Hyden - Norseman Road

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:45
ThreadID: 39282 Views:7046 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
I am travelling to that other country (Eastern States) over Christmas and am looking at trying the Hyden to Norseman road for something different.
Can anyone advise on its condition and who might be a good contact as the time gets closer.
Thanks in advance for your assistance

May you always keep the dirty side down and the shiny side up.

Reply By: Member - Ric K (WA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:59

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:59
Hi Dave, might be an idea to try the shire council closer to the date, my son tells me road not too bad
regards Ric
AnswerID: 203932

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:04

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:04
Mate,

Done that particular road several time and each time it has been very good, no problem maintaining 80-100km/hr......Though I haven't done it in a couple of years. I can't see that too much has changed though....
AnswerID: 203934

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:11

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:11
'New' Hyden to Norseman road is well maintained as it is principally a mining company road. A pleasant drive, with well marked tourist features. Check out thread 38924 as this was recently discussed within that thread.

Depends which direction you are coming from; we live further south, and usually use the south of Norseman to Lake King road - another nice drive, but not so well maintained.

AnswerID: 203937

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:37

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:37
A well maintained road as mentioned, however a bit of rain, and it can get sloppy. Too much rain and it is closed, with something like a $1000 (somethin rediculous like that)per wheel fine for operating on the road when it is officially closed, therefore 4 working wheels + 2 spares= very expensive holiday.

I got caught out (not fined) in January this year, had intended to travel, but too wet, so had to take the black top.

Check with shire of Dundas or Kondinin closer to the date. Also try the caravn park in Hyden, they ghave been more than helpful in the past to me.

Make sure you check out the breakaway counrty along the way, pretty nice areas and formations
AnswerID: 203956

Follow Up By: Dion - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:15

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:15
You can't get booked for a wheel that isn't in use on the ground!! That would be like prosecuting a male for rape, just because he has the fitted equipment to conduct the activity.

Dion.
FollowupID: 463845

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27
eh,

what I was told,

due to my own ignorance (and the fact that nothing had registered on my 'care-fatcor-meter') I never bothered to check it out.

therefore you are probably correct

still, wouldnt want to be towing a camper through there on that day
FollowupID: 463898

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:52

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:52
Yeah did it 6 weeks ago and no worries it's a good Gravel/clay road, did half of it at night due to a longer than planed stop at a mine site to pick up a few thing’s for one of my mates, to my surprise only sore 2 Roos between the mine and Hyden then 3 more between Hyden and Perth.

AnswerID: 203957

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:16

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:16
It was raining heavily when we came home late April, so thought we'd have to go the long way round via Esperance, but my husband was so keen to get home, that he still turned down the Lake King Road (which is shorter for us than the road to Hyden). Signage is 'at own risk' at all times, no closure signs out. I don't know if they had closed the Hyden road, but it wouldn't have been warranted if they had. Not far down, we met two motor home campers who had camped at 90 mile tank (half way along) where it had poured down all night; it had taken them all morning (we had already had lunch by this time) to get the around 80 kms as it was pretty slushy. That didn't stop my man, so we sloshed on. Rain stopped suddenly when we got to the tank, so the mud dried on the car and caravan.
!MPG:10!

When we left in January, we had to go via Esperance, because the Lake Grace area was well and truly washed out. When checking with main roads to see if there was a way we could get through, they said the Fitzgerald River bridge (not far East of Jerramungup on way to Esperance) will be open on Tuesday afternoon. I didn't even know that had been washed out. Lucky and just in time for us - as we were leaving on Wednesday, otherwise we may have been pushing it to get to the Spirit of Tasmania in time.

All three ways are lovely drives, so if you can, go one way and come back another.

AnswerID: 203966

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:21
We travelled that road just over 12 months ago and your photo reminded me of our trip. Road is really excellent but for last 100k's it started to drizzle and car finished up filthy. As we work out of the car, I washed it at the caravan park at Norseman and it was a bugger to get off. LOL
Next time we head over there, I'll travel that road again but next time Ill gey a brochure or whatever that gives information on the Granite and Spinifex trail.
The facilities at some of the spots we called into were spotless. Looked like new.
To do it justice you would need two days. The Wildflower Drive at corrigen was excellent too.
FollowupID: 463668

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:21
good road and as above can be exciting when wet.............take care when approaching the mines along the way as there may be big traffic on the road. before you go contact hyden and norseman shires - very helpful. it will be hot so make sure you have oplenty of water if you do need to stop for any length of time - though there is now plenty of traffic using that road. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 203991

Reply By: joc45 - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:59

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:59
Hi Dave,
As said, check with the Dundas shire (Norseman) for road conditions, but if it's dry, then it's an excellent dirt road. Also, pick up tourist info there at the shire, as there are lots of signposted points of interest along the way (but the signs only have a number on them). Pleasant camping on the edge of Lake Johnston and also The Breakaways (signposted) closer to Hyden. No water tho at either place.
Would pay to ask at the servo in Norseman or the Shire re getting onto the Hyden road out of Norseman, as it isn't all that well signposted. It takes you on a winding dirt road through Lake Dundas (salt) before hitting the bush road.
Also, the servo right in town is usually the cheapest for fuel.
Cheers, Gerry
AnswerID: 204004

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:50

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:50
Raining here in Perth tonight, don't know if any is getting to that area. Servo at Hyden was very helpfull earlier this year [mid January] when a big wet went thru and a lot of roads were closed.

The young girl at the servo rang the plod at two towns to get info for us.
AnswerID: 204054

Reply By: Dion - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:16

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:16
The phone number I used to find out about the Hyden-Norseman road being opened is 08 9039 1205.

Dion.
AnswerID: 204112