Glenn WA
Just chasing some advise on the best options on upgrading the
suspension on my 06 landcruiser TD. I load up with a fair bit of
camping gear and have a trail bike attached to my tow hitch.
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:31
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:31
Try ARB - OME and polyairs - that should help with the extra weight on the hitch
Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:52
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 23:52
Thanks Trekkie,
Will have to go and check out ARB. Noticed on your profile that you've fitted the D-tronic. How have you found it?. I'm thinking of the same. It has been suggested to me that the 'power-up', bigger inercooler+ 3 inch exhaust is the go. Heard any thing about it ?
Cheers, Glenn
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:27
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:27
Glenn the Dtronic is brilliant. If I was a person who exaggerated I would say it almost drives like a V8. Certainly notice the difference when towing. In relation to the
suspension, I was concerned about some advice that may have lifted too high (see comments below) - The polyairs are a must
Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 02:51
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 02:51
Well Im sold on the Dtronic. Armadale 4wd have a 'power up' package, different Dtronic, larger inter cooler and a 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust. They're claiming 185kw 585Nm.......but... $3900 fitted. Bugger it you only live once !!. Have you heard any thing about this set up ?
Cheers Glenn
Reply By: Member - malcolm T (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 08:30
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 08:30
try d McRae
geelong-full
suspension upgrade
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:08
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 11:08
Been doing some homework myself on the same - both ARB and TJM (others too probably) have
suspension packages for this very common vehicle and copious info on them - they claim to know what raise you will get in mm at both ends with new springs, torsion bars (includes lower control arm bracket etc too). They of course advise that new shockers need to go with the other gear ! Polyair bags in the rear would be a good idea as Trekkie says, to make some compensation for loads. Seems both suppliers would see you around the $1700 area including fitting. There are differences - TJM have some huge fat shocks in offer - ARB offer the stock diameter Emu's - upgraded torsion bars from one of them are the same diameter as originals while the other has a larger diameter bar. I think it was ARB that cautioned going over 35mm lift at the front because the IFS is naturally limiting in its action - stress could result - I think TJM said 50 was ok at the front, as for the rear ! As usual, lots of learning to do.... I'm not ready to move on the project for a good while yet.... will have to get up to speed with it again, later !
Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:11
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:11
Geez !!! No wonder I'm confused.
Let you know what I choose after the surgery.
Cheers, Glenn
Reply By: Member - Nick & Jane C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:25
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:25
I hadTJM Fit new shocks and poly airs etc after /\I did the strezlecki at the beginning of the year (also got a 50mm lift) all in all a better more stable ride with better handlig.
Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:04
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:04
Hi Nick & Jane,
TJM are just down the road from me, but I'm working o/s at the moment and trying to gather as much info as pos before jumping in, seems they all offer the best set up. What shocks did you install ? TJM, ARB and even Pedders have a up-grade that seems very competitive. Good to hear from someone who is happy with their upgrade, just what I'm looking for.
Cheers, Glenn
Follow Up By: Member - Nick & Jane C (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 07:52
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 07:52
Hi Glenn,
We have the TJM XGS system which I thought was the best value at the time. The time being they were doing a lot on the vehicle and offering some pretty good bundles ( I got Light Force 240's,
Snorkel,
Suspension and complete black widow all installed for 6K).
Nick
Reply By: Member - malcolm T (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:05
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:05
hi
did the tanami,
cape leveque,
gibb river including into
mitchell plateau all towing a tvan with lcruiser 100 upgrade and didnt miss a beat with the D McRae upgrade.
very happy satisfied customers
Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:02
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:02
glenn
depends what u are after.
do u want raised
suspension or standard height without the sag when loaded?
what sort of terrain you travel ie sand steep rutty stuff or fast dirt rds?
have heard good things re darrens
suspension mods.
mine has on rear king springs think ktrrhhhd-very heavy duty-sageed after 12 months so put new springs and air bags and ok now-very hard ride and reckon i lose out off rd as seems to struggle on stuff it should ease over.-have approx 50-60 mm on rear and 45 mm on front -front has op lok h/d t/b and konis adjustable all round.
my recomendation is go for a package. i carry fair bit of weight and have a rear bar and dual wheel carrier-100td with lots of crap carried
fozzy
Reply By: Old Bushie - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 02:23
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 02:23
Gday Glen
I am on my 2nd 100S. I have fitted ARB OME
suspension to both. I load heavily when on bush trips and don't like "airbags" for serious offroad work. I often tow a
Kimberley Kamper(read heavy drawbar weight) or 17ft plate alloy boat off road and the OME handles it extremely
well. Mates with standard
suspension 100S comment there is no diff in comfort even unloaded around town.
My current 100S is same as yours. The OME upgrade is great. Shocks, Torsion Bars and Springs. Also front IFS height adjustment done by a Toyota Dealer(surprised, talk to Toyota Technical in
Welshpool). I'm not going to argue who is "the best". OME suits my needs, has been bloody reliable over 150,000km in both vehicles and I have the comfort, if I need spares (none so far) ARB are very
well represented throughout outback areas.
I agonised over the "stories" of our current model 100S IFS problems and
suspension upgrades.
All I can say is after CSR, Anne Beadell Tr,
Gary Junction Rd,
Northampton cross country to
Birdsville and back and heaps of other off road and beach stuff plus lots of towing all is great with no probs at all.
As seems to be necessary to say these days: I have no connection with ARB. I am just a happy customer passing on my experience.
Reply By: Glenn WA - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:10
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:10
Cant beat experience hey !!.
ARB seem to have very good feedback, as do TJM (here we go again..). Seem to be swinging towards ARB. When I get back home it may just come down to the sales rep of the day and what his customer service is like.
My offroad work will be really varied. I have family in
Ora Banda (gold fields wa), fast corrigated dirt roads taking the short cut from
Coolgardie.
Camping down the south-west, bit of slow crawling stuff and love my beach fishing (haven't taken the new rig on
the beach yet but will soon
cave in to the desire). Need a good allround set up.
Glenn