It’s gone!!

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:44
ThreadID: 39095 Views:2723 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
It’s gone the NT has speed limits; there are a lot of angry people in the NT right now, I would say.

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:46

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:46
Chalk another one up for the safety Nazis.
AnswerID: 202664

Reply By: obee - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:48

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:48
I reckon there are a lot of people no longer angry that people could drive at unsafe speeds!

Owen
AnswerID: 202665

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:00

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:00
Only unsafe if you are not used to it, mate, they seem to be driving at those speeds and higher on the Autobahns in Europe, with a lot more cars around than on a NT outback Hwy.
FollowupID: 462186

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:11
Well, I've done a few thousand KM on the roads in NT and on the German autobahns (lived there for a year). There aren't many valid comparisons between the two.

I doubt that I ever travelled over 110 KPH in NT and rarely over 100 KPH, so the change won't effect me on my next trip. On our recent trip to NT (Jul/ Aug) we only noticed a couple of vehicles doing a 'Cannon Ball run', so it will probably only be noticed by a small % of residents. But then, I'm just a visitor when there.

My wife was the speedster in Europe. She regularly cruised at 160 KPH, and we had Mercs pass us as if we were standing still (well almost). There is rarely a one or two car accident on the autobahns. Almost always 10 or 20. Fortunately not often and their cars are (on average) much safer built than ours.
FollowupID: 462191

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:49

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:49
goodday exploder
yes have been following this, top speed 130ks only on 4 highways ,so much for another cannonball run as 1 of the pollies up there was trying to organise no more high speed car testing
wasnt a big problem for me as we normally have our van on so cant attain the high speeds but a lot of dissapointed locals as you say

AnswerID: 202666

Reply By: rheno - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:56

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:56
not sure where you got that info from, yesterdays nt news says otherwise. N.T got best drivers, road toll consistantly lower than all others, most road deaths are tourist not used to long distance high speed driving and roadtrains.

N.T born'n'bred
AnswerID: 202668

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:57

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:57
Got the info of a guy in the NT .
FollowupID: 462185

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:05

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:05
ABC 7.30 Report tonight

Coming in on 1st January 2007 plus Red Light Cameras and Demerit Points sytem.

No more the wild frontier....sigh!
FollowupID: 462187

Follow Up By: rheno - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:22

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:22
taken from N.T News 31/10:

THE Territory Government is having second thoughts about introducing a demerit points system.
There is a growing feeling that the system will penalise hundreds of motorists who drive marginally over the limit but not tackle the biggest cause of road deaths -- drink-driving.
A final decision on what recommendations to accept could be announced tomorrow or early next week.
One senior Labor Party member told the Northern Territory News: "We're worried that many motorists who aren't reckless will end up losing their licences for a few months because they drive a little over the limit.
"Demerit points won't do anything to stop drink-driving.
"And all the figures show that most people who die on our roads are drunk.
"There's a growing feeling in Government that it would be better to make those who repeatedly speed suffer by increasing the fines, especially for those who go seriously over the limit."
As revealed in the Northern Territory News last week, the Government has already privately rejected the idea of a blanket 110km/h speed limit on the Stuart Highway.
But a targeted limit is still likely, especially at blackspots between Darwin and Katherine, where most of the accidents on the highway occur.
The Government is also expected to change drink-driving laws.
At the moment, Territorians are only fined for driving with a blood-alcohol limit between .05 and .08.
The Government's final road safety decrees are likely to include:
A SPEED limit for dangerous stretches of the Stuart and Barkly highways, and the whole of other highways;
NO demerit points -- or a more lenient system than down south;
DIGITAL red light cameras;
INCREASED fines for speeding, not wearing a seat belt and jumping a red light;
STRICTER conditions for L and P plate drivers; and
LOSS of licence for repeat driving with a blood-alcohol 0.05 offences.

FollowupID: 462194

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:07

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:07
From my experience in NT the fastest vehicles were motorbikes. They come up behind that fast they gave me a scare when the passed. I was travelling about 100Kph on cruise.

Pooley
FollowupID: 462210

Follow Up By: rheno - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:26
Yeah their that realy s#!ts me, there a danger to themselves and others, they create there own rules and lanes!!and if my car was half as loud as some bikes i wouldnt last 10 mins on the road. most N.T drivers are'nt stupid enough to do much more than 110 anyways with all the wildlife around, alot of fourbys dont realy like doing more than that too
FollowupID: 462224

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:47

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:47
"more than 110 anyways with all the wildlife around, alot of fourbys dont realy like doing more than that too "

Hi rheno,
You've obviously never been for a drive with Trevor R !!

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 462415

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:11

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:11
Pezza,

Here we go, turn my back for 5 mins and someone's got a knife in it LOL!!! and to think I went into bat for you the other day. Someone tried to tell me your camp oven damper wasn't fit for pigs, naturally I went to your defence and told them "Yes it is" and this is the thanks you show Heheeeeeeee

Rheno,
My opinion is why do manufacturers put 160+ speeds on the speedo???? Coz their cars are capable of this. It is only the driver that makes it a dangerous situation with regards to speed. Either the driver has not enough experience to choose the right surroundings for speed or not capable of doing this speed in the first place.

People will get as much respect from me when they do 90 or 150 but I ask that other road users show the same tolerance to me whatever my speed.

Cheers guys,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 462621

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:03

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:03
Site Link

Up to you people in the Territory to tell them to F/O or just accept what you're told to do?

AnswerID: 202671

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:06

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:06
Actually: we tourists from the soft south could tell them to F/O too! If they thought we might not go there they may change their minds - such as they are....

www.tourismnt.com.au/

FollowupID: 462188

Reply By: rheno - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:06

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:06
think he needs to read more carefully. Taken From N.T news :

As revealed in the Northern Territory News last week, the Government has already privately rejected the idea of a blanket 110km/h speed limit on the Stuart Highway.

But a targeted limit is still likely, especially at blackspots between Darwin and Katherine, where most of the accidents on the highway occur.

so yeah spose we both right in a way
AnswerID: 202673

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:11
I believe it’s a max of 130km/h yes?
FollowupID: 462192

Follow Up By: rheno - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:25
see follow up 3 of 3 all i know is what the N.T news is telling us, if you can believe what they tell us. but 130kph does seem sensible
FollowupID: 462197

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:49

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:49
Dunno about the rest of you but I can't afford to drive like a maniac anyway. I set the cruise control at 100 km/h and have a nice relaxing drive to wherever I'm going. Sure it takes longer but I use less fuel, arrive less stressed, and less likely to hit livestock. So I couldn't give 2 hoots about the speed limit being 110 or 130. The NT government will do what they want anyway, because they don't have the guts to tackle the real causes - alcohol, and not wearing seat belts.
AnswerID: 202686

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:36

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:36
Yep! definitelly about time.

It will bring all the pinko nissan driving yoboo's under control.

You know the ones I am talking about - those 3.0' driving clowns who just want to prove to all and sundry that they can REALLY go over 100kph with the engine blowing up.

Aw! you guys really do make me ROFLMAO.

Think of it as a 'progressive' , compliant, 'regulated', 'innovative', 'revolutionary' and good for the soul road reform, and you will sleep better.
AnswerID: 202717

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:15

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:15
Hmmmmm....just as well you haven't been assigned to 'traffic duties'......LOL

Some of us are Nissan drivers going places.....some of us have to stay home with a Jeep which refuses to budge.................:-D
FollowupID: 462316

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:38

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:38
Hey i thought you had a Troopy, Lucy
FollowupID: 462321

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:13

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:13
I do Redback plus THE JEEP.

The JEEP is the town car which SWMBO has adopted as 'her car'.

Its an 05 KJ CRD Cherokee, that certain members on this forum luv to sling chit at cause its had a few issues, (mainly electonic management systems) in its shakedown phase - hopefully all ironed now.

Oi! Willie - the JEEP is about to get a set of Hankook Muddies on black Dynamic (Safari look-alike) wheels.

They allegedly are 8ply/4ply so it will be an interesting exercise.

And another thing the guy/supplier I eventually chose to use, I have used before for something else, and he was right on the ball without asking about the legallity of playing with size alterations from the OEM specs.

I have a set of Hankooks on good old faithfull (My Datsun Bluebird Wgn - had since new in 82) and they have lasted really well.

Nothing like thinking outside the square I say.
FollowupID: 462373

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:53

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:53
Lucy,
You have a Troopy AND a Jeep !!

WOW, talk about getting screwed from both directions, lol. :-))))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 462416

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:07

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:07
Oi!

Enough of that talk Pezza. (another pinko nissan mafioso)

I'll have you know that the Yota is the finest 4WD produced in the Asia Pacific region.

and

The JEEP - well thats in a world of its own, very hard to describe.

Unique maybe would go close. (LOL)

You have a good one also
FollowupID: 462442