MagicWash Portable Clothes Washer

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:24
ThreadID: 39149 Views:9543 Replies:11 FollowUps:34
My wife is looking at buying this portable cloths washer to save us the expensive cost of the laundarymat machines. It looks like it might do the job but is made of plastic, unlike the old ones which were made of aluminum. I realise that they cannot do as good a job on big items , sheets etc as a machine does, but small items it may be the bees knees. Would appreciate hearing from persons who have used or heard about this washer.
To view -- www.ecoshop.com.au click on laundary

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:57

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 11:57
Bill, this thing will probably work well, but I reckon decisions like this have most to do with how much cr@p you are prepared to carry while travelling. This thing looks like a PITA to carry.

We carry two buckets. One is a strong plastic one that I put all our tent pegs ,ropes and a few other things in while travelling. The other is a folding bucket that takes up little space. So neither take up much packing space and are handy for other things as well (fetching water from creeks, keeping the Red Claw alive, etc).

We do hand washing in these and hang the stuff on a nylon rope I string between a couple of trees. This is fine for us for clothing. For bigger stuff like sheets, bath towels etc, we get to a coin laundry every couple of weeks.

We try to focus on essentials. Our 'luxuries' when travelling are around eating, drinking, sleeping and fishing. Washing is way down the list.

To ease the washing burden, can I be so bold as to suggest that you offer to do it occasionally. Funnily enough, we have fallen into the routine that I do most of the hand washing when on the road, and Kathryn does the machine washing at CPs etc when a machine is available.

My two bobs's worth anyway.

Norm C

AnswerID: 203019

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:04

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:04
I agree with Norm. My SWMBO likes to pack everything including the sink (actually she makes me pack it!!) and it is a PITA whenever we camp having to deal wit all the excess junk she brings. My philosophy is if it doesn't have at least 2 uses, you don't need it.

For example I bought her a Porta-Pottie a while ago, then I had to get a toilet cubicle to put it in. Now I have to pack 2 extra items, where before I already had the shovel, matches, toilet paper, and baby wipes packed. And when we camp, guess who has to unpack the loo? And empty it at the end of the trip?

Keep it simple I reckon, if you can LOL. BTW I do all the cooking when we are away from home, as i have found that it saves any arguments about what we need to pack for cooking. Gives my wife a break so she can enjoy the Porta-Pottie hahahahaha.

FollowupID: 462595

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:00

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:00
John I see SWMBO and PITA used alot but dont know what they stand for please let me know ?

BBB
FollowupID: 462720

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:06

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:06
Hi BBB

SWMBO = She Who Must Be Obeyed, taken from "Rumpole of the Bailey" this is how Rumpole referred to his wife

PITA = Pain In The As$

FollowupID: 462744

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:47

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:47
Thanks John
FollowupID: 462758

Follow Up By: Nick R - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:45
You need your family to have the porta-pottie rule, you use it, you empty it!!!
all my time camping i am yet to use it, I'm sure I will some time
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 462812

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:01

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:01
Was in ray's Outdoor the other day, they had some of these washers, sure they were aluminium. May pay to check with them before you buy a plastic one.
AnswerID: 203022

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:23

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:23
Hi Bill

I have a friend who has had one for 12+ years, she liked it. She was strictly your caravan camper type and not into roughing it. She had access to coin operated laundry just across from her site but she always used this unit. I haven't spoken to her in a while so I don't know if she still has or uses it.

Now if you want your laundry to be done whilst travelling then grab yourself one of those 10/20lt mayo buckets with a tight fitting lid. The morning before you travel off to your next destination or just a day drive put water, clothes and deterg (you will get used to knowing how much to put in), fasten on the lid (make sure it is on tight now otherwise your back will be full of sudsy water) and away you go. Washing is being washed as you bump and grind along. When you get back to camp simply rinse clothes in clean water, wring out and place on clothesline.

I also use Preen soap or Napisan for those clothes that need extra tending too or to keep the white's white.

Happy washing!

Cya
Muddies Other Half
AnswerID: 203025

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:27

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:27
Forgot to add, friends machine is the aluminum type = thinking more sturdy than plastic one

FollowupID: 462584

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:58

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:58
Hi Muddies' Other Half (or is that Other 98%? LOL)

I use the 20L bucket too. Just chuck in the clothes (Jocks n socks basically) with a few L of water and a pinch of laundry detergent. It sits on the trailer drawbar, and by the end of the day, all they need is a quick rinse and hang up.

FollowupID: 462594

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:41

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:41
Hi John

Just between you and me it's really 99.999999r% but don't tell Muddy. He thinks he is the better half....... :)

Now back to your prevoius reply futher up, me thinking here - can Muddy too do that......cook!!! Me thinks not, so looks like I will still do it........shrugs shoulders!

(Muddy will be interested in seeing your wonderful discription of the porta-pottie. He wants to get me one and I keep saying, no. Seriously maybe he wants one for himself but is trying to use reverse psycology on me = not falling for it!

Cya
M.O.H
FollowupID: 462602

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 07:20

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 07:20
Another cooking sucker here :)
FollowupID: 462697

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:22

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 12:22
Keep Up The Good Work........Brew!!!

FollowupID: 462746

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:45

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:45
Isnt cooking "womens work"

FollowupID: 462875

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:57

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:57
Hi All, I think Men should cook all the time as when women cook all they do is complain about what we have cooked :P:P:P:P.

Mrs Brew
FollowupID: 462886

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:27

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:27
Hi Bonz

LOL.....no, some men can cook really good and I applude them for their efforts.

Mrs Brew

Oh, that can be sooooooooooo true!!! (except Muddy, he appreciates everythng I do, it's so nice to hear compliments)

Cya
M.O.H.
FollowupID: 462889

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:31

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:31
I never complain Dawn, I just eat everything appreciatively

And MOH shouldnt that be M.B.H.?

FollowupID: 462890

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:47

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 12:47
mate they work a treat if you use HOT water and low sudsing detergent like BioZet which is also the most environmental laundry detergent available if dumping your suds in the bush.
AnswerID: 203029

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:24

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:24
Don't want to sound like a party pooper, but if you have crook wrists, like carpal tunnel, then really, nothing short of a little washing machine that spin drys will do the trick.

If your in the late 40's onwards then constant hand wringing on the road may actually create carpal tunnel problems.

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 203035

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:42

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 13:42
I saw something similar in a camping shop a couple of years ago; was $79 i think then. I don't know if it was plastic or aluminium. I thought it not worth it compared to my two $5 buckets. The trouble is the Bushtracker gives the clothes too smooth a ride - freshens them up but any really dirty marks have to wait for a Laundromat. They would do better on the back of the Ute - but we don't tow with the Ute.

When on the road, we put our clothes in the bucket after our shower, let them wash during the morning and rinse during the afternoon. I am happy to climb trees and string the washing out, but when in Tasmania, bought a simple fold up clothes airer which could come in overnight and go outside again in the morning when the night air was damp. Also could hide it behind the caravan which was less unsightly than washing flapping in the the trees by the roadside. Anything big, towels, sheets as well as anything needing an extra wash get done when we go to a caravan park or Laundromat.

I would love something simple for spinning or pressing out the excess water, as my hands and wrists don't take kindly to wringing washing these days. I don't want to carry an old fashioned wringer like my grandparents used to use in the laundry.

AnswerID: 203037

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:08

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:08
Hi Motherhen

Try putting the clothes in a canvas bag and running one wheel of the 4WD onto it. Works a treat! Gotta be a good quality bag though - I use an old mail bag.

FollowupID: 462597

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:13

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:13
Hi John - now that is something i hadn't thought off. But wouldn't you pick up more dirt on the wet bag and have even more to wash?

FollowupID: 462598

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:18

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:18
That's what I thought until I tried it. The dirt only gets on the outside of the bag. You shake off the worst of it, and hang it up to dry, then shake off the rest. BTW my bag doubles as a ground sheet for lying on under the car when I'm doing my morning checks of the vehicle - in keeping with my 2-or-more-uses philosophy.

FollowupID: 462599

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:19

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:19
Better than carping on about my carpal tunnels hahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 462600

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:46

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:46
Our friends had a Bushtracker and Al fitted a washing machine into the front beside the shower. No problems then

FollowupID: 462876

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 13:17

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 13:17
Hi Bonz - the Bushtracker we had here a couple of weeks ago had a washing machine built in, with microwave oven, dvd player, and all the other toys. I still like to think I'm camping!

FollowupID: 462912

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:39

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:39
We use the old tub on the drawbar trick. We use those 20l drums used for canoeing with a screw on lid with a very large opening. They are easily available at camping stores.

In Fact I have two set up. while one is washing the other is collecting discarded clothes. Finding water to wash with doesn't seem a problem and in the outback, the clothes dry overnight when hung out due to the very dry air.
AnswerID: 203046

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:47

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:47
Hi Alan

That sounds an even better idea - lids are screwed rather than pressed on.

Cya
M.O.H
FollowupID: 462604

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 16:46

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 16:46
Doh!

Done like a black chook - again.

SWMBO decides at the recent Melb 4WD show that she just has to HAVE one of the 20L fancy plastic buckets with a hand agitator in it (Plus blue written instructions all over the outside) which if you purchased right now! you also get a 'free' elastic type clothes line.

Yep! out came the good old plastic fantastic and $50 later we now own a a plastic 20 litre bucket with a lid on it.

Been thinking what am I going to do with this mother of a bucket.

Thank you all for abovementioned idea/s- its the draw ba,r big time, for that sucker .

Yeah! Yeah baby 'Moses' laugh your boobs off, but if you have a 'permanent sleeping partner' (PSP) then look out mate, cause it will be your turn big time one day.

I've had my PSP now for 350 years and gave up trying to figure her out, let alone do something about it, years and years ago.

Oooops! did I say 350 yrs - just seems like it - really 35yrs.

Anyway we are going to have the best looking plastic bucket out there - riding like a princess on the drawbar.
AnswerID: 203055

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:06

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:06
Yes I have one of those plastic buckets, agitator,pegless clothes line, bio zet, colour fastner, got for father's day a few years back, the no pegs line is great for hanging the worm bait on, bucket for the worms, bio zed to wash my fishy hands and I can't think of a use for the colour fastener. Washing gets done by a lemair now there was no way I was rinsing by hand any more, my hand is for holding a stubbie now
Wazzaaaaa
FollowupID: 462634

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:16

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:16
Yeah! go ahead and rub it in. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 462636

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:23

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:23
At least you bought it I got mine for father's day, I'm 46 can't wait to play pool at 50 is it better with rope?
Wazzaaaaa
FollowupID: 462638

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:53

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:53
Ms Lucy, 360 years coming up here mate. You better watch out or the copywrite police will be after you for PSP as I had heard it was a Sony ™
FollowupID: 462642

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:57

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 20:57
I thought there was some interest at that 12v stand though too to fix that rope of yours Lucy. Had a stripey top on for Sunday, thats why you went there obviously having missed the Waeco girls.
FollowupID: 462643

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:46

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:46
Shoosh! about my 'rope'
FollowupID: 462672

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:21

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:21
Have knotted cord about you could use as a self starter mate. Well it works on Victa mowers and our Briggs generator.
FollowupID: 462723

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:36

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 13:36
Not if it doubles as a 'Moses starter' (ROFLMAO x 4)
FollowupID: 462755

Follow Up By: Nick R - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:56
hey lucy,
can't match your 350 years, how about 100, that's the best I can do so far.

I think I will do the canoe barrel thing although the stainless bucket we take now could have 2 more uses, wasing machine (I don't think I need instructions) & shower bucket. To date it has been a 25 litre billy then today a mate showed me one of those little pumps you drop in water, plug it into 12v and turn on your shower. and only about 25 bucks at george taylors in warrnambool. stuff that solar POS.
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 462818

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:21

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:21
I think I am stuck with it as a landry bucket for the time being until I can think of something for it to double up as.

Maybe drain the oil into it, however I think that would be asking for a 'Mrs Bobbitt' type remodeling.
FollowupID: 462851

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:29
Why worry about an old rope?
FollowupID: 462853

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:49

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:49
25 wonderful years here and no rope or plastic bucket

FollowupID: 462877

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:19

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:19
Well BONZ!

Why push your luck, give it up whilst you are ahead.

Then again, maybe you have and thats why there is no rope and bucket and you drive a Nissan.

FollowupID: 462888

Reply By: Bill13 - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:36

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 09:36
Thanks to all that replied. I think most of you have led me in the direction of what we can make do with, without overloading our van with items that we can do without. We are still at the bottom of the 'J' curve with this caravan business as we have only had 2 small trips in it so are still learning. A 20L bucket with a screw on lid is worth a go as it can be put to other use when needed. No doubt we will discard other rarely used items further along the track. It's good to know of others out there who are willing to help. Hopefully we will meet some of you on our new venture.
AnswerID: 203142

Reply By: Member - John W (ACT) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:29

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 18:29
We carry an accessory for the 10 litre bucket that assists washing when stationary, or when at places (like eg Adel's Grove) that has tubs but no washing machines. It is a plunger made from a sturdy kitchen funnel mounted on a strong piece of dowel for a handle. The funnel has a couple of holes cut in it to let the water circulate. A plumbers sink unblocker gizzmo would work in the same way.
When SHMBO plunges it up and down in the washing/rinsing water the clothes circulate like they do in a "real" washing machine and end up nice and clean for minimal effort.
Still some refining to do on the spin cycle tho'.

John W

AnswerID: 203198

Reply By: SKI'er - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:07

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:07
Hi Bill,

Just about to be getting into caravaning. In fact we pick up our first baby tomorrow. For the last few weeks we have been garage saleing to pick up the necessary things to stock the c'van and we bought a "Wash Bucket" for $10.

The seller told me it had cost him $80 at some caravan show and had been used once by him which maybe speaks volumes for the product. I gave it a try at home at probably the last of the places in Oz without water restrictions and where the dams are full. It worked OK but required several rinse loads of water to get the suds completely out. or maybe we use less powder next time

The design is fairly simple - a 20 litre bucket, lid with a hole in it to allow easy of emtying, a plunger (like the lid top with the its click sides cut off) attacked to a long handle and a 3 veined agitator at its bottom. All looks very simple to duplicate. Get back if you need a picture sent.

Read with interest the 2o litre bucket on the draw arm.. we have an ingenious lot out there. I have lots to learn. But...If the item becomes a didn't need to have thing I will have a good fisking bucket with a hole in the lid to pop the live bait through.

SKI'er
AnswerID: 203329