Nosy Neighbours!.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:58
ThreadID: 39096 Views:5523 Replies:14 FollowUps:20
All our life we have associated well with neighbours, whether we liked them or not.

Until Now!!, New ones have moved in & the heads over the fence all the time, what's that, why, why don't you, not working to-day??& it just goes on & on. Just about ready to give them a answer they will never forget, or was thinking about standing 1/2 doz bags of wet green horse chit along the fence line and give them something to really go on about. Any ideas welcome!

Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:12

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:12
Walk around nude, picking your nose, scratching your nuts, farting burping and generally using words best suited to a boys night out. Worth a shot ;) LOL
AnswerID: 202674

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:16
Now I know why my neighbours avoid me...

FollowupID: 462193

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:23

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:23
GQ Tuff. Then I will look the same as them!!.
FollowupID: 462195

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:44

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:44
HEY! when u been looking over MY fence?

FollowupID: 462541

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:17

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:17
I have turds over the back fence too.. everyone around has the same problem with them.
AnswerID: 202676

Reply By: Stu-k - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:11

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:11
Yep I have probs with mine to but due to their barking dogs that they think is fine.

Well I have a mate thats in a band so I feel a need to help them out with late night practise. Also buying a trail bike soon and the first thing to come off before I do laps of the yard is the exhaust!
Its great that summer is nearly here to cause the all night partys are gunna be great not to mention the left over prawn shells in the bin right next to the house.

Ya just have to look at it the right way and it becomes a great hobby!

AnswerID: 202698

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 22:44

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 22:44
Gday Stu-k, be sure you put the offensive material in just after collection, then jam some cardboard slightly larger than the bin on top & jam it down - doesn't come out for a few weeks with any luck!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 462656

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:26
Axle

Don't dispair mate there are ways and means, just have to find one that suits you.

I have got a friend who lives in Perth and once upon a time had a house with a magnificent pool.

Only problem being, neighbours on one side thought his BBQ's and pool usuage were there for their visual entertainment. They used to crowd into their rooms on his side of the their house and gawk at the 'entertainment next door'

Anyway after awhile they start making comments like 'very nice pool' very nice BBQ's etc etc. so he decides to nip this 'familiarity in the bud'

Lovely Saturday afternoon gets the BBQ fired up and has a few sherberts (maybe too many) gets in the pool with the girlfriend and ensures next door neighbours are full of their usual interest.

THEN both he and the girlfriend climb out of the pool naked and engage in a session 'cuccumber rhumba' over the pool ladder.

Guess what - yep! problem cured instantly. Mum apparently running around screaming in a sub-continent language at the kids which caused them to all disappear from the 'viewing areas'. Blinds and curtains drawn into place.

Later, a full screen was erected along their side of the fence which was so tall and dense that it blocked out my friends whole view of the subject neighbours house.

AND a verbal word was never spoken between him and them from that day on. They even had shades put in their car on that side so their kids couldn't see the 'bad people'

I still ROFLMAO every time I think about and it happened over 20 years ago.

AnswerID: 202714

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 06:06

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 06:06
Damn if I my neigbour did that I`d be forced to yell out " Can I help you with that!" lol
FollowupID: 462287

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:38

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:38
yep...was what i was thinkig...that sort of behavoiur might encourage some
FollowupID: 462304

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:00
that post is useless without pictures.

'cuccumber rhumba' hah... never heard that one

we've got six neighbours but the one's we see most are good 'uns.
FollowupID: 462340

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:02

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:02
Pictures???????

This is a family oriented forum thank you, (LOL) and it only takes one dud one (neighbour that is) to put the 'mozz' on a nice neighbourhood.

You other two are a disgrace to the race. (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 462369

Reply By: Robert - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:46

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:46
My wife is battling advanced Breast Cancer (Chemo is no longer a option), our neighbours know this yet continue to play basketball in their driveway which is right next to our house despite being asked numerous times to stop and have some consideration for my wife. There are two schools with basketball courts about 5 minutes walk which they could use yet they still continue to play basketball at their home.

The wifes response when I last had words to them was "Well we want to use our basketball ring".

These are people who go to church every Sunday (Baptists) yet have no consideration for a family that is losing the fight with Breast Cancer.

I don't think you can get any lower than that when it comes to bad neighbours!
AnswerID: 202768

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:07

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:07
And we think our little squabbles and problems are an issue. Thank you for putting things into perspective Robert.

I hope all goes as well as possible for you both.

FollowupID: 462341

Follow Up By: Robert - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:25

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 10:25
Hi Mike,

Thankyou for your thoughts, regardless of our problems I still feel for anyone who has bad neighbours - we only know too well first hand what it's like!

FollowupID: 462347

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 14:26

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 14:26
Hi Robert,
Now don't take this the wrong way, it's a genuine question and my sympathy goes to you and your wife as I can't even imagine what you are going through, but, how does your neighbours playing basketball in their own driveway affect your wife, you will have to excuse my ignorance, though my Grandmother passed away from cancer I have no knowledge of how advanced breast cancer affects patients.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 462391

Follow Up By: Robert - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:06

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:06
1. A basketball pumped up rock hard and bounced on concrete, thrown against a metal backboard or hitting a metal garage door makes a HELL of a noise, which goes through the whole house especially when only three meters away - even people in the next street can hear it!

2. Those kids playing basketball at 7.30 Sat morning or at 9.00 pm on week night even without someone being ill is inconsiderate. I have said to them that come 6 pm I just want to have some peace and quiet, watch the news without the noise of kids playing basketball.

3. Due to the cancer my wife now sleeps most of the time and I try to rest myself when possible due to the stress, something which is impossible when with constant banging!

FollowupID: 462402

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:19

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:19
Understand, thank you.
All the best.

Pezza
FollowupID: 462405

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:51

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:51
Pezza thanx for asking the qn, I wondered too and couldnt have asked it in a better manner.

Robert my heart goes out to you, have lost many close people to that insidious thing cancer, its such a debilitating and horrible thing.

Mate, as my goat loving friend points out, thanx for putting things into perspective.

FollowupID: 462542

Reply By: Baggers - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:18

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:18
Over the years we have had some less desirable neighbours and I remember one many moons ago when I was young that I still have a chuckle at. My Parents had a neighbour that continually gave my Father a hard time so the Old man decided that it was time to fix this guy. So what he did was fill 6 balloon's with Round up and placed them in the gutter of his niegbours roof and waited for the sun to deteriorate/perish the rubber (this took 4-5 days in North QLD) now when the balloon's burst the Round up ran down the drain onto his beautifully manicured lawn and to make it worst it rained that day after which made the spread of round up worst. Now you can imagine the mess of this guys lawn......Funnily enough the Old man never heard a peep out of this guy again as I'm sure he guessed that he had done something.......is front and rear lawn was stuffed.........
AnswerID: 202787

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:47

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:47
Good luck mate!
But if you makes you feel better I dont think you would prefer mine.
My neighbours have drunken fights almost every night.
Throw sticks and rocks at my kids and dogs.
Their kids climb my 6 foot fence when Im not home and steal my mail.
One of their visitors tried breaking in through my back door a couple of months ago while we were in bed.
Throw their broken toys and crap over my fence (including a shirt someone had wiped their arrse on!)
Yell, scream, throw rocks all over their own roof as well as mine and smash their own windows.
Smash stubbies in my driveway, on the footpath and all over the road.

I could go on but I think youve probably got the idea.
Hope It makes you feel a bit better.

As for your neighbours invite them over for a drink and make a real arrse of yourself....crack on to his wife infront of him or something!
AnswerID: 202792

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:58

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:58
(1) What city and subburb do you live in.

(2) Never ever try and crack onto another dudes wife/partner cause there is a good chance he might think - BINGOO - get up and leave her with you for good.
FollowupID: 462366

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:01

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:01
That's the first rule of firearms safety:
"Never mess with another man's woman"

FollowupID: 462368

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 13:10

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 13:10
Alice Springs
FollowupID: 462380

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:03

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:03
Hairy

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees!

Get your point.

Better you than me.
FollowupID: 462441

Reply By: Member - TPM (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:24

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 12:24
Be careful !!!

I have had the same problem for 6 years , I found out later why the house went so cheap. He had driven out the last 4 familys living here !

He is constantly complaining to the police , council , rspca and the rest of the world about fake problems. After a large branch fell out of his tree and landed on my vintage holden denting the bonnet, My wife asked his help removing it as I was away, he then threatened my wife. After that I could no longer tolerate it.
After that I let some verbal abuse fly telling him to keep away from my wife and myself and respect our privacy.
He now cleans the back neighbors gutters for free so he can perve into our back yard !!!!

I have been to the police and council several time but they can do nothing without witnesses. If I only knew where the old residents lived. Ive had enough and will rent the house out and I am moving to Darwin for work.
Hopefully he will be dead by the time I get back. ( I am advertising in band magazines for tennents for revenge) I explained to the propety manager not to evict on noise grounds YAY !!!!!!!! revenge is sweet.

Good luck, you will need it. Dont give them any ammo for abuse allegations against you. Ignoring their existance I found works the best. I can no longer hear his pathetic voice and it drives him insane !
AnswerID: 202801

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 13:56

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 13:56
Know how you feel. Good neighbours are great, bad ones should be shot. There is no reason to be a bad neighbour.

We moved in 6 yrs ago and found immediately virtually all neighbours up & down street friendly and great. There was one old italian woman who was apparently friendly & helpful, liked our kids etc, but another neighbour warned us to scare her off straight away as she was very nuts. He was right but we couldn't see it, so missus had her in for a coffee, etc. Then the stalking started. Any time day/night, sleeping awake, bang bang on the doors, windows, etc. Let me in, let me in. Missus had a 1yo and a newborn and was very tired and all. The nutbag never did anything knowingly in my presence, but harassed the bleep outta my missus. She'd load kids in the car and go back to lock the front door and then find the nutbag trying to get our kids out the the car. She'd try and lure the kids to her house. She'd verbally abuse them. We put up a fence (she was one reason we did it), and then she's opening the gates when the kids are out the front to have them wander to the street. Ripping up mail was her favorite.

Now, found out over the years that she did this to all neighbours in the street! Most were in just our position but looked over it as she was an old bat. A threat of calling the police led to periods of her inactivity to us, but it would start again.

With other neighbours, she would sh1t in the front yard, on their driveway, walk in and take kids from the house, empty her rubbish anywhere in/out of the house. She pulled a rifle on one neighbour.

She was "looked after" by her middle aged son, who know of all this and did nothing.

The rifle bit when I heard about it (1 year after it happened) made me really get stuck into the cops to do something. They said they could do nothing as it was not me who had it pulled on me. The neighbour who had it done did not want to get involved. Cops said to work it out with her, they can't do anything, or just go and get a restraining order. The court then said that no restraining order would be issued as it was impossible as she was a neighbour in the immediate vicinity.

EVENTUALLY, a new neighbour arrived with a young baby. The nutbag gets caught walking the baby out of the house and this one went beserk and there was finally finally finally impartial witnesses. Cops did something then, she got locked up in the geriatric nuthouse.
AnswerID: 202817

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:56

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 07:56
that is astonishing

FollowupID: 462544

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:24
Twas a shocker. Amazed me the lack of police power (or will to enforce) - she was but a little biddy woman, and I would suspect is why such events crept on so long.
FollowupID: 463218

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:01

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 15:01
Yeah I've got an old guy over the back who's a pain in the neck, always sticking his head over the fence for a gander, never says anything just spies on you!

So I filled the fly catcher up with squid bait and hand on the fence where he sticks his head over. :-)
AnswerID: 202832

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:03

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:03
Jeezus!! did not think i would get any response, working 24 - 7 at the moment thanks all, for your replys.

AnswerID: 202978

Reply By: cackles - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:47

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:47
Our old neighbour renovated his house in order to make money off it, problem was he overcapitalised and ended up having trouble selling it. His solution to the problem was to forcefullly tell us to take our carport down because it was ugly and bringing the sale price of his house down!
I'm sure you can imagine the 'diplomatic' response he got.

Neighbour on the other side is a nice old lady, problem is she once (after observing hubby mowing lawn with no shirt on) asked if he was any good in bed because she reckons he would be alright. Hubby now avoids her like the plague.

maybe your new neighbours are just trying too hard to fit in?

cackles
AnswerID: 203044

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:35

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:35
Most peple open their conversation by asking ` how are you?` or similar.
Your reply should be either ` don`t be nosey ` or I`m none the better for your asking`.
Hppefully this will give them the `message` Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 203523

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:26
Jeez, I don't know where you lot live. We've got fantastic neighbours. Most come from different parts of the world. And none of them are nosey. In fact, when things go wrong they're the first to put their hand out to offer help.

We're the newest in the neighbourhood. One of them said the first time I met him "You have to treat your neighbours better than family, because you can get away from your family :-)" So true. That seems to be the general feeling in our street. We have a get-together around Christmas and about 30 of the neighbours and family turn up.

We're just lucky, I guess.........
AnswerID: 203568