Honda/Yamaha generators and reliability

Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:09
ThreadID: 39204 Views:13968 Replies:13 FollowUps:21
We have just had a report on this forum of a Kipor generator failing after about 15 months of light use, we frequently receive reports of GMC and similar cheap generators failing after little use (not too surprising) but we rarely seem to receive reports of the “Top Quality” generators failing. Perhaps this is because they never do… or, perhaps, it is because the owners of same don’t wish to report failures or, maybe, Honda/Yamaha fix issues so readily no one is concerned? It would be interesting to get more feedback be it good or bad…?

Maybe Kipor owners could chip in too?

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:20

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:20
yeh good one Mike.

See my post to recent Kipor situ and check my old post.

Sure would like to hear 'bout the H in particular as I am about to lay down the loot for a 2kva.....

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 203409

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 09:24
Morning Crazy D,

Just purchased the 2kva Honda......after much, much, much deliberation and comparison.

Very happy, one of the easiest gennies I have ever used.

Post sale was v good too...$200.oo cash back from Honda helped heaps and was painless to obtain.

.......personal choice again I reckon, bit like tyres n fridges n batteries n cars n driving lights n women n dogs......dah dah dah.......lol lol

In most things I reckon you get what you pay for.......'cept women;)))))))

Michael
FollowupID: 463062

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:23

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:23
I was going to buy a Kipor 1000 watt gennie, and have have been watching ebay but now all the 1000w and 2000w are gone...nowhere to be seen.

As a side note.... a mate of mine has the GMC 850w jobbie and fried the power pack in his Jayco camper last month. He went out and bought one of the Scorpions from Repco for $299.00. Supposedly "sine wave" but got it home and checked with his multi meter, it runs at 270 volts at start up and then sits on 260 volts???? what the?
AnswerID: 203410

Reply By: Bill13 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:48

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:48
I'm afraid it comes down to the old saying, " You get what you paid for"
I own a 2 kva Honda, have for 3 years and don't regret paying the extra $ for it, BUT, I was so close to buying a Kipor, so glad I didn't
AnswerID: 203418

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:01

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:01
Just shelled out 1400 smackers for a Honda EU10i and I would say the reputation and reliability were MAJOR factors affecting my purchase decision. I also noted this in the customer survey that arrived from Honda head office a week after the purchase.

The 4 year warranty on the Honda was also a big influence in choosing it over the Yamaha which was marginally cheaper and also has an excellent reputation. I also found the Honda to be a cleaner and simpler design to look at and easier to operate.

It was that very lack of negative feedback that Mike mentions that initially narrowed the choice to the big two as opposed to stuffingaround and "taking thy chances" with the cheaper offerings.

AnswerID: 203423

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:18
Mr Doe failed to mention that I fried his battery charger whilst on KI with my
GMC 850.

Now I would emphasie highly that GMC's don't really fail in the sense of the word, they just have a habit of 'fying' electronics that like/need a fine/delicate source of electric current.

Put a good old drill, angle grinder etc on them and they relish the 'challenge'

Having said all that, I must admit that the aforementioned GMC actually fried two battery chargers, no 1 being onl cause for suspicion with Mr Does being the catalyst for a change.

So I bought a Honda 2.0i at the recent Melb 4WD show after having a chat to a guy there that works at the OBC with BONZ, and I. His full time job is with Engel (of all things).

Anyway, after talking to him, I dismissed the first choice of an extremely cheap Kipor 2.0 and just went off to the Honda stand and had 'in depth' discussions with them and when everything was to how I liked it - bought the sucker.

Apart from super excellent price - it came with a five year guarantee.

So far so good, had it driving a micro-wave for a test run when I got it home.

Didn't even get a sweat up and that 'eco' setting is just ace.
AnswerID: 203435

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:41

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:41
Hey mate, does it fit in your draw-bar box okay?
FollowupID: 463014

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:30

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:30
Yeth Sir!

Only marginally bigger than your Yamaha, and can fit a 5L plastic fuel container in along side of it

Weighs 21Kg (from memory).

FollowupID: 463041

Follow Up By: Member - Steven H (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:46

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:46
Lucy, can i ask what a super price is as i am going to the Batemans Bay show this weekend and it would be nice to know whats a genuine show price and whats a croc.
FollowupID: 463169

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:27

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:27
Steven

Check your member Messages
FollowupID: 463236

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:10

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:10
hey lucy, well you know the engel connection dont you ?

sawafuji who make the engel fridges also make the electrical component of the honda gennies. Quality baby ..quality :-))

BTW - go the honda gennie every time, the 2kva is the only unit able to run van aircons etc because it has a "burst" capability, around 3.2 kva from memory, allows it to handle the start current of a/c units etc. Then run at 2kva all day.

Unlike a certain yellow unit which cant actually produce 2kva.. ( not to mention the pallets full of dead ones i have seen)
FollowupID: 463501

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:40

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:40
Bradley

Thats exactly what the Engel dude told me. I couldn't remember all the spedifics you just mentioned, but thats it in a nutshell.

'Thing of beauty' as BONZ would say.

Sawafuji eh! who would of guessed that one. (LOL)
FollowupID: 463503

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 07:10

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 07:10
The 'burst' capability will allow it to run other things, like when Bonz allowed the Terang switchbox to burn just recently, mine could run a 2200 watt kettle on 'Ecothrottle'. Was amazed at the capability of the 20i

Whats more fits in my grawbar box with a 5 litre of petrol too! Perhaps you better get the connection between to Ms Lucy
FollowupID: 463508

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:43

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:43
Moses

A tandem patch lead with yours and mine would really be a 'thing of beauty' in the camp site.

Actually, it might even keep Terang going in times of 'hardship'.
FollowupID: 463565

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:42

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:42
ahh, well let's not stretch things too much mate....... Perhaps we better work out the electrics to patch the dairy back up system too for that to keep the LED Christmas lights alive anyway. The systems could certainly keep the Bonza household sparking in times of such crisis.

Fancy Bonz switched Warrnambool's lights out five times in one week. The risk management role is getting to him. Need a few more Hondas to keep the lights of Warrnamool going. You got a solar panel for that perhaps? You may have to stand there holding it with zinc cream on though.
FollowupID: 463569

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:52

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:52
G'day John,

Hasn't Lucy filled you in on his latest work in progress yet? He was talking to another of our club members on KI (who is an astronomy type) and he hit on the idea of adapting a gizmo those blokes use. Not sure what it's called, but you set it up and it has a motor/gearbox that allows it to "track" the sun from east to west at a pre-determined number of degrees per minute. Whack ya solar panels on one of those (instead of a telescope) and the bloody thing will be pointing right at the sun all day.

FollowupID: 463572

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:40
Roachie. that explains why he he is adjusting the idle speed of Lucy down to be able to match the gear box down the rotational speed of the earth. I doubt he will be able to get sufficient gearing though. Better do a Trucky rescued post now. LOL
FollowupID: 463600

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:45

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:45
Shoosh Roachie!

The solar thingy is about the 11th work in progress.

Item (1) is that bonnet - has progressed slightly

Item (2) new wheels and muddies for the JEEP - progressing

Item (3) Continuing mods on CT - progressing

Item (4) Dual Battery controller in JEEP - design stage

Item (5) Install new alloy 5 gallon air tank in Lucy - have tank, thinking about it

Item (6) Install old Lucy air tank in CT - waiting for (5)

Item (7) Re wire CT with 4mm cable via chassis rails (internal) - waiting for (3)

Item (8) Fit new stainless Steel kitchen in CT - currently being built

Item (9) Complete 12V and 240V wiring of CT - waiting for (3)

Item (10) Developing pneumatic system to lift Roof Top Tent on CT. - current focus

Item (11) Develop Solar tracking system for Solar Panel - have onlyidentified supplier of same in Victoria so far.

So it is busy, busy up until x-mas.
FollowupID: 463640

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 01:44

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 01:44
wow - star tracking for solar cells now eh!!

What about using the auto trackers they use for satellite tv dishes ??

Or even easier, set up a small 12vdc servo (electric mirror / remote control car etc) to drive on a pivot in a single axis, powered by the panel, controlled by a basic 555 timer chip set up, just have adjustable pots to get the timing right, 10 min off, 2 seconds on etc etc..... cheap and easy. Shiza, better get me a copyright on that one LOL, i retain all intelectuall rights etc.. LOL............
FollowupID: 463750

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:23

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:23
Strewth Lucy,
I thought I had a decent "to do" list.....but it's nuffin compared to yours ol' mate!!!!!

It explains why we still haven't been blessed with the 2nd instalment of 'your account' of the KI trip yet.......?????

However, one thing puzzles me..... (I hear you all say...."only ONE????"):

How come number 10 on your list is the current focus? It indicates to me that the preceeding 9 items on the list (as well as number 11 for that matter) are not in any order of preference or priority. Sooooo, could that mean that we will hear of progress on number 11 before some of the other stuff materialises???? Hmmmm
FollowupID: 463782

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:24

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:24
Roachie, just think how much he is keeping the Oz economy afloat by having a Jeepney and a Troopy. Had he bought a 4.2 GU he could have much more easily gone 4bying ;-)

If he only bought a likeness of Kim, his kitchen sink would have been done. I guess an Ultimate could have been an option.

Lucy, I have a portable air tank I may have provision to add to Moses somewhere. Have had 100psi in it ok but is big enough to offend. One inlet, two outlets so needs a bigger compressor.
FollowupID: 463802

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:01

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:01
Hmmm, my family has two Kipors (I'm asuming that's the yellow one you speak of). The other week I was running 3 car fridges, a 240v caravan fridge and a van aricon of it with no problems. It wasn't my van so I coulnd't tell you the specs of the aircon, however it was a fairly newish van (probably around 5-10 years I'd be guessing) and the aircon was a ceiling mount type.

I also have a friend running a massive brand new coromal van (not sure of the size but it was $70k to buy new) and he runs a Kipor 2kva to power that and it runs the lights in the van, the LCD TV AND the aircon in that no problems....

FollowupID: 463832

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:53

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:53
Bradley - You have 'blinded me with electronic bullchit' and so have others, that is why I will gladly pay someone who has already R&D'd the sucker and has a guarantee/warranty on his/her gear that I can pursue them about if necessary. So much easier (for me) that is.

Mate! I played around with a $20 high intensity LED not so long ago, absolute disaster. It was supposed to light up the inside of the Troopy like daylight.

Well I strapped 12V across it and there was a blinding flash that left a black ball on my eyes for awhile and it never worked again. Found out to day that you have to have a resistor on them of some sort etc etc.. I think I'll just pay someone. (LOL)

Roachie - The items on that to do list are integral with each other, in that thgey give me two rigs to tow the developing CT with. I gave that CT a 'spring over' by the way. Lift! Lift! did I say Lift! = 7inches. Rides level with the Troopy without the sagging butt.

Moses - Thanks for the offer, however I picked up a US5Gallon alloy air tank the other day. Real nice piece of gear as Truckster will attest to.

Jeff M - Whether its tyres, vehicles, fridges or gennies or whatever, it all boils down to 'horses for courses' and at the end of the day its what you like that does the job for you. If it works for you then it's good.

Now you all have a good one and I'll get on with that mother of a 'to do list'
FollowupID: 463979

Reply By: friar - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:28
I was camped at Booroola early this year & got talking to another camper about generators, he informs me his eu10 has done just over 3,000hrs,with a brand new one in the box ready for when it fails. He fishes the river every year for 3months using the jenny & solar , running a fridge & house hold freeser,lights,I have a yamaha 1 kva which has done about 300 hrs ,no trouble so far.
Friar
AnswerID: 203438

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:25

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:25
I have Both a Kipor 1 kva and a Honda I0i, I have had the Kipor for about 18 Months and the Honda was purchased because I bought the Kipor!!!
The Kipor was used to run a Waeco 40l Frig and a 3 Stage Battery Charger it lasted just long enough for the warranty to run out, then it would not start until given a service and new spark plug and then it would hold the load for about 30 minutes, running rough as guts and then spit the load and go into over rev mode until switched off.
Unfortunately I was headed bush when the spit happened, I was able to buy the Honda before getting too involved and then used the Kipor as ballast for the rest of the trip.
The Honda ran the original load as well as two 60 watt incandescant bulbs on eco throttle and never raised a sweat!
Incidentally I am totally unimpressed with the Kipor service organisation in Brisbane.

eerfree
AnswerID: 203457

Follow Up By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:31

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:31
I sent an email to the warranty provider of my Kipor today and they replied within 10 minutes telling me they no longer have a repairer in Brisbane but they are prepared to freight the genny to Sydney for repair.
I look forward to doing business with Powerlite Generators.

eerfree
FollowupID: 463483

Reply By: Tony - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:53

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:53
I have not long returned from a 4 month trip up into Qld, using a Honda e01. Plugged into the Camper which has a 3 stage charger fitted, it runs the 90 lt fridge, charges 3 battries, 2 in the camper and aux in the vehicle (with 40lt Engle attched to 12v), and 240 lights and CD/Tuner player.

All this on the ECO mode with 9hrs run time to the tank. Ran like a dream with one oil change halfway through the trip.
AnswerID: 203489

Reply By: Redeye - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:05

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:05
My Honda Eu300 (300 watt) was built last century and is still going well. Still starts first pull after many years only draw back is it requires leaded fuel. It is not as efficient as the newer ones but is reliable.

As for output voltage (240V) it would be interesting to measure the mains supply at home as I think it would be 240V +/- a percentage. Anybody know what it is? You will also need a true RMS meter to measure it as most meters only calculate 0.707 of the peak voltage. This is accurate if it is a pure non distorted sine wave which is rare.

Redeye
AnswerID: 203506

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:24

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:24
Household voltages are normally 240V +-5% ie 12v variation acceptable (normally on the lower side of 240v due to volt drop characteristics).

Any suitably rated multimeter should be able to measure your normal household voltage as the 240V is a RMS reading in any case. The peak voltage is around 340V for our AC systems, though there are very few applications that need to know this value (capacitor based systems come to mind).

FollowupID: 463067

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:25

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:25
Hi Mike,
Interesting question.
I own two Honda EU10i's. One is quite old, I can't remember when it was purchased and one about 3 years old. (The old one is

actually a different shade of red in the plastic than the new one, more scarlet than red)
They have both done quite a few hours without anything more than a filter clean and an oil change. Does this make them more

reliable than my mates "Diesel" brand? No idea, his is less than 12 months old.
I also have the paralleling cable for them and when the need arises I can join them to produce a peak output slightly higher

than an EU20i. This feature is sometimes quite handy.

One interesting thing I've done recently is hook the oscilloscope (Yokogawa DL1540CL) up to a few pieces of equipment,

including the UE10i's.

What I've learnt is the term "Pure Sinewave" is very much open to individual interpretation. As you and I both know a static

power station such as your Loy Yang's in Vic and Bayswater's in NSW have millions of dollars worth of controls and equipment

to assure a Pure Sinewave, something that isn't truly achievable in portable power equipment.
The mains here in our office in Newcastle are a very clean Sine Wave. (My reference point)

I tested a few different Inverters of both the modified and the alledged "Pure Sinewave" type. Results where at best

variable. The biggest thing that really threw the Pure Sinewave inverter was a microwave oven, it shot an already unusual

waveform to pieces.

The Honda's produced the most sinusoidal output of everything I tested though this waveform had for want of a better term

"whiskers" on it. When paralleled the EU10i's performed slightly worse on the output front than they did running as

individuals.
The interesting part of the paralleling of the EU10i's is they connect the 240V outputs in parallel. The waveform looks like

it has some form of data communications superimposed on it. (This may explain the "whiskers") And probably makes sense from a

load sharing perspective as they both appear to contribute 50%.

Some of the cheaper generators I tested had some very unusual outputs and would probably explain why some people are

reporting the "death" of battery chargers and other equipment.

From my testing and purely an electrical engineering perspective to produce clean pure sinusoidal power, you get what you pay for.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 203511

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:32

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:32
Like you Mike, I run a GMC 850 but have had limited use due to my solar being sufficient most of the time. I (being a bit electronically challenged) err on the safe side and tend to use it mainly for re-charging the battery when necessary and it has been ok so far but not really tested.

One thing I have to say though; last year, we were camping next to a bloke up the NSW coast and he had an old Honda gennie. Said he bought it 2nd hand 16 years ago - and it sure looked it's age - but guess what? It started 1st pull every time. One day............maybe
AnswerID: 203571

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 21:07

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 21:07
Well Mike I'm on my 2nd honda genny now have the EU20i and no problems but I did have problems with the EU10i a few years back. When I first bought that one I had just sold my 3 way fridge as I found it no good for our camping needs, so I thought why not take my 140l bar fridge from home, the genny ran it like a dream. Problem was had to run it as close to 24hours a day as possible (which wasn't a problem as it was so quiet)would fuel up last thing before retiring and let it go until it ran out of fuel, then first thing in the morning refuel. I used to pride myself on the amount of hours I would get on 2.2l of fuel, up to 12hours, one thing was the low oil cut out would activate if it got a bit low on oil. This we did for a couple of years and no problem until I went to start it in preparation for a trip and noticed it was running rough and not handling even 750w, so took it to the local honda dealer for a look next day he said I had a scored bore ( the 1kva has an alloy bore apparently)and it needed replacing as well as the rings, it was caused by carbon build up and a piece breaking off and doing the damage. Thought beauty still under warranty get it fixed for free, but he phoned the next day and said Melbourne head office would not cover it as it was a lack of maintenance issue. I saw red as I did every thing they said in the book even changed the oil every 50hours instead of the suggested 100h, but apparently the newer books say to have the carbon cleaned every 300hours which was not in my book (so I thought I had him there)also he said it was not hondas fault that we have bad fuel here in Queensland, so he would not pay. After a couple of phone calls to different people down there over different days they agreed to pay half the repairs so I thought I better take the offer and payed $360 for my half of the recond engine. Was given a new book with updated maintenance schedule and told to only use premium fuel and run it hard every now and then and get the 300h carbon services, which I did until 18months later same problem seemed to be happening again and they told me to put a whole new motor in this time. Well had enough of the alloy bore and now own a 2kva and have 12v fridges and no problems. I must add I probably did about 2000 hours the first time with it idling away with the eco switch on, oh they don't like being left out in the rain either as a mate of mine found out it arked between A and N and cut a groove in the output 240v socket and so needed replacing.
Wazzaaa
AnswerID: 203606

Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:15

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:15
Honda would be my first choice, even with cost.

We run a few; couple of generators, several fire fighters and a couple running hydraulic pumps.

Reliable, easy to start.

The rescue truck has briggs & stratton. You need three days warning to get the bastard going. (I know there's no reason to mention this mob, I just couldn't help myself!!)

AnswerID: 204013

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:12

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:12
Yeah they are a funny motor the B&S. They'll go for absolutally ever and you can thrash the crap out of them, but noisy is buggery and if there's more than a few 100 hours on the plug, just don't even bother trying to start the bastards! HAHA.

I've got a B&S on the mower and as soon as it starts to do that "thing" where it won't start, I just go an by a new plug. I've tried re gapping-cleaning etc but it just doesn't seem to make any difference. The old 3.5KVA genny at work was a B&S and was exactly the same....

But to really get off topic, the best little motor I've ever had anything to do with is my Poppa's old edger. A big old two stroke victa, bugger me how long he'd had it for but when he passed away my dad whacked it in his shed but had no need for it, a couple of years later I was whinging about my buffelo lawn and he offered it to me.

Instructions were still visible on the side, smeared with oil. "Press primer button ONCE only".

"Hmm" I thought, so I put some two stroke in it, pushed the primer ONCE only, selected start on the throttle and gave it a all mighty pull on the starter. HAHAHAHA, it started!!! Blue smoke everywhere and a sound like a kerosene tractor but it was going, and to this day it is still the most reliable motor in the shed, it's kicks the Ryobi whipper snipper, the blower vac and the b&S mower's asses for reliability. I've done nothing to it since it was given to me and it always starts first or second pull! I reckon he's up there somewhere looking down on that old machine making sure it holds together for me! ;-)
FollowupID: 463835