Submitted: Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:05
ExplorOz Team - David
Having evaluated some of the current feedback and calls we have had on the new look I have added a Font Resizer feature. It is in its early stages yet however on the newly updated articles and in the
forum system you will see the image in the upper box which says FONT and has a down arrow and up arrow. If you click on the up and down the font size of the content screen (this is the centre section of the page) will automatically adjust up or down dependant on your click.
(NOTE: If it does not work do a REFRESH of the page and try again, this will reload the scripts which may be cached in your browser)
Your setting is stored in a cookie and will be applied to all pages on ExplorOz. Currently the cookie is set to remember for 1 day and this is to help out during the testing phase, once it is all working correctly we can extend the cookie duration.
Anyway have a play, I hope this feature assists.
Reply By: Member - Kevin M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:08
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:08
David,
Works
well.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:10
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:10
David,
I must have just happen to refresh the page just after the font sizing was introduced.
It does work, and there are still the same number of post on the page.
Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:20
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:20
David,
Yep, works
well. Instant gratification.
Garth
Reply By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:21
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:21
thanks david
great for me crook eyesight
Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:22
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:22
Yo david,
What a doozie ...great for us old "dogs" who can hardly see the bloody screen....
well done - works
well.....
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:23
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:23
Naughty me = that's "David" with a bloody big CAPITAL D......
Sorry...
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:34
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:34
Wow. I can read without my glasses!!!
David, you must reckon this site is haunted by old farts to introduce this feature. Thanks anyway. It is great.
But when I type my response, it is in the original font size, so I had to put my glasses back on to see what I had typed.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:54
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:54
Don't get a headache Norm, I suffered for months with light headaches until we figured out it was eye strain, I didn't have any idea at all that my eyes were straining. I always wear glasses now, very happy.
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:34
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:34
can you make it go bigger...i still need glasses to read it
and before the smart asses pike up...no i am only blind in the left eye....at this stage
Follow Up By: Member - Kevin M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:47
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:47
Yeah and you cant see out of the other
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 02:03
Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 02:03
I did'nt know you were left handed LOLOL
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 09:03
Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 09:03
ha ha ha
Reply By: Luke SA - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:44
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:44
Great feature David, At first I thought it was something I had done to my computer but then scrolled down to see this post.
Now I can see properly now its back to how it used to be
Its good to see that your making improvements to the EO site, just the little things make a differance. btw i like the new look it looks good
Cheers Luke
Follow Up By: Member - Kevin M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:49
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:49
He's making the improvements cause he's getting paid more. Look at how many of us have joined in the past week or so. LOL
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:18
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:18
Excellent David. Thanks a million as even with glasses I squint at the screen. Now it has changed everything..Great Stuff.
Reply By: Dave198 - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:54
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:54
Thanks David,
I endorse all the previous comments, it's great.
Maybe the next step is in Braille for the ones who can't see at all.
Reply By: RayJen Paj05 - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:58
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:58
Me too David - good one. Cheers, Ray
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:51
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:51
Works very well with Opera browser David, thanks!
Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:58
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:58
Magnificent, David.
My sins as a teenage boy are now no hindrance to me.
Follow Up By: Member - Gomax (VIC) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:02
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:02
Gracias David.
Appreciate the subtle shading in OP box as well.
BTW works fine in Firefox 2.0
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:04
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:04
Love it ... wonderful ... except in this "Answer" box it is still big ... guess it encourages succinct responses ;-)
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:05
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 21:05
Just for the record, I wanted it "smaller" - and I don't have glasses ;-)
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:30
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:30
Andrew,
I have not completed the update yet and the entry boxes are one of the things yet to be looked at. In fact the
forum is about to be re-written completly in the new environment which will make a number of significant improvements. Glad you like these changes however give me a week or two and you will be even happier.....
Take care.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 22:37
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 22:37
Luv your work man - tis a thing of beauty.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 00:04
Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 00:04
Just tried it David and it works fine, Can throw the reading glasses away now.
Doug
Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:47
Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 01:47
Excellent David ...Luv it
Cheers .....Dave
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:51
Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:51
Good one David,
Works for me too.
Michael
Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 15:51
Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 15:51
Don't know what you guys are on. Take my glasses off still can't see a thing
Reply By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:48
Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:48
Well done david
Have you fixed the Photo loader ?
Keep Up The Good Work
BBB
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:33
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:33
BBB,
Still working on this it comes back and goes away. It is working right now. I will be writing a new image process this week and new
trader ad submission system.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:21
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:21
David,
Just noticed with the larger font sizes that the main column doesn't wrap the text nicely on the top two or so settings:
It doesn't seem to be on all topics, only some eg. Site Link
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:46
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:46
Andrew,
In the thread you pointed out the reason this occurs is due to the length of the URL that has not been converted to a Site Link due to an error in the URL. If people type long lines of stuff like ***************** or ----------------- or really long URL's that do not work correctly the system has no way of knowing about inserting a space in the long string and hence causes the browser not to wrap the lines correctly, so when you grow the font it makes it worse.
Thanks for the
feedback I will see if I can do something when I get into the
forum code update.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:11
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:11
sorry, i'm lost David :-)
I'm not referring to site links etc (i think i've worked out how to use them every now and then).......the text is physically cut off on the larger font sizes with some threads. For example, in the image i have shown above, has every line cut off by around 5-10 pixels (the words are cut in half/missing).
Nice addition in any case.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:16
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:16
No worries,
Scroller down the thread you link to above and have a look at Reply 5 - the link to the MRA site is the one that is causing wrapping problem.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:31
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:31
oh, that explains it.......that damn "Member - Crazy Dog" again
Reply By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:09
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:09
David,
a problem I have is not solved by the font size.
I like to keep a Favourites side bar open on the left, and although the rest of the window fills the screen (resolution 1024x768), with your "
search by topic" etc bar on the left of ExploreOz, then the message frame is too wide for the rest of the screen, so I always have a scrollbar across the bottom.
Is it possible for the ExploreOz window to know how wide the available Internet Explorer frame is and constrain itself to the available space and then wrap text in the message frame so it can all be seen?
Ken
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:35
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:35
Great question and the short answer is no. None of the browsers on the market support this feature (I wish they did). The answers to solve this one is to either run the screen at 1280x1024 say and then set the fav box to the size that makes the available window fit the 1024x768. Other than this I would need to put up a dialog and ask the question.
Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:48
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:48
mmmm. ok, I understand, David, thanks.
but...
could you put a "preferred screen resolution" in preferences, and pick it up from there?
Ken
(never satisfied with a good answer!)