Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:28
FirefoxGC
OK,
I have been reading the forums here and listening to heaps of people tell me what portable fridge freezer to buy.. Yessh it is impossible to find what the best option is.
It's basically a toss up between the EVAKOOL 60Lt or WAECO 80Lt fridge/Freezer combo. Can anyone provide any advice/recommendations (either way bad/good) and maybe some real stats on amp hour usage? (i will be using the freezer part)
Have purchased 2x 120ah AGM batteries to run this on but would like to know real references etc. I hear the evakool is better as the compressor is seperate and has better air flow but can break as it hangs on the side of the fridge? What is the waeco like, or should i be looking at something completely different?
Justin
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:45
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:45
A COOL one LOL
Sorry hate lonely posts
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:50
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:50
Yeah! And they are rated by the number of cans you can sqeeze into it!!
Reply By: friar - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:52
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:52
Trailblazer,made in Caloundra.
Friar
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:56
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 22:56
FirefoxGC,
As friar says, do a little research on trailblazas.
Bros.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:01
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:01
Hi Firefox
I sell Engels and Evakool. Sell more of the 2nd ones as they are better priced. I have not heard of a compressor breaking off and would be interested to know about it.
The new yellow Evakool units are almost unbreakable.
Regards Derek.
Follow Up By: Big Woody - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 06:27
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 06:27
I'll second what dereck has said,
I have one of the new tough yellow Evakool fridge/freezers and I am wrapped. I purchased this not only because it is much tougher than the fibreglass version but also because of the dimensions of the fridge for use as a
seat in my trailer sailer.
It is a 70 litre model and has a removable divider to enable you to adjust the sizes of your fridge/freezer ratio or remove completely to use as either all fridge or all freezer.
Brett
Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:01
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:01
Mirror, mirror on the wall, what's the coolest fridge of all, you are WAECO without a doubt, roger mirror over and out..
IMHO... I have a W 110l and would not part with at any cost however beauty and car fridges are in the eye of the beholder....
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:06
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:06
I second that. I bought a Waeco because the main competitor had a size problem (not big enough) and a price problem (too big) and I'm very happy with it. BTW the 110L is identical to the 80L except it is taller.
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:04
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:04
What fridge to buy posts are like lightning rods. Everyone that owns a fridge owns the best brand.
Although not the 80L, I've had good service from Waeco. The trick is to wire their supply correctly, like any 12v fridge I guess.
Reply By: John from Wannago Tag-Along Tours - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:10
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:10
I would not go past a trailblazer. I have 1 that i use for my tours . It is built a lot solider than the other fridges.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:13
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:13
Kelvinator
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:06
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:06
made by Electrolux...whats wrong with Fisher & Paykel
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:53
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:53
Who is kelvin? and why would he do that??
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:24
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:24
Michael, cos she tasted soo good.
Personally I'd go for the LG with the optional extra 500k extension cord.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:22
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:22
Doesn't Kelvinator come under the Fisher & Paykel umbrella. ?
They have always served me
well, low power draw and and I just love the white shelving. The butter warmer is easy to clean but the vege draw could be a bit larger.
Rememberto pull out the fridge every so often to clean behind it, lot of dust and cobwebs may reduce its efficency.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:05
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:05
kelvi and F&P were same some years back...some manufacturing swapping deal?
some yrs back when i working with F&P in NZ i was suprised (when I first arrived) to see same products being manufactured them as kelvi was making back here...that was some 30 yrs ago but
but more recently they went thier different ways...not sure how long ago.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:22
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:22
Oh ok, I haven't lived in NZ for nearly 20 years so I'm out of touch with the local manufacturing. They were a good fridge back then, I've heard a few complaints abou them recently but both of my F&P's have been really good. Haven't taken them
camping though :)
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:37
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:37
both the kelvi and F&P good ...
but as you say for...
camping??? although it holds a lot of stubbies i think they are a touch to big
Reply By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:56
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 00:56
FirefoxGC.
I've had both Waeco and Engel fridges & the Engel wins hands down.
The Waeco's are OK but don't like running at low voltages 9.5v I think (correct me if I'm wrong), but the Engel just keeps on keeping on.
I'm thinking of buying a second one, the navigator keeps on wanting to put FOOD in
mine! : )>
Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 07:39
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 07:39
I love my new Engel 80 fridge freezer. Possibly a little larger in physicaal size than I would like i.e a little awkward to move around unless there are two of you but, once its in the truck its in and it holds enough food to keep my tribe happy for weeks, oh and by the way, the missus is a chef so when we go
camping it aint just steak and sausages.
I do think the twin thermostats is a good idea however, have never had any experience with the other brands so can't really comment.
Toytruck
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:55
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:55
I agree with the Engel. They have been on the Australian Market now for over 40 years, and have proven themselves time after time. We should back to this
forum in 40 years time to see how the others have faired.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:29
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:29
Ozrover,
Not pushing any particular fridge, but running your battery down to 9.5v is not such a good idea for long battery life. Fridges like the Waeco, with a Danfoss compressor have a cutout circuit in them so you can't run them below about 10.5v. This is to save your battery (tho I reckon even 10.5v is pushing your battery too far).
Gerry
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:13
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:13
joc45, I'm no auto sparky so tell me, isn't that why we run deep cycle batteries! So that they can be run down & not be damaged? One bloke at ARB told me not to bother with deep cycle batteries as the new Exide Extreme will do a better job! NOPE it dies if used over night, & failed after six months. I then fitted a no-name deep cycle & I can get at least two maybe three days running the engel???
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:19
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:19
Hi Ozrover
Like you, I am no Auto Electrician, but was told buy one of the
places that sells batteries here in
Clare that a normal car battery will only take a few charges and fully discharges to ruin the battery, where as a deep cycle battery should be able to take over 50 or more charge and discharge to effect the battery. That is why they recommend the deep cycle as the second battery and to run most accessories, saving the main battery for what it was ment for, starting the car.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:06
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:06
Hi Ozrover,
Even deep cycle batteries can be killed easily. A deep cycle battery will take a lot more charge/discharge cycles than a normal starting battery. The shallower the discharge cycle on a deep cycle battery, the longer the life. Take it down below 10% capacity (about 10.5v) and you can do permanent damage from which it will never recover. I don't like taking a deep cycle battery down below about 11v.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 00:50
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 00:50
I think I'll look into getting one of these AGM batteries, they seem to be the bees knees for what were doing!!
Reply By: Member - Teabag (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 07:43
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 07:43
FirefoxGC,
You are going to get heaps of biased based information when asking such questions. To be perfectly honest you won't go wrong with any of the fridges mentioned so it will basically come down to personal preference and your intended purpose. For the record I have 2 Engel's and have never let me down. I would personally recommend the Trailblazer if you don't intend on moving the fridge very often as I consider them as possibly the best. Have a good look at them all and make a choice from there.....Good luck....
Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:45
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:45
"Bugga" my
Coolgardie is hav'n problems with the draught.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:20
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 10:20
The only real issue I found with my 60l Evakool is that there is no readily available slide made for it.
Mine doen't have the external "pod", its the regular shoebox shape. On the recent
Cape York trip, it performed perfectly, freezes stuff if over 3 on the dial :)
If you really need the slide option, you may be better to go Waeco.
Never heard of the pods breaking off, that must be an Engel salesman's pitch.....
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:26
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 11:26
Firefox
have a look at the bushman. I bought one at
Sydney show in April. Have used it at
home on 240v and for two weeks as a freezer in October in
Hay and Kyolite. Very easy on the battery and worked very
well. It was the 42 litre one.
Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:14
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:14
I have both Engel and a Waeco, one used as fridge and the other as a freezer, in my opinion the Engel is far better mainly in the respect that you dont have to be so concerned about the supply voltage. If you are a bit slack keeping as eye on the battery voltage and it gets a bit low the Waeco switches off, where as the Engel just keeps running, maybe not as good for your batteries but better than ending up with defrosted food.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:05
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:05
The Waeco has a switch on the end which stops it switching off.
Follow Up By: Chris & Debbie - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:27
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:27
Yes there is a switch on the end, two minimum votage settings and an emergency setting. As I understand it the emergency position is only to be used if the electronics fail and should not be used to keep it running at low voltage as this will lead to the compressor motor burning out due to higher current draw. The magnetic swing motor that Engel uses is not affected by low voltage, please correct me if I am wrong.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:53
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:53
Ok
well i have the older FF series fridge and
mine only has a low and hi switch. No emergency. Can't say I've had any probs.
Reply By: Member - Lance M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:24
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:24
i would not consider any other fridge after using a trailblazer waco cannot compete in any comparision here in north queensland
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:55
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:55
WEll''' Shock Horror!! I love my Liemack....now Reefer 90 litre.. Freezer 30 litres and fridge 60 litres. Smart pull down door on the front,(no one else has done this), so no need for a stupid slidey thingo to rattle apart. Geee! and it also has an inverter built in.. How innovative!! charge the batteries for all the gadgets.. And it works and has done so for a faithful 7 years, yes reliable!! Sorry guys, i'm hooked!! Michael.
Reply By: PeterS - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 20:40
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 20:40
FirefoxGC,
If you want a great fridge/freezer with low power consumption then you cannot go past a Quirks Autofridge.High price but leaves all the others for dead.No other fridge will be as efficient.
The 73 litre model retails at approx $2200 but is WORTH it.
Insulation 75mm.Full fibre glass inside and out.
Check them out.
Reply By: Jim C (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:14
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 00:14
FirefoxGC,
I have a Bushman 42 litre. Used it in the Innamincka/
Birdsville area last Xmas. Handled 45 C+temps no worries. Have had it for 5yrs now. Only problem I have found is that the lug to fridge becomes loose after a couple of years. New cord only $20 to replace. Like others have said, all fridge/freezers are about the same, take your look at as many as possible and make your choice.
| "NIL ILLIGITIMO DESPERANDO CARBERUNDUM."
The Engineers motto...
"Dont let the Bastards grind you down"Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 05:52
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 05:52
Look at the trailblazer
I have one and they are made from marine grade aluminium. Not the prettiest fridge but definately the most solidly constructed I have seen.
I have had
mine for about 10 years and it still performs like it did when it was new.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:24
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 08:24
Gee, they're a bit overbuilt aren't they, these things are made for dropping out of aircraft at a great height. :)