camp esky/fridge setup

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:17
ThreadID: 39247 Views:13232 Replies:11 FollowUps:29
Hi all. This is NOT a which fridge question. Rather I am after advice on fellow campers setup.

I seriously had a great 4 day weekend. There was a lot of perks, but a slight downer was the missus throwing up all Sat night and Sunday, and middle child did the same Monday night. Wondering on the esky approach to some meat, but mind you its never happened before...

Been using an esky all my life, but the family size now is a little hard, mutliple large eskys, ice refreshing, etc. Decided that serious look at getting a fridge.

I have a CT, the rear opening is only about 380mm for a fridge to slide out. That seriously limits any on-camper fridge/freezer. There's room in the Prado, but our style really suits having the fridge accessibly at the camper kitchen, the 3 young kids are at the esky all the time.

Any fridge will mean a look at dual batteries in car, camper battery, chargers, etc.

So how to fellow CT'ers do it? Any of you with such a small CT rear opening?

I can think of:
- two real small fridges in CT
- single real small fridge in CT and carry esky for beer, drink, etc. Stuff that don't go "off"
- Fridge/freezer in Prado

The first two I'm not sure will means enough fridge space for what a family of 5 needs, and it had to be a "real" fridge not a cooler. The last means its awkward for the way we need it, and swinging the Prado rear around to near the kitchen means a CT battery anyway for lights rather than running a 10-15m 12V extension from the car battery to the CT.

What other bright ideas/advice do people are out there have?

Tone

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:49

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 15:49
I would buy a decent size fridge ie 60lt and put it in the vehicle, far better ride for the fridge. WRT you food, get your meat Vacuum Packed at the Butcher as the meat (Beef) can last for 6 weeks if kept below 4 degrees, Chicken and Pork no where near as long but they do last up to 5 days if kept under4 degrees....We Vac pac all our meat and have never had an issue........
AnswerID: 203715

Reply By: zha zha cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:18

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:18
As a female who camps often with 3 kids (2 r just teenagers), along with my girlfriend who sometimes comes along with her 2 kids...I can recommend the following.

60 plus litre esky - evakool or something similiar. some are on special at big w at the moment. We try to always grab a $30 block of dry ice for a 4 plus day camp. We also have a couple of empty juice containers that are frozen with water - they say adding salt to the water before freezing it keeps it frozen longer??? Those two frozen items are added to the 60 ltr esky.
But,
you also need another day esky to take your wine, with crushed ice in or for your alcohol, and perhaps those other items that you tend to need close by...like kids drinks or, dips chips stuffr.

You should also need another squashable style esky for the vegies...using a little left over ice from your alcohol fridge.

Around your dry ice pack your meat and other stuff that you want frozen...we take frozen chooks...its like a block of ice and once its thawed we cook it in the camp oven.

I had a 12 volt fridge but it made my car battery flat at double island point one time...and I was stuck - had to get the ranger to give me a jump start. Now that fridge only works via 240 volt...I have had it looked at, but stuff it...it wasnt big enough anyway...

You should consider having to buy fresh ice every couple of days...block ice lasts longer.

nothing we have ever goes off, and in fact - we usually bring left over food home with us and eat on our return....

good luck
AnswerID: 203724

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:55

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:55
mmm, hadn't thought of dry ice before. Suspecting it may be hard to get hold of out near camping areas, but certainly mixed with water ice would extend the life of the cooling ability. We done the ice block thing with water in containers, etc, but by day 2 its usually a losing battle.

FollowupID: 463364

Reply By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:33

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 16:33
Tonester,
Sorry to hear about the bad perks.

Seriously, the solution we have used for my family of 5 for a number of years may not be ideal, but is as follows.

We have a Bushman Fridge which we run as a freezer set at -15. (I only mention the Bushman as it has a thermostatic control where you set the temperature, and then you can see it cycle at that point). Ours is the 35 litre version. Into this we place four sheets of technice, plus all the food we need to keep frozen. We generally have the meet cryovac'ed.

We also have a small esky, that is also about 35 litres. We have another 4 sheets of technice that we put into this as well. Into the esky we put the stuff that needs to be kept cold, but not frozen. ie Milk

We swap the technice between the Fridge and the freezer usually once a day, sometimes twice depending on outside temps.

If we need to use meat out of the freezer, it goes into the esky the morning of when it is going to be used.

The above process has worked for us for about 6 years, but it does mean that the Fridge runs pretty hard. You also need a good dual battery system to run the Fridge. I have wired up the Dual Battery to only run the fridge.

The fridge is mounted in the back of my Prado. We take the esky out and keep it with the camper unless we need it for the day when travelling.

One solution, probably others.

Mal58
AnswerID: 203730

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:04

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:04
I have about 6 of those ice sheets, but have been very disappointed with them each time. I put them in the deep freeze and they still simply thaw in no time. Maybe thats why you say to cycle them daily, cause I'm thinking thats what it would take. Would save on ice runs daily.

How long does your battery last and how many Ah is it?
FollowupID: 463369

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 19:12

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 19:12
Tonester, are your sheets Techni Ice? I use them also. I have a 70 litre fridge/ freeser (about 50 litres fridge and separate freezer). We also carry a good 55 litre esky. To feed the esky I carry 4 x 2 litre milk containers frozen and 6 sheets of Technie Ice. 3 milk containers and 4 Technie Ice sheets go in the esky and the other milk container and 2 Technie Ice sheets go in the freezer. I do a rotation each day. So the milk containers are in the esky for 3 days and the Technie Ice for 2. They are generally not fully defrosted when they come out on rotation.

Over a 16 week trip to Kimberley / NT this year, we always had cold beer, soft drink and wine from the esky. It is imortant to restock the esky with cold products though. Put a dozen hot beers in and kiss your ice goodbye.

There are only 2 of us, so this is a lot of fridge capacity. But we often go 3 weeks or more between chances to shop.

A solution my brother in law uses with some success is to carry a 40 Litre fridge (he has an Engel, but I won't enter that argument) and a good esky. He freezes everything that is going in the esky and sets off with it set on freeze and has all his non frozen stuff in the Esky. After a few days, or on arrival at the long term camp site, (depends on the trip and judgement), he switches the fridge to normal fridge running temp. He moves fresh Technie Ice sheets from the freezer to esky at the same time. Fridge slowly thaws over a couple of days and draws very little power over that time. His Technie Ice supports the esky for another couple of days. If he hasn't run the overall fridge and esky contents down enough by then to all fit in the fridge, he has to buy ice. Follow? This system works well for (say) a one week or so camping trip.
FollowupID: 463416

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:52

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:52
Hi Tonester,
Further to my previous E-Mail, we have a 95Ahr marine battery. When new, we used to get 1-2 days without running the car. It is very dependent on weather. The battery is now six years old and needs replacing as it won't hold charge.

The technice that we have is some of the original ones that came out six years ago. You have to make sure that it is properly hyrdated, bulgy but not stressed. It doesn't work that well if anything less.

We keep ours in plastic bags (like you get fruit and vegies in) to keep them from absorbing the smells etc of food. Sometimes on the change-over they are quite thawed out, other times they still have a number of frozen cells.

We always pack them around the outside of the fridge to get them quite frozen.

We also try to make sure that we are not putting anything hot in the esky of fridge. This maximises the duration that you can go between changes etc.

Mal58
FollowupID: 463451

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:50

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:50
Thanks Norm. Prob last night with the site I think, was replying to this this then and then it crapped out.

Yeah they are techni ice. Just went and had a look to be sure. Bought from Rays 2yrs ago and did have high hopes. To be fair, will give them another go again (been a while now) but they take up so much room! Crushed ice at least falls into small gaps.

I know pre-chilling an esky does lots for the ice life, as well as putting already cold contents in. But a point a couple days in comes and things are wet as hell, and then ice just doesn't start to keep anymore.

Re smaller fridge, if its in the car (a 40lt will not fit CT, unless there is a brand out there I didn't measure at the shows I got to) then I might as well go big anyway (cost balance of course). Our big esky is 55lt now, and fills up very quick, geez, even on a bbq in the bloody park letalone camping.

A few have come back with the freezer/esky swap combo thing, will give that thought. Thanks
FollowupID: 463531

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:52

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:52
thanks Mal
FollowupID: 463532

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:26
I vote for the fridge in the car.
Reasons - you can use it when not towing the camper, eg when off getting food & drink. You don't need a second battery in the car if you install an AGM as the main vehicle battery. My 50l Evakool has run 4 days and the car still started easily.

Most important for you - you can't fit it in the trailer anyway. When cooking, and needing access to the frige, park the car with the back close to the kitchen.

I have a second AGM in the trailer, which charges via anderson plug and isolator.

If the frige is needed at the trailer and the car is elsewhere, just take it out of the car and plug it into a handy socket on the trailer. You have at least 8 days of cooling this way without charging either battery.
AnswerID: 203747

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:04
Just curious, how big is your AGM Battery and how much does your Fridge draw? The reason I ask is 4 days out of your battery without charge is awesome........I only get 1.5 to 2 days out of a 105 Amp/hr Deep Cycle running a 40ltr Engel, depending on ambient temp.
FollowupID: 463395

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:18

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:18
It's been a long time since someone asked me how big mine is.....

Oops, back on track there....

The batteries are 100AH, 1000cca, one in the car and another in the trailer.

4 days at Glasshouse Mountains cara park in July this year, temperature up to mid 20s from memory, and the sun on the fridge all morning. Also had it running 4 days at Hervey Bay which was the next stop.

Fridge draws about 2.5 amps while on, say 8 hours on = 20 amps per day over 4 days = 80amps out of the battery.

I was ready for the car not to start, but it fired up straight away with no detectable weak battery signs.
FollowupID: 463398

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:52

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:52
Gerhardp1,

Mate, that is still impressive out of a 100Ah AGM plus 1000cca. I hadn't seen them that high in the CCA? Cool, If you don't mind me asking? How much and what brand? I'm considering going over to an AGM instead of the old Lead Acid deep cycle. If your getting that sort of performance than I would be really happy and still have the ability to run a winch or start the vehicle with those Cold Cranking Amps.....Very impressive battery....
FollowupID: 463452

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:35

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:35
Hi Teabag,

Brand is Dynasty, I bought them second hand, they had been in an industrial UPS for 12 months.

I paid $76 each plus $30 each freight from Sydney to Melbourne.

Sourced from Coda Batteries 02 95446623, I wanted them for the Cape York trip.

This is what I bought here Site Link

When first installed in May this tear, I thought the starter was going to take off! The alternator has no trouble charging both via the redarc isolator and I have 8mm cable for both + and - running from the front of the car to the anderson plug.
FollowupID: 463523

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:15

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:15
ah the Internet is dangerous. A quick look at Dynasty and I ended up browsing all over related topics...

Thanks for the feedback. I too am a little impressed at the life of the UPS battery. I wonder if they make them different to "normal" deep cycle batteries. I'm going to ask at work. Manufactured by Johnson Controls, and they service our company, unless there are two of similar name.

Also, what sort of fridge is it? (no fridge debate intended..!!! lol)

If a fridge goes in the car, then a battery will be needed in the CT, so then I guess whether I put a big sucker in or small just to run lights.
FollowupID: 463536

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:30

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:30
50 Litre Evakool, square model (no pod), bought new in May 06 at Caulfield show for $650 on the last day, late. Old stock I reckon, mate bought the other one, a 70 litre for $800. The fridge has a low voltage detection, but I never reached that point so can't say if the car will still start when it reaches that point.

You could put a little one in the camper, but that removes your option to run the fridge off the camper. Depends on the price. If you look at the other items on the seller on ebay he has some batteries for $88 which look the goods as well, but 100mm longer than mine so may not fit in the car.

Give him a ring, he's a very affable young fellow.
FollowupID: 463542

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:31

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:31
Gerhardp1,

Thanks buddy, though I may look at a new one.......
FollowupID: 463543

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:37

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:37
thanks Gerhardp1
FollowupID: 463545

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 08:18

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 08:18
Dynasty Batteries are not Johnson Controls here anymore they are available from Battery Energy in Sydney and they are a stand by battery only as they have no boost charge only a float and equalisation and are designed to be at 23oC to 27oC and with normal boost charging the battery will suffer thermal runaway and the life reduction will be dramatic.
The CCA rating is so they can start a standby generator nothing more.
It will be very interesting to see how long the one under the bonnet lasts under the temperature conditions combined with boost charging from the alternator.

FollowupID: 463773

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:07

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:07
Hi Ian,

I had thoughts along those lines before I bought them, but after assurances from the vendor I went ahead. I wondered about their vibration resistance as well.

So far the under bonnet one has lasted 6 months including the cape york trip and roughly 13,000km. It has been down to less than 11 volts 2 or 3 times, the rest of the time it would not have been below 12. The alternator charges at 14.0-14.2 volts according to the Scanguage, and the battery retains 13.4V while at rest. When I received them, they were at 13.4. I have never had a "standard" battery retain more than 12.5 even when brand new.

My decision to use them was also based on the price - $106 delivered is pretty cheap even if the battery were to fail in a short time. I will be quite happy if it lasts 12 months, anything longer I regard as a definate bonus. So far the fact that it has run the fridge for 4 days several times and still starts the car has made it good value. Two of my travelling companions with new but acid filled batteries had acid splash up out of the lids, and one of them failed on the trip due to exposed plates. His $200+ deep cycle battery was a throwaway, the other one won't be far behind since it has been jiggled around enough on the corrugations to splash acid out and has probably had its plates exposed during this process.

The 1000cca rating starts the generator in my vehicle extremely well :), even when the Voltage is down to 10.8.

When researching the topic of batteries, the information I found (using links from this forum) regarding wet cell "normal" car batteries seemed to be unanimous that they have a very narrow operating band in terms of charge level and if outside that range will fail rapidly.
If you treat them to the ideal conditions that are recommended for the Dynasty, they will last 10 years, since there are no conditions causing calcification of plates. When you use them under the bonnet, and expose them to heat, deep discharge, high boost charge and vibration they will fail in 4 years or often much less. They will definately not run a fridge for 4 days and still start the car. If you run them flat once (less than 50% charge), it can be fatal for the battery. Do that 3 or 4 times and it will be the end.

All in all, the benefits are worth the risk - brilliant CCA, ability to operate in the 25%-95% charge range, and ability to run the fridge without constantly worrying, the need for a second battery in the car is eliminated, and in this case excellent price.

Gerhard
FollowupID: 463780

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:15

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:15
Hi Gerhard
I appreciate that follow up and that is a good rap.
I have the full spec sheets here and if you like I can send you them.
The batteries are not lock bonded so vibration may end up a killer but as you say 12 months for the price.
Judging on what you say the best way to charge them would be with tempsense charging then you stand every chance of extended life.

The recommended retail is actually $380 now but for anyone interested in trying them I can access new ones for $250 including GST plus freight.

If anyone else needs the spec sheets they can contact me at nitramir@bigpond.net.au

ian
FollowupID: 463800

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:48

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:48
I run two fridges a 40ltr as a fridge and a 23ltr as a freezer, these are in the back of the vehicle untill we get where where going then are placed next to the kitchen and then plugged into sockets that have been installed at the rear of the camper running off two batteries mounted on the drawwbar, with this set up there is no need for people to be opening the freezer all the time usually just once a day to remove frozen food to put in the fridge which helps keep the running time of the fridge down as the food defrosts.
AnswerID: 203752

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:18

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:18
Thanks Chris.

Noone ever looked like flogging the fridges while you slept..?

How long do the batteries take to charge when travelling?
FollowupID: 463537

Follow Up By: Chris & Debbie - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:30

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:30
Hi Tone

Where we camp there is usually not that many around that might think about flogging them but as a precaution if we are away for a while during the day we put them inside the tent section, not much protection against theft, but??
The other reason for running two fridges is ease of carrying them around plus if you heading out for trip for the day you can just carry one to take up less space, also you have a backup incase one fails.
Normally our trips are 4 days and with the batteries fully charged when leaving and usually last, although they get a bit of a top up when we run the car for the Glind shower, but have not had a problem if moving to different locations every few days. I am tossing up now whether to carry a Cristy gen or get a Yamaha gen and run a battery charger as we are planning on longer stops.

FollowupID: 463561

Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:09

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:09
Hiya Tone,

fridge in the car will get a better ride, be convenient on day trips but it's also handy round town. I can easily lift our 60l waeco into the car and then do the groceries at whatever time suits best during the day, not to mention the envy at BBQ's when you show up with a fridge instead of an esky.

As for unhooking the car each night it doesn't worry hubby too much however we are in the process of adding a battery to the trailer for longer stays.
also have a vac sealer and they are a worthwhile investment.

cackles
AnswerID: 203756

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:21

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:21
hey Cackles. What do you mean by unhooking the car each night...? Can't work out what that refers too (but its still early morning... oh hang on, no its not)
FollowupID: 463538

Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:01

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:01
when on the road we unhook the car from trailer and bring the rear of the car to the ktichen. It's no big deal to do and your wife will love you for it.

cackles
FollowupID: 463549

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:06

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:06
Tony,

I agree with Gerhard, fridge in the car. That way you have it there for when you go out of a day. Whilst camped, just back the Prado up to the awning and it acts as a windbreak.

Anything less than 80 litres for a family your size would be a joke. Struth, Jenny and I use an 80L in the car and a 90L in the camper; that is overkill but seeing as we have it, we use it.

Now the bad news. With amount of trips into the fridge and the constant refilling with warm items, an 80L fridge will draw a motza of power. Think 100 amps per 24 hrs in hot weather, at least 50 in winter. You have to keep the power up to them somehow.

So, the extra bad news;
-80l Fridge, minimum $1000
-Dual Battery min $700
-Solar or generator min $700.

There is also the 3 way option which can be adapted to suit eg a $300 3 way at camp and a 40L 12V fridge in the car which may not require the full battery setup. I once ran a 39L Engel from the start battery with 4 x 15 minute idles per day to keep the power up.

There is so much to consider.

Give me a call and I'll talk you through what I have experienced.

ATB,

AnswerID: 203774

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:35

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:35
Yo Jimbo. Yep there is lots to consider. I started the process xmas last year when the CT arrived, but left it cause its too much to guess on. A CT may have changed things. I remember reading a bunch of your notes wrt this stuff, charging, batteries, etc.

Will give you a call. Thanks.

I know its going to cost too.. :-( Its all a balance. And I'm serious about purchasing that lifestyle for the family. When kids came it dented my camping outings, but now gearing up to cater.

Btw, can't believe you and Jenny use 170lt b/w you. You fast b@astard!! lol

Forgot about the 3-way again. Maybe some more options.
FollowupID: 463544

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:50

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:50
Tonester, are your sheets Techni Ice? I use them also. I have a 70 litre fridge/ freeser (about 50 litres fridge and separate freezer). We also carry a good 55 litre esky. To feed the esky I carry 4 x 2 litre milk containers frozen and 6 sheets of Technie Ice. 3 milk containers and 4 Technie Ice sheets go in the esky and the other milk container and 2 Technie Ice sheets go in the freezer. I do a rotation each day. So the milk containers are in the esky for 3 days and the Technie Ice for 2. They are generally not fully defrosted when they come out on rotation.

Over a 16 week trip to Kimberley / NT this year, we always had cold beer, soft drink and wine from the esky. It is imortant to restock the esky with cold products though. Put a dozen hot beers in and kiss your ice goodbye.

There are only 2 of us, so this is a lot of fridge capacity. But we often go 3 weeks or more between chances to shop. Besides anyone can camp rough (did plenty of it in my younger days). You have to be smarty to go to 'rough' places and still be comfortable.

AnswerID: 203787

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:24

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:24
looks a little similar to your other reply Norm..!! lol. Thanks.
FollowupID: 463539

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:54

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:54
Sorry Tone. I posted one of the responses and it didn't seem to have worked (thought I'd stuffed up).

So I tried again. They both worked.

Lucky I told much the same fibs in both!!!
FollowupID: 463627

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:51
In regards to 'being sick', you didn't specify whether you all ate the same food but if you did food poisoning is not a likely suspect or you would have all been sick. Incidently, food poisoning can take up to 48 hours to take effect so it is not necessarily the last meal you had.

I can't comment on fridges as I haven't gone down that path yet but I'm sure all will agree that constant opening of fridge or esky is not good; train the kids to decide what they want. Take the cordial or juice out, fill up their personal containers and that is it. I live on tank water and it is the same principle; the kids can't go nuts with the hose or taps. Here is a bucket of water - fill your water pistols etc and once the bucket is empty it is over. My 5 year old understands that when the tank is empty there is no water to drink and he can't have a bath(don't think he is to worried about the bath though LOL).
AnswerID: 203793

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:26

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:26
Yeah we ate the same stuff. Its only a suspicion, not proven. But its also a good excuse. So much ice for so many people is starting to give me the bleep s.
FollowupID: 463541

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:57

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:57
Mate,

I went away from Ice years ago as it doesn't work out as viable as a fridge. If you have a 100ltr Esky (Heaps of space used in the vehicle or Trailer) but once you fill it with Ice you only have say 60ltrs of usable space. Plus I hate how everything goes soggy if it sites at the bottom of the fridge etc. Mind you Beer is far better of Ice. I find running 2 x 40ltr Engel's work a treat and I can easily last weeks without shopping......Highly recommend Vacuum Packing your meat, it doesn't have to be frozen then.......Which ever way you go look at keeping it simple, remember your on holiday and don't need all this extra work/heartache.....
FollowupID: 463548

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 09:51
Hi Tonester

When you look into it meats are seriously unhealthy food choice
but I won't try and convert you.
Looking at it from the practical side meats are hard to keep
bacteria free under camping conditions , and while it can
obviously be done its just not worth it for a camping trip.

So to start I would just not take food that is risky.
This approach will significantly reduce you fridge requirements
up front, and when you have a few good T.V.P. recipes under your belt
as a substitute you will wonder why you ever did otherwise.

For us, for camping trips up to a week we have 2 Coleman extreme
5 day eskies of different sizes and 1 small 25lt Weaco fridge which sits
between the front seats of our Patrol (centre console removed).

We select from these 3 devices the most appropriate depending on
the trip.

For a weekender we only take an esky.

Vegetables are selected that last and are always carried in A4 printer
paper cardboard boxes which are free and come lids making them stackable.

This leaves eskies / or fridge free for mostly drinks, cheese margarine
some milk etc , and often a bunch of frozen pasties which are much less
likely to have issues than meats.

On a camping trip to a set location with day drives we would take the
small fridge and 1 esky , this means we can leave the esky at camp
while we go off for a drive with the fridge.
The low current requirements and day drives meansthe small fridge is never
a problem battery wise.

In this mode the fridge can be used to re-freeze water bottles / drinks
to replenish the esky or just to pick up a bag of ice on the way for the esky
and ensure that its still frozen when we get back at camp.

In short - minimize the needs up front with better food chioces
and follow this up with a sensible plan to replenish cold stuff
as required.

AnswerID: 203865

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:02

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:02
What no meat, you must be crazy......Every man must have meat.....Beat one's chest......No way, I'm a meat and 3 veg.......Can't beat a good roast Lamb in the Camp Oven......
FollowupID: 463550

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:07

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 10:07
Never..! lol. Its all I can do to no stop & pickup roadkill and cook it up. (joking, but seriously a mate of a mate has apparently done that....spew.)

But we already do try and minimise any food critical to need fridging, but there is always going to be some and I don't want the worry, and soggy, and hence leaked juice getting to other things, etc (even when frozen).

Thanks for the info.
FollowupID: 463553

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:56

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:56
I have a 70 ltr fridge in my Patrol. Also tow a camper trailer.

I suggest you opt for the fridge in the vehicle. If you put a fridge in the camper trailer it will limit the size of the fridge. The ride in the camper trailer will not be as good as in the vehicle. You will not always have the camper trailer with you - by having the fridge in the car you can utilise it whenever you use your vehicle.

My fridge is usually on and I keep a carton of coopers and a bottle of glenfiddich in it. You never know when you are going to get thirsty. In a hot country like ours it is important not to dehydrate.

Re your three kids. Carry a small esky for them and put a lock on the fridge.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 203883

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:52

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:52
I bought a 160L Polyethelene Esky for $235 and fitted an Ozefridge Eutectic system into it and it can operate continuously cycling at -13-18oC and appears to use no more power than the normal fridges around 60L.

I am considering using it as a full time freezer for extended away from supplies trips.
ian
FollowupID: 463768