Vic High Country

Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:03
ThreadID: 39312 Views:2531 Replies:7 FollowUps:43
We are heading up into the Vic High Country at the end of next week and I'm hoping someone can assist me with the fire regulations that are in force. Here in SA fire restrictions apply with a total ban in our local National Parks until April. is it the same thing up there? Or are they only banned on Total Fire Ban days. Only be having a cooking fire if possible unless it's freezing of course. LOL
Thanks peoples

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:09

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:09
That area is under restrictions Mr Lexic, take a look here however u can still light fire for cooking or warmth following the appropriate rules here

XXX Bonz

AnswerID: 204154

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:11

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:11
Thank you kind Sir.
FollowupID: 463886

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:15

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:15
No worries Cant have u over the border lot confoosed about state of the art information, one guy in a Toyota recently lost his blandcruiser when parked too close to a campfire, did $35000 improvement to the landscape.

FollowupID: 463892

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:30

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:30
Of course if you work for the Department of Sparks and Embers you can light an enormous fire and not worry about the weather or wind!

Pete
FollowupID: 463901

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:31

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:31
Careful Bonz , your starting to sound like Nudie .

Thanks for the Hic HC info . I'm going there in February so I will keep a note of the regs .
Willie
FollowupID: 463903

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:37

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:37
It should have read Vic not Hic . Boy , I will be popular down there calling them Hics !
Willie .
FollowupID: 463906

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:40

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:40
Bonz, any Landcruiser in the HC will be an improvement on the landscape.
Willie, you were right the first time, Hic is about right for some of them.
FollowupID: 463921

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14
I thought u'd been on the Hic ! turps! *burp*

FollowupID: 463947

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:56

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:56
Didn't the Bracks government pass a new law (following the bbq'ing of the blandcruiser), that no more blandcruisers would be allowed in the HC unless accompanied by an equal (or greater) number of Patrols; so that disaster may be avoided when the said blandcruisers (especially those 50 series like Desmond drives) suddenly suffer a permanent bout of spontaneous combustion?

Des, I hope you've greased the palms of some Patrol owners in order that they may (reluctantly) accompany you blandcruiser owners........;-))
FollowupID: 464100

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:10

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:10
So you've raised your ugly head again. I thought I had taken care of you earlier in the week. Actually, the cruiser is recovery vehicle for the other two.
cya in a couple of weeks.
FollowupID: 464106

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:36

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:36
Hopefully I can organise to have a dose of the crabs to share with you by the time you get here ol' son!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 464113

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:41

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:41
A dose of crabs all ready. You really are a champ.
Hope you had a bit of rain. Nothing here at all though.
FollowupID: 464114

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:56

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:56
Recovery vehicle indeed. Lol to that. You have a winch fitted already Mr Lexic?
FollowupID: 464117

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:14

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:14
I would prefer prawns. Never been a fan of crabs. By the way how much is a dose? It is like 3/4 of a case?

FollowupID: 464850

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:01

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:01
You will have to let us know what the water levels etc are like. Were heading off on 3rd december. Have a great time. Regards Steve m
AnswerID: 204170

Follow Up By: Andrew-rodeo - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:24

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:24
Going by the snow season we didnt have there wont be o lot of water around
FollowupID: 463967

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:07

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:07
It is a pretty nice time of year to be coming over. It is a fair way over here though so I would recommend that you bring some things to read. This comes highly recommended by Kaitlyn.

AnswerID: 204185

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:59
Thanks for the tip Andrew, If I can't find it in a book shop here, can I call in and borrow it. (that is if Kaitlyn doesn't mind) As you already know, Alpaca's are such lovely creatures, full of natural charm and good looks.
FollowupID: 463941

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:14
Hahahah call in here too Mr Alpaca u can stay the evening

FollowupID: 463949

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:19

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:19
I'll keep in touch. Mr Moses has to return early for a meeting and the other fellow travellers are heading home early for a house sale. May have a day spare
FollowupID: 463953

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:23
Well if you have any spare time around our way, I will promise to get Jenelle back into her Heidi dress for you. She went to Oaks Day yesterday and looked smashing - forgot to get a proper photo though. Have a great trip too.
FollowupID: 463966

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 11:57

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 11:57
"looked smashing" ??????
Is that the Pom in you coming out?????

What happenend to "Grous looking sheila"??? :-)

FollowupID: 464019

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 13:41

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 13:41
Hiya folks, just back from a 'shakedown o'night'.. Hope to catch up with you Lexics late the 19th as long as I know where to look.
FollowupID: 464027

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:26

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:26
John, we will wait for you at Pineapple flat on the 19th. I'll have the radio tuned into ch 10 if you need to call us. What time do you reckon on arriving?
FollowupID: 464045

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:42

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:42
PS How did the shakedown cruise go? Well I presume.
FollowupID: 464048

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:08

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:08
Arrival time, ahhh, about 7 hours after we leave I guess. Will know more later in te week. 60th in Warrnambool on the Saturday night, so it may be the 20th yet...where do you anticipate next night? Have got the series of maps needed on the PDA I think. Have paper too, well most of that area!

The shakedown went well thanks, I guess it takes longer to wind up hills put goes along well at the speed limit and below. Set up the annex too for the first time, that was interesting and more room under cover. Nick calls it a road block, but I found a 'Yota car was one of those for a few kms today - varied between 65kmh and 90kmh and that wsn't hills.
FollowupID: 464050

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:18

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:18
Jen, am sure we will appreciate seeing you in the Heidi dress when you call up and see us. We will see if we can find some medicinal leaches for Andrew in his shorts.
FollowupID: 464052

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:29

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:29
Hey John.
The heidi dress will NEVER see the light of day ( or night) again!! Why I let Andrew talk me into that I will never know!!

Have a great trip in the high Country. Wish we could join you guys. I love it up there. Something special about it that I find hard to put into words.

enjoy

Jen
FollowupID: 464165

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:29
Awwhh Jen, it suited you nicely. Loooked special on you ;-)

I am sure we could smuggle you past the HC boundaries........ Mightn't get you out of the 'burbs though I guess
FollowupID: 464253

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:17

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:17
Jen said "Something special about it that I find hard to put into words.

enjoy

Jen"

I too think it is something special Jen, and think that you SHOOULD let Andrew talk you into wearing it again........Whats that Marie? Oh ... oh ... OHH? Oops Jen it appears you mean the HC is something special, somthing that I too adore it bring me closer to my children up there.

FollowupID: 464851

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:07

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:07
Ahhh Bonz...... you have made me laugh and then cry all in one post!
I can relate to feeling "closer" up on those mountains. Something majestic about them I think.
Hope you guys are well.

Jen
FollowupID: 464986

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:51

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:51
Jen and Bonz, would love to have you guys join us up there. Come on up. Come on. The snow might still be there on Saturday.
FollowupID: 465110

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:22

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:22
Ahh Jen we are kindred spirits, our memories support us, sorry to make u cry...

Al EXACTLY when and WHERE are u going to be, I wouldnt mind a overnighter soon.

FollowupID: 465122

Reply By: Garbutt - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 10:41

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 10:41
Any chance you Vics can keep him. He's not undersized. We have no use for him anymore.

GB
AnswerID: 204257

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 12:06

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 12:06
We have a FAST RETURN policy

FollowupID: 464020

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:22

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 15:22
Geez, everyone is picking on me now. If Ragbut ever ventures over the border, you can keep him as he is definitely undersized. He needs lots more suckling to fill him out a bit.
I hope your bike gets a flatty and your seat breaks again. LOL
FollowupID: 464043

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 19:46

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 19:46
Bonz chasing with a whip, any border hopper.....
FollowupID: 464069

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 20:16

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 20:16
LOL that Bonz bloke is just too kinky.
FollowupID: 464072

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:34

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:34
and cute

FollowupID: 464093

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:43

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:43
Every mother thinks their child is cute. Not an opinion shared by others all the time.
Bonz, your a dag.
FollowupID: 464096

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:51

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:51
One mother's daughter got another one I shall show here taken then too with two visiting Croweaters
along with a hansome near local
FollowupID: 464098

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:02

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:02
there a likely lot. I don't think that I'd like to run into any of them on a dark night LOL
One bloke looks like he wants to make love to a blow up kangaroo, some old bird who wears a Tiara and army boots and the third one wears a funny wig and drinks hot beer. He must be a Pom.
FollowupID: 464102

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:49

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:49
Geezus JohnR...you take some liberties.

Uncle Donut...... hope that 'ole shiela in the middle doesn't see this post or you will be history...lol. Hope the 50 makes it back from the HC. Have good one anyway.

FollowupID: 464121

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 06:07

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 06:07
'liberites' Bro? I told you I have a pic of you too somewhere too, to put up if you had been norty.
FollowupID: 464131

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 19:26

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 19:26
Des,

I will be in the same area at the end of next week.

I will be on UHF 16.

Hope to see you then.

AnswerID: 204303

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:53

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:53
Will keep mine on Group Scan Wayne
FollowupID: 464099

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:05

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:05
I would say with the rain we are having, and forecast, there will be no problem.

been issingpa down for 2 days now...
AnswerID: 205070

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:30

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:30
30 cm of snow according to the news a couple of minutes ago, at Mt Baw Baw
AnswerID: 205159

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:35

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:35
Just going out to pack the snow shovel now.
FollowupID: 465130

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:51

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:51
Friend was in there this week for his honeymoon at Pineapple Flat that is. Said his ATs got in and out alright. The snow shovel will help you of course and clear the way for me.........
FollowupID: 465144