A Polictical Win for Victorian 4 Wheel Drivers ?????

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:09
ThreadID: 39286 Views:4403 Replies:18 FollowUps:33
Press release from the Victorian ALP 9th November 2006

9 November, 2006
LABOR DELIVERS ON HUNTING AND FOUR WHEEL DRIVING
Labor will provide more opportunities for four wheel drivers and hunters by delivering better facilities and simplifying rules, Agriculture Minister Bob Cameron said today.
Mr Cameron today announced $1.4 million in new initiatives as part of a $52 million package over the next four years to support four wheel driving and hunting in Victoria.
“We want even more Victorians and visitors to get out and enjoy our magnificent system of parks and reserves,” Mr Cameron said.
“Labor recognises the economic importance of hunting, camping and four-wheel driving
— particularly for regional Victoria.
“The Bracks Government has given shooters unprecedented access to shoot feral animals on public land, and has upgraded tracks, toilets and other facilities for campers and four wheel drivers but we realise more needs to be done.”
Mr Cameron said under Labors package for hunters and four wheel drivers, these facilities and opportunities would be expanded even further.
Labor will simplify the rules for hunting by:
• Allowing hunting of fallow deer on public land across Victoria;
• Allowing access for hunters to cross grazing leases into hunting and game reserves; and
• Allowing animals culled under permit to be removed from properties they are shot on, and used for personal use.
Labor will increase resources for game management, and:
• Provide new funding of $400,000 over four years for the Firearm Safety Foundation to conduct firearm awareness training, and $200,000 for shotgun
education; and
• Continue to establish game management in Victoria. In June, the Government announced that $2 million would be allocated to employ three dedicated game
managers to work with hunting groups across the State:
Labor will upgrade four wheel drive tracks, and provide:
• Additional funding of $200,000 for Four Wheel Drive Victoria volunteers assisting in parks works, as part of a $4 million upgrade of four wheel drive tracks;
• $300,000 to develop and promote six iconic 4WD routes covering highland, desert, coastal and wilderness parts of Victoria;
• $250,000 to establish a classification system for four wheel drive tracks — from beginners to experienced standard; and
• Four Wheel Drive Victoria volunteers with special access to management vehicle tracks — recognising their contribution to maintaining the system.
“Labor will boost regional economies by encouraging shooters, campers and four-wheel drivers to make more use of the great outdoors,” Mr Cameron said.
Contact; ALP Campaign Media Unit Ph 9933 8539
www.alpvictoriasom Fax 9933 8563

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:19

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:19
Well done.....It's a start in the right direction.......Let's hope other States will follow this....Could we be so lucky????
AnswerID: 203951

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:26

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:26
"Could we be so lucky"????

Dunno??? but it looks like a positive step in anyones book.

I guess it may be at risk if the Greens happen to win the balance of power as it certainly goes against their objectives.

Well done to 4wd Vic for their active campaign to lift the profile of 4 wheel drivers in this state.

FollowupID: 463639

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:15

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:15
Greens are a spent force, as are the Nationals. Even if the "official" agreement between the Libs and Labor doesn't go ahead, it will still be the "unofficial" line. Neither of them wants the minor parties to hold balance of power.
FollowupID: 463644

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:17

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:17
Addit: the "agreement" was to put those minor parties last on the preference lists.
FollowupID: 463645

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:19

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:19
Fingers crossed Gary, I hope your right.

FollowupID: 463647

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:25

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:25
Amazing what an election will do. But good news.
AnswerID: 203953

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:10

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:10
Now we have to get them to soften their interpretation of the NCOP rules, especially when applied to tyres.

ie: 5-6" increase in tyre diameter for rims carrying winter tread LT rated tyres on 4WD's with selectable low range

(or at least something more realistic).

AnswerID: 203965

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:24

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:24
I doubt if they will, as the vehicle manufacturer probably wouldn't sanction it.
FollowupID: 463727

Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:20

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:20
i normally dont vote labour but gee wizz that is the first announcement i have ever cared about.
AnswerID: 203969

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:03

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:03
And there ya go - you have just found the reason behind the policy.
FollowupID: 463708

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:43

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:43
They are just copying the Liberals two months ago. I had the press release on that but decided I wouldn't politicise the forum with it. I can paste up their press release and the date if you like. The Libs are promising more money for tracks Obviously they are feeling under threat from 4by owners at the Labot office. The Victorian Four Wheel Drive Association negotiated the deal .

Cameron is very lowly regarded in rural Victoria as a Minister, just likes to swan around for a picture. Reckon his nose will go like Bracks, like on the free- come-toll-way

Sorry you decided to post it John. Bluddy sorry.
AnswerID: 203980

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:31
John,

I really like you as a bloke. I have enjoyed your company on a number of ocassions.

But why the need to endlessly promote your political bias?

Give credit where it is due.

Who cares who's idea it was first? If it is implemented it is good policy.

Isn't it wonderful that one party may take on the the suggestions of their opponents if it makes sense? Much like when Howard took on Latham's ideas about politician's super?

Who cares who put it up first? If it good for the country I am all for it, regardless of which party introduced it.

ATB,

FollowupID: 463695

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:37

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:37
John by all means paste the Libs policy on here also, I would like to see it.
This one was just emailed to me via my 4wd club who got it from 4wd Vic, It was not meant to politicise the forum only to inform.
I would have posted the Libs one if I had it.

Nothing like a balanced policy statement from either major party that is all for supporting 4 wheel drives and the outdoor community.

I know that 4wd Vic has placed a lot of pressure on the majors with the introduction of REG and it may appear to have had the desired affect????

Now all we all have to do is keep the Greens out of the equation and we may just score one for the little guys for once.

FollowupID: 463698

Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:47

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:47
Hey jimbo,
saw something political and had to check which john it was!!!

Actually I did read it very closely as I was half expecting to see $6m to put boom gates and toll collectors on 100 of the states most used tracks or maybe $20m for an off road extension to the etag system that applies to citylink.......

here here on the greens, I met one today, do you realize they actually believe that tripe they peddle? I reckon they actually do, I used to think it was a joke once but they are dangerous.....

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 463703

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:25

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:25
You may not have noticed with the irony Jimbo, that I had left the Libs policy off. Funny you accuse me of the bias. I HAD NOT put the information until this post where the ALP are playing catch up. They have been discriminating against 4by users and running down tracks, but perhaps you hadn't noticed. Even barring 4by users from particular forests as they have - totally excluded. I guess you are saying now Jimo that the ALP is becoming blatently populist going in the opposite direction?

Think you owe me another berr Jimbo.

John, funny I thought the 4by association had the Liberal policy several months ago when it was released. One of the guys I know there said to me he thought I must have been lobbying, it was the Vic Fourwheel Drive Association
FollowupID: 463710

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:35

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:35
John so far as I know no Lib policy has been sent to 4wd Vic.

If it had they would NOT have kept it secret as soon as this one was received it was distributed to ALL member clubs.

We had Peter Hall (Gippsland National??) speak at our October club meeting and no mention of a Lib policy was discussed.

FollowupID: 463714

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:15

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:15
John, the country policy is a half meg PDF file and 22 pages of stright policy as distinct from press releases. It was a very comprehensive policy document that would have gone to all the bodies that assisted the party in forming policy. It was a public document from the 28th of July and obviously the ALP have grabbed at a heap of it from the post you put above.

There is a distinct lack of trust in country Victoria as nothing promised has happened. Gas reticulation promised in the first term, in named country towns. Rail upgrades and rail standardisation has just not happened. VLine took back over from West Coast Rail this way and the service is hopeless again. If you look at the people that use the rail services that they extended back into areas it had failed for lack of patronage, it covers just the social security net.

Our local MP has been working towards a manned ambulance station when the industrialisation happened in this area and for the tourist traffic too. No response from the Health Minister until the workforce building the gas plants has dissapated to their homes, now the election campaign is on, the ALP promise an ambulance station manned here. It's like drawing teeth, policy on the run. Talk about a light weigh minister. No one can believe it can happen with past experience. Seven years of doing nothing.
FollowupID: 463725

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:18

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:18
Go JohnR
John for PM

All they way with ......

Must agree with Jimbo

FollowupID: 463742

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:37

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 07:37
Richard, you may if you wish, but Jimbo must have had a few too many. I don't have your union cred (and crap) you posted the other day and am too old for preselection for it if I was interested. Mine is more economic and business.

I have n o t posted the information previously knowing it politicised the forum, it is only when John posted the original above, that people needed the balance. Not the last minute crap. Seven years and then a scramble back, it's very apparent in Victoria they have been cutting the expenditure and reducing our freedom in the High Country.

Yes, go and sit in Jimbo's corner, you and he both display just the same bias (opposite to me probably). Fine. As I say I preferred to keep it out when it was originally available. Bracks is now under the pump. Teriffic, better government that way. One of my friends wants change State and Federal, that doesn't mean he isn't a friend. Wake up Richard!
FollowupID: 463764

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:51

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:51
im with you John, I think iys a no toll sin scorsby all over again.

Wheres jeff when we need him lol
FollowupID: 463936

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:37

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:37
John R,

Your nasty comments are not necessary, nor welcome.

I'll explain the basics of politics to you. We have an opposition to apply pressure to the incumbent government and put them under scrutiny. In turn it is hoped that the Govt will make better decisions because the alternative government (opposition) constantly puts them under the microscope publicly.

If any of us are so one-eyed as to believe that only one side of politics can have any good ideas; all perspective is lost. Foreign as it may seem to you, both sides of the political spectrum have made a great contribution to this country.

Cheer up,

FollowupID: 463969

Reply By: Bytemrk - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:51

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:51
Looks very positive....

...... but think Scoresby freeway....... I'll believe it when it has actually happened remember this comes from a political party in election mode...

Sorry to be so cynical.......

AnswerID: 203983

Follow Up By: Bytemrk - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:53

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:53
I should also say though.... well done 4wd Vic for giving it a good go.....

Much better than sitting on your A**E and whinging like many others....

Hope it does happen...

FollowupID: 463662

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:57

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:57
My approach will be to write to every Labor politician in Australia and tell them 4wders will vote labour federally if we get such a commitment from Federal labor. I will also write to QLD State Givt (labour) and let them know 4wders won't be voting for them unless they do the same

Dave O
AnswerID: 203985

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:42

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:42
Good point David, If we can finally show the Pollies that we are a force to be listened to then we may get more ears in Canberra as well as other states.

FollowupID: 463699

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:22

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:22
What about starting at the local govements?

thay will be the first to have to fined the money to do the things you want.
FollowupID: 463743

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:17

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 20:17
nothing like threatening the pollies with a loss at election time...........well done and i hope it all works out ok. as for us in the west........we are still trying to get an ear from any politician but with the current corruption stuff flying around i think they will all be on holidays very soon. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 203990

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:40

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:40
I am waiting with bated breath for the rabbit that will come out of the proverbial hat to turn away this lot of heat, (they have spent Daylight saving, should've "waited awhile")

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 463715

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:32

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:32
Note the date John. Cameron playing catch up. They are going to put back in some of what they cut several years ago.

Tuesday, 1 August 2006
LIBERALS TO IMPROVE ACCESS TO OUR PUBLIC LAND

A Liberal Government will fix the neglected access tracks in national parks and state forests, Shadow Minister for Country Victoria Philip Davis said today.

Mr Davis said maintenance of four-wheel-drive access tracks in parks and state forests was imperative for the continued and safe use by Parks Victoria and Department of Sustainability and Environment (DSE) personnel, emergency services and recreational vehicles.

In the past seven years, the Bracks Government has cut funding for access track maintenance by $2.2 million per year.

Currently Labor only allocates $400,000 per year each from Parks Victoria and DSE for track maintenance, which falls dangerously short of the funding needed to maintain access and provide adequate safety.

Last year, volunteers from Four Wheel Drive Victoria spent 3000 hours clearing access tracks after storms.

Letting access tracks fall into disrepair is not only inconvenient for those who use them, but a serious safety issue, especially during search and rescue operations, bushfires and other emergencies.

“A Liberal Government will address the Bracks Government’s maintenance backlog by dedicating an additional $1.5 million annually,” Mr Davis said.

“A Liberal Government will also ensure access tracks are properly maintained into the future, by doubling the present Parks Victoria and DSE combined funding to $1.6 million per year.

“This will bring the total to $3.1 million available to get these access tracks up to standard and keep them that way.”

Mr Davis said a Liberal Government would maintain the existing Four Wheel Drive Advisory Committee’s role in track maintenance advice.

He said the Committee was well placed to monitor track conditions, identify maintenance priorities and allocate maintenance funding.

“A Liberal Government will reverse Labor’s policy of excluding people from public land, leaving it unmaintained to become a fire risk and infested with weeds and feral animals,” Mr Davis said.

“The Liberal Party is committed to keeping public land open for public use, and this can only be done with adequate maintenance of these areas and with the input of the public.”

For further detail see the Country Victoria policy

Media Enquires: Wendy Collins-Dee on (03) 5143 1038 or 0407 817 763

AnswerID: 204025

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:44

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:44
Interesting John.
I have forwarded copy of this to the President of 4wd Vic.
Will let you know what he says.

FollowupID: 463716

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:49

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:49
John, being a Qlder I don't understand a word of it all. But knowing you a little, whatever it's about must be good.
You know how much I LOVE politics :))
Stay in there mate.
AnswerID: 204030

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:55

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:55
Cheers Jim :-)

FollowupID: 463720

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:56

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:56
And More John, note the date again.

Monday, 7 August 2006
LIBERALS TO IMPROVE FIREARM SAFETY

A Liberal Government will improve firearm awareness and safety, Shadow Minister for Country Victoria Philip Davis said today.

Mr Davis said any unintentional firearm related injury and deaths occurring in Victoria which were tragic and unnecessary.

“Victorian shooting organisations are already doing significant work promoting firearm safety throughout the state, but further education is needed to improve community awareness,” Mr Davis said.

“A Liberal Government will work with shooting groups to further promote the safe use of firearms.

“We will also invest in developing shooting as a sport and assist with firearms safety education.”

Mr Davis said a Liberal Government would establish the Victorian Firearms Safety and Education Foundation (VFSEF) to promote firearm safety education in Victoria.

“The VFSEF will administer the Victorian Firearms Safety and Education Scheme, which will promote firearm safety among holders of firearms licences,” he said.

“This will include the publication and dissemination of safety information to firearms owners and the public.

“Publications, videos and DVDs will also be provided as general education tools, promoting firearm safety education and working with existing regional shooting programs.”

Mr Davis said more than 180,000 Victorians possess registered firearms.

These firearms are used for a range of purposes, including farm use, and competition shooting.

“With more than 550,000 registered firearms in Victoria, it is imperative that firearms safety information is widely and easily available to educate Victorians about responsible use,” Mr Davis said.

“Sporting shooters organisations have done a great job with no support from the Bracks Government.

“A Liberal Government will improve community understanding and awareness of firearm safety issues.”

For further detail see the Country Victoria policy

Media Enquires: Wendy Collins-Dee on (03) 5143 1038 or 0407 817 763

AnswerID: 204033

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:00

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:00
Yes, boring as crap as this was months ago............ The Libs have the policies and it was costed then....
Thursday July 27 2006

A NEW LEASE ON LIFE FOR COUNTRY VICTORIA

A Liberal Government will end the neglect of country Victoria, Leader of the Liberal Party Ted Baillieu said today.

Launching the first of the Liberal Party’s ‘Country Victoria’ policies, Mr Baillieu said country communities had suffered seven years of neglect and mismanagement by an aimless Labor Government.

“A Liberal Government will get country Victoria back to business and ensure country people get the services and support they deserve,” Mr Baillieu said.

“Country Victorians have had enough of spending their time completing Labor’s paperwork for the never-ending rules and regulations, instead of running their businesses and enjoying life.

“They are tired of over-the-top country planning restrictions which dictate exactly what they can and can’t do on their own properties and how to live their lives.

“They are fed up with the Labor’s double standard of throwing the book at farmers with land management issues, while neglecting its own responsibility to Crown land.

“But most of all country Victorians are sick of playing second fiddle to metropolitan Melbourne for important infrastructure funding and access to services.

“We must appreciate country lifestyles and interests are worlds away from those in the city. Everyday issues and problems for country Victorians can be very different from those of people in Melbourne and require different solutions.

“A Liberal Government will implement a comprehensive $280 million package of initiatives to capitalise on the competitiveness of country industry, provide greater community support and forge a closer inter-relationship between the country and city.”

The Liberals’ policy incorporates measures to provide efficient infrastructure:
· $127 million for rundown local roads and bridges;
· Stronger support for country tourism and the racing industry;
· A new rural industry based on the processing of kangaroo products;
· Tackle livestock theft in country areas;
· Support for the expansion of private forest plantations; and
· More effective and efficient delivery of natural disaster relief.

Measures to provide competitive regulation and planning reforms:
· A net loss policy for farm regulations where for every new regulation two existing ones must be eliminated;
· An improved planning regime to implement a moratorium on new wind farms and restore the planning authority for wind farms to local government, establish a more effective and fair rural zoning system that protects the property rights and land values of country landholders, preserve valuable native bushland without adversely affecting farming activity, and a revised code for broiler farms to end industry uncertainty and Ministerial interference;
· Streamlined food safety regulation and enforce food labelling laws, particularly relating to country of origin;
· Reform the heavy handed child employment laws
High standard services:
· One-stop shop for Federal, State and Local Government payments and information in country Victoria under the CountryLink initiative
· Redress the country doctor crisis by attracting additional doctors and supporting medical practitioners already based in the country
· Continue the Star 6 program to provide city visits for country children, and extend it to give city kids the experience of a stay in the country
· Restore funding to the Victorian Young Farmers Inc
Lifestyle amenity:
· Expand the repair and maintenance programs for public land access tracks and introduce a driver education program for people with four-wheel-drives and all-terrain vehicles
· Establish a Victorian Firearms Safety and Education Foundation to promote firearm safety through a Victorian Firearms Safety and Education Scheme
· An innovative, all-purpose licence for firearms, fishing and hunting
· Leadership for conservation and game management

Mr Baillieu said country Victorians deserve more than being short-changed by the Labor Government.

“A Liberal Government will capture the advantages of country Victoria’s rich natural resources, export industries and people known for their resourcefulness and innovation.”

Media contact: Wendy Collins-Dee 0407 817 763

AnswerID: 204034

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:30

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 00:30

Save David server space you can read them all at Site Link

FollowupID: 463744

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:05

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:05
" Expand the repair and maintenance programs for public land access tracks and introduce a driver education program for people with four-wheel-drives and all-terrain vehicles"

I found the comment interesting....given it is 'pollie speak' the translation could be interpretted to mean, you'll undertake a course if you want to be licensed to drive a 4WD???

FollowupID: 463849

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:26

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:26
Having just read all this lot, it seems that there must be an election in the offing somewhere.
Since when have such radical election promises been core promises which must be kept.
My advice is:- Don't hold your breath waiting, there will always be something more important come up.

But then I'm a pragmatic realist who's been around long enough to understand pollie speak doesn't really say anything.

Good Luck

Disco
AnswerID: 204039

Reply By: 666toy - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:35

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:35
Well bugger me ,
Some common sense out of a major political party. Wish the communist republic of nsw would take a leaf out of Mexico's book in fact i think i just might migrate south of the border with this announcement. How hard is it to change firearms licence to Vic? cat AB,H. Wish the federal gov might give this a look......oh for my browning a5 again ...do you think i am dreaming lol
AnswerID: 204043

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:19

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:19
>How hard is it to change firearms licence to Vic?

You have to start from square one.

>cat AB,H.

What did you have on Cat H?

>Wish the federal gov might give this a look.

The Federal, and State, governments don't want any member of the public to own firearms. However as "naughty people" don't apply for firearms licences that sentiment has little effect upon firearms crime - no surprise there then - still it keeps the masses happy, I suppose, and allows politicians to demonise people who they _can_ persecute - shame it has no effect on crime - still... it does win some votes?

FollowupID: 464231

Follow Up By: 666toy - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:07

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:07
thought it was ment to be a national licence lol. mike got a .22 ruger mk11 ss , .357mag colt python & a 9mm beretta on the way on cat h. Never seen a criminal with a licence yet
FollowupID: 465426

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:35

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:35
I hear a rumour that the Liberals are going to allow crocodile hunting in Victoria, I sure hope they win government

AnswerID: 204123

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:46

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:46
I also hear they will allow hunting of African elephants in Victoria too.

Can someone tell me why that sounds like an empty promise????
FollowupID: 463923

Reply By: lindsay - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:29

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:29
Remember who spent millions of $ repairing the high country tracks after labours last effort. Bill Baxter from the Nationals when he was minister for roads.
Remember when labour imposed a $40.00 rego surcharge on all 4 wheel drives.
You trust them if you like!
AnswerID: 204173

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 03:07

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 03:07
"$40.00 rego surcharge on all 4 wheel drives"

Hmmmmm!! must have missed that one???

FollowupID: 463988

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:50

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:50
bullchit

dont believe a word of it
AnswerID: 204426

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:46

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:46
Just returned from a few days in the bush.

My God! But you people are gullible.

AnswerID: 204441

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:37

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:37
So in your usual expert opinion please enlighten us Michael with the reasons why the People are Gullible????

FollowupID: 464360

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:45

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:45
No point Johnny-boy - if you don't already know then you're not going to understand my explanation, no matter how simple I make it for you.

FollowupID: 464373

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:18

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:18
I thought that Gullible was the big bloke that did all the travelling,,so he must be on our side

FollowupID: 464420

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:27
Im with Mike on this.. Once the election is over, promises will disappear like farts in the wind.

John, its nice to have dreams that pollys are on our side for a milli-micro-nano-billi trili second, but in all honest mate, you dont really believe it?

Only slow people would not see these lies coming from about 4 times the distance of the ex-planet Pluto..
FollowupID: 464467

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:47

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:47
No I actually agree with you in most respects Bruce.
I posted the release as I thought it was a very interesting policy from our perspective.

And yes as Eric commented we have seen Bracks back flip on bigger election promises such as the "No Tolls" policy (Scorsby Freeway)

Mr Harding as usual has labeled all others as being gullible without being prepared to substantiate his label.
Might I say not untypical of him, pretty gutless is the term that springs to mind on that particular point.

I don't doubt for one second that we all have a huge mistrust of our politicians and no one would be gullible enough to believe it until we saw the finished product in the flesh so to speak.
But interesting that we have both major parties with what appears to be specific public policy on 4 wheel driving and hunting.
Just makes me wonder if they are noticing that we exist in some numbers and that we could potentially have some bearing on the outcome of the election if we got our act together well enough to apply our voting power in the right way.
Which is just the point of REG!!!
Remember that the Greens were a nobody party (still are in my book) long ago but they have focused themselves and now threaten to influence the balance of power.

FollowupID: 464472