Pud's new patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:37
ThreadID: 39260 Views:2646 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
CRIKEY,we finally did it. We are the proud owners of a 4.2 1999 model.
Anyone interested in a 3 litre! New engine, only 180,000km's
Cheers Pud

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:49
Hope the gearbox has had 5th gear replaced.......ducking for cover!

Leroy
AnswerID: 203785

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:51

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 20:51
Hope it does not overheat, will join Leroy!!.
FollowupID: 463434

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:32

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:32
It came with a letter from Val Davis at Nissan saying that it was built before the 5th gear troubles started, according to the vehicle ID numbers.
We'd rather have heating prob's instead of an explosion from the hand grenade.
Pud
AnswerID: 203788

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:40

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 21:40
I was thinking yesterday while towing in northern vic where it was very warm and how I never have issues with over-heating while towing and my inaugural drive of a 4.2td off road which lead me to pulling over every few hundred metres waiting for the thing to cool down while going up Billy Goat Bluff.
horses for courses, but I suposevonce bitten .....

Leroy
FollowupID: 463442

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:02

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 08:02
Well done Pud & Barb
My Navara is still going well 95,000 km on it, and it performed faultless, on our latest trip. ( touch_wood )
I think that the 3.0 lt ZD30 motor is well suited to the weight factor, of the Navara , and works too hard in the Patrol, end of story
I too will be changing over to a Patrol, ( love Nissan's ) but going on your, ( and a lot of others experience ) I too will get a 4.2 TD model ,,,
The only question is when ?
With the big drought, and me working in the Dairy Industry I will wait a bit..

Gets back to the old saying ,,,,," It won't happen overnight , but it will happen
Cheers Mate ,,
ps. love the Trak Shak, thanks
FollowupID: 463517

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:02

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:02
Jeeeeeezz mate thought you were going all the way this time not half way, glad you got rid of the 3l pus bucket but replacing it with a trol?
Hell on KI thought i heard you say around camp fire that you were getting a toyota and doing the job properly?
Oh well looks like another stepping stone to the best. LOL

Cheers mate, look forward to lucy's reply ahhahahahah, Pesty

P. S. If you have any over heating problems call Roachie hahahahahah
AnswerID: 203795

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:35

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:35
Pesty, you bloody neandothol......... whenya gunna learn that the mighty 4.2TD GU Patrol is, quite simply, the BEST ever 4x4 ever placed upon this planet....bar none!!!!

And no, I don't believe I am biased in any way......hahahahahaha ;-)))
FollowupID: 463464

Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:53

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:53
Hey Pesty,
Pud must have been drinking rocket fuel if he said that I reckon.
Cheers Barb
FollowupID: 463682

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:27

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:27
I know you said you were thinking of 'doing it', however this is a bit sudden.

Was it the deal you couldn't refuse.

Did it come with a dishwasher??????????

I know, it hs a refridgerated intercooler, that can be driven by your honda gennie as you drive along. According to members Roachie and Trevor, you may need this function.

Did it come 'snake free' or is 'crikey' yet to clear it of snakes???????

Aaaaah! I know - its red and you couldn't resist.

OR

It was the thought of being able to drive in perfect bliss knowing there would be no BOOM! and clouds of billowing white smoke.

(ROFLMAO) bigtime - ta for making the night/morning.

NOW seriously - as I can be - congratulations and I hope it is a trouble free run from now on.

As for the 3.0l - well just park it on the Hume some where and with a bit of luck someone desperate for a ride may 'borrow' it.

Wonder what the insurance pay out on one of those would be.?????

AnswerID: 203829

Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:52

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:52
Hi LUcy,
Yes it was the deal we couldn't refuse. Pud has trouble getting the keys off me. Beats the hell out of the 3ltr.
Cheers Barb
FollowupID: 463681

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 06:20

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 06:20
Congrats guys, and hope its not too hard to get rid of the 3.0.
AnswerID: 203833

Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:55

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:55
Hi guy's,
thanks, happy as a pig in with it.
Hope you had a ripper do for your b'day Dawn.
Cheers, Barb
FollowupID: 463683

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 07:42

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 07:42
Hey!! great model, we have one 4.2 1999. 350,000ks and still the original clutch. $1000 spent on the housings for the front auto hubs and not a cent anywhere else apart from shockies and normal service.. Cant beat that!!!
AnswerID: 203837

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:15

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:15
Hi Michael - We also have the 99 4.2TD and was wondering what the clutch life was (with 'normal' driving - whatever that is). So your reply was of interest.
Ours has 175k on the clock, and am just thinking of replacing the original shocks. What are your thoughts on brands? (Yes I could do a search, but since you've 'been there done that' would appreciate your thoughts).
thanks........................Keith
FollowupID: 463643

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:47

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:47
. Keith, 99 td is not the problem gearbox, i think its more in the middle of 2000 build was the problem. As the 99 Gu is the second car, a mate of mine gave me a set of new standard springs and shocks from his vehicle, he changed his in the first few hundred k's so vehicle is still standard. It has done a few tough trips towing in its early years but nothing in the last 2 years but all original. I think no sand driving has saved the clutch. I shouldnt say too much more, the clutch might fall out on the driveway tomorrow!!! Michael
FollowupID: 463658

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:33

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 11:33
Well done!!!!

You won't regret the decisiont to get a patrol with a decent motor.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 203879

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:24

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 12:24
Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

I, too, went from the 3 to the 4.2....still have one big smile on my dial :)

Cheers Craig
AnswerID: 203887

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:43
I'm slowly convincing all you 3L owners over to my way of thinking.....hahahaha

Maybe I should run for public office? NAH!!! just kidding..... lolol
FollowupID: 463678

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:13

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:13
That's cause you went from a wagon to a ute and you couldn't get a 3.0l in the ute!

Leroy
FollowupID: 463688

Follow Up By: BUGGER ME - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 01:09

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 01:09
SAME
MUST HAVE QUITE A FEW GREAT MINDS THAT THINK A LIKE
CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A TROL
TRADED MY 2004 LTR WAGON, ONLY 32,000 KS BUT MISSED THE OLD 4.2, NOW GOT CAB CHASS 4.2 TD 2004 WHAT A MACHINE, REALLY GO ANY WHERE TRUCK.
HAD 1990 NISSAN ( MAVERICK ) NEVER ANY PROBLEMS , 424,000 KS NOT A CENT SPENT ONLY NORMAL RUN OF THE MILL STUFF
HAPPY TRAVELLING, MAY SEE YOU GUY'S ON THE ROAD ONE DAY.
GOING CAPE TO CAPE JUNE 07 ( CAPE LEEWIUN , AUGUSTA W.A TO CAPE YORK )
FOR 3 MONTHS SHOULD BE A GREAT TRIP

BUGGER ME
FollowupID: 463749

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:52

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:52
Leroy,

I changed to the 4.2L because in the first 18 months of owning a 3L it was off the road and in the workshop for a total of 88 DAYS. Not happy Jan :(
And that was just the first run of bad luck with 2000 GU. Continued downhill after that until I got rid of it as it had allthe symptoms of letting go big time. And as far as a 3L in a ute, not on your Nellie!
FollowupID: 463793

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:04

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:04
Gee those spinner baits do work! I know I am familiar with what happened with yours. Interesting to see what will be replacing the 4.2 in the ute when it retires. Local Nissan man said it could be a possibility if there is no other replacement.

Leroy
FollowupID: 463796

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:06

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:06
Quick Leroy.

Yeah forgot you knew about my dramas. The rumour I have heard also is that the ute will be using the 3L until the replacement for the 4.2 is sorted out.

Seeya.
FollowupID: 463797