100 series td Vs prado td

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 16:28
ThreadID: 39174 Views:13004 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
I currently own an 90 ser td prado, I was set on on buying a new prado with the updated diesel when it becomes available, but am now considering a td 100 series. I originally bought the prado because it was better off the mark and better for overtaking etc. than the diesel(non-tuurbo) 80 series that we had. How does the 100 series td compare in regards to this compared to the current prado td. I have been told that the 100 gets better fuel consumption as well, is this true.
Thanks Darren

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 17:38

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 17:38
Been thinking along the same lines myself (auto) - not owned either (currently a Jack).If I went with the 100, it would probably be a used 05 - seems the 100 is attractive because it has plenty of base power, enough fuel capacity, plenty of room, tough enough for everything bar rock crawling, and a good ride on those corrugated roads (compared to many). The Prado ? Cheaper, more fuel, but that might be it. Will be watching this post...................
AnswerID: 203192

Reply By: png62 - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:56

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 19:56
Have owned a Forerunner diesel, upgraded to petrol Prado and now in LC100 Diesel manual with aftermarket turbo on 9.5lbs boost (quite conservative)...........might not get away from the lights quickly but WOW - torque is wonderful......can just about cruise anywhere in 5th gear. 90klms /hr is far more economical with my 33" Coopers than 100k's is but here in Tassie where a 200 kilometre trip at 90 k's versus a 200 klm trip at 100 k's - well the time difference is irreleveant. Don't mock the 90klm's/hr either because I still get to do my fair share of overtaking on the rural highways.
LC100 - ENJOY
JE
AnswerID: 203223

Follow Up By: djrziggy - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:13

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 22:13
we will be in tassie in a few weeks and cant wait to get back there again, where abouts in tassie are you based, we will be staying in scamander on the east coast with family
Darren
FollowupID: 462847

Reply By: blackmax11 - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:00

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:00
I moved from a Landrover TD5 to a 2003 model LANDCRUISER 100 t/diesel. No regrets, the L/C pulls my 25' Jayco with no problems, is great off road and gets around 14litres per 100 klms around town, 12 L/100 Klms on a trip and 19 to 20 L/100 Klms towing the van.
I fitted a DP Chip recently and the performance over all is better. Towing is aursome.
Great vehicle, love it.
KEN
AnswerID: 203225

Reply By: Davo_60 - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:07

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:07
We have a Prado TD and 100 Series TD at work and the 100 series makes the Prado seem very slow. Both are Autos but the 100's 5 speed is very sweet. The 100 uses 14-16L/100k but it is driven hard, i'm sure a light foot would improve this. The 100 TD has heaps of grunt but is a little soft down low, may a chip would fix this. I'm not normally a big fan of petrols but I reckon the V8 cruiser is the best of the lot if someone else was paying for the fuel, just sooo smooth.
AnswerID: 203226

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:02

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 21:02
I have the current prado TD and it is satisfactory.
The fuel figures aren't as good as I expect but what can you do. I stepped up from an after market turbo 80 series and the low down torque is great. It cruises ok and does the job for me.
The decision was the TD cruiser was 20 grand more than the Prado so that made my mind up for me.
I will be going back to a cruiser at the end of the lease if not earlier.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 203241

Reply By: AJs Prado - Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 23:23

Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 23:23
Aside from the price difference there' heaps more after mkt options for the 100 than 120. eg wheel carriers and the like.
AnswerID: 203269

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:29

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:29
That's the good thing about the 120 though - doesn't need bigger tanks, doesn't need the wheel moved onto the back - that saves close on $5000 and a stack of extra weight.. If it wasn't for having three kids across the back seat, I would have had a 120 over the 100.
FollowupID: 463237

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 07:41

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 07:41
djrziggy,
depends on what you want. A mate (sorry an associate) has jsut brought the latest Prado and the thing I don't like about it is the, what I would call, the severe lack of room. He has a small seat in the back which leaves about enough room for an esky, samll esky at that. Other that that beautiful wagon but for me, the wifey and three kids, no choice to be made.
AnswerID: 203285

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:17

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:17
The space in a 120 Prado is quite decieving. When measured against an 80 series they are only approx 10mm narrower between the wheel arches, 20mm shorter in the rear & 15mm taller in the door & most would say the 80 was plenty big enough for a family of five. I suspect the size differance between the 120 & the Patrol would be similar as well. Of course the 100 has far more shoulder & leg room but then again as they are the widest 4by the paintwork cops a hiding on the tracks.
With the udated diesel in the Playdoe I suspect the TD 100 will having trouble keeping up with the much lighter sibling.
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 463006

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:34

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:34
Craig, I measured the difference from the 90 to the 120 to the 100. 120 is eight cm wider than a 90 across the back seat, and the 100 is eight cm wider again. The thing I didn't like about the 120 was that the back seat was actually 4cm closer to the ground than either the 90 or the 100.

All that aside though, I did like the nimbleness of the 90 around town and following the tracks you clear in your 100 ;-)
FollowupID: 463238

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:01

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 10:01
Yes, the 100 series Lancruider diesel is supposed to be slightly more fuel economical than the (old) 120 Prado. Probably is. We have had our 120 TD auto at last fill for 21069km 90% of that was towing our 19 ft. tandem caravan. We use Heathers' car when in the city. Our average fuel consumption for that period is 14.98 litres/100km. I keep detailed records. We cruise at about 90 kph.
Did you know that the weight carrying capacity of the Prado is greater than that of the Cruiser? What it can carry when out bush and not towing anything. The difference between the Tare and GVM. Cruiser 2325 and 3180 = can carry 855kg. Prado 1980 and 2900 = can carry 920kg.
The Prado overall length is 4850mm and the Cruiser 4890mm. As the rear tray in the Cruiser seems greater, I haven't actually measured them, it is unlikely that the rear seat back to front seat back distance in the Cruiser is also much greater than the Prado, if at all. In any event it would only be a matter of a few mm either way.
AnswerID: 203305

Follow Up By: png62 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:21

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:21
G'day again djrziggy,
I'm in Pontville (near Brighton) in the northern outskirts of Hobart. If you want to visit some of the "lesser known" 4wding spots and you are around Hobart - send me an email directly at - jet39178@bigpond.net.au
John Ettles
FollowupID: 462980

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:35

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:35
Arkay,
thats quite interesting. To look at the two side by side, without a measuring stick, one would say, or at least I would, the 100 series is huge compared to the Prado. You've got me curious now....out with the tape:-)

Toytruck
FollowupID: 463075

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:45

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:45
take those stated tare weights with a grain of salt for instance my 80 series lightly loaded comes in at over 2900kg. by the time you even lightly accesarize a vehicle you have lopped a big chunk out of its carrying capacity
FollowupID: 463076

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:06

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:06
Davoe,
toooooo true. I built my 60 series some years back and went ballistic fitting almost every thing I could find.............in hindsight bloody great vehicle and still own her but have no intention of going to the same extreem on the 100. I reckon there is a nice balance in there somewhere.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 463079