O/T again. Going batty
Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:21
Footloose
Left the cruiser out the other night, and a bat had...
well...err...dropped his breakfast on the duco. I discovered it after it was nicely baked into the surface.
We get quite a few of them who seem to think our trees are
free camping areas.
I've seen spotlights trained on trees all night on one property.
Another guy sets off some very loud alarming noises late at night. Probably gets rid of his neighbours, not sure about the bats.
Does anyone have a non destructive method of discouraging them ?
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:25
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:25
They'll generally move on when whatever they are eating stops flowering or fruiting. We have a Tipuana tree in our yard and they just love the flowers. After a few weeks they move on. We have some pavers under the tree and they make a real mess.
Get that bat sh1t off the duco fast. it is very acidic and will eat through in no time.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:31
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:31
Norm, my problem is that they like the Palms which always seem to be an attraction. They squeak and squark all night. I used to go and bang the trunks and tell em to nick off. They came back.
I'm a bit careful of their droppings anyway, health wise. I have no evidence but I suspect that there could be nasties in there.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:46
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:46
Don't
park under the trees they like ;-))
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:51
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 01:51
Earlier in the year we camped at
Adder Rock on Nth Straddie and the car ended up covered in bat droppings. The
young fella thought he would help me out by scrubbing them off with a scourer pad. I have some lovely marks on the bonnet as a reminder LOL
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:29
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:29
Yep
Let some fowls(chooks) wander around under trees at night. Fruit bats(Flying Foxes) are terrified of chooks and will not land. I saw this method in the NT where a bloke protected his banana trees. The Foxes flew over and kept going.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:33
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:33
Mate, the problem is the silly old chook next door goes to bed early :)))
Interesting solution, thanks guys.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:52
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:52
Footy,
He meant your own silly old chook!!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:19
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:19
I've heard turning up the volume and squelsh on your UHF is supposed to work.
I don't know but it would be interesting to give it a go to see if it works.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:19
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:19
Harold Larwood? Joel Garner? Dennis Lillee? Shame Warne?
Any of these deal effectively with bats