New "NG" Cruiser
Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:51
Member - Hughesy (SA)
Reading in 4x4 Mag that the new Cruiser wagon will be called the "NG" for Next Generation......
Its confirmed that the new troopy (didn't say what it will be called) will be wider body to fit the V8 turbo (single) diesel.....yehaaaa
And the new wagon will have the twin turbo - jeesh with the expected power from that outfit the aftermarket power-chip companies will go broke..
All this expected in early 2007.......
I've seen photos of the new wagon but has anyone seen any of the "wide body" troopy???
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:09
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:09
Can't help with the photo's but I heard from my dealer that the new wagon will not be until around 3rd Qtr 2007. Dealers are whining to head office because they are almost out of Turbo's already and there will be a drought. Read elsewhere here that the Troopy is Q1 '07.
Reply By: tdv - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:15
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:15
I read in Syney Morning Herald it is "200 series". Who knows?
I was told by local dealer that current turbo diesel doesn't conform to Euro emission laws and will not be available next year until the release of new model. He wouldn't elaborate on when that would be. Can't imagine toyota with no diesel for too long.
Local radio is selling 78/9 series with the "once there gone there won't be any more tag" in the ad. So be replaced soon I reckon.
T
Follow Up By: Pavo - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14
You can't imagine Toyota without a diesel for too long? They've always had a diesel, but not always a turbo diesel - I think Toyota have gone for quite long spells without turbo diesels in the past (took a while to introduce it in the Prado and in the 100 series) . And Toyota seem to enjoy ripping people off for the Turbo diesel experience - either by charging a huge premium in the 100 series or by offering an outdated one in the Prado range (just look at the UK website and they've got more power and newer engine). And in the Prado range it won't come with the 5 speed auto. Come on Toyota...
Please note that I assume you are talking about Turbo diesels here...
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:04
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:04
You are on the money Pavo, people forget the TD 100 only arrived with IFS which was some time after the 100 was introduced with live axle, 4.5 six and atmo diesel, this was no problem because there was pent up demand for the new model. Then you could get a V8 but only if you went VX and IFS and big $$$, then it was no VX and V8's and IFS on GXL up and the TD arrived. VX owners are probably still feeling the pain in the wallet. You got to hand it to them they are a smart marketing company who know how to structure the models to extract the maximum amount of cash at any given time and I'm sure that will continue.
OT
Reply By: runninGU - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:20
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:20
a mate of
mine works for TOYOTA, the new cruiser will be the 130 series, due mid 07, with petrol v8, or twin turbo v8 diesel.......maybe a bit of over kill on power, does anyone think all that power will make much difference, an N/A tojo will go anywhere a turbo one will, thats what low range is for hey!
Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:42
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:42
I believe the idea behind the twin turbo is more to do with efficiency and economy rather than power increase, although yes they no doubt wont be short of it.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:52
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:52
Wonder if they will be as good as the NG pajero (circa 1989?), last of the Gen 1 body?
Suppose I am a little pajero biased :o)
Reply By: OldMike2 - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:09
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:09
Could easy stand for 'No Go'.
Follow Up By: 1KZ-Mick - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:18
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:18
Maybe they forgot the "F" ?
NFG..........
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 09:39
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 09:39
NO ! its NO Grunt!!
Reply By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:58
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:58
I wonder if they will ever change the style of the landcruiser ute?
Not that i am complaining, just curious what it would look like if they ever did.