JohnR... going soft??

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:34
ThreadID: 39072 Views:2576 Replies:5 FollowUps:37
I would never have thought so.....

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:37

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:37
All depends on what your idea 'of going soft' is. Remember he is 65 +.
AnswerID: 202549

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:25

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:25
I guess at that age lots of blokes have disfunctional issues and softness is one of those issues.
He has been very cagey lately about his new sleeping arrangements so I presume she has arrived (as opposed to "she has come")
John, looking forward to meeting your new sleeping arrangement!!! LOL
FollowupID: 462094

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:05

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:05
Not sure you will like Kim mate.
FollowupID: 462207

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:39

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:39
Des, I talked to your friend and 4by club leader at Renmark today and his KK is due in a week or so I believe. Couldn't believe we had one. Was going to look at a new Honda 20uI through Grahams where ours came from.
FollowupID: 462640

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:41

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:41
Ms Lucy, seems like you need some blue pills.
FollowupID: 462641

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:44

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:44
Use em, and regular. (ROFLMAO)

Bet you need them now you have the new 'thingy wagon'
FollowupID: 462671

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:37

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:37
Ms Lucy, you need a script for those?
FollowupID: 462714

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:31

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:31
There is more to this 'story' than your 'new Jill' (sorry can't member name exactly - yet).

Not for mention on the forum, however next we meet I'll tell you. DVA are an amazing support system.
FollowupID: 462753

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:20

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:20
Heard about someone who used the pills as a bonus plan, who next morning on a plane had to kneel to pee. Don't know if he met Jill or Sue or who.
FollowupID: 462779

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:52

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:52
That sounds positively nasty.
FollowupID: 462815

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:42

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:42
What's up ?

Might have to go soft myself soon and get an auto
AnswerID: 202551

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:21

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:21
Never poke fun at people that aren't as fortunate as you Ray, no matter how funny it may be ;-))

FollowupID: 462091

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:05

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:05
Hey Baz I was being serious for once. I have problems with my left leg/foot, the clutch is becoming a real pain in the leg for me.
FollowupID: 462105

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:43

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:43
I will say nothing.... except that we both picked up new bikes for kids at same place and by miracle we turned up at same flamming time without knowin each other was going to be there...
FollowupID: 462117

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:33

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:33
hahaha, I hate it when you do this crap Bruce :)
FollowupID: 462130

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:37

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:37
Geez, Ray, I haven't gone that soft. No auto box here. Just that Moses has Kim in tow around. As you know, Kim is short for Kimberley. No relation to Kylie or anything or Bomber
FollowupID: 462333

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:00

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:00
Ok, now I understand :)

Lets hope Moses doesn't mind a freeloader tagging behind.

Good luck with Kim John
FollowupID: 462367

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:27

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:27
Now JohnR, this is not the (Kimberley) Karavan is it ???
FollowupID: 462409

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:24

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:24
Ahh, Al I had told friend Crazie that Moses was going to pull a Mr Whippy Van but really it is a Ms Whippy. Hmmmmm........ Just that Kim sounds more classy for the personal ads in the paper so instead of a coming out with a fellow male, he has Kim in tow.

Well here they are even if a few weeks late for the time of delivery. Had and EO sticker affixed before it left the yard as you may expect. Have to get more soon from the sticker gods. Looking forward to a shakedown trip to the High Country later this month.

FollowupID: 462459

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:31

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:31
Looks great John. Congrats on the pruchase to you and Heather. Did you end up with any issues re: the drawbar length and the extended tray on the Patrol? I was looking at the drawbar on the one at the show and was a bit worried for you.

Look forward to seeing it in action sometime soon.
FollowupID: 462470

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:48

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:48
Mr Moggs, funny how you guessed wasn't it and Al above too with some information. We had the drawbar lengthened by 300mm but they have done them to 500mm. I may yet extend the drawbar tongue out from the back with solid bar instead, but undecided on that one. Would only go a short extension if I did. I reckon it could have exceded the speed limit alright it towed pretty well.

A problem with the Moses is that the front wheels seem to want to track off. It has been a bit of a problem with the old tyres I have on to wear down before a change to some others. Keeping the Coopers for winter or dirt.
FollowupID: 462472

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 02:27

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 02:27
Very nice JohnR, very nice.

Whenever the subject of camper trailer/caravan comes up, SWMBO points her finger and makes a strange Bzzzzing sound (like she's pressing a button). I had a devil of a time dragging her away from the Kimberley stand at the last camping/caravan/4wd show.

She came back to Earth a bit when I told her we'd need a Cruiser/Patrol to tow the thing. I think she's suffering a relapse though. She's making those funny noises again LOLOL
FollowupID: 462530

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 08:30

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 08:30
Ah, Al, I did have a laugh at what you say about your good lady. I am sure a Patrol would enhance your life though and I am sure it would be a 4.2.

Funny how we didn't set out to do anything but look. Fell in love with the technology built in. Diesel for the stove, hot water and heating and very frugal with it. LED lighting throughout. Short enough to go pretty well where we have been, really compact. The standard features are there Site Link but as it isn't actually sealed against all the elements like a tent for clean air.

Looked at Bushtrackers and attracted to the offroad abilities but the weight is a killer as is the case with other offroad vans. What 4by do you have? Am sure Rock Crawler would love to help.
FollowupID: 462553

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:54

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:54
JohnR,

A Patrol !!! A Landcruiser !!! I'd have to take sides then. Much better in the Lux and able to take potshots at both sides hahahahahaha That's when we have'nt rolled over due to some minor imperfection in the road surface LOL

Rocky would be on my 'pester' list if I was in the market.
FollowupID: 462575

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:34

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:34
Al, the buzzing sound you mention from SWMBO. How do you achieve it? I can do it here OK but like to be able press buttons by remote. Ahh that may be fun. You better put on the SWMBO email addy and I could send her the link to KK;)

'Lux eh, had three of those but the two diesels had heart problems of some sort. Something to do with blood thickening.
FollowupID: 462601

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:14

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:14
LOL she loves that Powerglide feature. I keep her well away from the Net. She can send me broke just as quickly using traditional methods let alone eBay, etc etc etc :))))))
FollowupID: 462609

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:37
When we meet you at Warraweena next year, perhaps she can push Kim's buttons Al. May have to keep her back from yours. LOL
FollowupID: 462639

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:43

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:43
Ooops! just sent this a post reply, not followup.

Moses

I am not gobsmacked old son - just 'p i s s e d amd amazed'

Impressed as well.

Kids inheritance going on the road here???????????????????????????

You might call her 'Jill or Sally" etc however I think she has the grace and poise of Audrey Hepburn - Audrey she is.
FollowupID: 462670

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:50

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:50
Mad Dog - I saw a Victorian just out of Horsham in a GU with rego "MADDOG" on Friday.

Are you charging him for an infringement of your trademark?
FollowupID: 462718

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:05

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:05
There's a few of us around Andrew but only one can be "the original Mad Dog".

FollowupID: 462721

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:06

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:06
JohnR,

Yep, looking forward to next year. Hope the medication will have cured SWMBO of her button pushing by then hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 462825

Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:03

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:03
I've seen it...cannot agree it is soft....it is refined ;-) and I am jealous as all buggery!
AnswerID: 202557

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:42

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:42
SOFT!
FollowupID: 462116

Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:44

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:44
soft and a mobile road block!!!

got your email forwarded on moggs, thanks
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 462137

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:26
I wondered what you were crapping on about.................hmmmm yes I recall now hearing twitterings of such things. Next he will be towing it behind the Merc....lol
AnswerID: 202619

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:41

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:41
Moses

I am not gobsmacked old son - just 'p i s s e d amd amazed'

Impressed as well.

Kids inheritance going on the road here???????????????????????????

You might call her 'Jill or Sally" etc however I think she has the grace and poise of Audrey Hepburn - Audrey she is.
AnswerID: 203119

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:42

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:42
Sorta like the Audrey suggestion mate.

Hey it's an investment. Reckon the order list will push the values as much as with Ultimates if not more. Reckon the shares we sold had done their run, infact dropped significantly within hours of selling. The broker told me I wouldn't get what I asked, went 6cents beyond before dropping.
FollowupID: 462716

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:34

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:34
You have done well and I am busting to have a look.

Might catch up with you and the Des Lexic's for a day visit.

See how things go.
FollowupID: 462754

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 17:44

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 17:44
I am sure you will be welcome. I guess you will have to be within half a days march from a Jeepney repair person though where ever you go or do you carry one with you? Have you got your CT sorted for direction yet? You may be able to convince Des Lexic to do something similar on a trailer.

Everyone seems to be going trailed for something. Willem, Truckster,Moggs, you, us, well that isn't everyone but there is a trend for roadblocks of some sort. Crazie need a trailer for his Fire and Ice and Camp Cot, well if he takes Kir.. Sure we can convince Des ;-)
FollowupID: 462776

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:11

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:11
Sounds like a plan young fella.

Don't you worry about that - JEEP that is.

Just keep and eye on your rope.
FollowupID: 462778

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:54

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:54
No chance of me getting a road blocker yet John. In a few years time possibly and then it will be a proper road blocker.
FollowupID: 462796

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:04

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:04
Ahh, Mr Lexic, you are home. I guess you would drive a different old converted bus. The new machine is hardly a road blocker. Pretty quick to tow actually. Just as slim as Moses.
FollowupID: 462822