Cost of Living

Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 17:40
ThreadID: 39193 Views:3580 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
We're about to enter the world of the grey nomads. Has anybody any comment on what it costs to be on the road for a long time - i.e. in annual terms?

Reply By: djrziggy - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:08

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:08
Good luck to you wanderer, as for an annual figure not real sure, best way would be to work average km's you tend to travel in a week, try and stay at free camp sites as much as possible and buy your food in bulk in the big towns so your not buying at caravan park prices.
Darren
AnswerID: 203374

Follow Up By: Wanderer - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:15

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:15
Thanks, djrziggy, I suppose I'm asking existing nomads what they are spending on average. A hard question, but most people know their limits.
FollowupID: 462956

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:09

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:09
Haven't done the full lap yet, but look at your lifestyle and expectations.

Will you have a home to up keep as well? If so, you may have a lot of "double up" costs. If you have sold your home to travel, look at how much it cost you to live at home, and add a margin for remote location.

Food will cost you more - can't bulk buy for economy, and in many places groceries will be dearer than at home.

Will you be free camping for much of the time, or paying for camp sites?

What extra excursions will you pay for? Flights? Fishing charters? If you are only going to be there once in a lifetime, and let's face it, it has cost you a lot to set up your rig and get there, allow for some expenses like these. Also allow for some souvenirs and mementos of your travels.

Cost of photography is essential to me - i want to be able to re-live the wonderful trips for the rest of my life. A good digital camera with lots of memory makes this easier and cheaper.

Cost of communication: Do you have family who will want you to report home regularly? Do you have aging parents who may need extra contact when you are away? Will you need to allow for the cost of a flight home if necessary (as well as storage of your rig)?

Look at kilometres travelled and bear in mind cost of travel. Fuel (you will use more towing) can be expensive in outback places. Do factor in higher than usual replacement of tyres, and look at the maintenance and repair costs of long distance travel (something is bound to need repairing, and it may be a high cost because of location).

I hope this helps you plan a wonderful and carefree lifestyle. I wish it was me.

AnswerID: 203376

Follow Up By: Wanderer - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:18

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:18
Great info Motherhen, we have thought about a lot of what you said, and have done short trips to get a taste. We're trying to get a global figure so we can tell the super people something sensible!
FollowupID: 462959

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:20
Wanderer, i meant to add:

Our three months away, including Tasmania, cost us $5,000 per month all up.

Fuel was reasonable in Tassie, as was cost of food and vehicle running costs. This included cost of ferry to and from Tasmania, and the normally above our budget cruise on the Gordon River, and train ride from Queenstown.

We replaced 2 tyres, and had vehicle serviced on normal schedule. No mechanical breakdowns; main breakage was tow bar, and we got someone to weld it up well and truly reinforced to get us home for around $200. Other minor welding jobs which we would have done ourselves if home around $200 - part of these could be considered set up costs, part fixing a jack that broke. We have since replaced the tow bar with a new Hayman Reece, plus replacing shockies in Patrol at all up cost over $800 (not included in cost of trip).

We cook for ourselves, eat simply, and free camp much of the time.

FollowupID: 462962

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:29

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:29
motherhen...$5k per month? or was that for three months?
FollowupID: 462966

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:34

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:34
Hi Ole Blue Eyes

$15,000 for three months, 18,000 kms.

FollowupID: 462968

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:38

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:38
f,f,f,f,f,f,flipping hell
i'm staying home....with swmbo
FollowupID: 462970

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:44

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:44
Wanderer, my boss once said "I ask you a question, and get 7 different answers".

Hence my answer as list of questions and variables for you to make up your own answer, rather than saying "it should cost you $50g" and have you running differently to us and run out of $s half way round the lap.

Nudie - it was worth every dollar spent - we had the holiday of a lifetime, put everything on the credit card, and did not think about the cost until we got home. Too stressful to count the cents when you are travelling - enough of that at home.

FollowupID: 462972

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:56

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:56
I'm with member 1 -

Motherhen, if you "cook for ourselves, eat simply, and free camp much of the time"
and "the .. cruise on the Gordon River, and train ride from Queenstown" are "normally above our budget", how the heck can you spend $15000 on a 3 month Tassie holiday?

I grew up in Tassie, and my mum still lives there, and she lives the whole year on $15000 or less.

If you spent half of that on petrol, you could drive around the island 100 times and still have change...

My recent 2 month cape york trip from Melbourne cost far less than that, about $4000 including fuel, food, and camping fees every night.

FollowupID: 462985

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:23

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:23
Gerhardp1 - that is why i started answering the question with a list of questions, to let Wanderer fill in the squares their way. We needed a stress free time - just put it on card and pay it each month - that was the end result. I haven't looked at it since, or tried to split car maintenance, entrance fees, food, souvenirs etc. It included 7 weeks in Tasmania, 2 weeks touring on the way to Melbourne and 4 weeks coming back via the northern Flinders and inland SA. It included some set up costs (re view camera, television, 2 spare tyres for caravan), diesel around $4,700, Spirit $1,284 one day and one night crossing, train from Q-town $222, cruise $183, servicing and repairs vehicle roughly $1,100, cost of phone and communication, photography (cost of computer access to burn to cd only) - gee the big man must have eaten a lot!

FollowupID: 462988

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:59

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:59
Geeeeez Motherhen, after reading that lot I think we may stay home, LOL, it sounds like it would be cheaper to stay home and go to the Hyatt every night for dinner. We spent three weeks at Shark Bay, Coral Bay and Karajini a couple of months ago and we spent one night in a free camp and it did not cost us anywhere near that amount, and in that we had to replace a radiator in the Patrol while we were at Coral Bay.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 463020

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:55

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:55
Ah but it was worth it. With so much more of Australia yet to see, Tassie was a once in a lifetime trip. And i had to keep the "bus driver" happy and well fed. Sure with the cost setting up a good caravan and a good (well er um 3 ltr) Patrol, we could stay in hotels and dine in style, but we would hate that, and we want to go places where there aren't hotels or crowds.

Just watched "The Great Outdoors" and want to see our wonderful North even more than ever; it has been a lifelong ambition.

I wouldn't like to plan a year or so doing the big lap without having around $50,000 in reserve. With so much to see, we are constantly on the move when we travel, rarely spending more than one day in each place.

Happy wandering

FollowupID: 463035

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:10

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:10
Hi again Motherhen, yes I know what you mean, it would not be much fun if you had to miss half of what there was to see. When I was reading your reply I couldn't stop laughing for the fact that I had never thought of it quite like that, when we want to hook up and go we just do it, I understand that some of the cost was you setting up your rig as well, ours has most things on it, (although the reversing cameras are next) taking those costs out you would cut down the $15000.

BTW how much did it cost you to take your Patrol and van accross to Tassie and is there only the one ferry you can use? (We are in the wonderful West and don't know much about the Eastern Seaboard at this point)

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 463037

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:30

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:30
Hi Dunworkin

Check prices on the Spirit of Tasmania website - spiritoftasmania.com.au

Price depends on overall length of your rig and time of the year. We went over by day, and returned on a night crossing (day crossings seem to be only in summer and peak periods). Specials vary from time to time. $1,284 all up both ways. Porthole cabin; very nice.

Stayed at Ashley Gardens CP in Melbourne the night before - rather for two nights. The most expensive CP we've ever stayed at, but good, and ideal for catching ferry which is most of their trade; they tell you how to get there and what time to leave etc. I'd planned getting to Melbourne on a weekend to avoid peak traffic for the Sunday crossing, but then we had to get there on the Friday to pick up a battery as one of the three sent over to us didn't make it. On the way back we got off the ferry and drove, stopping for a roadside breakfast as soon as we got away from the city. We don't like cities.

Looking at my overall costs, it was probably roughly one third fuel, one third set up (including the new tyres and new batteries), and one third everything else.

Rear view camera was invaluable, particularly on narrow winding roads in Tassie. As we did it ourselves, there was a lot of trial and error and learning before we perfected it when we got to Tassie. My husband has to have toys to play with along the way, and somehow i have to help him. It takes a lot to keep the 'bus driver' happy.

FollowupID: 463040

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 13:53

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 13:53
Gerhardp1; your trip Melbourne to Cape York was probably similar distance to our trip WA to Melbourne, or a bit less, although with 2 months, no doubt you did a extra kms touring. Spent 2 weeks coming across, including touring. Looking at it just the one way - fuel around $900, groceries and incidental shopping $100, entrances fees and camp fees $25.

Fuel would have been more on the return leg; 4 weeks, including touring the Fleurieu Peninsular, going up through the northern Flinders - Gammon - Arkaroola, inland to Marree, then sort of southish back to the Eyre Hwy at Wirulla. Fabulous inland trip.

Next trip set up shouldn't be so much, gradually getting what we want (if my husband doesn't see any more "toys" he can make or add - like Willem's laptop computer mapping system and MP3 player). Lucky i don't let him read ExplorOz too often or he'd get all sorts or ideas. Except we do need to replace the caravan fridge - it didn't last the distance on a 250 km corrugated road when the 'bus driver' didn't let the tyres down (Grrr).

FollowupID: 463101

Reply By: On Patrol - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:25

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:25
Wanderer
You are 3 months to early with your question.

My sister is setting up a site for Just that. She hopes to be up and running about xmas or early next year. She would love to chat directly to you or any one else on E-mail: novation123@hotmail.com
On Patrol.
AnswerID: 203377

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:43

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:43
Fuel is the killer. If you intend to travel great distances every day, may dollars will be spent!

If you do the tourist things, entry fees etc. another big cost.

If you eat out at restaurants and takeaways. Phew!

If you stay at bed and breakfasts and swank hotels.... rich people only.

I however you prop at a nice spot for a week or few days at a time, eat from the supermarket and enjoy mooching around, poking your head into interesting spots and meeting locals, then not much more cost than living at home!

In fact, you might find it cheaper!
AnswerID: 203381

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:11

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 19:11
just recently we had a list done of all the expences we anticipate for long term travel. Reason was to identify the target for the super/pension (monthly) ... we compared it with our "normal" travel costs .. house and fixed costs for house not included ... but
all else .eg. Private Health Insurance, Fully comprehensive car/boat, Life insurance (my wife insists :)) .. 25.000 km/year fuel allowance, 150 hours a year fuel allowance for the boat .. Median price of 25$ for campgrounds at 50% of the time, Maintenance and Repair cost for vehicle, camper, boat, Internet connection, Phone, Food etc ... We average around $5000 a month ... this does not include major entertainment sprees but does include scuba fill ups etc .. Photography does not cost me anything .. computers, cameras and lenses are paid for .. (I have a repair position in the budget though) ... To be comfortable we would want a safety net of 1K/ month. We are planning on $6K a month (today) for long term travel ... and we do not plan to eat into the capital ...
Add all the little stuff (club fees,VKS737,subscriptions etc .. it all adds up ) ..
We know a couple (they did house sitting for us) they have been travelling on less than half with a lot of house sitting (can be a good thing). I could live with quite a bit less without the boat .. and it really depends how far you drive ..
good luck
gmd

AnswerID: 203387

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:16

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:16
I suppose it all depends if your a rich grey nomads or a poor one? (which I will be, poor I mean haha) We reckon we spend less money when we go away then we do sitting at home, have not worked that out yet.
All the best in your travels Wanderer we still got 6 years to go.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 203397

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:56

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:56
Hey guy's - check out Peter and Sandy's web page. I met them a few years back up in Babinda and they have been travelling for years.

I am sure thay can assist.

Here Tis....

www.users.bigpond.com/Peter.Burns/

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 203403

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:57

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:57
They --- T-H-E-Y - They....

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 462996

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:26

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:26
Thank goodness we did the "On the Wallaby" bit in the mid 90's when fuel was 65cents/litre and our food bill was $50 a week. We lived well and travelled for 5 years(260,000km) on $20,000 a year.

This past year we did a 56 day stint into the Western Deserts with one night in a motel and five nights in Caravan Parks and 50 nights or thereabouts free camping.
We managed this all on the pension. All up cost was $3000 for the trip.

You can still have fun without spending heaps of money despite the high fuel costs.

AnswerID: 203411

Follow Up By: Wanderer - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:07

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:07
Thanks Willem,
We're looking for similar experiences, probably much less regular mileage - 20-25,000 pa, and looking to survive on about $30,000. Possible?
FollowupID: 463022

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:50

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:50
Hi Wanderer

Your biggest expense of course is fuel. If you are sitting still somewhere, throwing a line in the river for a feed or just taking it easy the expenses are normally less than at home.

Our annual home living All Up expenses including maintaining 2 vehicles and fuel(20,000km) works out at $50 day.The food equation in that you take with you on the road. Some of the fuel costs(running around) you can take with you as well.

If you are keeping the house then it will be an expensive exercise unless you can rent the house out for your time away. If you are selling up I reckon you can live well for $50day sitting still and $150day driving. If you average out your driving to 2 days a week or 100days per year...this will cost you $15,000. Sitting still(and being frugal) at 265 days will cost you $13250.....and that brings yoiu pretty close to your target.

Hope it all works out well for you.

Enjoy

FollowupID: 463033

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:04

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:04
My experience is similar to Motherhen. On our recent Kimberly plus (16 weeks), trip we spent about $1,000 per week. Biggest expense was fuel.

Leave out fuel ($330 per week av on our trip) and 'tourist stuff' ($120 a week av on our trip) and you live much cheaper on the road than at home.

Grog was (embarringly) also a big expense for us ($140 per week av). But we don't smoke.

Those 3 items account for over half our expenses. You can do the numbers based on distance travelled, drinking and smoking habits etc. You can live very cheaply if you want (or have to), but a big part of the reason for travelling is to see the country and enjoy life. That has a cost.

AnswerID: 203427

Reply By: Member - John W (ACT) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:18
In the past six months we have spent 2 months travelling through central Oz and north Qld - travelled 10,000km using ULP and spent about 20 nights in either caravan parks or national parks. The rest of the time we bush camped. No mechanical problems. All up cost of $4,000, of which more than half was fuel. We ate (and drank) well without going overboard - self catering.

More recently we spent 3 weeks travelling in Victoria - all up cost of $1200, about half being for fuel. Same travelling arrangements, although van parks were more expensive there, and less avoidable.

But on top of this there are the ongoing costs that apply if you were at home - insurance, vehicle rego, rates and so on, as well as the set up costs for your rig, and maintenance.

John W.

AnswerID: 203434

Reply By: Member - Ken J (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:52

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:52
Hi Wanderer,

If u choose to send me your email thingo will forward a basic cost work out to u

Regards Ken J Qld

plasdel2 @ bigpond.net.au
AnswerID: 203488