landcruiser locks not much chop, what to do?
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 19:52
longJohn
Noticed that any of my mates with landcruisers, can get into my car with their own keys! Went to get some solex locks and tried to fit them, found that they couldnt and that solex dont make any locks to fit the 95 model 75 series troopy. So what on earth can I do to secure my troopy from theives?
Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:23
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:23
Hi Long John
I'd be making sure that Mr Toyota is
well aware of this problem, it shouldn't happen unless all the locks and keys are totally worn.
But then Toyotas do not wear out, .............do they???.
I'd be thinking of adding a large pit bull or doberman as an extra security device inside the vehicle. Should stop your stuff being nicked LOL
Disco
Follow Up By: longJohn - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:27
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:27
Yes I agree but unfortunatly I can do neither, cant take a dog where I am going and id be very suprised if toyota gave a crap.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:39
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:39
Don't leave anything valuable in your car?
Reply By: Wetty - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:28
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:28
G'day LongJohn.
to secure your Troopy from theives, you'd have to weld steel plates over the windows, remove the motor and put it up on blocks. . . . although if someone REALLY wants it they will take it, so just make sure it is insured.
Wetty
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:40
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:40
A hidden switch and a ignition coil connected to the door openers works a treat.
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:36
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:36
A hidden switch and a crossover relay that links the horn to the door switches works a treat too. But I do like the 12V ignition coil idea - nothing like a 10,000 volt zap to make a thief see the light LOL. I'd put it under the
seat though, so when they sit down, they get the BOOT!!
On an old Holden I had in my teens, I switched the starter wire and the horn wire as an antitheft device. Scared the cr@p out of my brother when he tried to 'borrow' the car one night - he opened the door carefully, closed it gently, turned the ignition (no key needed LOL) and BLAAAAAAAAAAH off went the horn!!
Of course I never used to have anything in the vehicles worth pinching. Now I try to avoid letting people get inside the vehicle in the first place.
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:45
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:45
Insure it to the hilt and hope somebody steals it......Oh, sorry it's a Tojo and nobody would want it.....hehehe....Sorry, very TIC......
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:58
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:58
Hasp and staple with boron steel lock . LOL . Who'd want to steel a tota anyway ?
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:25
Longjohn,get rid of your mates.Lol.
Cheer's Bob.
Reply By: longJohn - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:22
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:22
Its more of the matter of a few expensive items inside im more worried about. I can easily imobilize it with a solenoid and hidden switch, but keeping the theives out is a problem.
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:29
Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:29
You will be pleasantly surprised how inexpensive car alarm/immobilisers are, and how
well they will keep your mates, or anyone else out.
Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 00:14
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 00:14
If someone wanted to get in, no matter how good you lock was, they would used a screw driver, or break a window and and strip it in a few seconds.
Reply By: 666toy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:05
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:05
Blue dog & a .357 will work without a doubt (add the coil to your door handles & you got the game sewn up) Seriously though i would be replaceing your currant locks with new barrels sounds like they are worn . Doube check solex i am sure a mate of
mine with a 75 series ute had them.