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:47

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 23:47
My HZJ75 does something similar every so often, particularly if it hasn't been started for a few weeks.
I,ve been lead to believe its due to a small air leak-been doin it on and off for about 5 years.

Darrin
AnswerID: 202416

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:56

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 00:56
I'd say glow plugs first. Small air leaks are damn hard to track down. My TD42 used to be rough starting when I was in a hurry or forgot to wait fer the glow plug light to go out.

If you find that the glow plug timer has failed. Don't buy a new one - they aren't cheap. Just disconnect the wiring from the timer and replace it with a simple push button. This push button should be wired into the LOW amp side of the glow plug relay. The other cables that go to the glow plugs themselves are HEAVY DUTY wire. They carry a lot of current.

Just hold the push button in for say 10 seconds and then hit the starter.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 202425

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:14

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 08:14
Don't try 10 secs with your Chev Bilbo, the glowplugs are toast after 6-8, BTDT.
FollowupID: 461972

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:51

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:51
What does "BTDT" stand for?

"Before Top Dead Threepence"?

"Behind That Dead Tree"?

"Bust The Door Through"?

"Big Tanned Dangly Teats"?

What??

Bilbo
FollowupID: 462613

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:52

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:52
Bilbo, you got a few good ideas for BTDT but is usually means " Been There Done That"

FollowupID: 462878