'Cheap' 33 inch MTs for GQ

Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:21
ThreadID: 39313 Views:5167 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
My son now has a GQ shortie. Although he has been driving for 7 years, it is his first 4WD.

He wants to put bigger mud terrain tyres on it for off roading. He will keep the current ATs for normal running around.

He'd prefer 35s, but I'm pushing for no biger than 33s.

He wants the best tyres he can get for $250 each (certainly not more than $300). Any recommendations?

Also, the vehicle currently has 16 inch wheels. The only tyre retailer he has spoken to has recommended changing to 15 inch wheels and fitting Maxxis 762 MTs in 33x12.5x15. Firstly any thoughts on the small wheels with bigger tyres. Second, anyone with particular experience with this tyre? To stay with 16 inch wheels, but get Maxxis tyres, it would have to be 285 x 75 x16, which are 32.8 x 11.5 inches.

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:27
G'Day Norm,

I'm running 285/75-16 Goodyear MT/R's on my 80 Series and LOVE them! I got them for $300 a corner but I've heard of people getting them for as cheap as $250.

Hunt around for them if you can get them! Well worth the $$$. If you're paying anywhere close to that for Maxxis, spend a bit more on the MT/R's.

Scoey
AnswerID: 204158

Reply By: runninGU - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:31

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:31
i run 285/75 R16 on my GU3, they are BFG a/t's, i would recommend them, i just bought a new set from bj t-marts and they were $330 a corner, but thats up here in karratha, so i would assume they are cheaper in the big smoke!
AnswerID: 204162

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:00

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:00
My mate ran 33*12.5*15 Hankook MT’s on 15*9 rims, on his Cruiser Ute back when he had it.

I think he got the MT’s for $200 a tyre, he originally was going to go BFG MT’s but at $300 a tyre * 6 tyres he couldn’t justify spending the extra $600 for the BF’s.

AnswerID: 204169

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 00:09

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 00:09
Morning Exploder.

What did your mate think of the Hankook MT's
FollowupID: 463980

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:09

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:09
They were pretty good he said, a little slick on wet bitumen but what MT isn’t.

They did wear fast thou, I would think you would only get 60,000k out of em but he did do a lot of on-road driving to and from work sited around teh city as he is a Carpenter, he sold the Ute after having them on for around 40,000k and they were over half worn.

I would consider them if I was in the market for cheaper MT in the bigger sizes where the top brads get a little Pricey

FollowupID: 464269

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:20

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:20
Exploder.

If I was to 'get' 60,000kms out of any set of tyres I would be ecstatic.

You have just given me the 2% I was missing to make the final decision to go with the Hankook's.

AND

If they end up being 'not so good' then I'll just change them for MTR's - one day that is.

Thanks for the reply.

FollowupID: 464339

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:17

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:17
Hi Norm.....

Wander over to Coomera Tyre World and have a chat with Sean if he's there..... tell him I sent you... (then duck!)

I think Pete B in our club runs the maxxis mud tyres on his Mav.... maybe have a chat with him??
I got my Pro Comps from CTW, but am aiming for BFG's next time 'round, which will be shortly!

"George" may need a bigger lift for 35's... I have only seen it once, in the dark at the Oct meeting, I thought it had like a 2" lift???? I may be wrong.

My truck had 16" rims and I went back to 15's with the 33" tyres.... no problems! I think from memory that 15" dia tyres are way cheaper than 16" dia tyres... again I could be wrong but I think Shaun (our club salesman) went through this for his "play" tyres for the 80 series...

AnswerID: 204188

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:15

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:15
Thanks Brian
FollowupID: 463950

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:54

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:54
Nothin wrong witht he Maxxis mudders, there are heaps more options out there for 15" rims, they will definately clears the GQ disks as they were standard.

Im running Maxxis mudders 32 11.5R15 on new ROH rims for $250 each, pretty happy with that. Maxxis are now the tyre of choice in a few of the off-road challenges!!

I remember being offerred a new 40L WAECO 6 years ago in a camping store for $500 bucks, try and buy for that now they are popular. Maxxis have to start somewhere too and I doubt it will be long before they are sort after and cost as much as the 'name' brands!!

Goodluck with the choice!

AnswerID: 204200

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:09
G'day Norm,
35inch micky thompson baja claw radials are very well waring and are available in NSW for $300 a tyre , they are much quieter than other mud terrains I have used on the highway too! Shorties are very touchy on the road in the wet so I would recommend a silica compound like the goodyear MTR's For the safe factor in the wet on bitumen.
AnswerID: 204212