Black Wolf Tents

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:20
ThreadID: 39064 Views:13262 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Looking for a good touring tent for the missus and I. I've always camped in a swag and never owned a tent before so I'm open to suggestions. I want something that is top quality because I like to buy things once.
My research so far has led me to the Black Wolf Turbo tents. Can anyone give any feedback on these or any tents of similar design and quality?

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 11:44
You won't be dissapointed with this tent. Has been spoken about many times before so do a search and you will find a lot of info.
AnswerID: 202504

Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:13

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:13
Have you got a Black Wolf Turbo?
Unfortunately the search options are limited and all I get is info about turbos and some bloke called Wolfie...
FollowupID: 462027

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:52

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:52
you can use quotes to look for for specific strings of words, along with AND, OR, etc

I think..
FollowupID: 462034

Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:11

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:11
Cheers Tonester,
The "quotations" work to link the words. I was using dashs (-) like I do on Google to no avail. Heaps of info now.
FollowupID: 462041

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:41
Or use "and" as in "black and wolf"

Then you get this result:

Black Wolf Tents

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 462046

Reply By: Jodi - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:34

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:34
We have Turbo tents. Firstly let me declare interest by stating that my partner manages a retail store that sells these tents.
My unbiased opinion though is that this is one of the best tents I've ever used. The only drawback is the amount of space they take up when packed. Will never camp in anything else now unless it's a rooftop (which we are now considering).
I have camped since before I can remember so have used some pretty good and pretty bad tents. This one is great - they had a problem with the knuckles for a while which were plastic but are now metal. We have the original plastic ones which have not broken and the metal ones as spares just in case they do - they are easy to change over. Partner mentions from time to time that the service from the Black Wolf company is excellent as well. Customers come in with problems and Black Wolf send out parts or repair etc no questions asked. One customer came in with one broken knuckle and was sent a complete replacement kit for every join at no charge. We still have a little hiker that we use for the quick last minute decision to go (ie. bag of fire wood from servo, baked beans from milkbar, tea & coffee from kitchen and bottle shop drive thru on the way). Other than the one night last minutes we take it everywhere. Our black wolf has been used in storms, in heat, in a week of rain all with no leaks and no complaints.
AnswerID: 202541

Follow Up By: Jayk - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:41

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:41
I can only back up the comments so far.

Our experience with the Balck Wolf Turbo Tent has been 100% positive. Used in hot and cold, wet and dry, still and windy, our turbo tent never let us down. Damn easy to put up too.

And for those who have one that still has the plastic knuckles, just go back to your supplier and Black Wolf will replace them with the new metal ones free of charge. Can't complain about that.

Shop around though. They're always on special somewhere and you'll save ~$100.00. e.g. I Think a Paddy Pallin membership will score you a 10% discount. I could be wrong on that though.
Why? ... Why not?

FollowupID: 462073

Reply By: cuffs - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:33

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:33
I have the 210 tubo Blackwolf best investment I have made, up in seconds, fly clips on easily & guide ropes are in attached bags no more looking for the suckers.

Reverse the 4x4 to the canopy and everything is accessable in the back fridge, table, clothing, it allows you to drive off 4WDing and not having to leave valuables aroung the camp site. A bit pricy but being used monthly only the quickest set up and fold away is the best.

Last week end all set up in 80km winds, it stood it strong and I even cooked a roast for me & the dog in the cobb cooker, gee life is hard.
AnswerID: 202548

Reply By: warrenr004 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:26
G'day. Like you we've always been swaggies, especially living in the Pilbara where cold weather isn't a problem. Because we wanted to start moving round a bit we thought we would get a tent, but didn't want to spend an hour every day having erections. We bought a Black Wolf Turbo 300...and it's perfect. Up in a couple of minutes, down in not much more. A little longer if you use the fly. Has good ventilation but not a problem with rain. They're a bit more expensive than the others, but well worth the dough. Got it from Cargills Camping in Burswood, WA.

Waz
AnswerID: 202577

Reply By: Willykj - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:09

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:09

I bought a Turbo Tent 2 1/2 years ago & it has been used for weekends as well as a 7 week to Cape York. And have recently returned from 3 months in the Outback.

Best tent we have ever had. Being an early version ours had the plastic parts & these were replaced prior to our last trip even though we had had no problem - I had asked whether I could "buy" the replacement parts as a precaution for the trip & they provided them free.

On this last trip one part did break (it was one of the plastic components that couldn't be replaced due to a system that was only on the very early models) & Black Wolf replaced the whole tent - no questions asked so their service is superb!!!

My wife & I love the Turbo - just so easy to use & practical.

Go Turbo ----

Willy
AnswerID: 202593

Reply By: Noisy Mango - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:55

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:55
We have just listed one for sale in the trader section if you are interested.
Wayne.
AnswerID: 203016

Reply By: Member - Marilyn P (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:56

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:56
Friend of mine bought a B.W. tent - great setting up, with or without the fly - but she continues to have major problems trying to fold it up to fit into its bag. The problems increase dramatically if it is cold and wet. I have an OZ tent and think it's great for erecting and dismantling. Its only disadvantage is its length - fits well into the back of my Troopie but could see problems with smaller vehicles. I can have the whole campsite packed away before my friend has her tent in the bag but if it's cold - like I said - no go.
AnswerID: 203051

Reply By: Member - Warren R (WA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:53

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:53
G'day again. There's a Black wolf turbo 300 posted on the Trader pages if your interested.

Waz
AnswerID: 203209

Follow Up By: Cruiser HZJ70 - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:33

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:33
Cheers Waz.
FollowupID: 462789