Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:40
Member - Howard (ACT)
Do I buy a Nissan or a Toyota?
The 92 Gxl 80 series petrol guzzler has just clocked up 400,000 km on the way home from work today.
Hasnt been opened up yet and although I replaced the rear LSD with an air locker about 6 months ago.
I'm not sure if the $16000 i spent 4 1/2 years ago was value.
do I lash out on a 3 litre Patrol
Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:05
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:05
Do I lash out on a 3lt Patrol? Short answer - no. :-))
Geez you picked up the truck for $16k 4 and a half years ago and you're wondering if you got value for money? Sounds like you've done some serious travelling in it! What were you expecting? :-)
Hmmm or are you just bored on a Firday arvo? hehe! You got a bite from me! ;-)
Scoey!
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:10
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:10
I would go with another 'yota, served you
well and is a wonderful way to tour the place
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:25
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:25
Congratulations on the 400k milestone. Nothing like a bit of a Troll to celebrate eh!
OT
Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27
Why go second class with a toyota or datsun - why not go first class and get a landrover.
Follow Up By: runninGU - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:43
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:43
not much second class about a DATO! ive pulled a few diso's out in my time, with the driver almost in tears because the plastic front bumper usually breaks when ya snatch em, and they cost a fortune!!!
Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:32
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:32
Yeah - I know the feeling when I connect my snatchum strap to the grill of a Datsun and the grill comes out - the driver tends to have a sook - maybe the disco front bumper wouldn't break if you snatched em from the recovery point and not the bumper!!
Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:51
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:51
Mate have to agree, i put a 3.0 nissan engine in my Disco 2 weeks ago, bloody thing blew up yesterday.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:06
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:06
Ha Ha Ha, Now you know youre not allowed to say anything negative!!. Carn't help smiling at that comment though.
Axle.
Reply By: runninGU - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:28
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:28
i was a tojo man for 6 of them, then i drove a 4.2ITD GU3, and i'll never buy a tojo again, but its all about the bits you like. i think the datsun's are a lot stronger, running gear etc, but you get what you pay for i think mate.
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:10
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:10
G'day Howard
How are you?
Mate, I would stick with it as you will be forking out mobs of moola for a newbie. The interest on that money can buy a lot of fuel :-D
Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:15
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:15
No
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:59
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:59
Hi Howard,
Exactly the same question I had 3 years ago. I replaced my 80 series 1HZ with a GU 3.0TD and reckon it was a good decision (despite all the negativity about the 3.0TD).
And now 3 years later I have the same question again, what do i get to replace the GU?
Reply By: Mudness - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 07:52
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 07:52
Hi Howard, you wouldnt happen to be Howard T from the ACT with whom I was in contact several years ago regarding some old Dodge trucks that your cousin has/had would you?? Regards mudness