Sub $5k Camper Trailer Maiden Voyage

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:45
ThreadID: 39224 Views:3463 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
The need to attend a 3 day reunion last weekend created the ideal scenario to
take the scroogemobile on its maiden voyage. 700 clicks of concrete was hardly
an off road test but the thing towed beautifully behind the old Peugeot 405,
2 litre fwd auto. & stopped nicely in the wet. No brakes on trailer but 4w discs
proved quite adequate to halt the est 600 kg. No ABS or such either.
Flopped it out on arrival, didnt bother with pegs, ropes ,stabilisers etc. but did
chock it. Little movement experienced, but may have been due to quite liberal
doses of anaesthetic consumed before retiring. Same may apply to foam mattress
but seemed fine.
Only 4 inches of rain fell on the thing during the period & seeing that all recommended wetting/drying & seam sealing suggestions were totally ignored,
it came as no surprise that a few minor drips found their way inside. No big deal
& will be suitably corrected.
While the mates Ultimate did attact all the bloody attention, I was was more than
happy with the little DIY at one eighth the cost, & feel confident it will handle a
foray into the Kimberley next April. The setup time of five minutes was a joy,
meaning much valuable imbibing time was saved, had to pack it up wet but
kicked it out at home & dried with not much effort or drama.
Roll On April!!!!. regards...oldbaz.

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:17

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:17
Good one Old Baz,

Sounds like you had a win. Just imagine how much anesthetic can be purchased with the difference in price between your trailer and the Ultimate.

Of course you don't have a "wine cellar" like the Ultimate.

AnswerID: 203567

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:38

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:38
Ian, you are correct, no standard wine cellar on the scroogemobile, but I am
planning secure storage for my favoured tipple.
May call it the Bundybox or similar & install next to the fire extinguisher:)
FollowupID: 463167

Reply By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:30

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:30
Sounds good baz, been looking at doing something along the same lines myself.
How bout sharing the details of your rig?
AnswerID: 203569

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:48

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:48
Hi Stu-k, not much rocket science in the scroogemobile, but not many dollars either. Basically a 7 by 4 off road trailer bought new from a lovely Indian chap
who builds them to your spec. Around $2k with shackle springs,45mm sq axle,
new 6 stud hubs, swing tailgate, Ch.plate floor & guards,gas & jerry holders, 3
15 by 7 white steel rims new with sh*t tyres (could have had new at higher cost)
Treg hitch, vertical spare holder. Comes with weighbridge ticket (340 KG) & papers filled out for rego. ($190, dudded them on the stamp duty).
Top is Oztrail 9, Chinese of course, sourced on Ebay, delivered for around $2100.
Plenty of windows, full outside end opens, I assume to make it easier to move the
grand piano in. Widows have zipped covers, inside & out, all screened including
door. Sewn in floor. Queen sized mattress. All comes on marine ply base with
vinyl cover, latches & hinges, gas struts ,annexe roof attaches by zip, poles pegs
& ropes, & if all else fails...instructions!!.
Mods & additions include..roll out kitchen made of 12mm mdf, cost around $70,
A frame box made of 12mm mdf (Actually first attempt at kitchen, stuffed up
measurements, but will do nicely) cost about $50. Rubber insertion between top & trailer ($40), marine carpet ($60). Hinges & locks to make jerry holders useful
$40, Steel to make corner stabilisers $30, steel rod to make extra spare wheel carrier behind axle $25. Silver Tarp to cover whole shebang 8 by 6 m $80.
2 step ladder to get oldbaz into bed $20. Varous plastic rolling boxes to hold
everything else $50, fire extinguisher $30. & all insured by AAMI for $5k for $98.
Things like gas stove, 12 volt lights, battery packs, gas bottles, 3way fridge,
12 volt shower , furniture etc already existed & will be inserted as required.
There will be no water tank as I see carting any more than 2 by 20 L containers
as nothing more than burning fuel. 10 L a day is more than adequate to shower,
wash & cook (per person). I make this observation assuming water is available
daily to replenish. No auxiliary batteries, inverters or generators. $40 battery
booster packs will run lights & shower, recharge as you drive, beautiful!!.
Hell, Ive gone on a bit, better leave it there, anything else, please ask.
Regards..oldbaz
FollowupID: 463175

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:41
Thanks oldbaz gives me an idea as what I would be in for to build my own, damn I would sleep on the ground after the manditory stress relief bundys but the mrs......yeah well ya know.

Whats a booster pack?, sounds good as I havn`t got any under bonnet room for a second battery

FollowupID: 463222

Follow Up By: REXYSURF - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:59

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 09:59
Baz,
Where abuot was this "nice little Indian fellow" located cause im in the market for an offroad trailer

Rex
FollowupID: 463272

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:08

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:08
Stu-k, a booster pack is a self contained dry cell 12 volt battery that comes
with two heavy leads to connect to your battery for emergency starts. Also has
cig lighter outlet to run lights or shower or whatever. Not too heavy, portable, recharges from cig socket in car or 240 volt. Buy at autocrap type shops, 600 amp hour model costs about $40 if on special. Higher capacity available at higher cost.
Have seen the same as mine at up to $250 at 4WD shops & battery services, so
beware. last for weeks on lights only, less of course if running motors. Good stuff
& beats the hell out of hissing gas lights. Regards..oldbaz.
FollowupID: 463303

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:13

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:13
Rexysurf, The Indian trailer builder can be found at Custom Quality Trailers,
Airds Road, Minto, NSW. Just off freeway near Campbelltown. He was most accomodating re alterations etc & enjoys a friendly bargain over price.
Regards..oldbaz.
FollowupID: 463304

Follow Up By: REXYSURF - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:31

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:31
Baz,
thanks alot for the info mate. Ill give them acall

Lee
FollowupID: 463336

Follow Up By: zha zha cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:38

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:38
old baz...nothing worse than having to find water when you are out enjoying the fresh air of the bush...

get the tank...fill up at home, and all youll need to be concerned with then is where to buy the ice for the esky.

I have heard with these days of drought, some places are not real happy with using their water to fill your tanks...

must go there is a power failure here....
FollowupID: 463355

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:12

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:12
Thanks, will have to go shoppin
FollowupID: 463687

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:00

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:00
Those Ultimates still have noisy water pumps.
You may have been under by then!

Camped next to acouple at Innamincka and in the Flinders.
Well, a good 30 metres away. Some one kept getting a drink of water from the kitchen tap, wrrrr, wrrrr a few times a night. Was annoying.
AnswerID: 203576

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:57

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:57
Oldplodder, I can only assume the sound of my missus snoring & a liberal dose
of Bundy drowned the Ultimate water pump out. That rain on the roof was
heaven though. Came home & not a bloody drop here.
FollowupID: 463182

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:43
Key points from your post Baz, and I quote you verbatim,

"Flopped it out on arrival"
"Only 4 inches "
"I was was more than happy with the little DIY"
"five minutes was a joy"

ATB,

AnswerID: 203582

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:54

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 19:54
Jimbo ,old mate,.. me thinks you may need counselling ???
Hang on, perhaps its me that needs it..:)
FollowupID: 463181

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 06:25

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 06:25
Don't go scrooging on getting a decent mattress mate. You have a camper for comfort right???? May as well sleep on the ground if you don't have a reasonable matty.
AnswerID: 203648

Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:22

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:22
Brew69, good point mate, the foam job that came with it seems very supportive
to old bones, & remarkably light. Not as good as an innerspring of course, but if such gets wet, nearly impossible to dry before next sleep. Experience has shown
a wet foamie will dry in a few hours if tied to roofrack.
Regards..oldbaz.
FollowupID: 463307