I've finally given Butane the Tijuana Brass

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 10:49
ThreadID: 39145 Views:2816 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
On our last trip, we had cold mornings and evenings (not freezing) and the little butane stoves just wouldn't perform. Drove me mad constantly trying to warm the canisters.

I gave up and bought one of those simple single gas burners that screws directly onto the gas bottle. Leaves the butane for dead.

The butane works fine in the summer, but we do a lot of cool to cold weather trips; they just don't work for me.

Reply By: Redback - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:00

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:00
I am always bemused with everyone having trouble with the butane stoves in winter, i have had one of these since they were first releasted, mine is a Thunder Range and is one of the first to be released, way back, i think from memory (i have C.R.A.F.T.) late 80s early 90s and $39.95.

Anyway to my point we have never had this problem and we camp mostly in winter, i've even used it in Tassie in winter with no probs.

Maybe it comes down to were you store your stove and canisters.

Just my observation

AnswerID: 203021

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 00:19

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 00:19
Redback
You probably got the good name brand that was meant to last, I bet you a bottom dollar the ones giving trouble will be made in Bl#&*!@y China

FollowupID: 462686

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:12

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:12
Hi Jimbo

I've had the same problem with my K-Mart special canister stove when it gets down near freezing in the desert. Seems to ice up the valve or something. I also have a Coleman dual-fuel stove that I run on unleaded petrol - absolutely brilliant, and easy to get refills for it.

AnswerID: 203045

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 22:57

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 22:57
I use my butane stove for on the go stuff, but after purchasing the dual-fuel stove will never again try using the butane on cold mornings.
FollowupID: 462658

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:39

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:39
I bought one of the Coleman dual fuel stoves on special, payed about $70 3 years ago. Best peice of camping gear I have ever bought. I use a mix of Kero and petrol to run it, 1lt of fuel lasts about a week if I use it about 4-5 times a day (pretty much for all cooking and coffee and heating dishwashing water).
Looked at buying one after using my brother in laws 1940`s model I used to borrow (and is still going strong).
FollowupID: 462991

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 16:55

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 16:55
This is the physics behind it and I'll leave you to work out why it is so.

Butane boils at 0.5C

Propane boils at - 42C

Now THINK about it and it will all be clear.
AnswerID: 203058

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:56

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:56
Thanks Professor.

It won't work at 5C. Buggers your theory LOL.

Bilbo explains it below.
FollowupID: 462614

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:15

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:15
Haven't had the problem yet, so should sit quiet .
Is it possible that as the liquid at 5C expands, the cooling effect is significant? Or does the bloomin thing just not light up in the first instance, hence the impurities effect?
FollowupID: 462622

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:00

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:00
Sex after 50 is like playing pool with a piece of rope

Hmmm Lucy, maybe you need to see a therapist.....:-D
FollowupID: 462644

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:01

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:01
Or maybe its all the stress from owning a JEEEEEP...lol
FollowupID: 462645

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:02

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:02
"Sex after 50 is like playing pool with a piece of rope"

ROTFLMAO Classic!!!!
FollowupID: 462661

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:49

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:49
I see my therapist once a month every month courtesy of Veterans Affairs.

Prescribes me all sorts of pills.

Yes! I did take them today.
FollowupID: 462674

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:54

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:54
Yep! that JEEP is a constant worry.

Worry will it start

Worry will it keep going

Worry frantically when starting that one of the 26 dash lights on ignition will stay on. Man! thats the worst one.

And now, like a good AA or substance abuser, I can stand up and say - I have been 'dash light free for 8 weeks'

Suppose I have to say ROFLMAO, otherwise I would be in the corner crying, popping pills whilst SWMBO rings the therapist. (LOL)
FollowupID: 462678

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 00:27

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 00:27
Well Willem would know ....he F##^*$ S around with a 4x4 all the time.
See us old fella's like all these Gadgets , It helps to pass the time, Willem might be ok but I don't have a woman to play with so the next best thing is a 4x4 full of gadgets..... ..

Doug

FollowupID: 462687

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 01:25

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 01:25
Strewth, one day I'll decode this "follow-up/reply" procedure.
But just now I feel a need to summon Foreman Dusty, if I may?

. (Modurateur, if I may?)
(Sorry, cun spek Engrish, so leave off Javanese ok, eh)?

Dusty, sorry mate, but the Boy needs a wake up call. A bhight on the bhum should be enough. Thanks little fellah, you're not so bad.

DOUG. Did i detect a note of derision in a prior post? Ahh, you stroppy old farts. Leave Willem alone mate. He's ok. He was running tourists to the N of the 'Bridge Over The River s.alligator' at the time I was still taking breast upstream.

. and so the pieces gently come together. amazing.
Cheers eh, we're a long time dead. (And I promise to try hard not to rip it up 'The Modurateur' for deletion Monday last: indeed, I would have done the same). JH
FollowupID: 462691

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:06

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:06
Thank you Lucy - Ya just beat me to it.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 203062

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:21

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 17:21
Oh yeah, I forgot to add. Some of that "Made in China" butane is kerrrapp. It's not that well refined and contains some higher boiling point materials such as pentane or hexane. So the boiling point is even higher than it should be.

I've given up buying ciggie lighters other than genuine BIC brand exactly for this reason. I have a collection of those cheapy "Made in China" lighters that still appear to have "gas" in 'em but won't light.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 203066

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:26

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 18:26
Will never get rid of my two - they are brilliant as a design, in that they are so compact, easy to use and incredibly cheap !! (saw a one recently for $17 - in a hard case too - and they light every time ! We only use ours for light duty or as back up - the main gas cooking duty is carried out on the LPG stoves.
AnswerID: 203076

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:02

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:02
Stick the butane cans in the bottom of your sleeping bag overnight (protective lid on).

Another trick is to buy a small soidum acetate reusable warmer (used for bad backs etc, usually sold at fly-by-night operators in major shopping centers). Normally a liquid up until you click a little disc in the bag that triggers a chemical change of state to crystaline solid, releases enough heat to warm a tin of butane if left wrapped in it (stick them both in a sock). You need to heat some water for about 10-15 mins to put the bag into to change it back into a liquid (have used that water later to do dishes). The bigger bags make good bed warmers.
AnswerID: 203079

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:18

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 19:18
That's too funking hard Gary.
FollowupID: 462627

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:04
Yeah I turfed mine a while ago....to much hassle....good ole Kookaburra Gas stove and 2kg gasbottle does it for when we can't light a fire.
AnswerID: 203097

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 21:14
Hassel how? I recently bought one on Ben Spoons recomendation and retired my 2 burner coz it had a stuffed hose. My idea was to use it won the very rare occasion where a fire is impracticle (fishing and camping in the dunes) or for when a fire is too much hassel (eg road side stop late at night)
Havnt used it but it looks the goods for its intended purpose
FollowupID: 462648

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:14
Must admit I carry two and use them all the time. Got one of those plastic cretes
wich just hold the two plus the toaster.It fit's in a space in the back of the wagon.
We don't cook in the camper only boil water.
AnswerID: 203164

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:38
On the trip we did with Moggs and Crazie a month or so back we couldn't boil water on ours so immediatly bought one of those Chinese gas rings to connect to our normal gas bottles. It is the hottest gas stove we have, really teriffic for a wok, which I guess is what they are made for.

The ring is a two ring jobbie, that is good on low for low heat, and high for really cooking a wok. Has a 1 m hose to fit the gas cylinders we normally carry for Moses stove.
AnswerID: 203254

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 14:25

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 14:25
Yeah Jimbo. I was real excited when Caroline bought one recently but on that weekend away (when I first used it) a few weeks back it took 20min+ to fry an egg. Still handy though, don't regret having it but won't rely on it.
AnswerID: 203706