What a strange little world we live in ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 10:47
ThreadID: 39243 Views:2242 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Love the Melbourne Cup, espically as it gives us
an excuse for 4 glorious days in the high country.
Low on fuel I pulled up at the Safeway servo this wednesday morning
feeling happy that fuel is at its low cost point and took on 135lt unleaded.

The 4c voucher meant that it was $1.039/ lt , but then I noticed a label attached to the pump said "get 4c extra off by buying $5 of goods in store".

Now some quick math says 4 X 135 = $5.40

Can this be true - they will pay me 40c to take $5 worth of goods out of the shop ?

I quickly spotted some Cherry ripe bars that came to $5.20
and stuck them on the counter.

Problem! The cherry ripe bars were on special and only came to $4.60
so because they were on special they didn't come to the $5 minimum.

This caused some discussion amongst the staff, who in the end decided
that I had to buy 40c more of goods.

I offered to give them 40c, but after further discussion this was not
accepable cause the system couldn't handle a credit.

With the queue growing behind me, I came to a compromise and swapped the
Cherry ripes for Kit-Kats which weren't on special and got my $5.40 credit
by paying $5.20

I.E. The store paid me 20c for walking away with 2 big Kit-Kat bars.

What a strange little world we live in ?

Reply By: sedg - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 10:57
So true, all that for 40 cents.
AnswerID: 203672

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 10:59

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 10:59
The things we will do for a little saving......TIC
FollowupID: 463281

Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:00

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:00
Yep, Shell do the same thing except it's 2c/L for $2 I think. Basically a free Kit Kat with each fill :)
AnswerID: 203674

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:46
Just goes to show that during the fleecing period of highest prices they have managed to increase their margin by at least another 4 cents. I remember when Coles bought the Shell outlets that there was an immediate increase of 4 cents.

BP are now offering 5% off all "store" products when you get one of their credit cards. I will probably go for this, since the last fill of Shell unleaded was absolute chit quality - 60k less out of the tank than the next fill of ethanol blend. This time I filled with BP and the engine is immediately running sweeter.

AnswerID: 203680

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:21

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:21
Hi Gerhardp1

I too thought this sounded a good deal, but in the fineprint there is a $70/year annual charge. You only get the 5% discount to a max $300/month spend so the most you can save is $180 - $70 = $110/year IF you buy $300/month worth of fuel.

Another way to look at it is you have to buy $117 a month of fuel to make up for the annual charge, thus you could actually lose money if you failed to spend this much.

FollowupID: 463306

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:34

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:34
There always is a catch :)

Not much good around town, don't use $300 per month. Not much good when touring, use much more than $300 per month.

Then again, the Safeway/Coles was useless while touring to the Cape as well. When you needed to fill up, there wasn't a suitable outlet anyway.

Based on how the car is running today I'll keep using BP and buy on the discount cycle - yesterday was 1.089, today they're back to 1.199I won't use Shell again unless there is no option, Safeway stuff is always crud in my car so I never use that anymore.

So I won't worry about the vouchers, and save one stress item however minor.
FollowupID: 463341

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 12:33

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 12:33
Robin,

If you wish to 'save' another 4c per litre, go to your local IGA supermarket, spend min of $30.oo, present fuel docket showing litres purchased and you will receive a refund of 4c per litre up to a max of 80litres.

Does not matter where you purchased your fuel, for what price or even if you have already received a discount.

So, purchase fuel at cheapest price possible, front up to participating IGA store (just about all I believe), spend $30.oo, give fuel docket and receive up to $3.20 off purchases.

Must make it the cheapest fuel around.

Michael
AnswerID: 203689

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:05

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:05
Must check that one out as it sounds good Micheal.

We get to many dockets , including IGA , and don't use them up as
usually getting large amount of fuel when best price every 2-3 weeks
courtesy of having large tank.

They are definately tighening things up and each is trying to get you to
use there own card, and putting surcharges on others cards.
We used to get the GST off as well as 4c from Safeway via company card but
now our card can only be used at Shell/Mobil.

FollowupID: 463302

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:56

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:56
Robin,

You only have to keep your fuel docket to be able to present to your IGA store when purchasing goods (min $30.oo) to get your refund of 4c per litre, up to max of 80litres.

It is a gimmick/ploy, call it what you will, to get people into the store and spend money. The refund comes straight out of the owners bottom line....I know this to be true 'cos I own an IGA store. -says he declaring his interest...blah blah blah
-bit lucky where we are, only a few customers bother to save money.

Don't know your shopping habits but as an example, purchase 80litres of fuel at the cheapest you can.....include Woolies/BP etc best offer and then go to your IGA store, spend min $30.oo and present your docket and receive $3.20 off your purchase. No hidden agenda, just check that your store is participating and what the conditions are so you are comfortable in your own mind.

Hope this has been a help.

Michael
FollowupID: 463317

Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:18

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 13:18
Robin

$1.04 !!! thank your lucky stars. We have just come under $1.50 for the first time in several years. The annoying thing is.... our fuel comes in by tanker direct from either Singapore or Indonesia. Yet we are still paying 50% more than capital cities. If thats not profiteering i don't know what is.

best regards
AnswerID: 203697

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:44
Just to make us all feel better, a reminder that our PM sells our Gas to overseas countries for nothing, and with no price escalation clause. Doesn't bother him, either.

FollowupID: 463356

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:11
Yep, and some will tell you there is no profiteering going on and any mention of it amounts to 'conspiracy theories'. Call it what you want'; we are being rooted.
FollowupID: 463459