digital 12 volt meter

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:07
ThreadID: 39254 Views:16530 Replies:17 FollowUps:9
Just looking to locate a simple digital volt meter to be permanently connected to my batteries in my camper trailer. (preferably with a switch)
Not looking to spend more than about $100.00.
Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Chris.

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:17

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:17
I am looking for the same thing and posted on this forum asking the same question the other day.

I have narrowed it down to either this one from Ebay,

Site Link

or this one, Site Link

There is also one from Arrid, but it doesnt show up on their product page although it does exist and is available from Arrid. It costs $59.99 plus $6 postage.

AnswerID: 203742

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:27
Arrid Mini Volt Meter

Site Link

Available from the 12 Volt Shop
FollowupID: 463381

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:23
Jaycar have a little LED display for volts, time for about $35.00.

They also used to have a postive battery clamp with a LED voltage display built in.
AnswerID: 203744

Follow Up By: Member - Boo (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:36

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:36
Afternoon people...
I have one of the Jaycar volt meters as mentioned and have found it to be very unreliable. It took me 3 attempts to get one that appeared to work at all when I was doing the setup and then a week later after we had left on a trip ,it started giving strange readings. Dont recomend them at all.
Am interested in what others are like as I'll be replacing it as soon as the she boss unlocks the vault.

Boo..
FollowupID: 463386

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:48
Thanks for the feedback Boo.
FollowupID: 463407

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:40

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:40
Yes I had one of the Jaycar LCD voltmeters too, but it read all over the place. Now I have a good old-fashioned analogue voltage meter - not as sexy as the new ones but hey it works!!

FollowupID: 463440

Follow Up By: Flux - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:44

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:44
There are two avaiable from Jaycar that I've come across. One is the blue backlight one with the dual thermometer. I've had three fo those cark it fairly quickly and very disapointed with them. Not sure why I didn't stop after two :)

They have another smaller unit which just does volts (12 or 24v) and has 3 leds on the right hand side also indicating the charge. I've got one of these in the van I put in recently, and I've had another one for at least 6 years now which has been working full time in 2 vehicles now.

Flux.
FollowupID: 463527

Reply By: peteC - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:32

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:32
I use one in my ute from Jaycar. Think it was around $35 and it works great. Has extra stuff like backlighting when lights are on and 3 LEDs for low normal and high voltage, plus a stop watch.
AnswerID: 203748

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:58

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 17:58
Bunnings have had several small digital multimeters for about $10. I have used a couple in hardwired spots and they work fine. Give the same numbers as my Fluke which gives me confidence.

alastair
AnswerID: 203753

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:03
I bought one from "TANDY" for about $30 and put a three way swithch on it. It does more than just volts...inside and outside temp...clock and a couple of other things I cant even remember and never use.
Its been in my car for about 2 years and never had a problem with it.

AnswerID: 203755

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:10

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:10
You can get a full blown multimeter for about 20 bucks from Kmart. Benefit of sitting that in a cradle or velcroed to the side of the battery box is that you could actually remove it to use on faultfinding elsewhere, ie, tracing blown fuses, short circuits, measuring car voltages, even testing camera batteries and so on.

If you're worried about reliability, buy two of them, you still end up $60 better off than your original planned spend....

AnswerID: 203757

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:35

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:35
Hi Cobes,
As someone mentioned we tend to have stuff with which we don't know about or use all its functions. Made me think, I have a GPS which I can do a split screen which gives me long/lat; speeed over ground and battery voltage.
There may be other makes out there with the same features. My is a Lowrance Global Nav Sport.
AnswerID: 203758

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:39

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:39
I've intsalled the "needle type volt meter that Derek sells, got sick of the digital readout's loosing a bar here and there in the displays' after a while.
AnswerID: 203760

Reply By: datto311 - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:16

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:16

In my opinion you are better with an analogue meter for permanent installations. They don't draw as much current as a digital meter.

There are some good expanded scale ones around that will certainly give you an accurate reading

Noel
AnswerID: 203777

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:10

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:10
Not actually true, but not really relevant.

DVM's are usually about 10 MOhm input impedance, whereas even a good analogue meter is about 50Kohm. You are in fact talking about the difference between a couple of microamps, and a couple of milliamps (essentially nothing) current draw though. Only issue with the analogue movement meters is their accuracy (typically~2-5%) and "readability" (unless you get a special "offset" range meter, typ 11-15 volts) Digital meters are accurate to within less than 1%, and generally more robust and able to handle hour on hour of vibrations.
FollowupID: 463633

Follow Up By: datto311 - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:07

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:07
With all due respect, it is relevant, I think.

Putting it more simply. What I was getting at is, the power to drive the digital components and the display maybe significant over time. In permanent installations, unless you have a method off turning the elctronics, this could lead to problems.

I am not an electrical engineer (just an IT geek) its just my opnion - sorry
FollowupID: 463664

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:31

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:31
Fair point, but realise the analogue meter is using more current to make a reading continuously, compared to the microamps the digital meter needs intermittently. A standard 9V battery in the multimeter will last for a couple of hundred hours of continual use. if you are towing your van for 8 hrs a day, and sleeping for 8 hrs a day, along with any other activities you would be lucky if you needed to measure the battery for more than minutes a day, is it really so difficult to turn a switch one click to turn on the multimeter?

Splitting hairs............
FollowupID: 463671

Follow Up By: datto311 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:45

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:45
Yep I agree
FollowupID: 463930

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:18

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:18
Try this maybe....

Needing accurate Amp and Volt readouts is a must with any DC system but unfortunately there are not many displays around that can do this without costing an arm and a leg. I was not interested in the voltage displays with clocks and thermometers as they are both inaccurate and tacky so for the same amount of money I made my own. All up cost was around $37 and little bit of time to assemble.
The setup consists of 2 LCD displays from Dick Smith (part no. Q2220 cost $9.98 ea), a 50A current shunt from Jaycar (part no. QP5412 cost $9.95 ea), a switch, resistors (to setup the displays), wire, terminals, a box and a 9V battery. The shunt is located in the battery compartment and is secured with a dob of silicon to
reduce holes in the tub. The negative leads of all accessories go to one side and the batteries negative lead is connected to the other side. All accessories have their negative lead terminated at the shunt with nothing being grounded to the chassis. The LCD is then connected to the shunt to display Amps. You can then see current going into and out of the batteries (displays a negative sign when current going out). Both readouts are powered by a 9V battery and I put a switch in to turn them on and off as a battery was only lasting a couple of weeks when they were always powered on. I am extremely happy with the setup and can see what current each accessory is drawing and what the chargers are putting in.

Hope this helps...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 203778

Reply By: techo2oz - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:36

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:36
What I have used in a couple of instances is Kit plus an LCD display from the same vendor.

cost for both was $18 plus a few dollars freight. Works well and with a shunt and switch can be used to show Amps as well. The kit is very easy to put together.

AnswerID: 203806

Reply By: pt_nomad - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:51

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:51
Hi Chris,
I have built a voltage indicator from tricky dicky. I had to also make an enclosue to house the LEDS and board.
I'm no gun at this stuff but it was fairly simple - mounting was the hardest.

Battery Monitor Kit Monitor your car battery.
K4611 $14.92

As it is LED's, it is no a precision instrument, but I get a very good idea on what is going on. I have found a bad (Auto Elect. installed) 2nd batery earth and a faulty 2nd batt isolator using the device. You just start to get a picture on what is normal and know when things require attention. It aslo told me I had not completed any maintenace on the battery and the electolye got low - bat droped excessive chage in 24hrs.

I have my unit plugged in at the back of the car, at the same point the fridge is. So you can see what is happening after current induced voltage drop on the way to the fridge. i.e. I know when the Kids dvd is on, the voltage at the back sockets drops.

I have 3 power plugs at the bak. 12v for the kids, voltage monitor and GPS in one, fridge in one, one spare / lighting in the third.
I have made up a plug / lead set to connect my multi meter into the plugs with out messing around with the probs. This enables accurate vlotage measurement near the fridge. - You can see the impact of the fridge startiong / stopping etc.

Over time I have found I dont use the meter as the rough indicator is telling me sufficient info.

I think the 2nd bat voltage is worth a continuous monitor - what ever way you go. I also think its v. good to monitor as close to the fridge as possible.

Paul.
AnswerID: 203821

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:09

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:09
Voltmeters have many shapes and sizes.

Have a look at the pictures on my site.

Meters

I have also included a graph for basic information of battery condition.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 203843

Reply By: Ian-Rodeo - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:46

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:46
Have a look at Post ID 37474. It may give you a few more ideas.
Good luck.
One life. Live it while you can.

AnswerID: 203881

Reply By: longJohn - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 13:54
Ive got one of the LCD ones, from Dick smith, they are 12 dollars i think. Set up to read to 15.00 volts so its got two decimal places, (not that you need that accuracy) and its powered by a 9volt battery, all inside a small black plastic box. I then put in a two way switch, wired with three wires coming out of it. Two positive wires (one for each battery) and an earth. This way I can press a button (powers up the voltmeter) select which battery I want to look at and see the voltage, then let the press button go and it turns off.
This way, I can see the voltage of either battery and the whole thing still works, if either battery goes totally flat. Means you can still accuratly measure the voltage of iether battery even if the worst happens.

AnswerID: 203899

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:02

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:02
Jaycar XC0116 Jaycar XC0116
AnswerID: 204008

Reply By: Alex H - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:21

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:21
I use 2 analogue voltmetres from Dick Smith ($20 each), one wired to a switched circuit in the dashboard (tells me what the alternator is putting out when I'm driving), and the other wired to the accessory circuit near the fridge, so I can see the charge in the deepcycle battery less any voltage drop in the cables.
Not hightech, but it works for me.
Alex.
AnswerID: 204024