If you hit an animal while travelling...

Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:11
ThreadID: 39299 Views:3813 Replies:13 FollowUps:43
For those of us with enough compassion to not want to see an animal die a slow death. Ever wonder wish you could do more if you accidently hit wildlife on the road during your travels but had no idea what to do or where to take it for help as you are in an unfamiliar area? Now you can call the RACV. See below.

The new community service, RACV Wildlife Connect, is made possible by Zoos Victoria, in collaboration with not-for-profit wildlife organisations. It is an integral part of RACV’s $1 million, five year support for the Australian Wildlife Health Centre.
RACV Wildlife Connect provides a central 24 hour a day telephone service through RACV’s 13 11 11 number for any Victorian motorist who hits or encounters injured wildlife on the road. It offers an easily recalled number through a centralised service for the first time, connecting motorists by phone to volunteer wildlife carer networks.

A large number of animals are hit on Victorian roads each year. In 2005, RACV received 4421 motor vehicle claims relating to animal collisions, a 43 per cent increase during the past two years. RACV's aim is to provide an accessible service that anyone can ring at any time of day, thereby increasing the reporting of injured wildlife.

RACV is delighted to be involved in the project with Zoos Victoria, Help for Wildlife, Wildlife Victoria and the Wildlife Rescue and Information Network, who in turn rely on the volunteer support of many wildlife carers around Victoria.

If you hit an animal, call 13 11 11 and RACV will connect you to the wildlife carer network.

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:50

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:50
And if you hit an animal outside Victoria ?
AnswerID: 204071

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:53

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 09:53
I have no idea - but every little bit helps I guess.
FollowupID: 463794

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:10

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:10
Drag the animal across the border into Vic then make the call.

leroy
FollowupID: 463813

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:53

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:53
Find a piece of dried hardwood about 4 feet long and 3 inches dia and..........

Doesn't sound nice but better than leaving the poor thing there to suffer.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 463842

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:40

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:40
LMAO Leroy

FollowupID: 463920

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:42

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:42
why do i think of my camp oven when i see mention of 4 foot of dried wood and an animal ???

Boc

FollowupID: 463922

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09
Far West of NSW the organisation is RRANA
Rescue & Rehabilitation of Australian Native Animals.
Contact number 0429 204 416
or Business Hours
NPWS 08 8088 3200
RSPCA 08 8087 7753
FollowupID: 463960

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:39

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:39
Simple answer:

If you hit an animal and there is no chance of its survival.

Hit it on the head with:

An axe.
A high lift jack.
Run over it again.
A rock

Or

Slit its throat with a sharp knife.

Very simple really and is a quick death.

I often wonder what kind of concience those people have who just leave the poor critters to die slowly.

AnswerID: 204093

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:56

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:56
I agree with you. When it really comes to the crunch I reckon I would find a way to do it. But I am one of those big softies that catches fish then hands them over to he who knows to do the killing for me. Must be a girl thing, I just can't bring myself to do it even though I can accept that it needs to be done.
FollowupID: 463830

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:47

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:47
dont forget the joey in the pouch - it will slowly freeze to death or starve otherwise
FollowupID: 463841

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:39

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:39
Yes - quicker the better - I was taking some clients to an early morning photo shoot driving past Oraparinna(?) Station just North of Wilpena and the roos were out in hordes ... the farm hand in his ute was just leaving and hit a skippy about 200 yards in front of us.

I saw it bounce over the top of him, and flap about on the road, as did the little English lass customer in my passenger seat. I slow. He stops. He reverses just as I slowly drive up and finishes poor old soul off.

I don't think the English lass recovered from her canniptions until we were having a coupla beers as a group that night - at least the other passengers in the back were still waking up and missed the action.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 463853

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:53

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:53
Had the same problem here in Kangaroo Island .... I'm driving for K.I. Odysseys / APT and sometime it appens ..... the whorse is when you have to do "the job" with tourist on board! Sometime they wont talk with you for an hour ...

Luca
FollowupID: 463861

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:16

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:16
KI - well I remember the impossibility of missing the hordes on that centre road back to Kingscote one late evening ... even at 20 k's they were suiciding ... I don't envy your job in that regard.
FollowupID: 463866

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:19

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:19
Took out an emu doing 80k's a few years back south of Thargaminda....... We turned around and I was concerned that the emu's mates had compassion,they came back to try and help :(
The only thing we could do was get the axe.......... It was in pain for maybe 5 minutes. Of course once it stopped kicking we dragged it off to the side of the road.
FollowupID: 463915

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:43

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:43
AnswerID: 204094

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:04

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:04
A friend's son is a sport shooter (mainly wild pigs - good on him), and travels with his guns. Once he stopped where someone had hit a kangaroo and was standing their wondering what to do; badly injured roo without going into graphics, not viable to save. He got his gun and shot it. The other driver then started carrying on - I'm going to report you to the RSPCA. Please do, he said.

These friends then made sure they had a piece of wood in their car in future, in case they had to make the ultimate decision for an injured animal. We always carry something suitable for a quick euthanasia.

AnswerID: 204125

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:12

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:12
I had to do something similar once, thou I wasn’t threatened to be reported, I was asked was it really necessary to shoot it.

No I thought the animal much preferred laying on the side of the road, with the injures that are sustained when a 2 ton 4WD hit’s it at 90km/h.
FollowupID: 463887

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:01

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:01
There is always the jack handle in the car. Unfortunately, have had to use it once.
FollowupID: 463959

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:41

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:41
You all a bit to "Wolf Creek" for me.

Wires seems to be the N.S.W. animal rescue mob.
131 something somethin something (cant remember the number but I have it in my phone I think).
AnswerID: 204134

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan H (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:52

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:52
How long will it take for someone to get out there though?
Kill the poor thing right there and then.

I hit a dog a couple of years back, and thought I'd call the Police, it took them 1 hour to get permission to kill the poor thing.
Now that I think about it I wish I put it out of its misery myself.
FollowupID: 463878

Reply By: Member - Kevin E (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:45

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:45

One thing we should all remember is that if we hit and either kill or injure an animal that we don't leave it on the roadway.

Leaving it on the road endangers the birds of prey i.e. Eagles, kites and the like that come to clean up the mess because their slow take off leaves them vulnerable to traffic.

Kev.

P.S. Don't you wish that crows were as slow as kites on the road.

AnswerID: 204147

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:04

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:04
ever run a crow over? i havnt and i dont know anyone that has despite some of my freinds trying very hard
FollowupID: 463926

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:59
They seem to know almost to the centimetre, how far to move to get out of your way.
Uncanny.
FollowupID: 463958

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 13:02

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 13:02
Luckily cane toads aren't like crows :-))))
FollowupID: 464023

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:52

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:52
No it's not a girl thing, you learn to do it. I just think I'm doing the animal a favour, do unto others includes animals I reckon and I'd hope someone would do that for me. Just line em up and wack, pull off road, carry on. Don't think about it. I can't understand people who leave an animal to suffer, they'd rather the animal suffer than think they killed something. Doing 'em a favour I reckon.
Cheers, Barb
AnswerID: 204175

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:06

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:06
Hit a roo in WA a few years back. Parked a few meters forward of it and it was flopping around on the ground etc. Told the kids to stay in the car, got the axe out, walked up to it and looked it in the eyes and it looked back. Bugger me if it didn't jump up and hop away real fast.

Told the kids that it was just winded. I felt bad as I am sure that it layed down and died a long horrible death in the bush, maybe with a joey on board. Love to see what RACV/WIRES etc would do if I called them on the HF. Sometimes you just have to be practical as others have shown in the messages above.
AnswerID: 204184

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09
The last roo I hit left 2kg of gizzards throughout my engine bay, so not much left on the road thankfully. I would hate to make the decision to knock it on the head, easier to do it to some "humans" in my opinion. Still would, if put in the position though.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 204213

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 18:13

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 18:13
Tev,

Was this you ??

www.i21.photobucket.com/albums/b289/cruiserpics/misc/roo.jpg

Warning - Picture may offend some viewers! Don't whinge at me if you choose to look.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Wazza.
FollowupID: 464060

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 08:31

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 08:31
new meaning to the word s " hood ornament"

Boc
FollowupID: 464133

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:45

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 10:45
Nah not me, there was nothing left of the one I hit. The truck following got what was left, after I hit it, stuck in his steer tyre and was spewing cause it was going to cost him a wheel alignment or his tyre if he didn't get it fixed.

Nice shot, none the less.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 464147

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 10:13

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 10:13
We hit a Roo near Fitzroy Crossing last year and we didn't have to think how we were going to deal with it because a car full of aboriginals travelling behind us pulled up and called out they would fix it as it had a broken leg. After they put the animal out of its misery they called out Hey Brother he's yours do you want him which we replied no thanks we dont ,so they said thanks they would keep him. Fresh stew for tea that night I think.
AnswerID: 204255

Reply By: rodeonut - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 12:18

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 12:18
never had to finish a roo off, theres not really much finishing to do when i hit em at a 100 clicks in the kenworth that i drive............
AnswerID: 204268

Reply By: George - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 14:00

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 14:00
If anyone contemplates using firearm to put an animal out of its misery on a public road, think again. If you are caught/reported you are risking loss of your licence, all of your firearms and a possible conviction. Clubbing an animal to death can also result in charges of cruelty to animals, again resulting in a possible conviction. The sad truth is that the most pragmatic approach after running into a critter is just to keep driving.
AnswerID: 204279

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:37

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 09:37
They feel the same pain as you would!
FollowupID: 464138

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:55

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:55
Clubbing an animal to death for "sport" would result in charges - finishing off an animal with road injuries would not.
FollowupID: 464196

Follow Up By: Joe King - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:52
you can use your gun to shoot an injured animal on the side of the highway, when you do your gun licence they use this as 1 example where you can discharge your fire arm in a public place (Qld) even if it wasn't allowed I'd do it anyway,
the quickest & most effective way.
FollowupID: 464416

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:04

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:04
I always have my guns with me when I go bush but, in Victoria at least, George is probably right. I have had to do it once on a quiet country road and would have no hesitation in shooting an injured animal in a more public place and if I loose my licence for having compassion then so be it - it's the quickest and most humane way to put an animal out of it's pain.

FollowupID: 464428

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:17

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:17
Seems to still be a lot of people with guns, with the amount of anger I see on this forum, it is a more than a little disconcerting!
FollowupID: 464475

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:27
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity."
Sigmund Freud

Perhaps some counselling would be in order for you to help alleviate these irrational fears?

FollowupID: 464477

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:42

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:42
Mike, I know by your literary eloquence with your contributions here, that you have a good command of the English language, however, what didn't you understand about "anger" & "guns" being contained in the same sentence?
FollowupID: 464479

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:01

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:01
I understand the connotation perfectly thanks - it's just that it's irrational.

Check how many more crimes of violence, in Australia, are committed with the traditional "blunt object" or the humble knife, often of the kitchen variety.

As a firearms owner for about 37 years I have grown tired of this silly, modern, invented fear of firearms - usually manifested by people with little to no knowledge of, or exposure to, them.

I suspect far more people die and are injured by four wheel drives in Australia than are by firearms but you seem comfortable enough with them - even allowing for Road Rage?

FollowupID: 464486

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:19

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:19
I sold firearms for some years Mike.
FollowupID: 464490

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:31

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:31
>I sold firearms for some years Mike.

In which case you should be fully aware of the very tight laws which surround the legal ownership of firearms these days and have a bit more understanding of the situation than to attempt to make such simple and emotive connections as you have.

FollowupID: 464492

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:45

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:45
........ & maybe you need to get the chip off your shoulder!
FollowupID: 464529

Follow Up By: Joom - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:47

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:47
Shaker, I took what you said as a bit of a tongue in cheek joke, (it was, wasn't it?)only because also on this forum we always see people putting up the news headlines everytime some one that owns a 4x4 runs someone over, I think its the same to say that everyone that owns a firearm is going to shoot somebody
FollowupID: 464530

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:58

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:58
With the tremendous increase in numbers of people in the High Country over recent years, I can't think of any place where it would be guaranteed safe to fire a high powered rifle with a lethal range in excess of 2 miles.

I have been in the situation of having 2 bullets pass through my campsite late last year, within about a metre of where I was sitting, I actually heard the bullets pass by.
I know that there are many responsible gun owners, but if they miss their intended target???
FollowupID: 464532

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:15

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:15
Amazing capabilities you have - being able to deduce the exact location of a supersonic projectile - amazing....

Anyway... we've now changed the thrust of the thread, have we, from "anger and firearms" to "accidents and firearms" - hummmmm...?

FollowupID: 464541

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:30

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:30
Where did I say I deduced where they came from? All I said was I heard them, & believe me .. I fair bleep myself!
What I will clarify is this, I was sitting when the first one went past, but I was on the ground when the second one came.

I actually had another one go between my brother & myself about 26 years ago, I did take a gun camping then, & let one go in the air just to alert the shooters that we were there, believe it or not ... it was at Sheepyard Flat, you could kill about 15 with one shot there today!

As far as knowing the "very tight laws which surround the legal ownership of firearms these days", I have absolutely no idea, my interest in guns diminished considerably when a friend put a shotgun in his mouth in the early 80's.
FollowupID: 464590

Follow Up By: Joom - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:03
A good mate of mine that had an A, B, C & D gun licence, hung himself 6 months ago, your freind, as sad as it is, was going to do it anyway I bet but the shotgun was his choice, it was not the guns fault, I don't blame the rope for Tony & I don't blame the gun that my Grandfather shot himself with, or the rifle that shot my girlfriend dead, or even the cars that have taken more freinds & family from me than anything else
FollowupID: 464603

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:28
>I did take a gun camping then, & let one go in the
>air just to alert the shooters that we were there

_YOU_ sir - should not be allowed anywhere _near_ a firearm given that you feel it is safe to fire a round "into the air" - Jesus! But people like you scare me!

FollowupID: 464613

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:23

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:23
Mike .. I had just had a bullet pass me within 18".
FollowupID: 464638

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:25

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:25
I forgot to add it was a shotgun that I had, doubt if a sprinkling of pellets would do too much damage, but no doubt you will think of something.
FollowupID: 464640

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:27
Joom, I didn't blame the weapon either, or his wife for that matter, it just made me lose interest in guns.
FollowupID: 464642

Follow Up By: Joom - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:58

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:58
no worries shaker, understood
FollowupID: 464688

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:50

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:50
I've had to euthinasia alot more animals than I would have liked to traveling on the cape roads it took me 5 mins of smaking a roo in the head with a high lift to kill it once because I had hit it and broke both it's legs.

this guy I knew was driving along the pdr road and came upon some overseas tourist in a rental that had hit a roo so he pulled out his illegal hand gun and shot the
thing and jumped back in his car and drove of without saying he reckons they were hysterical.
AnswerID: 204631

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:06

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:06
I can picture the scene - I'll bet those two tourists never came back to Australia :)
FollowupID: 464430