Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses
Truckster, bearer of folklore and wisdom is away in the
Flinders Ranges at the moment. He drove the sands of
Robe and
Beachport and loved the 'Trol abilities there, so drove to
Peterborough and met up with another bearer of knowledge, Willem.
I have just heard from Willem that he had an impromptu trip to Wilpena where our mate Bruce had got to and re-fueled. Thing was that our mate had left his wallet in
Peterborough at his interests
shop the Steam centre. Willie took it to him to pay the fuel. They had camper there last night and are up Mt Gill at Warraweena in the Northern Flinders this afternoon. To
camp there tonight before the return.
Just goes to show we can all make mistakes and others will help us out as long as we know one another in the fellowship of EO. Just another time as I heard the other day Willie actually helped a guy out on his way to
Adelaide with two tyres and
wheels just the other evening. Yeh, round 11.30 pipemma I think.
Good on yer, Bro, I know you have your detractors, but the heart is of gold.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:58
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:58
Willem's detractors have never had the priviledge of meeting him and their judgements of him are not based on personal knowledge. I know he does not suffer fools easily and that would probably put them in the box that they need to be in.
Good on you you old donut muncher.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:37
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:37
Probably call at your place on the way home Mr Lexic.... Bruce I mean
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:42
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:42
I hope he has his wallet LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:51
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:51
Jeez, what a bunch of ol' sentimental claptrap you blokes go on wiff!!!!!!!!! hahahaha..........brought a tear to my eye, it did; really!!!!
What you say about Willie is spot-on. Gr8 bloke; but don't get on his ornery side! LOLOL ;-))
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:58
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:58
Ditto for Truckie....
Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:11
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:11
goodday fellas
i agree about willem but if bruce used his noodle he would have rung a local bank manager and tapped him for a handout
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:37
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:37
ya gotta be jokin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahaha
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:42
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:42
Tooo True Roachie, Them Bank Managers are a bunch of Plicks.
Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:28
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:28
Geez, I can't believe the lengths ol' Trucky will go to in an effort to get someone to
camp with him ;-). Hope he is having a great time.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:34
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:34
WE HAVE A WINNER!
Reply By: Dave198 - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:10
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:10
Just a public thanks to Willem for helping me out at an ungodly hour the other night.
I am doing something privately as a thankyou, but I will thank him again here.
I read these pages all the time but haven't had the chance to meet many of you lot yet due to work arrangements.
I rang Willem for some advice ( he did not know me at the time ) and he opened up his tyre stack for me. (and the coffee pot)
I had one tyre separate and one blowout on a trip down the Barrier Highway at about 95 Kph. I wont get into the brands of tyres but they were about 35%. :-(
I am lost for words at the help and advice I see and get on this site.
Is it the Aussie thing or the 4WD thing or both?
Whatever it is the helpfulness and friendships seems to transcend all boundaries.
Thanks again Willem.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:41
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:41
It's good old fashioned Australian Mateship!
That's what it is!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:44
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:44
It's good Dave, as long as we don't take each other for granted. If we show the right respect each time, life is easy. I know he can be up late some times.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:06
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:06
Its BOTH Dave, but I reckon the love of the outdoor life draws a certain type, and I have said it a thousand times, the fraternity we have here is Priceless. It reaches far wider than tyre advice or wallet deliveries, but they some of the are the outward exhibits it it.
Its like EckyTHUMP, without the Black Pudding.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:39
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:39
Yeh, Bonz, I leave the black pudding on the side of the plate. Don't offer it here at all on my menu.
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:41
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:41
It's good old fashioned Australian Mateship!
That's what it is!
Reply By: Nick R - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:53
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:53
Willie's a good bloke and all but I think there is a good point we are missing that we can laugh about now. That is: it's gonna be fun hangin it on truckie when he gets back.
Wonder if willem said "that question has been asked 5345135435151315135 times, do a search of the archives and you will find your wallet"
Sorry, couldn't help myself,
NickR
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:42
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:42
I'm not surprised to hear this. It seems to me that those who get dumped on most are actually those who would give you the shirt off their back.
Nice to hear some good stuff about forumites for a change.
Anyway, Willem knows a thing or two about missing wallets :))
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:55
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:55
Sounds like Truckster imbibed too heavily in the Prickly Pear juice and suffered a bit of memory loss leaving
Peterborough without all his goods and chattels!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:42
Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:42
Deadly stuff especially mixed with wit lit. Willie may have preferred he left the GU.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:07
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:07
Wonder if Willem had to deliver Cam too?
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:58
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:58
You naughty Bugga, JohnR.......lol
Thanks for all the nice words fellas.
I am back home. Trucky and I did a run through
Brachina Gorge and
Bunyeroo Gorge today. I left him at Wilpena turn off so he and Cammo could go and do more touristy things. I came home via
Quorn as I had to see another mate there about some tyres, lol.
Yesteday at 850metres ASL Trucky says over the radio 'Geez there is a funny whistling sound coming from the GU's engine. So I get out and he drives back
forth past me but I hear nothing. We continue. Trucky mega worried as there have been a few mishaps on this trip. Then Cammo solves it. "Hey Dad, the noise is coming from the
snorkel!". Trucky had the
snorkel cowl turned backwards and the change of the breeze up there in the sky made a hissing noise across the cowl....LOL
We made a few phone calls from
the summit because we could find a CDMA tower somewhere and walking back to the GQ I see another plurry flat tyre.....bugger!!! It was only a dodgy tube I had inside the very worn Roadslipper as I discovered when I repaired the tyre yesterday arvo.
Seeing as I had to run the mission of mercy I decided that we should make a trek of it. We camped in
Parachilna Gorge on Wednesday night. Brilliant clear skies and a Mopoke nearby calling for a mate. We did the Mount Gill Track on Warraweena Conservation Par yesterday. Saw heaps of Roos, Emus, Feral goats and fat sheep, despite the terribly dry conditions. The 35km track took 5 hours with plenty of low range driving and tight turns and twists around big River Gums . Twas a perfect day with good weather and we had a great run.
And Dave, always happy to help out. Thanks to you and the missus for the slab mate, I will sink a few tonight!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:13
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:13
Y're a great bloke Willem - my hats off to ya.
I couldn't believe Dave's luck when he told me he found you at
home at 11.30PM - quiet night at the pub and publican shut up early? and then that you loaned him a coupla rims'n'rubbers.
Anyways, he bought a couple of Tires (with an i) down here ... couldn't you at least have had a word in his ear that the MRFs would keep him shod longer? ;-)
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:34
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:34
Hi Andrew
You might not believe it, but I have not been in any of the bars of the 4 pubs we have here in town.
This evening I grabbed a coldie from the fridge and then reached into a stubby holder cupboard to grab one. It came out with ............Tires on it. I threw it back and searched for another one....lol
(PS I have done 4 boxes of slides so far :-D )
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:15
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:15
ROTFL.
I can imagine this scanning thing gets expensive - the scanner was the cheap part. One stubby one slide ... one trip to the fridge.
You'll have to email me some of your scanning brilliance - your better slides though, and I can critique your scanning ability ;-)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:29
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:29
the MTR's out did the Rags :D:D:D:D
well, the tubes not the tires..
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:04
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:04
Neyah...they are Dunlop Radials...................
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:12
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:12
damn... was still a great track.
none of the photos from Cammos
camera worked.. bleep nose y
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:23
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:23
Hook line and sinker ... TOLD YA WILLEM!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahahahahahahahaha